Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

SARDU 2.0.2c released


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#26 Scorpy

Scorpy

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 February 2011 - 05:45 PM

You can use OEM or Retail (all sp)

I have not ever tried, let me know if it does not work

Yes they work . ( i tested them from Sardu iso ).

Scorpy

#27 Bob1nz

Bob1nz
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 16 February 2011 - 07:04 AM

Hi would like to thank you for this great software I have my 2.5" HDD setup with a 30GB FAT32 for SARDU and the rest as NTFS for storing other bits and bobs.

What im curious about is whether its possible to lock the SARDU partition (eg make it read only) as a few times i have lost bootability of the drive when using xp repair or attempting to fix a non booting windows drive (it cant find ntldr for some reason and i don't even know why it would look for it) so im wondering if there is a way to stop this happening?

Edited by Bob1nz, 16 February 2011 - 07:06 AM.


#28 Optimus

Optimus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 February 2011 - 01:13 PM

Hi great tool but would it be possible to add a path for max's leopard projects.This would be a great addition.

#29 .William.

.William.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Localized
  • Interests:Development participation: MultiPar, Copy Handler, SARDU, Linux Live USB Creator, B&S.
    Operating Systems: Windows, Ubuntu
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:03 PM

Do you think you could possibly include Spybot - Search & Destroy in SARDU ?
It is an excellent freeware program that I use regularly to assess files and running it offline is even better.

Sincerely,

William :thumbsup:

#30 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 February 2011 - 07:37 PM

Do you think you could possibly include Spybot - Search & Destroy in SARDU ?
It is an excellent freeware program that I use regularly to assess files and running it offline is even better.

Sincerely,

William :confused1:


Hi, exist one iso of spypot? I think no
Spypot can to be managed as a module of Windows PE
:smiling9:

#31 Scorpy

Scorpy

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 20 February 2011 - 07:54 PM

Hi

@ Davidecosta
there is a cd but you have to buy it. http://www.safer-net...lecd/index.html
or you have to make it yourself with this program http://forums.spybot...loads.php?id=14

so i think that it is not possible to add it automaticly in sardu .
or you have to add it in extra yourself :confused1:.
But i am not shure.


Scorpy

#32 .William.

.William.

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Localized
  • Interests:Development participation: MultiPar, Copy Handler, SARDU, Linux Live USB Creator, B&S.
    Operating Systems: Windows, Ubuntu
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 20 February 2011 - 08:43 PM

@ Davidecosta: There is a free Spybot Boot CD creator tool (from the makers of Spybot) that you can use to create your own Spybot Boot CD ISO. I have used it to make one and am very happy with the results. But I see your point that for SARDU you need to be able to download it directly.

@ Scorpy: Same as for David. :confused1:


@ Davidecosta: I forgot to mention this one: A wonderful utility that rescued my PC once when all 'experts' said I should better format my HDD and reinstall my O.S. is Rescatux, a live cd/usb:

# Fixes GRUB
# Fixes GRUB2
# Regenerates grub menues (Only in Debian/Ubuntu systems)
# Check filesystems and fix them

It restored my Grub-PC for a dual-boot of Linux Mint and Windows Vista and is very easy to use.

Rescatux is an ISO download of 371 MB.

You can download Rescatux from supergrubdisk.org

#33 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 February 2011 - 08:42 PM

Release New Version 2.0.2b

Changelog:
  • Add Blacklist to unit USB
  • Update new Gparted
  • Update new Parted Magic


With this release who have problems with multi adapter usb or ramdrive can blaclist any Letter

#34 avgsmoe

avgsmoe
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2011 - 04:30 PM

Is it just me or is DrWeb not loading?
Tried re-downloading. The DrWeb iso loads fine, just not on SARDU.

#35 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 25 February 2011 - 04:52 PM

Is it just me or is DrWeb not loading?
Tried re-downloading. The DrWeb iso loads fine, just not on SARDU.


I tried and SARDU download the ISO and works fine, your SARDU don't download DrWeb??

#36 avgsmoe

avgsmoe
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2011 - 06:41 PM

I tried and SARDU download the ISO and works fine, your SARDU don't download DrWeb??


I hadn't tried it for a while, since the new version originally had problems, then tested it this morning on vmware, and it stuck at the "loading system" stage. Just tried it on bare metal, and it works fine.

#37 kouzou

kouzou
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 26 February 2011 - 12:30 PM

Hi David .Merci pour le travail réaliser avec Sardu.

David peux tu insérer dans le menu de Sardu .ou montrer comment le mettre

Testdisk 6.12 win64 http://www.cgsecurit...stDisk_Download

Merci beaucoup.

#38 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 26 February 2011 - 12:42 PM

Hi David .Merci pour le travail réaliser avec Sardu.

David peux tu insérer dans le menu de Sardu .ou montrer comment le mettre

Testdisk 6.12 win64 http://www.cgsecurit...stDisk_Download

Merci beaucoup.


In SARDU there is TestDisk & PhotoRec 6.11.3 (6 May 2009), Data Recovery (Menu Tools)

6.12 is beta....

#39 Boo Tim

Boo Tim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 28 February 2011 - 08:53 PM

Hello. This is a feedback for Sardu 2.02b. I listed only items with problems found on a real machine using Sardu from USB.

- Ubuntu-10.10-desktop-i386.iso (original ISO or updated ISO):
1. First, there is an error message during Ubuntu boot: "Loading preseed file ... grep /root/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed: No such file"
2. Second, boot cannot be finished and there is the error message "Please provide a name for this Disc, such as 'Debian 5.0.3 Disk 1':"
Nothing can be typed here and I have to restart a computer.
Both .iso images work fine when I make a direct diskimage with Unetbootin.

- Fedora-14-i686-Live-Desktop.iso:
There is an error message "No root device found" and "Boot has failed" if I change USB name after Sardu created it. Now, "Sardu" is written as USB label. Can this be avoided, so that we can rename USB without problems?

- Even if I select Windows XP and 7 recovery disks, I can't see them on USB. Is this because I also selected full Windows XP SP3 and Windows AIO installations? If this is true, recovery disks should be turned off when we select full Windows installation.

- Finally, this is not a problem, just a question. When should we use syslinux 4?

Edited by Boo Tim, 28 February 2011 - 09:49 PM.


#40 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 February 2011 - 08:57 PM

Hello. This is a feedback for Sardu 2.02b. I listed only items with problems found on a real machine.

Ubuntu 10.10 (original ISO or updated ISO):
1. First, there is an error message during Ubuntu boot: "Loading preseed file ... grep /root/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed: No such file"
2. Second, boot cannot be finished and there is the error message "Please provide a name for this Disc, such as 'Debian 5.0.3 Disk 1':"
Nothing can be typed here and I have to restart a computer.

Fedora 14:
There is an error message "No root device found" and "Boot has failed" - Fedora worked with v.13

Even if I select Windows Xp and 7 recovery disks, I can't see them on USB. Is this because I also selected full Windows XP SP3 and Windows AIO installations? If this is true, recovery disks should be turned off when we select full Windows installation.


USB or ISO?

#41 Boo Tim

Boo Tim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 28 February 2011 - 09:17 PM

USB

#42 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 February 2011 - 09:33 PM

SARDU with USB and

Fedora 14 OK, your problem with label
Ubuntu 10.10 solve in next version. Try to move the folder .disk from ubuntu folder to the root
Seven AIO works fine
Xp Recovery Disk works fine
Win 7 Recovery Disk works fine
Win 7 64 Recovery Disk works fine
Win Xp Professional


I see all RD in the menu

After i edit and write result


#43 Boo Tim

Boo Tim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 28 February 2011 - 09:53 PM

I found the explanation for Fedora and changed the original post, but also posting here:
There is an error message "No root device found" and "Boot has failed" if I change USB name after Sardu created it. Now, "Sardu" is written as USB label.

I change USB name like this "MyName-SizeGb". So, first solution would be to avoid USB label in .cfg, and other solution would be to choose USB name during creation. Is this possible?

#44 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 February 2011 - 10:04 PM

I found the explanation for Fedora and changed the original post, but also posting here:
There is an error message "No root device found" and "Boot has failed" if I change USB name after Sardu created it. Now, "Sardu" is written as USB label.

I change USB name like this "MyName-SizeGb". So, first solution would be to avoid USB label in .cfg, and other solution would be to choose USB name during creation. Is this possible?



For works fedora with label changed see the file fedora.cfg

#45 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 March 2011 - 05:59 PM

Release new version 2.0.2c

Changelog:
  • Fix Ubuntu/kubuntu USB
  • Added Ubuntu MRT
  • Added Install Vista
  • Changed boot of Vista RD


#46 Boo Tim

Boo Tim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 02 March 2011 - 09:59 AM

Thank you, .disk solved the issue for Ubuntu. I still have to check for Windows recovery disks.

Can you please add a function to update a single image, so that we don't have to update the whole USB? This could be solved with "Update selection on USB", which would not change the menu.
Also, profiles stored in .ini files, available with "File-Load profile.." would be helpful for tests, to have for example a full profile and a profile with 1-2 applications for test.

Apart from /extra, also very useful would be another customized list of folders that should be copied to USB. I'd put there /slax/modules. If that's not possible, please add at least this "/slax/modules" if present in ISO.

I'd kindly ask you to put image files from USB root, such as "super_grub.imz", "Windows98_SE.img" or "Windows_7_32-bit_Repair_Disc.iso" to some foder, /bootdisk would be fine for all that.

I have also a request for another image, if possible: Centos.

For other users, I'd like to write that it's rather easy to use .iso from /extra, just add something like:
Label FreeDos
Menu Label FreeDos
kernel memdisk
append iso raw initrd=/extra/freedos.iso

Edited by Boo Tim, 02 March 2011 - 10:00 AM.


#47 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2011 - 03:28 PM

Thank you, .disk solved the issue for Ubuntu. I still have to check for Windows recovery disks.

Can you please add a function to update a single image, so that we don't have to update the whole USB? This could be solved with "Update selection on USB", which would not change the menu.
Also, profiles stored in .ini files, available with "File-Load profile.." would be helpful for tests, to have for example a full profile and a profile with 1-2 applications for test.

Apart from /extra, also very useful would be another customized list of folders that should be copied to USB. I'd put there /slax/modules. If that's not possible, please add at least this "/slax/modules" if present in ISO.

I'd kindly ask you to put image files from USB root, such as "super_grub.imz", "Windows98_SE.img" or "Windows_7_32-bit_Repair_Disc.iso" to some foder, /bootdisk would be fine for all that.

I have also a request for another image, if possible: Centos.

For other users, I'd like to write that it's rather easy to use .iso from /extra, just add something like:
Label FreeDos
Menu Label FreeDos
kernel memdisk
append iso raw initrd=/extra/freedos.iso



You can add only one ISO for the USB. After SARDU recheck all the USB and remake the menu (not extra).
For Slax modules .....hehehem :( :questionmark: make a folder named slax-modules in ISO folder. SARDU add all modules in \slax\modules, This option exists from version 1.x :smiling9:
put image files from USB root to /bootdisk ..i can do :ph34r:
CentOS....if i can...

#48 Boo Tim

Boo Tim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 02 March 2011 - 05:30 PM

There is something strange with my Windows recovery disks.
First time I selected Windows XP and 7 and recovers disks, http://img215.images...i/windowse.jpg/ I got this in pe.cfg:
label Boot from Windows XP Install
menu label Boot from Windows XP Professional SP3 Install
MENU INDENT 1
kernel /WINSETUP/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file="/WINSETUP/winsetupXPpSP3.lst
#
#boot di XP Recovery Console
label Boot from XP Recovery Console
menu label Boot from XP Recovery Console
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND cmldr=/cmdcons/setupldr.bin hd0,1
#
#MENU pe 2
label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk --Install Seven
menu label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk -- Install Seven
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND boot ntldr=/bootmgr

Next time I selected only 3 Windows XP and 7 recovery disks, http://img59.imagesh...owschecked.jpg/ I got this in pe.cfg:
label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk --Install Seven
menu label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk -- Install Seven
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND boot ntldr=/bootmgr

The third time I used the same configuration as the second time, and just generated the menu. I got the same configuration as the first time, Windows XP was here although it was not checked.

And, there were no .iso files on USB root. If I remember well, those recovery disks were copied as .iso before? This may be the reason of misunderstanding, that they are not copied now, but extracted instead. But why is Xp then here, although it was not checked?


For Slax modules .....You said that the option exists. Does this mean that the contents from "(SARDU)/ISO/slax/modules" will be copied to (USB)/slax/modules? This does not work for me.

Edited by Boo Tim, 02 March 2011 - 05:40 PM.


#49 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2011 - 07:00 PM

There is something strange with my Windows recovery disks.
First time I selected Windows XP and 7 and recovers disks, http://img215.images...i/windowse.jpg/ I got this in pe.cfg:
label Boot from Windows XP Install
menu label Boot from Windows XP Professional SP3 Install
MENU INDENT 1
kernel /WINSETUP/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file="/WINSETUP/winsetupXPpSP3.lst
#
#boot di XP Recovery Console
label Boot from XP Recovery Console
menu label Boot from XP Recovery Console
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND cmldr=/cmdcons/setupldr.bin hd0,1
#
#MENU pe 2
label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk --Install Seven
menu label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk -- Install Seven
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND boot ntldr=/bootmgr

Next time I selected only 3 Windows XP and 7 recovery disks, http://img59.imagesh...owschecked.jpg/ I got this in pe.cfg:
label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk --Install Seven
menu label Boot from Menu PE >2 / Recovery Disk -- Install Seven
MENU INDENT 1
COM32 /chain.c32
APPEND boot ntldr=/bootmgr

The third time I used the same configuration as the second time, and just generated the menu. I got the same configuration as the first time, Windows XP was here although it was not checked.

And, there were no .iso files on USB root. If I remember well, those recovery disks were copied as .iso before? This may be the reason of misunderstanding, that they are not copied now, but extracted instead. But why is Xp then here, although it was not checked?


For Slax modules .....You said that the option exists. Does this mean that the contents from "(SARDU)/ISO/slax/modules" will be copied to (USB)/slax/modules? This does not work for me.



Yesterday i changed the management of Vista RD. Now not with iso.

APPEND boot ntldr=/bootmgr is for all pe >2 or for install of Vista or Install of Seven or RD of Vista and Seven. bootmgr call BCD and....you have the menu with all options

Wen you update one USB SARDU check all files, if in the usb there is install of XP SARDU add the install of XP.


For Slax modules .....hehehem :confused1: B) make a folder named slax-modules in ISO folder. SARDU add all modules in \slax\modules, This option exists from version 1.x :)


Does this mean that the contents from "(SARDU)/ISO/slax/modules" < ----error, different of slax-modules :unsure:

#50 davlak

davlak

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 224 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 March 2011 - 07:18 PM

Hi omonimo, the button to ubuntu mrt don't work.
it opens a command prompt.
grazie per tutto il resto.
thanks for all your job. :confused1:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users