Jump to content











Photo

[nativeEx_multiPE] Problem in 04a.6-multiPe.script


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 01:26 PM

Hello,

my first try to build a nativeEx_multiPE was not successfull :ermm:

My host system is Win7 Ultimate SP1 German with WAIK 3 and SP1 update installed. WinBuilder is 80.0.3.0 and download of nativEx_multiPE is with todays change.

I did as little modifications as possible for the beginning:
a) WinBuilder Tools Options: LogName with TimeStamp, Save Automatically, Enable refresh button
b] Build Track set to multiPE_Win7, Apply
c) Tab Source: %SourceDir% is set to a drive having the mounted iso of Windows 7 Enterprise with SP1 German, x86 (SP1 officially integrated, download from MSDN)
d) ImageIndexEx GetInfo
e) LogIcons Download and activate CheckBox to write WinBuilder.ini
f) Play

It takes a while (to be precise 10 minutes 19 seconds: WIM handling in Win 7 SP1 is just great :frusty: ) and then I get an error in 04a.6-multiPe.script in the first line that shall copy shell32.dll.mui:
CopyOrExpand - Failed to copy [%BaseDir%\Workbench\multiPE_Win7\Cache\2I1de0617601\Windows\System32\de-DE\shell32.dll.mu_] to: [%BaseDir%\Workbench\multiPE_Win7\UserData\shell32.dll.mui]: Das System kann den angegebenen Pfad nicht finden.
I have no idea what the problem is. Shell32.dll.mui is present and security settings are so that it is readable. Why should the API try to expand it from shell32.dll.mu_? What astonishes me is that the error message is in German language. I did not change WinBuilder Tools Language, it's still _default with English text.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ
  • alhaddar likes this

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2011 - 01:48 PM

Thanks for the report. I'll try to check what happened.
To your questions:

CopyOrExpand either expands the compressed file, or copies the file directly, whatever is available. It is used to read the foreign language path names (Therefore a copy into userdata).
German language: This is the host's error message, when an low level (here I/O) error occurs.

BTW: This shell ... mui trouble I have had sometimes, too. And until now I have no idea why it occurs. Whenever I tried to catch with debugger, everything went ok. Usually next build is also ok. I have the assumption that there are some initialisation issues (which can be found, and which I will find!)

Peter

EDIT: When you start the build for a second time: Same error or working?

#3 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:09 PM

Usually next build is also ok.

Thanks for the info, Peter. I just gave it a second shot and it really passed that spot. :frusty: Let's see how far it will go... :ermm:

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#4 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:16 PM

Cross-Thinking :ermm:

That helps a lot, and I'm sure that the glitch will not exist any more tonight.

Peter

#5 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:31 PM

I'm sure that the glitch will not exist any more tonight.

An update? In one of the scripts? In WinBuilder? 080? 080 nightly build???

I just wait for imagex /unmount to finish. :ermm: :frusty: :frusty:

Would it be possible to keep a copy of the mounted WIMs in a cache directory and the next build uses this cache instead of mounting the WIM? Unfortunately WimCaptEx is not faster than imagex on Win7 SP1. Todays hard disks are usually big enough to allow this caching. If someone modifies the cache directory in between he will probably get sooner or later the trouble that he deserves. :sos:

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#6 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:49 PM

It is stuck again with a copy error. Script 102.4-Basic-files.script could not copy

Windows\winsxs\x86_microsoft-windows-ie-ieshims_31bf3856ad364e35_8.0.7600.16385_none_621dcd50728e90c1\ieshims.dll


In SP1 it is named

x86_microsoft-windows-ie-ieshims_31bf3856ad364e35_8.0.7601.17514_none_644ee1186f7d145b


Could it be that there are many directory/files named differently? :ermm: Probably it is best to change the script so that it will do some copying using wildcards? Is it possible in the API to use wildcards in directory names?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 April 2011 - 03:17 PM

OOPS!

That reminds me on the good old XP / W2003 time, when Billy The Door preferred to invent new names :ermm:

[German]Es gibt viel zu tun. Packen wir's an![/German]

Can publish a "dir" about all *.7601.* directories?

Peter

#8 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 03:28 PM

Can publish a "dir" about all *.7601.* directories?

Did you really mean it? :frusty:
Here it is. :frusty:
I :ermm: the file a little :sos:

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

Attached Files



#9 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 April 2011 - 03:33 PM

It just came into my mind that there are some more interesting places, not only WinSxS.

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

Attached Files



#10 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1716 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 April 2011 - 02:45 AM

Time is money. It is unfortunate that people are being forced to use the slow version of winbuilder. The latest test version is between 2 and 3 times faster processing the same project.

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 April 2011 - 06:29 PM

Time is money. It is unfortunate that people are being forced to use the slow version of winbuilder. The latest test version is between 2 and 3 times faster processing the same project.

And I can add: IMHO the result is identic!
@Nuno: Maybe you re-think the issue.

Peter :happy_dance:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users