Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Can't get VHD entry to show in boot menu


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 October 2010 - 08:18 PM

OK, I've tried everything I can think of so time to ask for help!

I'm running Win7 Ultimate and I'm trying to add a VHD entry to the boot menu, but it just won't show.

I created a VHD of my Win7 install with Disk2VHD.

I've tried creating the boot entry with BCDEdit and manually. This is my current entry, made manually:

Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {1580a32f-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}
device vhd=[I:]\tech\windows7\vhds\win7dif.vhd,locate=custom:12000002
path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
description Win7 VHD (differential)
locale en-US
inherit {6efb52bf-1766-41db-a6b3-0ee5eff72bd7}
recoverysequence {1580a32a-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice vhd=[I:]\tech\windows7\vhds\win7dif.vhd,locate=custom:22000002
systemroot \Windows
resumeobject {1580a328-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}
nx OptIn
detecthal Yes
---

As you can see I'm trying to use a differential disk, following diddy's instructions in post#2 here http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=7453 but I had the same problem when using just a normal vhd.

I'm not sure if the instructions have a mistake in them, as he says to create win7dif1.vhd but then uses win7dif.vhd when creating the boot entry.

Anyway, whatever I do, the VHD entry just doesn't show up in my boot menu. I only see Windows 7 and XP, even though the System Properties - Startup and Recovery page in Win7 shows three entries!

Has anyone come across this problem before or have any idea how to fix it?

#2 oriensol

oriensol

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 216 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 08 October 2010 - 01:00 AM

What are the entries under {bootmgr}? Perhaps the entry is missing there and you may need to do:

bcdedit /displayorder {1580a32f-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4} /addlast


#3 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 October 2010 - 01:18 PM

The identifier for the VHD entry has changed since my last post (I must have deleted and re-added it), but it is listed in the {bootmgr}. Is it correct that the entry refers to win7dif1.vhd when the file is actually named win7dif.vhd?

Windows Boot Loader

-------------------

identifier			  {1580a330-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

device				  vhd=[I:]\Tech\Windows7\VHDs\win7dif1.vhd,locate=custom:12000002

path					\Windows\system32\winload.exe

description			 Win7 VHD (differential)

locale				  en-US

inherit				 {6efb52bf-1766-41db-a6b3-0ee5eff72bd7}

recoverysequence		{1580a32a-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

recoveryenabled		 Yes

osdevice				vhd=[I:]\Tech\Windows7\VHDs\win7dif1.vhd,locate=custom:22000002

systemroot			  \Windows

resumeobject			{1580a328-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

nx					  OptIn

Windows Boot Manager

--------------------

identifier			  {9dea862c-5cdd-4e70-acc1-f32b344d4795}

device				  partition=X:

description			 Windows Boot Manager

locale				  en-US

inherit				 {7ea2e1ac-2e61-4728-aaa3-896d9d0a9f0e}

default				 {1580a329-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

resumeobject			{1580a328-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

displayorder			{1580a329-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

						{466f5a88-0af2-4f76-9038-095b170dc21c}

						{1580a330-c493-11df-901f-dd3e6cb626c4}

toolsdisplayorder	   {b2721d73-1db4-4c62-bf78-c548a880142d}

timeout				 30

displaybootmenu		 Yes


#4 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 October 2010 - 01:32 PM

Ah, it seems the problem is that I'm using Grub4Dos as my MBR and the Win7 bootloader is only installed to it's own partition, so when I'm editing in BCDedit, it's not editing the menu that I'm seeing, but the MBR one which is not being displayed!

Any idea how I can edit the menu on the Win7 partition, preferably using BCDEdit? Alternatively, can I boot the VHD directly from Grub4Dos? My current Win7 entry is:
title		   Win7

root			(hd0,2)

chainloader	 +1

Edited by doveman, 10 October 2010 - 01:37 PM.


#5 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 October 2010 - 02:45 AM

Bump.

Does anyone know how to edit the boot menu that's running from the Win7 partition, rather than the MBR (which has grub4dos on it)?

#6 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 October 2010 - 04:22 AM

If it's easy you want, it doesn't get any better than EasyBCD

#7 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 23 October 2010 - 09:30 PM

Actually I've been using EasyBCD, don't know why I said BCDedit although of course that's what I used to adjust the entries at the command line.

But EasyBCD only seems to adjust the entries for the boot menu stored on the MBR, which I'm not using as I run Grub4Dos from the MBR, which then chainloads the Win7 boot menu from it's own partition, and it's this menu that I want to change and can't!

#8 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 24 October 2010 - 01:13 AM

I've used the instructions here: http://technet.micro...299(WS.10).aspx to add a VHD to the boot menu and it worked fine, I've used EasyBCD to add a VHD and it worked fine; it seems you're trying to work backward from an existing menu and running into trouble. I have not tried diddy's method and don't know how to 'manually' edit the menu like you can in the menu.lst on an XP partition, is this really possible? Maybe it's conflicting with the native boot manager?

#9 doveman

doveman

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 449 posts
  • Location:Surrey
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:31 AM

Thanks, I'll try using bcdboot and see if that will add the entry to the correct (partition-based) bootmenu.

BCDedit works fine (although a bit tricky) to manually add/remove entries from the MBR menu (which I'm not using), it just doesn't seem to be able to adjust the partition-based menu any more than EasyBCD can. Nothing to do with diddy's method really, that's just about using differential disks.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users