Jump to content











Photo

nativeEx_multiPE


  • Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#76 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 239 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 05:22 AM

Is it the same version of PENetwork in both projects?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ


The version of PENetwork supplied with Make-PE3 is 0.56 built in August 2009

#77 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 12:31 PM

Hi Peter,

here are the results of my first tests:

multiPE_Win7:
Test #1:

-host: Desktop PC, Intel SATA Raid(0)
-hostOS: Vista Ultimate SP2 x86
-sourceOS: Win7 Enterprise Trial (german) x86

Boot in VM: OK
Boot from CD: OK
but I was getting 6 errors

log_Win7_PC


Drive W: does exist but I noticed an empty folder: Programme\Internet Explorer :happy_dance:
Please have also a look at the message: Build stopped by exception (Common_apiEx.script)

Test #2:

-host: Asus EeePC
-hostOS: Win7 HP SP1
-sourceOS: Win7 Enterprise Trial (german) x86

Boot in VM: OK
Boot from CD: OK
now I was getting 5 errors although I used exactly the same settings like in the test above.

log_Win7_Netbook

Drive W: does not exist and the letter of the CDDrive is E: (like on my real machine) :wodoo:?
(The CD Drive is an external drive, but shouldn't make any difference).
Opera could not be executed because it's linked to W: (?) and I noticed an empty folder on X: (Program Files\Uninstall Information).


multiPE_Vista:

-host: Desktop PC, Intel SATA Raid(0)
-hostOS: Vista Ultimate SP2 x86
-sourceOS: Vista HP SP2

Boot in VM not possible --> Bluescreen:
Attached File  Vista_VM_Start.GIF   12.2KB   5 downloads
I found this article in MS Knowledge Base but I'm unsure if this issue is related to my bluescreen.:worship:
The log itself doesn't show any error excepted the message: Build stopped by exception

BTW: CD/VM boot using VistaPE-Core/VistaPE-CAPI is OK all the time.


multiPE_XP:
Test #1:

-host: Desktop PC, Intel SATA Raid(0)
-hostOS: XP Prof SP3 x86
-sourceOS: XP Pro SP3 x86

I used the pre-defined settings excepted:
- added RAID Drivers (iastor.sys/inf/cat) to PENetwork.script
- enabled Desktop and QuickLaunch shortcurts in Explorer.script
- PEFactory GUI: set "Single Boot image" to "No image"

Boot in VM: OK
Boot from CD-->Bluescreen:
Attached File  XP_DVD_Start.GIF   90.15KB   5 downloads

3 errors in the log:
log_XP_PC

Test #2:
Starting the same test with my Asus Netbook (w/o SATA drivers) I was getting the above mentioned bluescreen and the 3 errors in the log.
Obviously it has to do with the 'CopyOrExpand' error of SP3.cab but I'm unable to find the issue.
Correction:
Just noticed in 5 - CopyAndExpand.script, section [Load-Driver]:
shouldn't the line
'If,ExistFile,%source_win%\%spCabFile%,Expand,%source_win%\%spCabFile%,%target_sys%\drivers,#1,NOWARN'
in fact be written as
'If,ExistFile,%source_win%\%spCabFile%,CopyOrExpand,%source_win%\%spCabFile%,%target_sys%\drivers,#1,NOWARN' (?)
Did not test this command.

Any hints what to do next?

Regards,
Walter


#78 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 02:46 PM

Correction to Correction::happy_dance:
The 'Expand' command is OK, but I have no idea why SP3.cab does not get expanded.

Walter

#79 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 April 2011 - 03:34 PM

Thanks, Walter, for your tests!

The sp3 error is an "intended" error.
Let me try to explain:
In a script, you know that a file you want to copy, is not present in all different source CDs.
For solid files, you could check whether the file exists, but there is no comand to check the existence of a file inside a *.cab.
When you do the Expand, and the file is not there, in "standard" case the build would stop on this error. To avoid this, there is a command "System,Error,OFF".
"Usually" in this case you do not even get a message that an error occurred. But from any reason, you do not have the "usual" configuration.
Use in WinBuilder "Tools" button > "Options" tab > "Debug log" CheckBox and uncheck this option.
You should only check this option, when a developer needs this and asks for it.
(BTW: This also lets "hundreds" of warnings disappear)

The Win7 errors:
There seem to be some issues, but it is too difficult to find the root of the troubles from the current logs.
Can you repeat your test with the above "Debug Log" option unchecked and post the log again?

Thanks

Peter

#80 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 04:43 PM

Hi Peter,

here is my next test/log with Win7:
first error in 'Copy Basic Files' section [CopyFileExplorer]

log_Win7

Both folders (EnO2I1de0617601 and EnO2B2de0617601) do exist but are empty.

Walter

#81 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 April 2011 - 05:08 PM

Hi Peter,

here is my next test/log with Win7:
first error in 'Copy Basic Files' section [CopyFileExplorer]

log_Win7

Both folders (EnO2I1de0617601 and EnO2B2de0617601) do exist but are empty.

Walter

Thanks, Walter, that helps a lot.

First an explanation: The "Empty" folders are the folders, where boot.wim and install.wim are mounted into. When the build ends (successfully, or by error) the *.wim are unmounted, and the folders are empty.

But the remaining error may help.

I already have two different paths for ieshims.dll. Maybe your source CD contains a third one.
Can you try to find in install.wim a very cryptic path with "\Windows\winsxs\...\ieshims.dll", and post here?
I'm sure that it is also important to find "\Windows\winsxs\...\ieproxy.dll"
(Maybe some others will follow)

I'll try to make a "quick and dirty" bug fix. And I'm starting to find an "universal" solution. But please allow me some latin weeks for that ...
Peter

#82 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 26 April 2011 - 05:09 PM

Duplicated post made by forum's software.

Because I cannot delete my own posts silently here, just this message.

Peter

#83 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 05:34 PM

But please allow me some latin weeks for that ...

Take your time, Peter.

I myself have to leave the house, will test install.wim tonight or tomorrow.

Walter

#84 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 10:45 PM

Ah, I think I got it.

Should have read MichaelZ's post carefully.:worship:

Maybe your source CD contains a third one.

Yes, No (copyright by Wonko the Sane) :wodoo:

I found exactly the same paths for ieshims.dll and ieproxy.dll
BUT
something seems to go wrong with var %WimBuild%.
All my sources are SP0 sources but in my log you will find %WimBuild%=7601 instead of 7600. :happy_dance:

Walter

#85 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 26 April 2011 - 11:24 PM

Checked once more comparing Win7RescuePE and multiPE:

correct detection
Attached File  WB_GUI_W7Rescue.GIF   53.27KB   23 downloads

wrong detection
Attached File  WB_GUI_multiPE_W7.GIF   47.89KB   22 downloads


Walter

#86 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 April 2011 - 08:38 AM

Both use my WimInfo.exe program which checks the contents of 1.xml inside boot.wim.

I think you did not click the "Get Info" button before the first build.

Peter

#87 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:14 AM

Would swear an oath that I have been using this button but you are right ..tried again and the GUI changed to 7600 :smiling9: :worship: :cheers:(and so on)

Sorry about :w00t:

Will run a new build immediately.


Walter

#88 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 27 April 2011 - 12:34 PM

New build and one error in PEFactory:

log_Win7


Walter

#89 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 27 April 2011 - 12:45 PM

Sorry, initialisation issue. I'll fix it.

When you start PEFactory second time it should be ok.

Peter

#90 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 May 2011 - 11:46 AM

Both use my WimInfo.exe program which checks the contents of 1.xml inside boot.wim.
I think you did not click the "Get Info" button before the first build.

Hi Peter,

there's a flaw in "Get Info". I use Winbuilder 080.0.3.0 (I want to adhere to using the official version...) and activate compatibility mode on the project page. I use Win 7 no SP DVD as source, containing all variants (except Enterprise). So the Get Info should set Ultimate as the best variant (e.g. containing the Bitlocker dll's). But Get Info selects Professional. Imagex shows the following index of displaynames in install.wim:
1 Windows 7 Starter
2 Windows 7 Home Basic
3 Windows 7 Home Premium
4 Windows 7 Professional
5 Windows 7 Ultimate
The drop down list has the correct values, but 4 is preselected instead of 5.

Get Info requires quite some time (on my computer). probably there should be a notification that it is still running and a note when it has finished. Though I haven't checked what happens when on leaves the ImageIndexEx page too early.

There is no problem when I use Win 7 SP1 Enterprise DVD as source. Then Get Info correctly selects Enterprise. But thats the only variant on that DVD :)

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#91 MichaelZ

MichaelZ

    Frequent Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 333 posts
  • Location:Braunschweig, Germany
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 May 2011 - 12:06 PM

Peter, I noticed another (annoying) thing in Configuration 000.4-config.script. When I press [Save] the script does a few processing stuff, that's not bad. But then it starts to mount the WIM's, and that's what I really don't like on my Win 7 SP 1 host
(ImageX 6.1.7600 :) :mellow: ,
ImageX 6.0.6001 not working any more on Win 7 SP1 :cheers: :ranting2: :ranting2: )

Is it really necessary to mount the WIM's when saving the settings?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

#92 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 May 2011 - 09:52 AM

Peter, I noticed another (annoying) thing in Configuration 000.4-config.script. When I press [Save] the script does a few processing stuff, that's not bad. But then it starts to mount the WIM's, and that's what I really don't like on my Win 7 SP 1 host
(ImageX 6.1.7600 :dubbio: :sos: ,
ImageX 6.0.6001 not working any more on Win 7 SP1 ;) :( :w00t: )

Is it really necessary to mount the WIM's when saving the settings?

Many Greetings
MichaelZ

I think that the config 000.4 script will be soon obsolete. It contains redundant information which will be overwritten later in PEFactory.

And it cleares some important data from a previous build.

You think it is not good to search the installed WAIK automatically?

Peter

#93 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 May 2011 - 10:01 AM

there's a flaw in "Get Info". I use Winbuilder 080.0.3.0 (I want to adhere to using the official version...) and activate compatibility mode on the project page. I use Win 7 no SP DVD as source, containing all variants (except Enterprise). So the Get Info should set Ultimate as the best variant (e.g. containing the Bitlocker dll's). But Get Info selects Professional. Imagex shows the following index of displaynames in install.wim:
1 Windows 7 Starter
2 Windows 7 Home Basic
3 Windows 7 Home Premium
4 Windows 7 Professional
5 Windows 7 Ultimate
The drop down list has the correct values, but 4 is preselected instead of 5.

Will be fixed next nativeEx_multiPE version.

Get Info requires quite some time (on my computer). probably there should be a notification that it is still running and a note when it has finished. Though I haven't checked what happens when on leaves the ImageIndexEx page too early.

Will be fixed, too!

Peter

#94 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 239 posts

Posted 20 May 2011 - 02:41 PM

Hi Peter,

Today, I tried to build a multiPE_Win7 project with the latest release of your project. The Get Info command in the ImageIndexEx section reports :

Not found : C:\MultiPE\Projects\Tools\nativeEx\7z.exe

Host OS : Windows 7 Enterprise ( no service pack 1 installed )

Winbuilder version : WinBuilder_110520.zip
Project version : nativeEx_multiPE.zip , 20-May-2011 15:04

#95 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:51 PM

Sorry! My fault.

The files are primaryly in x86 / x64 folder and copied into %Tools% by the XP track ONLY :cheers: :happy_dance:

I'll fix that. For a current workaround, please copy manually.

Peter

#96 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 239 posts

Posted 20 May 2011 - 06:14 PM

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the reply. Copying manually 7z.exe solved the problem but the file sharing issue is continuing :

http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__127085

#97 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 May 2011 - 05:23 PM

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the reply. Copying manually 7z.exe solved the problem but the file sharing issue is continuing :

http://reboot.pro/14...post__p__127085

I always saw Holger's script as "Black Box giving me access to the internet". I have to confirm that I never tried the "Share" functionality. Maybe someone, who is more familar with that stuff about LanmanServer and wpeutils, can explain, whether it is an issue of nativeEx_multiPE or PENetwork.

If only one / some files / reg entries are missing, which are managed by PENetwork only, IMO it is an issue for PENetwork. Every script MUST be self supporting.

If those items are also needed at different places, it is an issue of nativeEX_multiPE. Please tell me, and I'll add.
Peter

#98 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 239 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 06:43 AM

Hi Peter,

Testing nativeEx_multiPE.zip ( 14-Jun-2011 19:24 ) to build multiPE_Win7, locale.6.script stopped with error. Could you check the attached log file?

Winbuilder version : 82.0.0.2Attached File  log.7z   37.5KB   2 downloads

[EDIT] : I added a second file named log2.7z This log is built with the "Debug log" option checked in Tools -> myOptions.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log2.7z   37.41KB   1 downloads


#99 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 June 2011 - 09:56 AM

Thanks Vortex! ;)

There was a syntax error in that line: one unpaired quote. :dubbio:

I fixed and started an upload. Will be finished in around 10 minutes.

Peter

#100 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 239 posts

Posted 17 June 2011 - 11:02 AM

Hi Peter,

Thanks for the new upload but the new version of the same script contains other unpaired quotes. Enclosing all the FIXEDFON.FON statements between double quotes is solving the problem.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users