Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

No desktop icons, Computer wont open


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 HenrikMC

HenrikMC
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Denmark

Posted 11 November 2010 - 12:08 PM

Using winbuilder 080, Waik 1.1 and Vista DVD as source, Explorer as shell

I guess it must be after downloading updates inside winbuilder, using download center, I got some strange behavior. No build errors but the image is not working as before. :confused1:

  • No desktop icons
  • Clicking on "Computer" from start menu just flashes the window then closes
  • Several programs fail with "Pagefile too small" errors

How do i proceed with debug?

#2 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:02 PM

Using winbuilder 080, Waik 1.1 and Vista DVD as source, Explorer as shell

I guess it must be after downloading updates inside winbuilder, using download center, I got some strange behavior. No build errors but the image is not working as before. :confused1:

  • No desktop icons
  • Clicking on "Computer" from start menu just flashes the window then closes
  • Several programs fail with "Pagefile too small" errors

How do i proceed with debug?

Does it make any change if you replace the "script.project" file wth the attached one?
Put and replace it here:
X:\vistape\Projects\VistaPE-CAPI

Edit: Could not upload script.project files, had to be in .7z

Attached Files



#3 HenrikMC

HenrikMC
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Denmark

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:34 PM

Does it make any change if you replace the "script.project" file wth the attached one?
Put and replace it here:
X:\vistape\Projects\VistaPE-CAPI

Edit: Could not upload script.project files, had to be in .7z


No change, still no desktop icons

#4 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:42 PM

No change, still no desktop icons

Wow, you made a new iso, burned and tested in...30 minutes?
Anyway, you can download a small working VistaPE here:
http://www.mediafire...104y11lsqyhbo4g
And compare yourself what is wrong with your build :confused1:

#5 HenrikMC

HenrikMC
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Denmark

Posted 11 November 2010 - 02:46 PM

Wow, you made a new iso, burned and tested in...30 minutes?
Anyway, you can download a small working VistaPE here:
http://www.mediafire...104y11lsqyhbo4g
And compare yourself what is wrong with your build :lol:

Sure, I got a xenserver environment at my hand.. :confused1: so it wont take long to do and test this.

Im trying a clean build now, without any modifications at all. its almost done...

#6 HenrikMC

HenrikMC
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Denmark

Posted 11 November 2010 - 03:06 PM

Sure, I got a xenserver environment at my hand.. :confused1: so it wont take long to do and test this.

Im trying a clean build now, without any modifications at all. its almost done...


And the same happends. Must be my build machine, its poluted I guess. Will try and build a new now - will report the result here.

#7 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 11 November 2010 - 09:02 PM

And the same happends. Must be my build machine, its poluted I guess. Will try and build a new now - will report the result here.

I don't think it's your machine.
I downloaded a complete download on http://vistape.winbuilder.net/ (while running Winbuilder)and had the same result as you. Maybee JonF knows somethings about this?

But when you download this:
http://www.mediafire...104y11lsqyhbo4g
and put it in a new separate folder;
Do you really have the same result?
Me and 5-6 friends had no problems at all!

Ps. I like PE2 because it's much better and faster tnen PE1 or PE3...in my opinion :-)

#8 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 November 2010 - 04:54 PM

Hi HenrikMC,

fixed yesterday (or today due to gmt) and working now,
update scripts, happy testing ;)

#9 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 November 2010 - 05:15 PM

Hi HenrikMC,

fixed yesterday (or today due to gmt) and working now,
update scripts, happy testing ;)


Would be nice to know:
Who is updating VistaPE now?
JonF or "Lancelot"?

#10 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 November 2010 - 05:27 PM

Hi al jo,

Server Both.
Development, JonF is the Head developer.

If there is minor things to do, I would like to help.

We also share scripts between projects. RescuePE (when active), VistaPE-Capi, Win7PE_SE, LiveXP. Sadly BeatZero had to leave early stopping development of Live98. You can find updated scripts on active pe1/2 projects and mostly can easly use in between.
;)

#11 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 November 2010 - 05:58 PM

Hi al jo,

Server Both.
Development, JonF is the Head developer.

If there is minor things to do, I would like to help.

We also share scripts between projects. RescuePE (when active), VistaPE-Capi, Win7PE_SE, LiveXP. Sadly BeatZero had to leave early stopping development of Live98. You can find updated scripts on active pe1/2 projects and mostly can easly use in between.
;)

So....telll me;
What was wrong yesterday???
Concerning VistaPE?

#12 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12688 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:00 PM

Would be nice to know:
Who is updating VistaPE now?
JonF or "Lancelot"?

George Orwell, "1984"

Big Brother is watching you

You can never be sure that you are the only one who can change your project! ;)

Peter

#13 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:07 PM

George Orwell, "1984"

You can never be sure that you are the only one who can change your project! ;)

Peter


Ok, I go and hide ;)

#14 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:09 PM

It was about an old thingy about a registry entry at runscanner script,

check line 118 - 119 - 120 - 121 - 122 where a very good explanation writen by me to be shared widely by all admins and script authors to avoid same mistake in future.

unlike written on 2 previous post (and it can be seen obviously why written), we maintained livexp with 3 admins for a long while (and even asked 4th 5th candidates), and also Vistape-Capi.
Rarely minor things can happen on any project (multi or single admined), but mostly everybody (except usual 1) is happy with multiadmined ones.

Happy hiding al jo. ;)

#15 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:23 PM

It was about an old thingy about a registry entry at runscanner script,


Happy hiding al jo. ;)

Thanks a lot for the explanation.
When we are "on it", can you please sort out which runscanner
and capi runs best in:
VistaPE-capi
Livexp
winPErescue
WinPE_SE
?

#16 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:41 PM

When we are "on it", can you please sort out which runscanner
and capi runs best in:


VistaPE-capi --> have latest runscanner & script & capi
Livexp --> have latest runscanner & script will be updated on next package, but currently it will not cause troubles to any project. & capi it has fits all current apps scripts needs.
Win7Rescue --> with minor updates, it can run all scripts around.
WinPE_SE --> have latest runscanner & script & capi

you can check things your own easly since all open to public.
;)

#17 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 12 November 2010 - 06:46 PM

VistaPE-capi --> have latest runscanner & script & capi
Livexp --> have latest runscanner & script will be updated on next package, but currently it will not cause troubles to any project. & capi it has fits all current apps scripts needs.
Win7Rescue --> with minor updates, it can run all scripts around.
WinPE_SE --> have latest runscanner & script & capi

you can check things your own easly since all open to public.
;)


Thank a LOT ;)

I will test all projects tomorrow and report here any sucsess or failure
concerning runscanner and Capi together!
Happy weekend...

#18 HenrikMC

HenrikMC
  • Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
    Denmark

Posted 16 November 2010 - 11:05 AM

Hi HenrikMC,

fixed yesterday (or today due to gmt) and working now,
update scripts, happy testing ;)


Thanks Lancelot! All issues gone, everything is almost working. ;) (Except Avira)

#19 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 16 November 2010 - 12:31 PM

Thanks Lancelot! All issues gone, everything is almost working. ;) (Except Avira)


The Avira script on the VistaPE server is ”outdated”.
You can use this ”indated” script:
http://al-jo.zxq.net/Avira.script

#20 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 17 November 2010 - 01:19 AM

Thanks al_jo,

now on server ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users