Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Grub4DOS error:Failure restore 0x76 vector


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,391 posts
  • Location:India
  •  
    India

Posted 04 November 2010 - 12:57 AM

I did the following:

1) Extracted internal DOS files using Winrar from HPUSBFW.EXE
2) Made a pen drive DOS bootable using those files
3) Dropped an AUTOEXEC.BAT with the only command: grub
4) Copied the GRUB.EXE from Grub4DOS folder.

It booted fine on my laptop(LENOVO IDEAPAD V460, 59 -044185, powered by a Phoneix BIOS) but spat the following error on my friend's laptop(LENBOVO IDEAPAD G560, equipped with a Insyde H20 v2.04 BIOS):
FAILURE RESTORE ROM INT 0X76 VECTOR
UNSUPPORTED DOS, DEVICE DRIVER OR TSR


Any ideas?

#2 tinybit

tinybit

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 872 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 04 November 2010 - 06:20 AM

Any ideas?


Yes ------> try the latest build:

http://code.google.c...ll/updates/list

or

http://nufans.net/grub4dos/tinybit/

Obviously you were not using the latest, since it will never fail on int76 with the newish builds.

#3 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,391 posts
  • Location:India
  •  
    India

Posted 04 November 2010 - 10:46 AM

Yes ------> try the latest build:


Thank u tinybit, my problem is resolved. But can u or anyone tell me what the problem actually is?

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,425 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 November 2010 - 10:59 AM

Thank u tinybit, my problem is resolved. But can u or anyone tell me what the problem actually is?


The version of grub4dos you used failed to restore ROM INT 0x76.

The grub4dos developers found this bug and corrected it in later version(s).

Ask a silly question....... :cheers:

http://www.delorie.c...nter/ix/76.html

Different BIOS (and in my experience the Insyde BIOSes is among the peskiest and "non-standard" ever seen :hyper:) behave differently.

The mere fact that a stoopid BIOS can "decide" that a battery won't be charged if it's not ALREADY CHARGED ENOUGH :hi: :
http://www.flyertalk...one-6-cell.html
IMNSHO should allow us to use crucifixion on the Insyde developers:
http://www.imdb.com/...t0079470/quotes

Brian: What will they do to me?
Ben the Prisoner: Oh you'll probably get away with crucifixion.
Brian: CRUCIFIXION?
Ben the Prisoner: Yeah, first offense.


:cheers:


:)
Wonko

#5 tinybit

tinybit

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 872 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 04 November 2010 - 12:32 PM

Thank u tinybit, my problem is resolved. But can u or anyone tell me what the problem actually is?


Now that you asked the question, I'd like to answer you, but only in my opinion.

over the past several years, some manufacturers made a lot of bugs for grub4dos. They made their hardware/BIOS so that grub4dos will hangup or reboot or simply fail to run on the hardware/BIOS. They are intensional in my opinion. Anyone don't have to believe me. And shouldn't ask me why. Instead, ask the manufacturers.

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,425 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 November 2010 - 04:03 PM

Now that you asked the question, I'd like to answer you, but only in my opinion.

over the past several years, some manufacturers made a lot of bugs for grub4dos. They made their hardware/BIOS so that grub4dos will hangup or reboot or simply fail to run on the hardware/BIOS. They are intensional in my opinion. Anyone don't have to believe me. And shouldn't ask me why. Instead, ask the manufacturers.


..and it's not even a East vs West conflict of some kind, the Insyde guys seem like being from China as well :cheers::
http://www.insydetec...oducts-bios.htm

:hyper:
Wonko

#7 shamurshamur

shamurshamur

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 322 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 04 November 2010 - 04:41 PM

Now that you asked the question, I'd like to answer you, but only in my opinion.

over the past several years, some manufacturers made a lot of bugs for grub4dos. They made their hardware/BIOS so that grub4dos will hangup or reboot or simply fail to run on the hardware/BIOS. They are intensional in my opinion. Anyone don't have to believe me. And shouldn't ask me why. Instead, ask the manufacturers.

very intresting stuff. But are you just gossiping or is their any truth behind it??

#8 tinybit

tinybit

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 872 posts
  •  
    China

Posted 04 November 2010 - 05:17 PM

Sorry, I would not like to talk about it in further details. You may guess if I am just gossiping or not........over the past several years.....

#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,425 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 November 2010 - 08:22 PM

very intresting stuff. But are you just gossiping or is their any truth behind it??


Just for the record a good gossip ALWAYS has some truth behind... :cheers:

Are you saying that tinybit is a bad gossiper? :cheers:

:hyper:

:cheers:
Wonko

#10 shamurshamur

shamurshamur

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 322 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 05 November 2010 - 03:06 AM

Are you saying that tinybit is a bad gossiper? :)

:lol:

:confused1:
Wonko


Nope.
That was my lame attempt to kickstart the gossiping.
your "East vs West" twist to the story was good attempt though. :D :)

#11 Holmes.Sherlock

Holmes.Sherlock

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,391 posts
  • Location:India
  •  
    India

Posted 05 November 2010 - 05:44 AM

Sorry, I would not like to talk about it in further details.


If u've any further detail to share, then please do share it with us. But, the very first obvious question that comes up is why those hardware manufacturers intentionally make their hardware behave erratically so that a bootloader won't boot out of it? Even when no commercial competition is not there.

#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,425 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 November 2010 - 09:49 AM

If u've any further detail to share, then please do share it with us.


It seems to me like you already had a reply. :confused1:

Sorry, I would not like to talk about it in further details.


But, the very first obvious question that comes up is why those hardware manufacturers intentionally make their hardware behave erratically so that a bootloader won't boot out of it?

NO, the very first question that comes to mind is WHY they even THOUGHT :D that a battery should be ALREADY CHARGED in order to actually CHARGE it.

This is a fact, it happened (no gossip - real or pretended - at all) and there is no excuse/justification for it, exception made for sheer stupidity :lol:.

Posted Image

:)
Wonko




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users