Jump to content











Photo

GFX Menu making beta for Grub4dos


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#26 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 29 November 2010 - 08:25 PM

What minimum set of files & folders MUST be present on the HD booted from to have GFX Menu working at boot (not for setup), and where it CAN be placed? Is it enough to have only message, back.jpg and gfxboot.cfg? Should they be in GFX folder or just dropped in root?

just message - it can be placed anywhere on drive and path is specified in menu.lst. The files in the /files folder are compiled by the app (or repack.cmd) into the single file message - see here http://sites.google....orials/grub4dos

#27 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 03:20 AM

mesrine_29

Your nice menu disappears (goes back to default black basic menu) when Grub4DOS can't boot a selected device resulting in error message, and you press Enter to go back to the menu list. It should revert back to GFX menu instead. Can you fix that? Errors are usual outcome of what G4DOS is used for by most (try something), so going back to black menu often is annoying.

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 03:23 AM.


#28 mesrine_29

mesrine_29

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:48 PM

Hello,

This is not my menu, the menu with my software is a sample menu.

If you vouleez help with the menu grub4dos follow the link for "steve6375".

You want to change it on a hard drive or on removable media?

For a hard disk that is not the same facility.

For install on HArd Disk( Below is version 10.10 Ubuntu):

Download the grub-gfxboot.deb
And the message.suse

First remove your old grub


sudo apt-get remove grub
Then Install the gfxboot-grub


sudo dpkg -i grub-gfxboot_0.97-5_i386.deb

then we're going to move the message

sudo cp message.suse /boot/grub/ # the suse can be replaced by the one you downloaded

Then edit your menu.lst


sudo cp /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/menu.lst_backup

sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

and make it use gfxboot

gfxmenu /boot/grub/message.suse # the suse can be replaced


Then do :


sudo grub



grub> find /boot/grub/stage1

 (hdx,y) # this will be the output

grub> root (hdx,y)

grub> setup (hdx)

-- Howto make you own theme --


mkdir /home/name/whatever

cpio -i < /boot/grub/message.suse # replace it by the name of you message

edit the pictures

sudo ls . |cpio -o > /boot/grub/message.new


Although you must be in "root" ...^^

Source:Ubuntu.org

#29 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 01:56 PM

mesrine_29

Another thing I forget to mention:

Can you make any and all Grub4DOS error messages and Prompt & Reports appear on GFX Screen instead of black screen? In other words, Grub4DOS will never go back to black screen, unless a user specifically wanted to.

Pls also clarify, how one can go back manually (with what command) from black screen menu or prompt to GFX screen menu or GFX screen Grub4DOS prompt?

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 02:00 PM.


#30 mesrine_29

mesrine_29

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 30 November 2010 - 02:30 PM

You mean to access grub4dos menu ?

Add this to menu.lst

title << Retour au menu principal \n Brainconceptor config /s

configfile /menu.lst


#31 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 03:10 PM

OK, I tested this:

title Return to GFX menu \n Brainconceptor config /s
configfile /menu.lst

It shows up as a menu item and allows to return to GFX menu from a regular black screen Grub4DOS menu by clicking on that item.

How I can return to GFX menu from Grub4DOS CommandLine (command prompt)?

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 03:11 PM.


#32 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2010 - 05:00 PM

You mean to access grub4dos menu ?

Add this to menu.lst

title << Retour au menu principal \n Brainconceptor config /s

configfile /menu.lst

or just press [ESC] ???

#33 mesrine_29

mesrine_29

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 30 November 2010 - 06:24 PM

or just press [ESC] ???


For novice users an additional input is needed :cheers:

And I do not support the different issues on grub4dos, I use it with my own means..

The forum "bootland" meets expectation in many different users and enthusiasts bootloader ..

:cheers: :)

Edited by mesrine_29, 30 November 2010 - 06:28 PM.


#34 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2010 - 07:25 PM

For novice users an additional input is needed :cheers:

And I do not support the different issues on grub4dos, I use it with my own means..

The forum "bootland" meets expectation in many different users and enthusiasts bootloader ..

:cheers: :)


Here is one way

title gfxmenu

configfile /menu.lst



title grub4dos menu

cat /esc.txt && clear


The file esc.txt must exist and contain the ESC character (0x1b or 27 or 033 octal) - anyone know of a neater way to output the ESC character to the console or maybe create esc.txt on the fly from the menu entry instead of having to have the file already present?

#35 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 07:32 PM

I take it for now:

- there is no way to manually return to GFX menu from Grub4DOS command prompt by a direct command whatsoever... ?!

- its impossible to stay all the time in GFX menu. As soon as a boot error occurs, you're back to G4D black & white prompt, so can't stay in or return automatically to GFX menu

Basically, you can't go back at all once you're out. Can both issues be fixed - meaning never sent out regardless of any boot errors, and return back from prompt when needed?

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 07:48 PM.


#36 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2010 - 07:48 PM

return to gfxmenu from command prompt - yes type configfile /menu.lst

The gfxmenu does not support the timeout and default commands, so you can make it always go back to the GFXMenu by doing this

gfxmenu /message



color black/cyan yellow/cyan

timeout 1

default /default

deafult 0



title gfxmenu\nDisplay graphical menu

configfile /menu.lst



#The file esc.txt must exist and contain the ESC character &#40;0x1b or 27 or 033 octal&#41; 

title grub4dos menu

cat /esc.txt && clear


#37 mesrine_29

mesrine_29

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:36 PM

A new topic will be welcome to avoid getting off topic with "GFX Menu grub4dos for making beta"

See you soon, I'll prepare my live cd "Brainbuntu 10.10.

Thank you for all the tips and good luck ..

mesrine_29

#38 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:59 PM

Thanks Steve! Will try your Mini-tutorial. :)

mesrine_29

Not sure, why new topic is needed for questions directly related to GFX menu you presented? Its not finalized in any shape or form, and you already try to bypass elementary user issues that affect everyone. You say "for novice users", but I'm not sure you don't belong to that category yourself.

Besides, you're posting in English speaking forum in French in direct violation of forum rules and with blatant disregard to its members.

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 09:12 PM.


#39 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15046 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 November 2010 - 09:15 PM

mesrine_29

Not sure, why new topic is needed for questions directly related to GFX menu you presented? Its not finalized in any shape or form, and you already try to bypass elementary user issues that affect everyone.

Besides, you're posting in English speaking forum in French in direct violation of forum rules and with blatant disregard to its members.


@sambul61
You must realize that GFXmenu is a feature of grub4dos.

mesrine_29 created something to easen it's use.

It is not meant in any way to be the "GFXmenu reference" or "GFXmenu thread", but rather the "GFX Menu making beta for Grub4dos".

There are other ways to create GFXmenus, like:
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=7155&hl=

Boot-land is an international board, and not every people is native English speaking, English has been elected as "common ground" the general idea is that of an International Community and a certain degree of tolerance and patience is asked to those that master the English language vs. people that may have a lesser knowledge of the idiom - and that try doing their best using online translators and similar.

More generally, there is no need to be aggressive, remember Rule #12 (this is ACTUALLY a Rule):
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9101


:)
Wonko

#40 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2010 - 09:33 PM

Thanks Steve! Will try your Mini-tutorial. :)


P.S. if you just omit the title line, then it will always run the GFXMenu and no need for a GFXMenu entry

gfxmenu /message

timeout 1

default 0

configfile /menu.lst





title your first menu title here

xxx

fff



title you next menu entry

dddd

ffff


#41 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 09:44 PM

Wonko

I thought making a Menu would include adding the commands to it that will allow users stay within that menu during normal operation of G4D. Is that right? The author just ignores most of questions - why then ask for feedback? What else can possibly be the purpose of a beta package thread? :)

Edited by sambul61, 30 November 2010 - 09:44 PM.


#42 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 30 November 2010 - 09:54 PM

This thread is about a beta app for making GFXMenu files (message) easily. We do seem to be off topic and maybe some of this could be moved to a new topic under say - grub4dos - 'Using grub4dos with GFXMenu' ???

#43 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 30 November 2010 - 11:45 PM

Steven

I tested your above GFX menu entries, and found this:

- it works perfect. Every time there is a boot error, you press ENTER, and it goes back to GFX Menu
- pressing # of CommandLine Menu entry brings Command Prompt
- you can go back to GFX menu by pressing ESC
- or enter CONFIGFILE /MENU.LST instead, but you have to do it twice (i.e. on 2 lines)

So the best way to get to CP would be just pressing CommandLine entry #, to get back to GFX - ESC, to get back to GFX after boot error - ENTER. Is there any shortcut to switch to G4D command line (useful if there is no CL entry, or its too far below and invisible)?

Edited by sambul61, 01 December 2010 - 12:10 AM.


#44 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 December 2010 - 12:14 AM

I am not too sure what you are asking for. Can you post your menu.lst and say what you want it to do?
I don't think there is much more we can do though...

#45 sambul61

sambul61

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1568 posts
  •  
    American Samoa

Posted 01 December 2010 - 12:58 AM

In a regular G4D menu pressing C switches to command line, pressing ESC switches back. In your GFX menu ESC works OK, but C does not. Can you fix it?

Another desired trick would be to add a timer to start running a highlighted menu entry, just as its done in G4D menu. I think, mesrine_29's app should have these settings already included and set properly.

Do you happen to know, if similar 3-d party Boot Menu Editor exists for standard MS BCD Boot Menu (Win7 & XP) - to add a background image to it?

Edited by sambul61, 01 December 2010 - 01:06 AM.


#46 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 7072 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars, www.easy2boot.com
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 01 December 2010 - 08:03 AM

In a regular G4D menu pressing C switches to command line, pressing ESC switches back. In your GFX menu ESC works OK, but C does not. Can you fix it?
No - but you could have a menu entry which loads a different menu1.lst file (which uses grub4dos text menu) and has no menu entries in it (I have not tested this).

Another desired trick would be to add a timer to start running a highlighted menu entry, just as its done in G4D menu. I think, mesrine_29's app should have these settings already included and set properly.
Timers are not supported in the current compilation. You would need to recompile the GFXMenu source code, I guess. Start a separate topic if you want to pursue this (not my area!).


Do you happen to know, if similar 3-d party Boot Menu Editor exists for standard MS BCD Boot Menu (Win7 & XP) - to add a background image to it?
Start a separate topic for this pls. Win7 and XP will be different, so may need one each - but first try Google as someone probably has asked this before.

#47 mesrine_29

mesrine_29

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 01 December 2010 - 02:50 PM

I do not pretend to know the menu gfx A to Z, I made with my own hands this application, but when I hear remarks like this:


You say "for novice users", but I'm not sure you don't belong to that category yourself.

Besides, you're posting in English speaking forum in French in direct violation of forum rules and with blatant disregard to its members.


My motivation stops and then extend beyond my knowledge of this subject, and I respect a lot this forum and all forums that Donnet of knowledge used by showing them the right path ..

I have many projects going on "Ubuntu live cd changed via chroot, Win7 Pe, and portable applications, particularly attempting to bring happiness to people who use the knowledge of others, so these few lines soon.

Thank you to "Wonko" for having understood my thoughts.

mesrine_29 the novice :cheers:

Edited by mesrine_29, 01 December 2010 - 02:51 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users