Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

A (relatively) simple yet powerful way to installXP from USB


  • Please log in to reply
70 replies to this topic

#1 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 08:41 AM

Hi everyone,

I've been experimenting a bit with various ways to install XP from USB, and I've found a way which ticks all the boxes (at least for me, maybe not for you).
I thought I would share it with you, and hopefully it might work for you as well.... Note that I really haven't invented anything... I have merely compiled all the information I was able to find in a number of places (mostly here and there and also there), and combined it all together. All the credit should go to the clever guys who have developped great tools in the first place !

The main idea is to install XP from an ISO located on a USB drive, but without loading it into RAM.
So here is how it goes.

1. Get ready:

- Create a destination folder on your USB stick, say U:\WinSetup
- Create a (temp) destination folder on your HDD, to store the updated Windows setup, say C:\IntegratedXP
- Put your original XP setup CD in your drive, say D:\
- Download DP_Base.exe from http://driverpacks.net/downloads , together with the DriverPacks you're interested in (MassStorage at the very least)
- Download RyanVM Integrator, together with Ryan update packs (hot fixes), e.g. from here or there, or even this great All-In-One update pack

2. Run DP_Base.exe and prepare for the hotfixes and DriverPacks integration in XP setup

- select settings / location / browse - Point to your XP setup, D:\
- select driver packs to integrate, enable MassStorage text mode
- leave default settings, installation platform = disc, method 2 + GuiRunOnce, KTD disabled
- got to "overview" and select "export settings" to mysettings.ini
- open mysettings.ini, and replace the line

location	= "D:\"

with

location	= "C:\IntegratedXP"

Note that this is just a trick because C:\IntegratedXP is empty at this stage, and DP_Base won't let you configure anything with an invalid source.

3. Run RyanVM Integrator:

- select D:\ (your original XP CD) as source - Alternatively you can select a folder on your HDD with copied CD contents if you want to use an answer file (WINNT.SIF) which should be present in /i386 (it must be present BEFORE integration of hot fixes and driverpacks, as it will be altered)
- select C:\IntegratedXP as destination
- select your update pack and addon pack
- go to advanced tab, enable advanced options. Select run a program after integration = full path to DPs_BASE.exe and enter parameters = /SETTINGS:"full path path to mysettings.ini" (with quotes), and enable "leave integrator open"
- return to the main tab, press integrate !!

4. Go to the destination folder C:\IntegratedXP

- Move the OEM folder and \i386\WINNT.SIF into U:\WinSetup (WINNT.SIF and OEM both at the same level; no i386 directory)
- Patch the file \i386\presetup.cmd created by DriverPack integration [see details below]. This patch is needed to solve problems with internal card readers and also will look for the DriverPacks in WinSetup\OEM
- Possibly slim down the XP setup with nLite. For a clean install you can safely remove the LANG folder and all the WIN9X* folders

5. Return to RyanVM

- Go to the tab "make ISO"
- Select "C:\IntegratedXP" as source
- Choose an ISO file name, say C:\XP_SP3.ISO
- Make !

6. Copy all necessary files to your USB stick

- Copy C:\XP_SP3.ISO in U:\WinSetup
- Create a floopy image (look here for help) called WinVBlock.ima, containing the following files from the WinVBlock driver: txtsetup.oem, WinVBlk.INF, WVBlk32.sys
- Add a dummy WINNT.SIF to the virtual floppy, comprised of 65,536 spaces.
- Copy WinVBlock.ima in U:\WinSetup
- Add menu entries for GRUB4DOS [see details below]
- You should end-up with the following structure on your stick:
Posted Image

7. Enjoy install from USB !!

- The Driver packs can be easily updated on your USB stick as new versions are released, no need to touch the ISO (except to update text mode MassStorage drivers)
- Multiple answer files can be used, just copy all answer files in U:\WinSetup and create new entries in menu.lst accordingly !
- The XP setup ISO is not loaded into RAM which is great on older machines with little RAM or USB 1.1 at boot time !
- Install to disk image is also possible (thanks Sara and Wimb for the idea !!!)

A few details here:

- To patch the presetup.cmd created by DP_Base: replace the two lines
FOR %%i IN (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y) DO IF EXIST "%%i:%TAGFILE%" SET CDDRIVE=%%i:& GOTO DPsFound

:DPsFound
with

for /f "tokens=1 delims=: " %%? in ('mountvol.exe ^|find ":\"') do (dir %%?:%tagfile% >nul 2>&1 && set CDDRIVE=%%?:wheelchair:

if not defined CDDRIVE (goto EOF)

Note that this correction has been suggested here, although variants are possible.
At last, replace all occurences of "\OEM" with "\WINSETUP\OEM" (another great little idea which isn't mine !)

- The following menu.lst can be used to install XP. Boot twice from USB, leaving your stick connected !:

title Start XP Setup - WinVBlock driver 



# Create the virtual floppy which contains WinVBlock drivers

find --set-root /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA

map --mem /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA (fd1)

map --mem /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA (fd0)



# Direct mapping of the XP setup ISO (not loaded in RAM)

map /WinSetup/XP_SP3.iso (0xff)



# # Optional

# # Map the IMG as a filedisk

# find --set-root /XP-1.IMG

# map /XP-1.img (hd0)

# # Dummy WinVBlock parameter disk (0x55)

# map --rd-size=2048

# map --mem (rd)+4 (0x55)

# map --hook

# # Tell WinVBlock the filename for (hd0)

# write (0x55) #!GRUB4DOS\x00v=1\x00XP-1.img\x00\x80\x00



chainloader (0xff)





title Continue XP Setup - WinVBlock driver 



# Create the virtual floppy which contains WinVBlock drivers

find --set-root /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA

map --mem /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA (fd1)

map --mem /WinSetup/WinVBlock.IMA (fd0)



# Replace the dummy answer file in the virtual floppy with a genuine one

map --hook

dd if=()/WinSetup/WINNT.SIF of=(fd0)/WINNT.SIF

dd if=()/WinSetup/WINNT.SIF of=(fd1)/WINNT.SIF



# Direct mapping of the XP setup ISO (not loaded in RAM)

map /WinSetup/XP_SP3.iso (0xff)



# # Optional

# # Map the IMG as a filedisk

# find --set-root /XP-1.IMG

# map /XP-1.img (hd0)

# # Dummy WinVBlock parameter disk (0x55)

# map --rd-size=2048

# map --mem (rd)+4 (0x55)

# map --hook

# # Tell WinVBlock the filename for (hd0)

# write (0x55) #!GRUB4DOS\x00v=1\x00XP-1.img\x00\x80\x00



root (hd0,0)

chainloader /ntldr


Just uncomment the blocks of code if you want to install to XP-1.img instead of a physical disk !!
At last, note that there might be a few flaws in this method, that I haven't seen. Feel free to tear this appart and let me know of potential problems !

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 09:32 AM

Nice. :)

- Add a dummy WINNT.SIF to the virtual floppy, comprised of 65,536 spaces.

:wheelchair:
Are you proposing to open NOTEPAD and press the SPACE bar 65,536 times or WHAT? :(

:(
Wonko

#3 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 09:43 AM

Are you proposing to open NOTEPAD and press the SPACE bar 65,536 times or WHAT? :)

Just like 100% of this stuff, this is not my idea, but someone else's. Maybe this can be simplified / improved (I have to admit I don't know how)
Because I'm an emacs sort of guy anyway, I don't open notepad, but play a macro 65,536 times in emacs and that takes me about 2 seconds :wheelchair:.

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 10:05 AM

Just like 100% of this stuff, this is not my idea, but someone else's. Maybe this can be simplified / improved (I have to admit I don't know how)
Because I'm an emacs sort of guy anyway, I don't open notepad, but play a macro 65,536 times in emacs and that takes me about 2 seconds :(.

You mean like MK65536.CMD:
@ECHO OFF

ECHO  Doodoo>WINNT.SIF

FSZ WINNT.SIF 1

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,16) DO TYPE WINNT.SIF >> WINNT.SIF

:(
This "debug" version:
@ECHO OFF

ECHO %TIME%

ECHO  Doodoo>WINNT.SIF

FSZ WINNT.SIF 1 >nul

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,16) DO type WINNT.SIF >> WINNT.SIF

ECHO %TIME%
should take about 5/100th of a second.....:wheelchair:

:)

:cheers:
Wonko

#5 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 10:25 AM

You mean like MK65536.CMD:

At some point I thought I would make my own WinVBlock.IMA available for download... But these instructions together with your magic script are pretty fool-proof I believe. Or am I just being lazy ? :(

should take about 5/100th of a second.....:wheelchair:

Ah well I can't compete with you.... Anything you provide is always concise, efficient, accurate... I'm truly impressed and I wish I had 1% of your skills !
But if you take the time it takes to type your script into account (say 20 seconds), my method is still faster for the first 10 runs ;-)
And presumably you really need to do this only once :)

#6 karyonix

karyonix

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 434 posts
  •  
    Thailand

Posted 15 February 2011 - 10:40 AM

I would open HxD shortcut on my Taskbar, click File, New, Edit, Insert byte..., dec, byte count box, type 65536, click Hex-values box, type 20, click OK, OK.

#7 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 February 2011 - 10:54 AM

I would open HxD shortcut on my Taskbar, click File, New, Edit, Insert byte..., dec, byte count box, type 65536, click Hex-values box, type 20, click OK, OK.

:) :wheelchair:

Peter

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 12:06 PM

I would open tinyhexer from the shortcut in my Start menu.
Tools->Scripts->Fill file with calculated data
(actually [ALT] T, S, F)
[ENTER]->[ENTER]->65536 [ENTER]->32 [ENTER]-> 0 [ENTER]

:wheelchair:

:)
Wonko

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 February 2011 - 12:35 PM

I would open XVI32 from the shortcut in my Start menu.

- FILE > New
- EDIT > Insert String
- check "Hex - String", define value as 20
- define <n> times as 65536
- Click "OK"
- FILE > Save as ...

Anybody else with tutorials about existing hex editors?
Could become an interesting collection ...

Seriously: Wonko's batch suggestion works on EVERY (Windows) PC, independent from installed hex editors. :wheelchair:
But I find the hex editor suggestion "easier and therefore better" because usually every developer has a hex editor installed. :)

Peter :(

#10 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 12:57 PM

Because usually every developer has a hex editor installed. :)

You mean emacs I suppose :wheelchair:
Just do M-x hexl-mode

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 February 2011 - 01:12 PM

You mean emacs I suppose :wheelchair:
Just do M-x hexl-mode

:(

Back to topic: I hope next days I'll find some time to test.
Your tutorial sounds rather good! :)

Peter

#12 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,174 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 15 February 2011 - 02:09 PM

I tried the similar original method of cdob using xp3_11_1.iso file located on USB-stick
http://www.msfn.org/...rom-a-iso-file/

In GUI-mode of XP Setup there was an unexpected STOP at T-13
The message is Access denied for Windows\system32\grpconv.exe
Setup can continue and at T-9 the video driver is installed by DriverForge
On booting Windows XP then it freezes just before Desktop ....


With the same iso file located on local harddisk and using the WinVBlock Install method in XP-1.img Image file,
as initiated by IMG_XP_Create.exe using button NEW, then I did NOT have this problem.
http://reboot.pro/13...808#entry121808

Alternatively you can boot with 7 PE from USB and mount your xp3_11_1.iso ISO file in ImDisk and use WinNTSetup2_x86.exe
to prepare Target partition for Install of XP - Again no problem for Install of XP
http://www.msfn.org/...-winntsetup-v2/

So it might be that your proposed WinVBlock method of Install of XP from USB can have some unexpected problems ....:wheelchair:

Does anyone know what is causing the STOP Error at T-13 - Access denied for grpconv.exe

:)

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 04:43 PM

Seriously: Wonko's batch suggestion works on EVERY (Windows) PC, independent from installed hex editors. :thumbup:

IF you have fsz.exe (part of the DSFOK toolkit) in the same directory or in %PATH% ... :whistling:
A suitable batch working on 32 bit windows ONLY (NOT x64) is slightly more complex:
@ECHO OFF

if not exist echoo.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0

)>>echoo.com 

echoo.com $20>WINNT.SIF

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,16) DO type WINNT.SIF >> WINNT.SIF

DEL echoo.com

@wimb
As cdob hinted there this may be caused by some conflict with your presumably surely modified source.
Or it could be some hardware conflict.
No way to understand until you try a vanilla XP (with SP2 or SP3 ONLY) on that same hardware and report. :cheers:
OT (but not much ;)), and JFYI, this may come useful on any of the things you are after:
http://www.911cd.net...pic=22473&st=65


:cheers:
Wonko

#14 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 05:26 PM

Alternatively you can boot with 7 PE from USB and mount your xp3_11_1.iso ISO file in ImDisk and use WinNTSetup2_x86.exe
to prepare Target partition for Install of XP - Again no problem for Install of XP
http://www.msfn.org/...-winntsetup-v2/

This link looks like a very interesting tool indeed !
The only problem is, some of us (e.g. me and myself) may still lag a bit behind and may still not be using Win7. If direct install from USB doesn't work in some cases (it works for me, but it doesn't prove anything, other than it's possible), then the solution might be to copy the ISO on HDD, then boot from USB and install as usual. Only the DriverPacks and the WINNT.SIF reside on USB, the actual ISO being on HDD.
But somehow you still have to mess a bit, create and format a partition on HDD, and copy the ISO....:cheers:

#15 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 05:45 PM

A suitable batch working on 32 bit windows ONLY (NOT x64) is slightly more complex:

@ECHO OFF

if not exist echoo.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0

)>>echoo.com 

echoo.com $20>WINNT.SIF

FOR /L %%A IN (1,1,16) DO type WINNT.SIF >> WINNT.SIF

DEL echoo.com

Do you mind me calling it "Dietmar's way" ?

#16 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,174 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 15 February 2011 - 05:47 PM

This link looks like a very interesting tool indeed !
The only problem is, some of us (e.g. me and myself) may still lag a bit behind and may still not be using Win7.

It can be any PE e.g. LiveXP or BartPE, or you can boot from USB with our new full XP Image file.

@jaclaz
Yes, I have to try this with a clean XP SP3 source and I will let you know the result ....

:cheers:

#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 06:06 PM

Do you mind me calling it "Dietmar's way" ?

WHY Dietmar's? :thumbup:

I mean you may also call it Winnie the Pooh's way ;), but it should have some reference to something actually connected to it. :cheers:

The original Author of the echoo.com is Herbert Kleebauer
http://reboot.pro/2681/page__st__27

And it was brought on boot-land reboot-pro by your friendly neighbour "The Finder" :whistling: .

So, "Herbert's way", "The Finder's way" both sound better.

The actual basic idea of using the powers of 2 comes from an indian traditional legend:
http://en.wikipedia....a_Paal_Paayasam
so also "Khrisna's way" or "Ambalappuzha Paal Paayasam's way" would be nice.

:cheers:
Wonko

#18 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 February 2011 - 06:29 PM

@ECHO OFF

if not exist echoo.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0

)>>echoo.com 

Great, how to write a working good old DOS com with good old DOS batch commands! ;)

BTW: IMHO (as poor batch writer) >>echo.com can be replaced by >echo.com. If "if not exist echoo.com", an append is equivalent to a create. :whistling:

Peter :cheers:

#19 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 06:39 PM

BTW: IMHO (as poor batch writer) >>echo.com can be replaced by >echo.com. If the traget file does not exist, an append is equivalent to a create.

Why don't you try it? :cheers:

Once you will find out that it WON'T work ;) ,
you may want to know WHY it actually works (with the append sign >>) :whistling: (and no it is a non-standard use of brackets - that you cannot find on your average BATCH manual), documented for the fiirst time by Chris Greenbank AFAIK
http://www.robvander...levertricks.php
(search for "Greenbank" on the above page)

:thumbup:
Wonko

#20 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12,424 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 15 February 2011 - 07:17 PM

Why don't you try it? :cheers:

Once you will find out that it WON'T work ;) , ...

I tried with test.bat, containing
if not exist echoo.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0

)>>echoo.com 

if not exist echoo2.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0

)>echoo2.com
and echoo.com is binary identic to echoo2.com. :whistling:

Peter

#21 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 15 February 2011 - 07:29 PM

and echoo.com is binary identic to echoo2.com. ;)

I take it back :cheers:, my bad.

There must be a reason why I always use the >> instead of the simpler >, when grouping commands :cheers:, but it isn't this one :wacko: .

Or maybe was simply a copy and paste when using the first time the grouping from the original layout:
http://reboot.pro/2681/page__st__27
@ECHO OFF

if %1.==. GOTO :EOF

if not exist echoo.com (

echo Bj@jzh`0X-`/PPPPPPa(DE(DM(DO(Dh(Ls(Lu(LX(LeZRR]EEEUYRX2Dx=>echoo.com

echo 0DxFP,0Xx.t0P,=XtGsB4o@$?PIyU WwX0GwUY Wv;ovBX2Gv0ExGIuht6>>echoo.com

echo ?@xAyJHmH@=a?}VjuN?_LEkS?`w`s_{OCIvJDGEHtc{OCIKGMgELCI?GGg>>echoo.com

echo EL?s?WL`LRBcx=k_K?AxVD?fCo?Cd?BLDs0>>echoo.com

)

that has remained in all the code. :thumbup:

Sorry for the mixup. :(

Corrected previous post, my apologies. :worship:

Thank you for noticing, I can shave at least one byte from most of my batches. :whistling:

:cheers:
Wonko

#22 Doodoo

Doodoo

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 344 posts

Posted 15 February 2011 - 09:58 PM

WHY Dietmar's? :whistling:

Simply because of his ability (and yours) to always come up with sometimes convoluted solutions... Not the kind I would think of at first, but they always prove incredibly clever... and they work.
Because I suppose you both equally impress me (no offense to all the other immensely clever guys on this forum)

The original Author of the echoo.com is Herbert Kleebauer
http://reboot.pro/2681/page__st__27

And it was brought on boot-land reboot-pro by your friendly neighbour "The Finder" :cheers: .

So, "Herbert's way", "The Finder's way" both sound better.

If my ignorance needed be put on display, I have to admit I didn't even know echoo.com was referring to something else... I thought it was just a random name you chose, and for me it sounded all the same as Winnie%1.com (the 8.3 name for "Winnie the Pooh.com" , you have figured it out)

#23 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1,676 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 15 February 2011 - 11:15 PM

Are newlines an acceptable form of whitespace in the dummy WinNT.SIF? Would two manually typed commands suffice?

echo.>winnt.sif

for /l %a in (1,1,15) do @type winnt.sif>>winnt.sif



#24 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,174 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 16 February 2011 - 08:56 AM

I found that WinVBlock virtual floppy and virtual CD drive only survive in GUI mode when they are defined in RAM or on local harddisk.
It means that WinVBlock virtual CD on USB-drive is present in GUI mode at beginning of install of devices, but is lost after install of devices is finished.
Result is that second part of GUI mode has no access to virtual CD with XP Setup ISO and then XP Setup will FAIL with earlier described STOP at T-13

I tried also to use clean XP-SP3 source, but that makes no difference.

http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__956296

WinVBlock virtual CD defined on HDD will survive - XP Setup OK
Posted Image

#25 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,750 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 February 2011 - 09:42 AM

Simply because of his ability (and yours) to always come up with sometimes convoluted solutions... Not the kind I would think of at first, but they always prove incredibly clever... and they work.
Because I suppose you both equally impress me (no offense to all the other immensely clever guys on this forum)

Well, Dietmar :worship: is an alltogether another "beast" from me.
I very rarely "invent" something, as he did several times, the most I do is to find ways and tricks and tools to solve details or find the workaround to achieve a given result, hence "The Finder". ;)
Other activities I usually indulge in:
  • general nuisance to everyone else ;)
  • passing everything through Occam's Razor :diablo:
  • provide when needed layman's (usually carpenter's ;)) comparisons
  • express from time to time hairy reasonings in order to have other peeps step down from pedestals
  • put together some half-@§§ed batches
all in all very little "creative" work :blush:, as compared with what Dietmar provided.

If my ignorance needed be put on display, I have to admit I didn't even know echoo.com was referring to something else... I thought it was just a random name you chose, and for me it sounded all the same as Winnie%1.com (the 8.3 name for "Winnie the Pooh.com" , you have figured it out)

You couldn't possibly know the origin of echoo.com :).
BUT the 8.3 name for "Winnie the Pooh.com" is obviously Winnie~1.com (tilde, NOT percentage). :dubbio:

Are newlines an acceptable form of whitespace in the dummy WinNT.SIF? Would two manually typed commands suffice?


echo.>winnt.sif

for /l %a in (1,1,15) do @type winnt.sif>>winnt.sif

I don't know. :ph34r:
Maybe, the problem with new lines is that they are actually two characters (CR+LF), so, if you write an odd number of characters you may have LF without CR, and this may create a parsing error. :unsure:

:cheers:
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users