Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

R1Soft Hyper-V VHD Explorer (freeware)


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:08 PM

Here is an interesting free tool:

R1Soft Hyper-V VHD Explorer is the easiest way to mount and dismount your Hyper-V Virtual Hard Disk (VHD) files. Mounting VHD files could traditionally be done with powershell scripts, and while Windows 2008 R2 adds attach and detach into the Disk Manager. R1Soft VHD Explorer makes attaching VHD files as easy as point-and-click.

R1Soft Hyper-V VHD Explorer requires Windows 2008 R2

Windows Shell Integration - right-click a VHD file and attach it as a local drive
Use the VHD Explorer Utility to quickly manage your attached VHD files
Command line utility for scripting the attach and detach of VHD files
Open VHD files to explorer and restore individual files
Run command line utilities and scripts on the contents of VHD files


http://www.r1soft.co...v-vhd-explorer/

:hi:

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13329 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:12 PM

R1Soft Hyper-V VHD Explorer requires Windows 2008 R2


WHY?

:hi:

BTW "free" after registration. (i.e. free as in "free beer" but NOT free as in "freedom")
http://www.r1soft.co...v-vhd-explorer/

:hi:
Wonko

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2010 - 05:15 PM

WHY?

I thought about the same thing. Probably works on win7 just as well.


BTW "free" after registration. (i.e. free as in "free beer" but NOT free as in "freedom")

At least it doesn't ask you to install some activeX component on your machine to verify if you have a legitimate windows license.. :D

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13329 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:40 PM

I thought about the same thing. Probably works on win7 just as well.

Maybe, what I was trying to understand was if it was a "standalone" explorer for .VHD images (Hyper-V originated or not) or some kind of "wrap-around" on a specific Server 2008 R2 feature. :D


At least it doesn't ask you to install some activeX component on your machine to verify if you have a legitimate windows license.. :D

Well, something that I won't discover. :)

This would be interesting as it could be an alternative for "normal" mounting under 7:
http://blogs.msdn.co...-windows-7.aspx
http://sysadmingeek....-a-right-click/

And a "more general solution" for non-7 users, i.e. an alternative to Gizmo drive:
http://www.kodyaz.co...ual-pc-vpc.aspx
http://arainia.com/s...rview.php?nID=4

Or to more traditional tools like VDK or IMDISK (for "static" .vhd's only).

BTW, 7-zip can now open most .vhd's.

:D
Wonko

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10424 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 November 2010 - 09:52 PM

Good questions. If I get some free time then I'll try it out to see if the tool is standalone or based on the windows API.

#6 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 November 2010 - 11:41 PM

Better download link: http://www.tucows.com/preview/752952 and it does work with Win 7 or above.

#7 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13329 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 November 2010 - 08:38 AM

Better download link: http://www.tucows.com/preview/752952 and it does work with Win 7 or above.



So the good peeps lied :) about the Server 2008 R2 requirement? :)

:)
Wonko

#8 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 November 2010 - 09:48 AM

Lied, confused, I can't say; I just know they're wrong. Installed fine in Win7 x64 :)

In XP, get this:
hvfail.png

#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13329 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 November 2010 - 07:27 PM

Lied, confused, I can't say; I just know they're wrong. Installed fine in Win7 x64 :D

In XP, get this:
...

Which looks a lot like it is just a wrapper of some kind around "Hyper-V" libraries (whatever they are :) ). :)

:D
Wonko

#10 bootluva

bootluva

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Australia
  •  
    Australia

Posted 24 November 2010 - 02:22 AM

well it installed and worked on my windows 7 professional 32 bit (even after i uninstalled the program and ran it as a portable app ):

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by bootluva, 24 November 2010 - 02:23 AM.


#11 sixcentgeorge

sixcentgeorge

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 190 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 20 September 2015 - 07:22 AM

Better download link: http://www.tucows.com/preview/752952 and it does work with Win 7 or above.

it downloads a "downloader" that downloads an other tool than the vhd explorer . for me it is Optimizer Pro 3.01...

not very harmful ...

 

the official page is well working : http://www.r1soft.co...-v-vhd-explorer

soft is freeware and seems to work correctly under win10 [ beta 10122 ] using vista compatibility 



#12 crashnburn

crashnburn

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 111 posts

Posted 26 September 2015 - 04:24 PM

Downloaded and tried to install latest version. But it says wont work on W8.1 - needs older OSes only. Any way to work around? 



#13 sixcentgeorge

sixcentgeorge

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 190 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 26 September 2015 - 05:02 PM

use compatibility tools with vista as os 



#14 crashnburn

crashnburn

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 111 posts

Posted 27 September 2015 - 10:27 PM

use compatibility tools with vista as os 

How do I bring that up?



#15 crashnburn

crashnburn

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 111 posts

Posted 29 September 2015 - 11:42 AM

Did the Vista thing to Install it. I can run it from Programs, but I dont see the Context Menu options :)

 

Question: Does this tool/ utility bring anything to the table that Windows 8.1 doesnt already have? 



#16 sixcentgeorge

sixcentgeorge

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 190 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 29 September 2015 - 02:19 PM

it is for vhd files....to add or remove files



#17 crashnburn

crashnburn

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 111 posts

Posted 09 October 2015 - 01:20 PM

it is for vhd files....to add or remove files

Yes, but I can mount VHD files in Win 8 with right click context menu.. So what does this app bring to the table? Cause even after the Vista compt install it doesnt seem to show on context menu. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users