Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Boot in a Harddisk from a LiveCD


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 27 November 2010 - 05:48 PM

Hi,

The best forum for me!

Is it possible to boot from a LiveCD directly in a partition (Harddisk) of XP ?

CD with BOOTMGR and BCD, the boot in a partition (Harddisk) of Win7 or Vista is OK

CD with BOOTMGR + BCD + NTLDR + (NTDETECT.COM) + BOOT.INI, I can read BOOT.INI but
the system reboots after Enter (No message).

BOOTMGR (from CD) can determine C: but NTLDR (from CD) can't determine multi(0).... or C:

Thanks

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 November 2010 - 06:29 PM

Sure you can.

Use grldr (part of grub4dos) as an entry in BOOT.INI.
Or grldr.mbr as an entry in BCD (still you need grldr ALSO on the CD).

Read the guide:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showforum=66
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5187
http://diddy.boot-la...os/Grub4dos.htm
http://diddy.boot-la...all_windows.htm
(the same methods do work on CD/DVD too)

How this is connected to LveXP will remain a mistery to me.

:)
Wonko

#3 breaker

breaker

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 112 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 November 2010 - 07:35 PM

Hi,

The best forum for me!

Is it possible to boot from a LiveCD directly in a partition (Harddisk) of XP ?

CD with BOOTMGR and BCD, the boot in a partition (Harddisk) of Win7 or Vista is OK

CD with BOOTMGR + BCD + NTLDR + (NTDETECT.COM) + BOOT.INI, I can read BOOT.INI but
the system reboots after Enter (No message).

BOOTMGR (from CD) can determine C: but NTLDR (from CD) can't determine multi(0).... or C:

Thanks


You should read Wonko's urls.

But I don't understand if you are trying to chainload a LiveCD in your Optical Drive from boot.ini, or if you are trying to chainload an iso on your hard drive from boot.ini?

:)

breaker

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 November 2010 - 08:09 PM

But I don't understand if you are trying to chainload a LiveCD in your Optical Drive from boot.ini, or if you are trying to chainload an iso on your hard drive from boot.ini?

I read it as:
  • I am booting from a LiveCD that boots BOOTMGR+BCD
  • From it I can boot a Windows 7 install on hard disk.
  • If I add to it's BCD an entry for XP (i.e. for NTLDR/NTDETECT.COM/BOOT.INI) I cannot load an XP install on hard disk

I.e. How can I, once booted form CD, boot an actual install on hard disk.

:)
Wonko

#5 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 27 November 2010 - 09:45 PM

Hi, Wonko

My problem
Condition 1: I don't want to use grldr that uses NTLDR or BOOTMGR of harddisk
Condition 2: Boot an harddisk partition using a bootable CD / DVD that uses its own
BOOTMGR with BCD
Condition 3: boot an harddisk partition using a bootable CD / DVD that uses its own
NTLDR with BOOT.INI (NTLDR is launched by BOOTMGR)

I use a bootable DVD using Aero Studio
BCDW launches BOOTMGR (CD)
BOOTMGR reads BCD (CD)
BOOTMGR (CD) launches partition = E: (Windows 7) > Condition 2 is OK
BOOTMGR (CD) launches NTLDR (CD) that reads BOOT.INI (CD), the system reboots at the validation of an entry (BOOT.INI) with no message
> condition 3 is bad

Can we achieve the condition 3 ?
No GRLDR !

Thanks

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 28 November 2010 - 10:11 AM

BOOTMGR (CD) launches NTLDR (CD) that reads BOOT.INI (CD), the system reboots at the validation of an entry (BOOT.INI) with no message
> condition 3 is bad

Can we achieve the condition 3 ?

WHAT do you have in BOOT.INI?
WHERE is NTDETECT.COM?


No GRLDR !

Making things more complex than needed, I see. :)
Aerostudio+BCDW but NOT grub4dos (which is also part of Aerostudio).

:)
Wonko

#7 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 28 November 2010 - 05:32 PM

My config

DVD
\\BOOTMGR
\\BOOT.INI
\\NTLDR
\\NTDETECT.COM
\\BOOT\BCD
...
BCD
Windows Legacy OS Loader
------------------------
identifier : {ntldr}
device : boot
path : \ntldr
description : Version antérieure de Windows

Windows Boot Loader > OK (partition=E: No problem for BOOTMGR)
-------------------
identifier : {default}
device : partition=E:
path : \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description : Windows 7
locale : fr-FR
...

BOOT.INI > BAD (multi()disk()rdisk()partition() the problem for NTLDR in CD/DVD)
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="VALRXP630 " /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINDOWS="XP63 " /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="SP3XP631 " /NOEXECUTE=OPTIN /FASTDETECT

NTLDR in CD/DVD IS IT POSSIBLE ?

BOOTMGR in CD/DVD it's possible !

See you later !

#8 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 28 November 2010 - 06:54 PM

Maybe you could include a bootable floppy image (.VFD) in the .ISO? You could boot it with GRLDR. It could be formatted by Windows to boot its own NTLDR and you could include your special BOOT.INI.

#9 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2010 - 10:00 AM

Hi, Sha0 :D

I tried with a bootable floppy disk.

Bootable Floppy Disk
NTLDR
NTDETECT.COM
BOOT.INI

It works, then why not with my method ??? :)

Thanks

#10 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14912 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 29 November 2010 - 10:17 AM

It may depend on HOW you create the .iso.

2K NTLDR is compatible with iso-level 3 but NOT with iso-level 4, if I recall correctly, but the XP NTLDR should be ok :D

http://www.911cd.net...o...18045&st=25
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=141045


Check the LBA address of the files involved, maybe they are "beyond reach" (if it's a DVD).

:)
Wonko

#11 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 November 2010 - 08:08 PM

Hi, Wonko

I recompiled a piece of the DVD.
With a very small NTLDR LBA (Fig. 1), the problem is identical. :cheers:

Posted Image

I found another problem with Aero Studio.
High LBA of AIRBOOT files (Fig. 2) has caused an error:
Aero: system file checking failed.
Aero will use the console mode

Posted Image

I recompiled to have low LBA of AIRBOOT files (Fig. 3), there is no AERO STUDIO error.

Posted Image

#12 pamela67120

pamela67120

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 12 December 2010 - 01:23 PM

Salut à tous,

Je résume donc le fruit de mes recherches (CD/DVD > Harddisk)

Posted Image

See you later :lol:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users