Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Multi-Wim


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 04 February 2011 - 04:57 PM

I have ported my MultiWim-script from VistaPE to Win7PE
What it does?

You can use multiple wimfiles in one ISO selected over Microsoft-Boot-Menu in addition to grub4dos startmenu.

An example:
1. WIM - Standard for machines with more then 1gb RAM (Explorer, IE, MMC and more Addons)
2. WIM - Minimal for Machines with lower then 1gb RAM (BSExplorer, no IE, no MMC and more)

How does it work?

At first compilation deselect MultiWim and deselect 'Create ISO' and enabled only addons for minimal version. If is finished copy the wim-file fom target\source\boot.wim to another dir (for example %BaseDir%\multi-wim) rename the file to boot2.wim.
At second compilation select MultiWim and ISO and all Addons and shell for standard-version. In MultiWim select the copied boot2.wim and set the caption for the Boot-Entry.
Thats all
At runtime you can select the two versions for WIN7PE.

Here you can download it:

Attached File  MultiWim.7z   8.13KB   263 downloads

Place it in Folder OtherOS.

regards
2aCD
  • u2o likes this

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 04 February 2011 - 05:15 PM

You can use multiple wimfiles in one ISO selected over Microsoft-Boot-Menu in addition to grub4dos startmenu.

Sounds very interesting :cheers: I'll try tomorrow.

One question: What's the advantage compared with including the different ISOs directly in the Grub4Dos menu.lst?
IMHO the overhead size to create the ISO is very small (about 20 MB). For a DVD / USB stick that is "nearly zero".

Peter

#3 ChrisR

ChrisR

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 784 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 04 February 2011 - 06:39 PM

You can use multiple wimfiles in one ISO selected over Microsoft-Boot-Menu in addition to grub4dos startmenu.

An example:
1. WIM - Standard for machines with more then 1gb RAM (Explorer, IE, MMC and more Addons)
2. WIM - Minimal for Machines with lower then 1gb RAM (BSExplorer, no IE, no MMC and more)

I have not tried it yet, but I read the script and it looks very good :cheers:

in addition to the amount of RAM, it also allows to choose between a more or less rapid startup .

Does it works only with grub4dos ?
Can you add the choice of timeout as in the script "Create Iso" or "copy to usb"

Thanks, I'll test it now :cheers: .

Edit : I just tested, first wim with bsexplorer and 2nd with explorer, That's fine
and for info on the latest Internet Explorer script, it works well in bsexplorer x86 also

:)

#4 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 04 February 2011 - 09:03 PM

I have upload a new script with little cosmetics for better help and use (Thanks Lancelot).

@pscEx
The interesting thing about it is, the shared programs-folder, for programs they are running not from ram.
The installed programs from different wims use the same programs-folder on DVD. Generate the separate wims from minimal to maximal and you have no problems with missing programs.
I also use this script to generate wim without proxy (private use)and another wim with proxy.
There are many ways

@ChrisR
It works also without grub :cheers:

Have fun trying
2aCD

#5 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 04 February 2011 - 10:16 PM

Thanks ChrisR for adding Timeoutoption.
It's a good idea.
I have update Upload.

regards
2aCD

#6 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 05 February 2011 - 12:50 AM

I am not very sure,but I think this tutorial by Steve may help save some space.

How to boot to different WinPE versions using a single boot.wim that contains multiple images

#7 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1334 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 05 February 2011 - 04:15 AM

This is a great way to add things to the second boot menu (or I guess if you don't use grub/isolinux, the first one).

I took a different approach by modifying some of the things I learned from this RMPrep tutorial (and in fact it is mentioned in the above link as well!) that shows how to modify the boot manager so it uses a differnt BCD and hence goes directly from a GRUB/Isolinux menu command to the WIM file.

Both as with "life" more choices on how to get a job done are a good thing... :mellow: So either way is OK...

My only issue is that somehow the second one needs to be created after the first one (which is the main PE)...so, I may give this a try as well

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13602 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 February 2011 - 09:37 AM

Additionally:
http://www.msfn.org/...inside-bootwim/

:mellow:
Wonko

#9 Chefkeks

Chefkeks

    Member

  • Members
  • 43 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 07 February 2011 - 07:26 PM

[german]Sehr schönes Script, Danke :dubbio:[/german]
English: Thanks for this script (:

Just one thing: I use %BCDEdit%=#$q%Tools%\%OSArch%\bcdedit.exe#$q (instead of %TargetDir%\Windows\system32\bcdedit.exe) and moved the script to Finalize folder (and to level 8). Additionally I renamed it (3-postconfig-wim.script) and edited the title (3 - PostConfig WIMs) to make sure it's placed right behind the 3-postconfig.script So I can create multiple wim files and easily integrate which one I like. I do not always need to run the whole process again just to modify bcd.

Chefkeks

#10 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 07 February 2011 - 09:21 PM

I have ported my MultiWim-script from VistaPE to Win7PE
,,,,,,,,,,,
2aCD

Good idea and interesting.

If we can choose any of wim index from one wim file, it would be more interesting.

Regards,

ah

#11 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 07 February 2011 - 10:41 PM

Hi Wonko,

I've replied without reading your post. :)
Yes, that is what I exactly needed. :ranting2:
Thanks for your post.

I'll be too busy since now. :buehehe:

Regards,

ah

#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 February 2011 - 11:25 PM

Wonko's link is the pre-amble which led to my tutorial #16 which uses the findings from this thread and JFX's tool to automate the process.

#13 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 08 February 2011 - 03:15 PM

Thanks Steve,
You saved my time a lot.
Now I have saved about 400mb in usb flash.
It shrinks from 1gb(total 4 wim files) to 616mb(one wim file) and fully working (tested)

Regards

ah

#14 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6597 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 08 February 2011 - 03:44 PM

Thanks Steve,
You saved my time a lot.
Now I have saved about 400mb in usb flash.
It shrinks from 1gb(total 4 wim files) to 616mb(one wim file) and fully working (tested)

Regards

ah

Just for completeness for this thread, which 4 wims and what method (using diskpart and imagex?).

#15 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 08 February 2011 - 04:55 PM

used imagex.

Regards,

ah

#16 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 09 February 2011 - 12:20 AM

No edit option in own message . :dubbio:
With 2 Win7 32 and 2 7_64 wims.

Regards,

ah

#17 thefuse

thefuse

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 October 2011 - 03:03 AM

This script is Awesome.....works so well,great concept to bring miltiple wims into the one disk/usb.saves space,(and discs) by allowing different .wims to boot depending on ram use on the host comp(great for the old clunky boxes) And so simple to execute/configure!...usefull in so many ways,thank you for the sharing this wonderfull piece of work:-)..

#18 Firebug70

Firebug70
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 March 2013 - 09:46 PM

Is thier any way that Mulit-Win can change the boot order of the wim files? like i want to boot wim3 first and not Win7 PE?



#19 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1334 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 March 2013 - 08:34 PM

do you mean the default order of the wim files?  My guess (I don't use this script anymore) is that you should be able to re-order things inside the script, or add the right BCD commands to make the one you want the "default" (if that's all you needed).



#20 Firebug70

Firebug70
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 March 2013 - 04:11 AM

the defualt is Win7pe and then you have to slecet the others buy useing the up and down arrows. I found a work around that works well for me. I just told it to use GRUB for dos and i can edit the menu.lst file and put the 1 i want to boot first at the top of the list.



#21 u2o

u2o

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 257 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  •  
    Argentina

Posted 21 March 2014 - 08:40 AM

Hi All!

 

@2aCD: Very good script! I also think it would be a good idea, an extended version of the script, something like

 

 

106kirt.jpg

 

 

if you like, I send it to you (only 397 lines )

 

 

best regards!



#22 2aCD

2aCD

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 345 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 21 March 2014 - 09:54 AM

Hi u2o,

I already had a extreme version from this script:

Attached File  zMultiWim_extreme.script   38.78KB   50 downloads

enable this instead the standard Multiwim.

I have no test this with many wims, but I think it works.

Best regards
2aCD

#23 u2o

u2o

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 257 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  •  
    Argentina

Posted 24 March 2014 - 07:05 AM

Thanks for response!

 

Only for info. The problem don't is your script.

 

I've test it on Win7PE_SE from Windows7 x86.

  • Don't work Win7 BCD to load Windows 8 WIM(s).
  • Don't work VirtualBox/VMWare/qEmu to test Win8PE or Win8 WIM(s) from Windows 7.


#24 NightShark

NightShark
  • Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 17 March 2015 - 01:09 PM

Hi u2o,

I already had a extreme version from this script:

attachicon.gifzMultiWim_extreme.script

enable this instead the standard Multiwim.

I have no test this with many wims, but I think it works.

Best regards
2aCD

 

Many thx for this amazing script. Do you have an actual version (build v.20) with extreme entries? 



#25 Tony4219

Tony4219

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 29 June 2015 - 03:00 PM

@2aCD

Thank you for this script, as I was trying to get 5,6 or 7 WIMs as a choice at boot, using the BCD method.

 

I was not able to get #5 and beyond to work at first, but determined that the series of "IF" statements had to be added, and the pushbuttons had to be activated by commenting out what was there, and uncommenting the originals.  WIM choices for 5/6/7 now work properly using BCD, although I have not tested the permutations of some checkboxes unchecked; I use all checked.

 

 I followed your pattern for the IF statements. Every additional WIM doubles the number of tests needed, when preparing the BCD menu.

 

As it is, for WIM #7, at the running boot choice menu, only 6 items show, and you have to scroll past them to see #7.

 

I can upload V13 (could not paste it here; )

 

Tony4219

 

 

 

 

 

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users