Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Installing Grub4Dos in Logical Hidden Partition


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Navi Singh

Navi Singh
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Chandigarh
  • Interests:Bodybuilding and Technology
  •  
    Canada

Posted 31 January 2011 - 12:08 PM

Greetings to all.. :clap:
I am working on Grub4Dos and have gone through all of the Senior Member posts especially Jaclaz :).
I have all the tools ready with me including grub4dos gui, mbrldr etc however
I'm right now overwhelmed with all the information not able to summarize what exactly I need to do in order to accomplish the following. :thumbsup:
My requirements are >>
(1) Install Grub in a Logical Hidden Partition. I've created a CD-ROM ISO which is made using EasyBoot and I would like to extract its contents to that Hidden Partition, extract the boot file from ISO and use Grub to load it. So, that when I boot to this partition, the EasyBoot menu comes up. I have gone through loading ISO Images directly however I'm trying to load it after extraction. (If this is not possible at all, I will boot ISOLinux)
(2) I want to assign a shortcut key (any function key) so that in case primary partition gets corrupt or anything including Boot.ini, I'm still able to jump to Grub using a Shortcut key etc.
(3) I want to avoid any association with the Primary Partition wherever possible if not completely.

;) :w00t: :cheers: :sos: :sos: :sos:



#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 11,076 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 January 2011 - 12:52 PM

Basic things. :thumbsup:
  • You need then to install grub4dos grldr.mbr to the MBR (and a few of the hidden sectors).
  • You can copy grldr (and your menu.lst) to *any* partition (including a Hidden Logical Volume inside Extended), the grub4dos grldr.mbr should be able to find grldr and menu.lst nonetheless.
  • At this point everything depends on the contents of the .iso you made (NOT by the fact that you made it with Easyboot or anything else), and whether, in order to boot the .iso (or its contents extracted to the partition) you need to unhide it or not, and/or fix the "sectors before" in the bootsector (if chainloading the partition bootsector is chosen) and/or by the amount of RAM you have on that machine, that may allow (again depending on the contents of the .iso) --mem mapping of the .iso itself.
  • Chainloading Easyboot menu system outside of the .iso should prove to be not possible - AFAIK Easyboot is a (Commercial :)) utility for CD/DVD's ONLY. ;)
  • It is pointless - as I see it - to attempt using the Easyboot menu system, as it would be much easier to "translate" it to grub4dos syntax - but of course this is a decision you will have to take.

--hot-key=K
usage is detailed in README_GRUB4DOS.txt, as well as other useful for your goal bootlace.com parameters, such as:
--boot-prevmbr-first
and:
--time-out=T
--force-backup-mbr

The above should be all the info needed to get you started. :clap:

If I were you I would separate the problem in two parts:
  • installing grub4dos grldr.mbr with the desired Hot key and test it with the grldr on the hidden logical volume inside extended with any "dummy" menu.lst
  • transform/modify/translate/adapt your .iso (or it's extracted contents) to work when loaded/chainloaded/whatever by grub4dos and create a suitable menu.lst entry

:w00t:
Wonko

#3 Navi Singh

Navi Singh
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Chandigarh
  • Interests:Bodybuilding and Technology
  •  
    Canada

Posted 01 February 2011 - 10:11 AM

Thank you for the reply my Friend :cheers:
I am not preferring a new menu designed in Grub as Grub menu can be edited, and there's always that heading "Grub4Dos" on the top. Secondly, if I use Gfxboot for a more advanced menu, it can still be exited back to traditional Grub Menu by hitting Escape. I do not want to give any control to the user outside of what that can be selected from the Menu Options I've created. As per your solution (and tips at last :thumbsup:) I will go step by step. I will test the things like HotKeys and Hidden partition at the end. First I am working on doing somthing about a Menu that is locked and does not give any control to the user except what I want, and uses a background image most importantly.. :cheers:

I will post the development of my project with getting successful with each step :) Right now trying different chainload routines in menu.lst file. :worship: Oh yes, and I'm using Grub loaded into MBR. ;)

Please update me with any other things I need to do or can solve my purpose..
Many Thanks to you :cheers:

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 11,076 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 February 2011 - 10:43 AM

Well :thumbsup::

;)
Wonko

#5 Navi Singh

Navi Singh
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Chandigarh
  • Interests:Bodybuilding and Technology
  •  
    Canada

Posted 02 February 2011 - 09:22 PM

Dear Jaclaz,
I don't know what I would have done without all your kind help.
I have accomplished the primary goals of this project, they are>>

(1) Loaded Grub4Dos in PBR :cheers:

(2) Using mbldr with a timer to select between Grub (in PBR) or Windows XP, using shortcut keys (the Key Scan code 8500, 85, 87, 133,135 didn't work to get it working using F11, so I'm stuck using F1 and F2 only at the moment. I will try Partita or any other MBR tool as well (pls suggest), the thing I want from the Mbr loader that it should fit into a single sector, then it just displays exactly what I want, and NO company logos or copyright messages during startup plus hot-key triggering). :merc:
Also, can we Hex Edit MBR and insert any key code of our choice manually? ;)

(3) :cheers: Able to bring my sweet EasyBoot menu up and running (ISO). The commands are executed successfully at the EasyBoot Menu part. It gave me Error 70 file must be contigous, so it worked using the --mem keyword. :thumbsup: I'm using 0 second timer in menu.lst file so that the tool appears to be executed straight after the MBR.

There are some problems with the Custom Recovery Tool Code that I'm writing, so I will post update after debugging.

I work for Dell (Hardware) and few months back I created a guide regarding the working with its Hardrive without affecting the restore functionality. I hope it can find its place in your collection of links. ;)
Dell XP Restore

Jaclaz I'm implementing the following routine (please click on the image below as it may have been shrinked)>>


Posted Image

With your help I'm almost there now Posted Image Please keep me updated with your valuable suggestions.

Posted Image


Edited by Navi Singh, 02 February 2011 - 09:52 PM.


#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 11,076 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 February 2011 - 10:21 PM

Hmm :thumbsup:, I seem to remember that I did test F11/ scancode 87dec/57hex and it worked ;).
http://www.msfn.org/...d/page__st__105

Maybe it depends by the actual keyboards or BIOSes?
http://www.win.tue.n...es-1.html#ss1.4
The last "standard" F key is F10 in Hex:
3b (F1), 3c (F2), 3d (F3), 3e (F4), 3f (F5), 40 (F6), 41 (F7), 42 (F8), 43 (F9), 44 (F10)
55 is less common; occurs e.g. as F11 on a Cherry G80-0777 keyboard, as F12 on a Telerate keyboard, as PF1 on a Focus 9000 keyboard, and as FN on an IBM ThinkPad.
....
57 (F11), 58 (F12) both on a 101+ key keyboard

You can check the actual scancodes your hardware creates with something like (Commercial):
http://www.passmark....cts/keytest.htm
Or possibly better from DOS with this:
http://usfiles.broth...us/scancode.com
or something here:
http://freesoft.free...eeSoft/keyb.htm
or LSD:
http://www.resoo.org...are/dirutil.htm


Another "single sector" MBR (EXPERIMENTAL) you may want to play with:
http://reboot.pro/12436/

You can make files contiguous allright, search for contig and/or wincontig.

More generally, if you have grub4dos PBR, you don't actually need mbldr, you can always load the grldr and in it use the F-key to select between recovery and "normal" XP.
Or if you prefere "fork" at grldr (and not at MBR).
(or am I missing something? ;))

:cheers:
Wonko

P.S.: Your image has "dynamic address" (or whatever) and isn't shown, I am attaching it.

Attached Thumbnails

  • snap0000057.jpg


#7 Navi Singh

Navi Singh
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Chandigarh
  • Interests:Bodybuilding and Technology
  •  
    Canada

Posted 02 February 2011 - 11:11 PM

Oh I'm sorry for that Sir. Reloading the image on Imageshack server.. Thank you again for the info. I will now be working on your links.. ;) You are awesome!!!!!

The reason I did not choose Grldr as my menu choice as it always displays things which I don't want (Grub4Dos Header and instructions at the footer.).. I want to make it look like the OEMs do. :thumbsup:


Posted Image

Edited by Navi Singh, 02 February 2011 - 11:15 PM.


#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 11,076 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 February 2011 - 11:33 PM

Oh I'm sorry for that Sir.

Stop calling me Sir!:
http://en.wikipedia....eppermint_Patty
http://en.wikipedia....Marcie_(Peanuts)
http://img.photobuck...z/pmscanab4.jpg
:thumbsup:

;)
Wonko

#9 Navi Singh

Navi Singh
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Chandigarh
  • Interests:Bodybuilding and Technology
  •  
    Canada

Posted 02 February 2011 - 11:43 PM

Posted Image


Edited by Navi Singh, 02 February 2011 - 11:44 PM.


#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 11,076 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 03 February 2011 - 12:21 AM

The reason I did not choose Grldr as my menu choice as it always displays things which I don't want (Grub4Dos Header and instructions at the footer.).. I want to make it look like the OEMs do. ;)

Hmmm. :thumbsup:
Try setting first line of menu.lst to:
color black/black black/black black/black black/black
and/or additionally use a black splashimege.
http://diddy.boot-la...enu.htm#display

What can you see? ;)

Also:
http://reboot.pro/6145/

More complex, but if you use a gfxmenu (still with a black image) you should have additional options ....

:cheers:
Wonko