Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Has anyone tested the site with a few browsers?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
35 replies to this topic

#1 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 December 2010 - 11:18 AM

Interesting results. :rofl:

You get all the top part (besides the header) completely blank and you have to scroll the whole page to get anything meaningful. :heh:

Tested with 6.0.2900.2180 (XP SP2).

With Opera it seems there is not the "preview" feature Nuno was talking about. :heh:

A good idea could be making it ONLY IE 9 compatible. :heh:

:rolleyes:
Wonko

#2 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 16 December 2010 - 11:50 AM

A good idea could be making it ONLY IE 9 compatible.

Sorry, I don't really agree with your opinion.

We do test with different browsers :heh: . If there was intention of motivating you to use IE, then I'd also ensure that visitors can only browse the site if they have the dot net framework version 4 also installed on their machines.. :rofl:

Would you please attach a screenshot? (or youtube video :heh: ). I've tested with Opera under OSX and it looked as intended. Opera strives for complying with HTML standards which should have rendered similar results under Windows

:heh:

#3 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1444 posts
  • Location:Santa Barbara, California
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 December 2010 - 12:08 PM

Using Google Chrome 8.0.552.224, when I zoom in the site content(because somewhere font sizes are a real challenge), the ADs overlap on each other instead of moving apart from each other.

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 December 2010 - 12:12 PM

Would you please attach a screenshot? (or youtube video :blink: ). I've tested with Opera under OSX and it looked as intended. Opera strives for complying with HTML standards which should have rendered similar results under Windows

A screenshot of what?

Under I.E. 6 I cannot view anything in the "main part" of the homepage unless I scroll down.
I.e. the

latest news > Welcome to the Reboot forum!

Recent comments

starts immediately below the last line of the righthand frame, the one that right now reads:

1 member(s) have a birthday today

SystemAlex (35)


Under Opera I cannot see anything like the "preview" feature you were describing.

If I got it right from your description, keeping the mouse hovering on a topic title (as seen in the "main" page should open a preview of the first few lines of the topic.

All I get, (only once for each refresh of the page and not always :rofl: is a small greyish rectangle, centered, sporting a "Loading..." message.

NEVER MIND :rolleyes: , I got it. :heh:
This is maybe a more accurate description :cheers::

When the mouse hovers over a topic title, an almost INVISIBLE, SMALLish, semi-transparent something, looking like a LIGHT green arrow over an icon representing possibly a sheet of paper appears on the right of the topic title, THEN you have to move the mouse (horizontally) over it (and it becomes actually visible) then a "baloon message" appears with "Topic preview", then you click on the now visible icon, and you get the preview.



Very good, easy, straightforward and intuitive. :heh:

I may add that since the "standard" position to close a window is on the top right (or more rarely on the bottom right), the nice preview has it on the top left, this is a nice, new and l33t idea that surely will help improve the Alexa ranking of the site. :thumbup:

If you do the "preview trick" on the first topic in thios view:
http://reboot.pro/in...earch&do=active
the preview close button is half outside the visible window and particularly difficult to spot, as it has the same background of the top band and all you can see is a "^" sign (lower half of the actual "x")

Another thing, the links to gravatar.com seem like SLOWing considerably the loading of the page(s).

About .Net 4 is not a bad idea, I see that sarcasm is not easily spotted nowadays. :heh:

A suggested Author:
http://en.wikipedia....i/Donald_Norman
particularly The Design of Everyday Things and The Design of Future Things

:cheers:
Wonko

#5 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 16 December 2010 - 03:00 PM

Some testing with Opera...

- Confirm, there is a problem with Preview feature in Opera 11. It is detailed in the above post. Preview is at times only partially visible after clicking its icon. It's never visible without clicking the icon. Fully visible Preview window should be bigger.

- Also, "Loading" message appears on screen periodically when doing nothing - not even moving a mouse.

- Now a poster can deselect Show "Edited by" line in forum posts. The suggestion is to remove deselect option from Member posts, since Edit date is added now to regular member posts. Of course, editing posts may be required later, as user knowledge progresses - especially useful for Tutorials. But I noticed, some guys tend to use old post links in their arguments with others. So, they may edit the old post first, then argue they said a different thing in the past. ;) To prevent such empty arguments and cut down off topic or flaming postings, its better to have ONE RULE FOR ALL MEMBERS:

ALL POSTS ARE STAMPED WITH CREATION AND LAST EDITION DATE.

The Date Stamp is fair solution to every Board member - equal rights in presenting supporting or illustrating docs. No cheating... :stretcher: If a post looks better without Edited By line, then every member should be able to activate that line in any forum post (not only his own posts), so it becomes visible. And of course no-one should be able to edit that line regardless of access rights.

Edited by sambul61, 16 December 2010 - 03:57 PM.


#6 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 17 December 2010 - 02:39 PM

Another thing, the links to gravatar.com seem like SLOWing considerably the loading of the page(s).



i removed gravatar.com from forum - they are under DDoS attack .
We can live without them.

I can not open gravatar.com site.
like statcounter also...

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 December 2010 - 09:02 PM

OK, now i'm officialy p***ed.

Those new pages crash Maxthon with IE6 engine right when reboot.pro is called.

The floating whatevers have crashed FF1.5,3.6 and Opera 8.54.
With that, has the board not only crashed every browser i own, but also achived the impossible.
Being the first site ever, which crashed any Opera browser on me.

Send me an eMail when you're done, with which browser this board is usable.

:rofl:

#8 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 17 December 2010 - 09:50 PM

Opera 11 works fine here, except above mentioned issues.

But every browser may crash on some sites. I'm a long time Opera fan, and have to say, new releases in the past crashed quite often.

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 December 2010 - 10:46 PM

Firefox latest version (I allow automatic updates) works fine, too.

Peter

#10 MaineCoon

MaineCoon

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 193 posts
  •  
    Austria

Posted 18 December 2010 - 12:41 AM

Both FF 3.6.13 and IE8 are working fine.

MaineCoon

#11 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 18 December 2010 - 07:22 PM

Would you please attach a screenshot?

IE 6.0.2900.5512.xpsp.080413-2111 (XP SP3):
ie_6.0.2900.5512_01.jpg
ie_6.0.2900.5512_02.jpg
ie_6.0.2900.5512_03.jpg

#12 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 18 December 2010 - 08:12 PM

I will tell the truth here:

That is not skin problem.

That is IPB 3.X.X problem.

and already an old story - for those who deal with IPB

This forum software is not made for IE6.

(and we will not go back)

Look:

http://community.inv...supporting-ie6/

IE8 is almost out. IE6 will be EOL very soon. At some point you have to move on. There are potential alternatives for IE6 users, but we can't concentrate on supporting 10 year old technology. It's just unrealistic.



and this is recommended:

In the skin just add



<if test="$this->memberData['userAgentKey'] == 'explorer' AND $this->memberData['userAgentVersion'] == 6">
Stop using IE6! (or whatever you want displayed here)
</if>


we do not use this method

:hi:

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 December 2010 - 09:06 PM

I will tell the truth here:


Do you mean that you lied everywhere else? :w00t:

A quote from House M.D. for you :happy_dance::

Occam's Razor. The simplest explanation is almost always somebody screwed up.


:cheers:
Wonko

#14 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 18 December 2010 - 09:38 PM

Do you mean that you lied everywhere else? :w00t:



not lie in question - peoples can override truth.

or even worse...you can troll around for fun.

perfect example of "flamebate": flamebate

:happy_dance:

#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 December 2010 - 09:55 PM

or even worse...you can troll around for fun.

I think you misunderstood the essence of my post :happy_dance:, I have no intention to lure you into a flame war of any kind :cheers:, but if ANY of the IPB developers responsible for the snippet you quoted:

In the skin just add
<if test="$this->memberData['userAgentKey'] == 'explorer' AND $this->memberData['userAgentVersion'] == 6">
Stop using IE6! (or whatever you want displayed here)
</if>

happens to read this, he/she should know :ranting2: that besides being utterly stupid, and incredibly unpolite, is also a serious form of "racism" (or - better - "classism") against the morons less experienced users that actually do still use IE 6, which - last time was checked, amounted to roughly 4% of internet users, far more than the restricted elite of really cool peeps more experienced users that only use Opera... :w00t:
Source:
http://www.w3schools...wsers_stats.asp
http://www.w3schools...rs_explorer.asp

:cheers:
Wonko

#16 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 18 December 2010 - 09:59 PM

Do you tested blue skin in IE6 ?

:happy_dance:

#17 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 18 December 2010 - 10:36 PM

but if ANY of the IPB developers responsible for the snippet you quoted


it is the official opinion of their entire team

Facebook do same thing:

Posted Image

#18 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 19 December 2010 - 08:25 AM

Do you tested blue skin in IE6 ?

for me the 'blue skin' even freezes my IE6

#19 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 19 December 2010 - 08:34 AM

for me the 'blue skin' even freezes my IE6


I wanted to hear that.

it just shows that - no one skin does not work properly in IE6 and the problem is not the skin.

#20 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 December 2010 - 09:33 AM

for me the 'blue skin' even freezes my IE6

Hi Dera.

In that case I really recommend that you either upgrade or use a different browser. Nowadays using IE6 is risky for your computer safety, not to say that it breaks compatibility with standard HTML as well.

#21 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 December 2010 - 09:45 AM

Yep :happy_dance:, it is quite clear that the problem is "philosophical" and "at the base" and not in in the skin.
It doesn't matter whether the opinion is "official" and if it is of the "entire team of IPB".

It remains stupid and "classist".

Besides, it is also counterproductive, I mean, we are not talking of a "marginal" browser (like Offbyone - that however ALSO doesn't work - it seems I cannot login with it), we are talking of the one that (no matter if good or bad) is the "default" one in - say - 4/5 of all new XP installs/re-installs (as - as you might know - it is utterly difficult to integrate a later version).

IMHO, we should have something like this:

<if test="$this->memberData['userAgentKey'] == 'explorer' AND $this->memberData['userAgentVersion'] == 6">
We are terribly sorry, but you seem like trying to access the Reboot.pro site with the browser Internet Explorer version 6.
This board uses IPB software which developers decided, with an uncredible arrogance and utter lack of common sense, to make their software not fully compatible with IE version 6.
You are adviced to update to a newer version of Internet Explorer or to another recent browser, like Opera.
You can continue browsing the site with IE6 but some features won't work or won't work properly and it is possible that your browser will freeze.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences.
</if>



:w00t:
Wonko

#22 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 19 December 2010 - 10:17 AM

so actually i don't use the browser IE6

there was a request to attach a screenshot which showes the IE6 problem
and as i have IE6 at hand therefore i attached the screenshot
and
there was a question about the 911CD aka blue skin in IE6
and as i have IE6 at hand therefore i answered

#23 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 19 December 2010 - 10:27 AM

Yep :w00t:, it is quite clear that the problem is "philosophical"



I disagree, that the problem is just "philosophical"

It is quite clear that the problem is Technology

Technology is advancing on the web.
The person has a choice to upgrade to the latest browser.
There are plenty of notifications for them to upgrade.

Google has also announced that they will stop support IE6:


Modern browsers for modern applications
Friday, January 29, 2010 at 2:00 PM

​The web has evolved in the last ten years, from simple text pages to rich, interactive applications including video and voice. Unfortunately, very old browsers cannot run many of these new features effectively. So to help ensure your business can use the latest, most advanced web apps, we encourage you to update your browsers as soon as possible. There are many choices:

Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0+

Mozilla Firefox 3.0+

Google Chrome 4.0+

Safari 3.0+

Many other companies have already stopped supporting older browsers like Internet Explorer 6.0 as well as browsers that are not supported by their own manufacturers. We’re also going to begin phasing out our support, starting with Google Docs and Google Sites. As a result you may find that from March 1 key functionality within these products -- as well as new Docs and Sites features -- won’t work properly in older browsers.

2010 is going to be a great year for Google Apps and we want to ensure that everyone can make the most of what we are developing. Please take the time to switch your organization to the most up-to-date browsers available.

Posted by Rajen Sheth, Google Apps Senior Product Manager


http://googleenterpr...plications.html


Now is December 19, 2010 or

maybe I'm wrong - maybe we are still stuck in 1999 :happy_dance:

#24 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 December 2010 - 10:57 AM

It is quite clear that the problem is Technology


No, the problem is still "philosophical", technology is supposed to help people live "easier" and "happier", NOT to create problems to them.
If it does, it becomes "technology in the hands of morons".

In all this, being polite, as opposed to arrogant, as in the suggested

Stop using IE6!


costs nothing.

Mind you I don't really personally care, as I use Opera since it's very first releases, and keep it "reasonably" up-to-date, I am only trying to defend the rights of the less experienced users to:
  • be informed about the limitations of their oldish browser
  • be informed of the above in a kind, sensitive way

Obviously if the guys at IPB had made more compatible code, this would have been a non-problem, and since I presume that making it could not have been THAT difficult, hairy reasoning all you like, but really:

How hard can it be?

Posted Image

it means that it was a decision on their part (a "philosophical" one) that made them remove the support for this particular version of the browser, as an in-house comparison, just like the initial decision by Nuno to have only the new skin was "philosophical", as you managed to fix it "technically" in no time, once you had the green light from him. :happy_dance:

:w00t:
Wonko

#25 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 December 2010 - 02:39 PM

No, the problem is still "philosophical", technology is supposed to help people live "easier" and "happier", NOT to create problems to them.

HTML standards have been around for even longer than IE6.

Go complain to Microsoft for not making things "easier" and "happier".. :happy_dance:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users