Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Acronis Antimalware CD to USB?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Steve Harris

Steve Harris
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:45 PM

HELP!!

I've successfully used the utility MultiBootISOs 2.1.5.2 to create a flash drive with menu for many ISO's - all working successfully but then I added the Acronis Antimalware CD (available here)

http://download2.acr...lwareScanCD.iso

It starts to load OK and gets to the Antimalware CD "loading" screen but gets no further. When I start it in verbose mode there is the following error:-

Init: line 1: can't open /dev/sr0: No medium found Unable to find a medium with a live file system...

If I create an actual CD from the iso and then boot from that on the same PC - it loads all the way through OK..

My menu item is as follows...

title Acronis Antimalware Boot CD
find --set-root /acronisamcd.iso
map /acronisamcd.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

I'm willing to try anything :-)

TIA Steve

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15078 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 March 2011 - 12:58 PM

I'm willing to try anything :-)

Read this first:
http://reboot.pro/8944/

It is possible that that particular .iso CANNOT be loaded by .iso mapping.
It is likely that you need to pass it some particular kernel parameter or that you will have to change/rewrite the initrd.

WHICH loader does the original CD use?

Post contents of it's configuration file, typically menu.lst (if grub4dos), grub.cfg (if GRUB2), isolinux.cfg (if isolinux) etc.

:whistling:
Wonko

#3 Steve Harris

Steve Harris
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 01:08 PM

I can get the iso to boot with a utility called Flashboot...

The only downside with this is that it creates one Flash drive per iso and so not as useful as a multiboot Flashdrive using MultiBootISOs 2.1.5.2

Here's the isolinux.cfg


DEFAULT vesamenu.c32
MENU TITLE Acronis Rescue CD
MENU BACKGROUND splash.png

menu autoboot The fun begins in # seconds.
LABEL live
menu label ^Start Acronis Rescue CD
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz splash vga=791 lang=us
LABEL verbose
menu label ^Start Acronis Rescue CD in verbose mode
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.gz -- lang=us
LABEL hd
menu label ^Boot from first hard disk
localboot 0x80
append -
MENU WIDTH 80
MENU MARGIN 10
MENU ROWS 12
MENU TABMSGROW 18
MENU CMDLINEROW 12
MENU ENDROW 24
MENU TIMEOUTROW 20
ONTIMEOUT hd
TIMEOUT 300

Steve

Edited by Steve Harris, 05 March 2011 - 01:10 PM.


#4 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7078 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 01:49 PM

I can get the iso to boot with a utility called Flashboot...

The only downside with this is that it creates one Flash drive per iso and so not as useful as a multiboot Flashdrive using MultiBootISOs 2.1.5.2


Does flashboot boot from the ISO or from the flat files (i.e. expands the ISO and puts the files from inside the ISO onto the flash drive). If it places the ISO on the flash drive then it would be very nice to see whay menu is uses..

Just a thought but


title PCLinuxOS LiveCD \n * Booting from ISO image file

map --unhook

map --unmap=0:0xff

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /pclos.iso

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /pclos.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

kernel (0xff)/isolinux/vmlinuz fromusb bootfromiso=/pclos.iso livecd=livecd root=/dev/rd/3 acpi=on vga=788 keyb=en vmalloc=256M edd=off 

initrd (0xff)/isolinux/initrd.gz


this works for some versions of linux - note the fromusb and bootfromiso bits. Why not try adding these bits into your grub4dos menu


probably won't work but maybe worth a shot!

Or for a cheat method - install the ISO to a hidden partition - see http://sites.google....torials/pclinux

#5 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15078 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 March 2011 - 01:56 PM

Good :cheers:, so it is Ubuntu based.

Read these:
http://reboot.pro/13989/
http://reboot.pro/13631/

As said, probably a setting is missing and this prevents it to work as .iso.

The way "Flashboot" may make it work could be a "hybrid" filesystem. :cheers:

You can try checking as per given links or try with a "flat" structure, i.e. with contents of the .iso copied to the UFD.

If a iso-scan entry is in casper, like in \initrd.gz\initrd\scripts\casper-premount\ then you may try something like:
http://reboot.pro/5041/page__st__48
http://reboot.pro/5041/page__st__51
http://reboot.pro/5041/page__st__69
etc.
(you can open/explore initrd.gz with 7-zip :whistling: )

find --set-root /AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso

map /AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso splash vga=791 lang=us

initrd /casper/initrd.gz

boot

Use command line (and NOT a pre-made menu.lst) for tests.
If it works, you DO NOT need the "boot" command in a menu.lst entry.

:cheers:
Wonko

#6 Steve Harris

Steve Harris
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 03:40 PM

Thanks Wonko - that did it!!!!!

find --set-root /AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso
map /AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/AcronisAntimalwareScanCD.iso splash vga=791 lang=us
initrd /casper/initrd.gz

It works beautifully :whistling:

Steve

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15078 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 March 2011 - 04:01 PM

Thanks Wonko - that did it!!!!!

Another happy bunny in the basket! :cheers: :whistling:

http://www.msfn.org/...ic=128727&st=10

@steve6375 Posted Image :cheers:

:cheers:
Wonko

#8 Steve Harris

Steve Harris
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 04:06 PM

Just one last question....

Was/is there a definitive solution for a menu.lst entry to install a windows 32bit 7 iso?

Steve

#9 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7078 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 04:46 PM

Just one last question....

Was/is there a definitive solution for a menu.lst entry to install a windows 32bit 7 iso?

Steve

try this - http://sites.google....iskautounattend

#10 Steve Harris

Steve Harris
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 March 2011 - 08:26 PM

Thanks again - you're a star!

#11 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7078 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 19 August 2019 - 05:19 PM

This is an old thread, but someone today complained that they couldn't get the acronisantimalwarescancd.iso to fully boot from an Easy2Boot USB drive (same /dev/sr0 error).

 

I downloaded the 2019 version and it booted OK on a VBox VM where the USB drive is actually virtualised as a SATA HDD, but the same USB drive when used on a real Z87 PC or an IdeaPad 300 failed to 'see' the USB drive (dmesg did not show any USB device detected). I tried both USB 3 and USB 2 ports.

 

I also tried the iso-scan/filename= menu and that still failed.

 

However, both menu types booted OK on an old Asus EeePC. I also tried an older version of the ISO (UUID was 2011-01-12 and so was the \casper folder date) and it had the same issue but was OK on the EeePC.

 

I can only assume it does not contain modern USB 2/3 chipset drivers...



#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15078 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 August 2019 - 09:03 AM

How big is the .iso?

 

Maybe using map --mem is doable, at the cost of a little time when loading.

 

:duff:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users