Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Grub4Dos


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#26 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 June 2011 - 03:21 PM

One can learn how to install on various OSs and use Grub4DOS from the above linked Diddy's Guide.

Sure :cheers:, that's the idea of a guide and also the reason why it has a dedicated thread here:
http://reboot.pro/5187/

:cheers:
Wonko

#27 tinybit

tinybit

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 1051 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 28 June 2011 - 07:34 PM

http://nufans.net/grub4dos/ can also be considered as DEAD. Climbing(the Master) has closed the FTP server of nufans because of the unending attacks on the server.

By the same token, the "wee" boot loader is also moved to Google Code: http://code.google.com/p/grubutils/

#28 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 June 2011 - 10:05 AM

http://nufans.net/grub4dos/ can also be considered as DEAD. Climbing(the Master) has closed the FTP server of nufans because of the unending attacks on the server.

Maybe it's "frozen", not "DEAD". :)
"current relaease" a.k.a. 0.4.4 2009-16-10 is still downloadable from there.

By the same token, the "wee" boot loader is also moved to Google Code: http://code.google.com/p/grubutils/

Thanks for the new link location for WEE. :cheers:

:cheers:
Wonko

#29 Ninho

Ninho

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 12 July 2011 - 10:15 AM

Hello Folks! I've just signed up to Reboot.pro - very good board indeed.

Re Grub4DOS, I tried it months ago (2009-03-31(r66) 0.4.4, so not the newest release, I know).

I verified it worked but did not start to use it regularly for 2 reasons, one I am content with the other multibooters I've been using for years - mainly Ranish's - but this is not the subject of this post,
reason two : Grub4DOS (the version I tried) has a defect, it won't do its duty IF the DOS configuration has a keyboard driver (non BIOS) loaded.

Is the last version still having this def\\\feature ?

If the answer be yes still, then I'll suggest the developers (who, I grasp, attend this forum) to simply unhook the existing keyboard (int 9) driver but do that ONLY at the moment of doing the actual partition chaining. It's not difficult ( the BIOS int 9 is at a known "compatible" address (viz F000:E987 iirc) - other ints such as 15,16 that the kbrd driver might also hook... have standard addresses too in 99.9999999% of AT-compatible BIOSes. Hey, there is a reason they're called compatible :cheers: (Supplementary hint : there's a list of BIOS int entries usually at F000:FEE3)

Thanks for yr attention, hope to hear from you guys and keep doing the good work

Edited by Ninho, 12 July 2011 - 11:03 AM.


#30 Ninho

Ninho

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 July 2011 - 10:29 AM

This sticky thread may not be the right place to put questions, apology from this novice board user; moderators please delete my above question and this post, Reposting into own new thread.

#31 Anakunda

Anakunda

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 25 July 2011 - 07:06 PM

hi where I download latest g4d builds from tinybit?

#32 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 July 2011 - 07:45 PM

You don't. ;)

Branches have seemingly merged again :).

You get latest here:
http://code.google.c.../downloads/list

A snippet for history of latest in the above:
2011-07-21 (tinybit)added a map option --int15nolow. Some changes on handler.

2011-07-10 (tinybit)re-enabled int13/ah=16h floppy detection in int13_handler.

2011-06-28 (tinybit)fixed a careless mistake in probe_mbr(missing evaluation on C/H/S). fixed a bug in clean_entry() which return the address of a local variable.

2011-06-27 (tinybit)added wee_skip_to as a replacement for skip_to.

2011-06-22 (tinybit)better probe_mbr handling abnormal partition tables.

2011-06-19 (karyonix)int15 fix. (tinybit)remove code to save handler room.

2011-06-10 (tinybit)trust CHS in floppy BPB for GRUB.EXE to run under DOS.

2011-06-09 (tinybit)trust CHS in floppy BPB for GRUB.EXE to boot via NTLDR.

2011-06-04 (namiltd)added exFAT filesystem accessibility.

2011-06-02 (tinybit)better handling loading grub.exe from NTLDR in floppy

2011-05-31 (tinybit)fix chainloading grub.exe from Grub4DOS

2011-05-31 (tinybit)make grub.exe loadable by NTLDR

2011-05-24 (tinybit)make grub.exe chainloadable

2011-05-19 applied Roy's patch(Issue 27: adding PC-DOS/MS-DOS chainloading support).

2011-05-14 (tinybit)use HLT command in key detection

2011-05-09 applied steve6375's patch( Issue 23:	Improve grub4dos menu item numbering).

2011-05-07 applied Roy's patch(Issue 25: Add chainloading DELL DRMK DELLBIO.BIN support).

2011-05-06 applied Roy's patch(issue 24: Add ReactOS freeldr chainloading support).

2011-04-29 (tinybit)exclude ntfs short filename.allow space in fb_filename.

2011-03-22 fixed a bug on case sensitivity in filename completion. added a new parameter "case_insensitive" to print_a_completion().

But, have a look here also:
http://code.google.c.../downloads/list

tinybit :ph34r: is seemingly also active on WEE development :wheelchair:

:w00t:
Wonko

#33 Anakunda

Anakunda

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 25 July 2011 - 07:55 PM

this link works, thanks :wheelchair:

#34 Levellak

Levellak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 07 January 2014 - 03:00 PM

Hi,

I had one request. I programing in C# and I want to use grubinst.exe the creation MBR
this code
Assembly asm = Assembly.Load(Properties.Resources.grubinst);

MethodInfo method = asm.EntryPoint;
if (method == null) throw new Exception();
object o = asm.CreateInstance(method.Name);
method.Invoke(o, null);

Unfortunately, I have not succeeded, and we get an exception

 

http://msdn.microsof...(v=vs.110).aspx

on the first line.

 

Something is wrong with the exe file. Maybe metadata is wrong. Could you fix it, please?

 

thx.

 

bye



#35 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1679 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 08 January 2014 - 01:13 AM

Unfortunately, I have not succeeded, and we get an exception
 
http://msdn.microsof...(v=vs.110).aspx
on the first line.

GRUBInst is not a .NET assembly, so your strategy will not work. GRUBInst is programmed in C and it compiles to machine code, not CIL byte-code. To "fix" this, someone would write a completely new program; not change GRUBInst. Sorry!

#36 Levellak

Levellak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  •  
    Czech_ Republic

Posted 08 January 2014 - 10:28 AM

 

 

GRUBInst is not a .NET assembly, so your strategy will not work. GRUBInst is programmed in C and it compiles to machine code, not CIL byte-code. To "fix" this, someone would write a completely new program; not change GRUBInst. Sorry! 

 

OK too bad. Would it be possible to get the source code to review? I would try to write a new program in  .NET.



#37 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1679 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 09 January 2014 - 05:24 AM

OK too bad. Would it be possible to get the source code to review? I would try to write a new program in  .NET.

I believe it is here.  Good luck!



#38 ilko

ilko

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 500 posts
  •  
    Bulgaria

Posted 09 January 2014 - 12:57 PM

More recent code:

http://code.google.c...butils/grubinst

 

Actually Jaclaz posted it already...



#39 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 July 2014 - 10:39 AM

Just to have a pointer to give people whining :w00t: about not being able to find grub4dos latest release, with a nice accompanying  ;) "you didn't actually read the stickies in the grub4dos forum" , there are news about issues (from China) to get to the chenall grub4dos site on google code, so starting NOW, the OFFICIAL download page for latest releases BECOMES:

http://grub4dos.chen...ries/downloads/

AND click on the "2014" tab.

 

At the moment of this writing latest 0.4.5c is http://grub4dos.chen....5c-2014-07-11/

latest 0.4.6a version is http://grub4dos.chen....6a-2014-07-11/

 

Reference:

http://reboot.pro/to...b4dos/?p=186079

and following few posts.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#40 milindsmart

milindsmart

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 198 posts
  • Location:Bangalore
  •  
    India

Posted 06 September 2014 - 11:06 AM

Compiled builds?



#41 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 06 September 2014 - 11:31 AM

Compiled builds?

What do you mean? :unsure:

Go here:

http://grub4dos.chen....5c-2014-09-05/

 

See the attached pic.

 

:duff:

Wonko

Attached Thumbnails

  • g4dpage.jpg


#42 milindsmart

milindsmart

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 198 posts
  • Location:Bangalore
  •  
    India

Posted 06 September 2014 - 12:36 PM

Thanks Wonko! Saved me from some more long goose chases :) Thought that was just another link to the source.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users