Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Error 15:File not found.


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Joeye

Joeye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 October 2010 - 03:20 PM

This is my menu.lst
default 0

timeout 30

color NORMAL HIGHLIGHT HELPTEXT HEADING

splashimage=/splash.xpm.gz

foreground=FFFFFF

background=000000



title Parted Magic (Runs from RAM / Ejects CD)

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=us

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title Parted Magic Live

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw loglevel=0 vga=791 livemedia noeject max_loop=256 keymap=us

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title Parted Magic Live with low RAM settings

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal lowram livemedia noeject nogpm nolvm nonfs nofstabdaemon nosmart noacpid nodmeventd nohal nosshd nosound nobluetooth loglevel=0 xvesa max_loop=256 keymap=us

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title Acronis True Image Home 2011

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /trueimage.iso

map /trueimage.iso (0xff)

map  --hook

chainloader (0xff)



title Acronis True Image Home 2011

find --set-root /trueimage/kernel.dat

kernel /trueimage/kernel.dat vga=788 ramdisk_size=28672 acpi=off quiet

initrd /trueimage/ramdisk.dat



title Windows XP Recovery Console

find --set-root /rc.iso

map /rc.iso (hd32)

map --hook

root (hd32)

chainloader (hd32)



title konboot-1.1

map --mem /konboot-1.1.img (fd0)

map --hook

chainloader (fd0)+1

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

rootnoverify (fd0)



title Boot First Hard Drive (HDD)

map (hd0) (hd1)

map (hd1) (hd0)

map --hook

chainloader (hd0)+1

rootnoverify (hd0)



title Restart

reboot



title Shutdown

halt

Working:
konboot
Parted Magic

not working:
Windows XP Recovery Console
both Acronis True Image Home 2011
or any other ISO i try.
Error 15: file not found. <-- this is the error

Drive listing:
I&#58;\>dir

 Volume in drive I is MULTIBOOT

 Volume Serial Number is 0000-0000



 Directory of I&#58;\



10/25/2010  08&#58;05 PM			 7,151 MultiBoot-USB-Creator-Readme.txt

10/30/2010  05&#58;02 PM			 2,054 menu.lst

01/06/2010  09&#58;00 PM			 9,704 splash.xpm.gz

09/03/2010  05&#58;35 PM			84,487 MultiBoot-USB-Creator-Copying.txt

07/12/2010  08&#58;29 PM				 0 liveusb

10/25/2010  10&#58;52 PM			14,604 full.menu.lst

10/30/2010  04&#58;59 PM			 1,874 menu.lst.bak

10/29/2010  08&#58;59 PM	<DIR>		  DriverPack

10/29/2010  08&#58;17 PM	   124,274,688 gparted-0.70.iso

10/29/2010  08&#58;33 PM		 7,716,864 rc.iso

04/14/2009  10&#58;22 PM		 1,474,560 konboot-1.1.img

08/02/2010  06&#58;06 PM	<DIR>		  pmagic

10/17/2010  10&#58;25 PM	   121,110,528 trueimage.iso

10/30/2010  04&#58;59 PM	<DIR>		  trueimage

			  11 File&#40;s&#41;	254,696,514 bytes

			   3 Dir&#40;s&#41;   1,486,663,680 bytes free

I really need help i've been working on it for one and a half days..
Thanks

Edited by bugnotme, 30 October 2010 - 03:22 PM.


#2 Sha0

Sha0

    WinVBlock Dev

  • Developer
  • 1682 posts
  • Location:reboot.pro Forums
  • Interests:Booting
  •  
    Canada

Posted 30 October 2010 - 03:29 PM

GRUB4DOS' map command establishes a BIOS INTerrupt 0x13 hook. DOS uses INT 13h. Windows and Linux do not. When you boot rc.iso, once Windows actually starts, the boot device (the fake CD) disappears because Windows has no driver. Look into WinVBlock and Firadisk.

#3 Joeye

Joeye

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 30 October 2010 - 04:10 PM

GRUB4DOS' map command establishes a BIOS INTerrupt 0x13 hook. DOS uses INT 13h. Windows and Linux do not. When you boot rc.iso, once Windows actually starts, the boot device (the fake CD) disappears because Windows has no driver. Look into WinVBlock and Firadisk.


I dont get it..
Every ISO I try gives me the Error 15..
whats the windows drivers will help if no ISO including linux ISO doesnt work.
(it is USB multiboot)

Edited by bugnotme, 30 October 2010 - 04:20 PM.


#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 October 2010 - 10:16 PM

I dont get it..
Every ISO I try gives me the Error 15..
whats the windows drivers will help if no ISO including linux ISO doesnt work.
(it is USB multiboot)


It is clear enough that you are not getting it.
You seemingly miss a lot of the pre-requisites to do so.

Try reading this thread:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8944
(sticky i the grub4dos forum)

AND this one (also sticky in the grub4dos Forum):
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5041

AND make sure you have a current grub4dos, read this ALSO sticky:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showtopic=14

AND read the Guide, also posted as sticky:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5187
http://diddy.boot-la...os/Grub4dos.htm

LEARN to NEVER use a pre-made menu.lst entry when experimenting, and ALWAYS use command line:
http://diddy.boot-la...iles/basics.htm
http://diddy.boot-la...s/files/cli.htm
in order to have a senceful feedback from grub4dos and know WHICH command is giving you the error.

The "Error 15: file not found" means - casually - that a file is not found. :hyper:

(BTW "Error 15" has nothing to do with .iso mapping and with Int13 and Firadisk or WinVblock, it simply comes from a mispelled path/name or a missing target file/directory, BUT remember that on CDFS - the filesystem used on CD's and .iso's - grub4dos is CaSe SeNsItIvE)

Use TAB autocompletion on command line to verify that the file actually exists.

:cheers:
Wonko

#5 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 30 October 2010 - 10:32 PM

I dont get it..
Every ISO I try gives me the Error 15..
whats the windows drivers will help if no ISO including linux ISO doesnt work.
(it is USB multiboot)


Some version of grub4dos doesn't recornise small letter as my experiences.
That means rc.iso is not recornised. Change to RC.ISO and try it.

ah

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 31 October 2010 - 09:25 PM

Some version of grub4dos doesn't recornise small letter as my experiences.
That means rc.iso is not recornised. Change to RC.ISO and try it.

Not really.

It is not that it "recognizes" CAPITAL LETTERS and doesn't small ones.

  • grub4dos is normally NOT case sensitive (at least on FAT12/16/32 and NTFS).
  • on CDFS it is.
  • cannot say on EXT2/3

This is one of the reasons why it is so useful to experiment on command line, using [TAB] autocompletion.


:hi:
Wonko

#7 Aye Htay

Aye Htay

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 163 posts
  •  
    Myanmar

Posted 31 October 2010 - 10:02 PM

Not really.

It is not that it "recognizes" CAPITAL LETTERS and doesn't small ones.


grub4dos is normally NOT case sensitive (at least on FAT12/16/32 and NTFS).
on CDFS it is.
cannot say on EXT2/3


I may be the only one to deny what you said but I am. :hyper:
I've so many experiences with that case sensitive error but no evidence with me now. ;)
If I've found, I should remember this topic again. :hi:

ah

#8 aksal

aksal
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Poland

Posted 02 November 2010 - 06:14 PM

Hi all. Iam new here.

So i decide to post here couse i have same problem that bugnotme have and this problem was not solved.

Let me explain:
I download MultiBootISOs-2.1.3.7 http://www.pendrivel...-multiboot-usb/ and try to put on my Corsair Survivor GTR 32GB a mooltiboot stuff.
Pen drive was empty and i check the box that inform me about formating as FAT32. Then i check to install UltimateBootCD and i select my UBCD.ISO on my HDD.
Job was done, file was copied and my menu.lst looks like below:
default 0

timeout 30

color NORMAL HIGHLIGHT HELPTEXT HEADING

splashimage=/splash.xpm.gz

foreground=FFFFFF

background=000000



# Suggested by Erhan Sohail

title Boot First Hard Drive &#40;HDD&#41;

map &#40;hd0&#41; &#40;hd1&#41;

map &#40;hd1&#41; &#40;hd0&#41;

map --hook

chainloader &#40;hd0&#41;+1

rootnoverify &#40;hd0&#41;



title Restart

reboot



title Shutdown

halt



title --- Custom MultiBoot Entries ---

root



title Ultimate Boot CD

find --set-root /ubcd.iso

map /ubcd.iso &#40;hd32&#41;

map --hook

chainloader &#40;hd32&#41;
Result of tihs after restart was:
Error 15: File not found

I try some modifications on code (from links in second post) - same error code of result:
title Ultimate Boot CD - mem

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ubcd.iso

map --mem /ubcd.iso

map --hook

chainloader &#40;hd32&#41;

boot



title Ultimate Boot CD - mem1

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ubcd.iso

map --mem /ubcd.iso

map --hook

chainloader &#40;hd32&#41;
Some details:
- my floppy is disabled on bios
- i try other iso's and soft from MultiBootISOs list and same error
- i try to format to ntfs and same error
- i try CaSe SeNsItIvE - nothing
- check this code also (form me its strange that i can see ubcd.iso when typing ls and grub cant find it... -hd0 and hd1 are my hdd's and ther i can find my partitions and files )
GRUB4D0S 2009-05-28, Memory&#58; 628K / 2045M, MenuEnd&#58; 0x49336

&#91; Mnininal BASH-like line editing is supported. For the first word, TAB lists possible command completions. Anywhere else TAB lists the possible completions of a device/filename. ESC at any time exits. &#93;



grub> ls

MultiBoot-USB-Creator-Readme.txt menu.lst splash.xpn.gz MultiBoot-USB-Creator-Copying.txt liveusb full.menu.lst ubcd.lso



grub> find &#40;

Possible disks are&#58; hd0 hd1 rd ud



grub> find &#40;rd&#41;/

Error 17&#58; Cannot mount sclected partition



grub> find &#40;ud&#41;/

Possible files are&#58; grldr fb.cfg
Maybe it helps to find solution because looks like GRUB cant see whole partition, not only single file.

#9 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 November 2010 - 07:00 PM

GRUB4D0S 2009-05-28, Memory&#58; 628K / 2045M, MenuEnd&#58; 0x49336


You are using a "wrong", "old", "deprecated" version. :hyper:

Read the grub4dos "WHERETO", casually put as sticky in this grub4dos Forum:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showforum=66
http://www.boot-land...hp?showtopic=14

UNLESS TOLD OTHERWISE, use "current release", i.e. you can find here:
http://nufans.net/gr...urrent_release/
i.e. this one:
http://nufans.net/gr...-2009-10-16.zip

As it already happened to mismatch info posted with actual version of GRUB4DOS, here is the
WHERETO
......
Unless otherwise stated all comments, hints, howto etc., will always be related to the NEWISH experimental version you can find in /current_release folder/.


:cheers:
Wonko

#10 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6709 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 November 2010 - 07:07 PM

Try
root (hd32)

just after the hook line?

try removing ignorefloppies - maybe drive is mapped as a floppy by BIOS ?

Try RMPrepUSB
Maybe using HDD 2PTNs option will fix the BIOS?

S

#11 aksal

aksal
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Poland

Posted 02 November 2010 - 09:13 PM

Big Thx 4 fast replays, sugestions and links guys, but...

I realize before that this GRUB version is old and put that line to make sure that someone will find this date, but i think that author the software i used will not forgot about so important thing like GRUB update :cheers: or mybe he put that version on purpose. Look the release date - so how come GRUB is "old"?

MultiBootISOs-2.1.3.6.exe – October 25, 2010 - release i try first
MultiBootISOs-2.1.3.7.exe – November 1, 2010 - release i try now and its still not working with the same "old" ver. of GRUB.


I also try to add "root (hd32)" just after the hook line and its still not working. And romoving "ignorefloppies" did not chagne antything.
So maybe problem is in the soft "MultiBootISOs" and old ver. of GRUB or cause it boot like USB or FDD.


The other soft witch steve wrote "RMPrepUSB" is working!! (Steve ur The Man ;) )
And on this one i can check (like YT tutorial told me) a box "Boot as HDD" and just it is. My USB jump to other categoris of drives after is restart my PC.
So UBCD.ISO is working on RMPrepUSB and menu.lst looks like that:
title UBCD

find --set-root /ubcd.iso

map /ubcd.iso &#40;hd32&#41;

map --hook

root &#40;hd32&#41;

chainloader &#40;hd32&#41;
On this soft its easy to install GRUB and this GRUB is new :cheers:
Now on my USB i have 3 files: ubcd.iso, menu.lst, and grldr file.
Last one was not on my USB when i try MultiBootISOs soft but was on command line when i type "ls" on "ud" partition (u can see it on post befor) so i think this soft use some hidden part, files or maybe its putting this on MBR of USB? I have no idea...

So this is also the reason that i cant install new GRUB by myself manualy like u said Wonko. But thx 4 sugestion ill try to make few more test :hyper:

Problem is solved but in the other way, other soft - MultiBootISOs is still to fix^^

regards.
aksal

#12 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6709 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 November 2010 - 09:36 PM

engage smug mode :cheers:

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 02 November 2010 - 09:43 PM

@aksal
I don't want to seem grumpy (actually grumpier than I usually am) :cheers:, but if you have problems with MultiBootISOs-2.1.x.y.exe (which is a "third party app") you ask help for it somewhere else, like:
http://www.pendrivelinux.com/

If you have problems with grub4dos you ask for help here (and you are usually given it ;)).

Of course the grub4dos Forum cannot be "responsible" if someone else uses outdated or "deprecated", as in this case, grub4dos versions.

There is quite a number of utilities hosted here on boot-land or however "connected" to us, that can partition and format "properly" a USB stick, besides the excellent RMPREPUSB, there are more listed here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9460

Seemingly that MultibootISOs thingy uses FBINST (which is a tool hosted also here), examples:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=7932
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9460
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9513
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=11463
(which uses the (ud) partition)

That is actually the "ultimate" UFD booting app, BUT that is NOT advised as a general tool as it creates non-standard partitioning schemes.

No actual problem :hyper: but you have to learn how to use it and how to troubleshoot it.

The problem with apps like the "automagical" ones like "MultiBootISOs" is that if they work, everything it's fine, but if they don't, since they actually HIDE what they actually do, correcting a bad behaviour may be tricky.

Also, please take note this is grub4dos (which is NOT GRUB, NOT GNU GRUB, NOT LEGACY GRUB, NOT GRUB 0.97, and NOT GRUB 2)! :cheers:

grub4dos derives from GRUB, but it is a different project with added features.


:)
Wonko

#14 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 217 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, Coreboot
  •  
    European Union

Posted 3 weeks ago

title Ultimate Boot CD

find --set-root /ubcd.iso

map /ubcd.iso &#40;hd32&#41;
Result of tihs after restart was:
Error 15: File not found

grub> ls

... full.menu.lst ubcd.lso

In menu.lst is ubcd.iso but on USB you have ubcd.lso :)


  • aksal likes this

#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 3 weeks ago

In menu.lst is ubcd.iso but on USB you have ubcd.lso :)

Yep :) , I am sure that almost eight years later :blink: the OP will be happy to know that (and most probably it was a typo in the report).

 

:duff:

Wonko


  • aksal likes this

#16 reboot12

reboot12

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 217 posts
  • Interests:WinXP, Debian, OpenWrt, gPXE, iPXE, BIOS, Coreboot
  •  
    European Union

Posted 3 weeks ago

I found this topic because recently I had a similar problem on Win10. The user insisted that he has the correct filenames on the pendrive but after executing the command ls in GRUB4DOS you can see that he had an incorrect name of the file xp.iso.iso instead of xp.iso:

win10_filename.jpg g4d_filename.jpg

That's why there was still an Error 15: File not found


  • aksal likes this

#17 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14176 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 3 weeks ago

I found this topic because recently I had a similar problem on Win10. The user insisted that he has the correct filenames on the pendrive but after executing the command ls in GRUB4DOS you can see that he had an incorrect name of the file xp.iso.iso instead of xp.iso:

attachicon.gifwin10_filename.jpg attachicon.gifg4d_filename.jpg

That's why there was still an Error 15: File not found

Yep :) , and that is exactly the reason why I always recommend to use command line (and NOT pre-made menu.lst entries) when troubleshooting  and always use [TAB] completion when using command line. 

 

LEARN to NEVER use a pre-made menu.lst entry when experimenting, and ALWAYS use command line:
http://diddy.boot-la...iles/basics.htm
http://diddy.boot-la...s/files/cli.htm
in order to have a senceful feedback from grub4dos and know WHICH command is giving you the error.

The "Error 15: file not found" means - casually - that a file is not found. :hyper:

(BTW "Error 15" has nothing to do with .iso mapping and with Int13 and Firadisk or WinVblock, it simply comes from a mispelled path/name or a missing target file/directory, BUT remember that on CDFS - the filesystem used on CD's and .iso's - grub4dos is CaSe SeNsItIvE)

Use TAB autocompletion on command line to verify that the file actually exists.

.

Having the Windows Explorer set to display file extensions (or using 7-zip or similar as file manager) is so basic that I rarely remember to recommend it, in your user case the issue was due to this missing step in windows (and probably winvblock.ima is actually winvblock.ima.ima ;)

 

:duff:

Wonko






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users