Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Add VSS (shadow copy) service to winpe 3


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 ndog37

ndog37

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 May 2011 - 03:43 AM

Does anyone have a working Windows PE image that includes VSS?

I would be keen to create one, however I do not know how to find
a) the required files, dependancies etc for a certain service
:loleverybody: how to integrate these files into the pe

Thank you

#2 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 08 May 2011 - 05:29 AM

Does anyone have a working Windows PE image that includes VSS?

I am afraid no.

See this post or see these post #20 and post #21 at MSFN forum.

#3 ndog37

ndog37

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 May 2011 - 06:19 AM

Hi dera... Actually I just read that site before I posted this.. The reason i wanted to integrate VSS is so I can use disk2vhd (which requires VSS) to make an offline syspreped VHD from winpe in one step. Otherwise I have to boot winpe, run imagex capture to wim, create VHD, apply wim to VHD.. It's a lengthy process I'm trying to save time on.

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13752 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:28 AM

Hi dera... Actually I just read that site before I posted this.. The reason i wanted to integrate VSS is so I can use disk2vhd (which requires VSS) to make an offline syspreped VHD from winpe in one step. Otherwise I have to boot winpe, run imagex capture to wim, create VHD, apply wim to VHD.. It's a lengthy process I'm trying to save time on.


Can't you use something like Clonedisk:
http://reboot.pro/8480/
to create the .vhd
Then mount it with Imdisk, WinVblock or Firadisk and operate like it was a "normal" disk?
Or, the other way round, use a plain image and only at the end of the process convert it into .VHD with Clonedisk?

:loleverybody:
Wonko

#5 ndog37

ndog37

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 May 2011 - 09:36 AM

Hi wonko. Actually I have downloaded clonedisk already.. I think you can convert to .img and then .img to .VHD.

What I am trying to do which is create a 20GB expandable VHD syspreped image for native windows 7 VHD boot, I think the best way is to make the wim file and use imagex after all these tests..

Thanks for the advice though if clonedisk could do what I want it would be nice.

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13752 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 May 2011 - 10:33 AM

Well, no, then. :smiling9:.
AFAICR Clonedisk only uses (at the moment) "Fixed size" images. :loleverybody:

But you may want to do some experiments with this tool also :whistling::
http://vmtoolkit.com...rs/entry87.aspx

And with this:
http://archive.msdn....oft.com/vhdtool
(though this also should only be able to deal with "fixed size" )

If you have a Virtual Server there is a simple script:
http://blogs.msdn.co.../30/561512.aspx

:unsure:
Wonko

#7 ndog37

ndog37

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 08 May 2011 - 12:27 PM

Ok I'll look into those. Also sorry because this topic has gone off topic, I still would be interested in anyone who can get services running in winpe and the steps they do to find the dependancies and reg files needed and so forth. Good luck!

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13752 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 May 2011 - 01:02 PM

Ok I'll look into those. Also sorry because this topic has gone off topic, I still would be interested in anyone who can get services running in winpe and the steps they do to find the dependancies and reg files needed and so forth. Good luck!

It does seem like a tough one :rofl:.

Some sparse info about repair/reinstall can be found here:
http://www.backup4al...opy-Service.pdf
http://backupchain.c...leshooting.html
http://backupchain.c...shooting-2.html
http://backupchain.c...shooting-3.html
http://freetechanswe...ume-shadow.html
http://www.msfn.org/...s-software-sha/
http://www.bouncethebox.com/?p=387

Maybe they can be useful to trace what happens in a PE 3.0. :cheers:

Anyone here has actually tried a PE 3.x made with wimb's Make_PE3?
It is possible that it already has VSS working. :w00t:
http://reboot.pro/11852/

:cheers:
Wonko

#9 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 08 May 2011 - 02:10 PM

Anyone here has actually tried a PE 3.x made with wimb's Make_PE3?

yes,
but VSS does not work

#10 DrZharn

DrZharn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 August 2011 - 07:30 PM

Anybody know how to Contact wimb? Because I also would very much like to have VSS working as well. So I can use Dsk2Vhd, Also I am unable to get IE to work at all using Make_PE3
I have been using My_7PE which does have a working Web Browser. But it also does NOT have VSS either.

I have tried the info found here -> http://forum.sanbarr...c.php?f=85&t=49 <- still no love on VSS :-(

#11 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 16 August 2011 - 07:42 PM

How can i test if Vss work ?
With a command Line ?

#12 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:10 PM

"vssadmin list writers" should be sufficient for a vss-test.

#13 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 16 August 2011 - 09:14 PM

Posted Image
My VSS work, No ?
I use vvurat link in msfn forum http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__965530

#14 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 17 August 2011 - 07:13 AM

Very nice!

Finally seems also DriveImage XML can work (without complaining of VSS).

Attached File  driveimagexml_1.jpg   40.16KB   23 downloads

Attached File  driveimagexml_2.jpg   82.76KB   31 downloads

and disk2vhd can work, too

Attached File  disk2vhd_1.jpg   30.29KB   26 downloads

Attached File  disk2vhd_2.jpg   28.94KB   19 downloads

Regards,
dera

Edited by dera, 17 August 2011 - 09:02 AM.


#15 Mathis

Mathis
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Deutsch Kaltenbrunn
  •  
    Austria

Posted 17 August 2011 - 07:29 AM

Hi dera... Actually I just read that site before I posted this.. The reason i wanted to integrate VSS is so I can use disk2vhd (which requires VSS) to make an offline syspreped VHD from winpe in one step. Otherwise I have to boot winpe, run imagex capture to wim, create VHD, apply wim to VHD.. It's a lengthy process I'm trying to save time on.

Hy,
i have been run disk2vhd directly on a running physical system, wrote the .vhd to a usb-drive. But your Idea is well, I hope this threat develops to a possibility that we can start the "vss" like every service in our windows pe.
BR
Mathis

#16 ndog37

ndog37

    Member

  • Members
  • 83 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 17 August 2011 - 09:04 AM

Still there is no solution to VSS in PE.. So therefore my original problem of using disk2vhd to specifically capture an offline sysprep generalised disk directly to an expanding VHD directly within PE still stands. So instead I have come up with another way. It slightly deters from the subject of VSS inside PE but it was the solution to my problem. I used vmware to create the windows 7 install and then sysprep generalised and shutdown. Next mounted the .VMDK file using the vmware mount tool to the host OS. Then I was able to use disk2vhd to go straight from .VMDK to .VHD expanding format. So I guess if anyone is interested there is that option available... Anyway good luck

#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13752 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 August 2011 - 09:23 AM

Still there is no solution to VSS in PE..

Care to explain?
I seem to understand that both ludovici and dera reported having VSS functinal in their builds. :unsure:
Maybe they could share HOW the managed to get it :dubbio:, so that you can try replicating their success.

:cheers:
Wonko

#18 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 17 August 2011 - 09:31 AM

Dera, have you use the VSS dll of Vvurat, or original windows seven DVD dll ?

#19 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 17 August 2011 - 10:40 AM

The original description for vss on winpe3.0 is here; http://forum.sanbarr...c.php?f=85&t=49 and here's the original thread about vss running on bartpe; http://sanbarrow.com...3&highlight=vss

#20 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 17 August 2011 - 11:32 AM

JFX: Now to simplify all, let's alter all UNICODE occurs of MININT and SystemSetupInProgress (to MININX and SystemSetupInProgrest) inside next 3 files: vssadmin.exe
vssapi.dll
VSSVC.exe This three files are patched, no ?

#21 joakim

joakim

    Silver Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 912 posts
  • Location:Bergen
  •  
    Norway

Posted 17 August 2011 - 11:53 AM

I never really tried this actual patch myself, but from what JFX wrote and from my own previous experience, it seems like MS made a basic protection for the service under PE, and thus those named files need a patch according to JFX's instruction for it to run.

#22 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 17 August 2011 - 01:45 PM

Dera, have you use the VSS dll of Vvurat, or original windows seven DVD dll ?

I have used patched files,
the files were patched by me according to JFX's how-to
(not the files of Vvurat).

Regards,
dera

#23 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 17 August 2011 - 02:04 PM

Dera, how alter all UNICODE occurs ? You use an application ?
Maybe, can you create a VSS script (This will can simply patching the necessary VSS files, as display ChrisR script...) ? Please...
Thanks,

#24 Mathis

Mathis
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Location:Deutsch Kaltenbrunn
  •  
    Austria

Posted 17 August 2011 - 08:57 PM

I have used patched files,
the files were patched by me according to JFX's how-to
(not the files of Vvurat).

Regards,
dera

Hy dera,
your aproach seems straight goal-oriented. Thank you.
Could you please publish your dll's and describe how the disk2vhd starts without error message?
Is it the .dll only or do you need to some more modifications inside the build?

#25 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 17 August 2011 - 09:52 PM

I have tried only on x86 host in ChrisR's Win7PE_SE_2011_07_22 project
using Windows 7 x86 Ultimate en-US RTM (SP0) source.

http://www.mediafire...1q1s1zu3um6ro12

Regards,
dera




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users