Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Parted Magic 5.5 pmagic5.5 Menu.lst settings


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 TheZeDD

TheZeDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:Peace?
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 September 2010 - 02:56 AM

I've once again run again and I am burnt on searching endless jargons.

MultibootISO 2.1.2.4 just doesn't want to work the way you would think it should.

I am using a USB FLASHDRIVE not a cd/dvd optical or hard drive but from a Flashdrive.

Partition Magic comes as pmagicx.x where the current is pmagic5.5.

anyways.... if anyone knows the correct entry for MBI2.1.2.4 Grub's menu.lst when you drop "pmagic5.5.iso" on the root I'd be greatful.

I have to chuckle cuz I searched google and google has no record of pmagic5.5 and its been out for awhile in computer time.

#2 TheZeDD

TheZeDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:Peace?
  •  
    United States

Posted 16 September 2010 - 03:37 AM

They really need a suppository for a combined effort from all the info out there...

This is what I have and have tried...


#This works peachy keen... just drop the ISO on the Root of the device and
# make sure the version and name are correct.
title Parted Magic 5.3 (Partition Tools)
find --set-root /pmagic-5.3.iso
map /pmagic-5.3.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

#This DOES NOT WORK... period
#Simply edited the 5.3 to 5.5 but no go...
title Parted Magic 5.5 (Partition Tools)
find --set-root /pmagic-5.5.iso
map /pmagic-5.5.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

For the Pmagic (Parted Magic) 5.5 i got this:

(hd0,0)
map /pmagic-5.5.iso (hd32) ///or (Hd32) ...does it matter?
Error 62: The number of heads must be specified. The '- -heads=0' option
tells map to choose a value (but maybe unsuitable) for you

...press any key to continue

#3 Filip Hasa

Filip Hasa

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 408 posts

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:20 AM

Hi TheZeDD,

i had same problem with clonezilla. May be it will help:

title Clonezilla 1.2.5-35-i486
find --set-root /ISO/clonezilla-live.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISO/clonezilla-live.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
loopback loop /ISO/clonezilla-live.iso
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live union=aufs nolocales noprompt vga=758 ip=frommedia toram findiso=/ISO/clonezilla-live.iso
initrd /live/initrd.img

or try version 5.4 it works.

I will test 5.5 soon.

Hope this help.

#4 Filip Hasa

Filip Hasa

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 408 posts

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:53 AM

Hi,

it is strange it should work like you did it. But try:

title Parted Magic 4.0 (iso is located at /custom, direct mapping and booting the kernel)
find --set-root /custom/pmagic-4.0.iso
map /custom/pmagic-4.0.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=791 sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us iso_location=/custom
initrd /pmagic/initramfs
map --unmap=0:0xff

More info: http://partedmagic.c...so-booting.html

filip

#5 cengizhan

cengizhan
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 16 September 2010 - 11:58 AM

This is my method. Works for 5.5

extract pmagic folder from iso image to the root. you should modify keymap value to your own locale.

menu.lst:
title	 Default settings (Runs from RAM / USB usable)\n * Parted Magic version: 5.5, (C) 2010, Patrick Verner\n * http://www.partedmagic.com\n * Disclaimer: Author excluded from any liability.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Live with default settings (media not usable)\n Live mode intended for 128-192MB based systems.\n The Live CD medium must remain in the drive.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw loglevel=0 vga=788 livemedia noeject max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Live with low RAM settings\n Disables most daemons and other RAM-exhausting\n processes. The preferred Live option for systems\n with minimal memory (128MB of RAM).

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal lowram livemedia noeject nogpm nolvm nonfs nofstabdaemon nosmart noacpid nodmeventd nohal nosshd nosound nobluetooth loglevel=0 xvesa max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Do not eject CD (*emulators)\n Same as option 2 except for the noreplace-paravirt\n parameter, which is needed for some emulators.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 noeject noreplace-paravirt livemedia loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Alternate graphical server\n Same as option 1. except Xvesa is used by default\n instead of Xorg. (Try this option if Xorg fails.)

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 xvesa loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Safe Graphics settings (vga=normal)\n Disables splash screen and console frame buffer support.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal loglevel=0 max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Failsafe settings\n vga=normal,, noapic, nolapic, nopcmcia, noscsi,\n nogpm, nosmart, & boots to console.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off acpi=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal nolapic nopcmcia noscsi nogpm consoleboot nosmart keymap=trq::~ nosshd nosound max_loop=256

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Console (Boots to the shell)\n Normal vga, verbose kernel messages, and\n no automatic graphical environment.

kernel /pmagic/bzImage edd=off noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=normal consoleboot max_loop=256 keymap=trq::~

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

map --unmap=0:0xff



title	 Local boot\n Boot from your first hard disk.

rootnoverify (hd0)

chainloader +1



title	 Reboot\n Restart the computer.

reboot


#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,959 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 September 2010 - 12:28 PM

I have to chuckle cuz I searched google and google has no record of pmagic5.5 and its been out for awhile in computer time.

Hmm.:)
Version 5.5 came out AFAIK on the 12th
http://partedmagic.com/

Sunday, 12 September 2010 02:10



Parted Magic 5.4 does work:
http://www.911cd.net...o...=24023&st=9

A VERY wild *guess*, but since it already happened in the past that the developer of Parted magic forgot in an update to re-name the actual .iso INSIDE the build, you may want to try renaming the 5.5 version .iso as "pmagic-5.4.iso".

It is also possible that because of the 5.5 .iso is "hybrid":
http://partedmagic.com/

The Parted Magic ISO image is now "hybrid", so it can be written directly to a USB drive using dd.


it somehow "confuses" grub4dos. :)

:hyper:
Wonko

#7 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 September 2010 - 05:40 PM

FYI, from all your info, I put together this and it booted fine................

title						   PARTED MAGIC 5.5\n		   

find --set-root /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 xvesa sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us edd=off iso_location=/ISO/APP/***

initrd /pmagic/initramfs

NB leave *** empty, don't add the file name *.iso it just needs the folder where the ISO is....
thanks for this, hope this helps too! :hyper:

#8 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,180 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:23 PM

@Technotika

It did not work for me, but it works after using chainloader (0xff)

title Boot Linux Parted Magic - images/pmagic-5.5.iso

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /images/pmagic-5.5.iso

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /images/pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


#9 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:32 PM

hmm you sure?
Never finds sqfs...that way for me, maybe I did something wrong, I'd love a neater command line though as the kernel needs tweeking for different vga I find sometimes
let me know

title Boot Linux Parted Magic - images/pmagic-5.5.iso

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)

map --hook

root (0xff)

chainloader (0xff)


#10 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,180 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:44 PM

hmm you sure?

chainloader (0xff) works for me OK :hyper:
It gives the Parted Magic Boot Menu

The kernel command works now also for me after removal of the *** ;)
But in this case you don't get the the Parted Magic Boot Menu

;)

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,959 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 September 2010 - 06:44 PM

If the problem is the "hybrid", which the:

map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)


should fix ;), something to try is simpy zeroing out first (512 bytes) sector of the .iso. ;)

:hyper:
Wonko

#12 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:41 PM

@Wimb ;)

chainloader (0xff) works for me OK
It gives the Parted Magic Boot Menu


Ok, me too, but try loading it.....

The kernel command works now also for me after removal of the ***
But in this case you don't get the the Parted Magic Boot Menu


Yes I meant *** where these three asterix are, it should be empty :hyper:

kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 xvesa sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us edd=off iso_location=/ISO/APP/
initrd /pmagic/initramfs

(iso_location=/ISO/APP/<<<<<<<<<<don't type here, just make sure iso is in that folder or where ever you have it e.g.

iso_location=/MYISOS/
iso_location=/IMAGES/ etc etc

@Wonk
It does actually work but loading any menu options fails to find the sqfs file, not sure if the 512 zero would help, even though I dont know what you mean ;)

#13 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1,051 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 16 September 2010 - 07:57 PM

@ Technotika

If you want to put the iso in another directory than /, /images or /pmagic, then you have to pass the directory location of the iso to the Parted Magic kernel (iso_location= parameter).

If you want to rename the pmagic-4.5.iso to another filename, you have to pass the filename to the Parted Magic kernel (iso_filename=) parameter.

http://replay.waybackmachine.org/20090421065617/http://partedmagic.com/documentation/124-grub4dos-iso-booting.html

#14 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,180 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 16 September 2010 - 08:05 PM

Ok, me too, but try loading it.....

chainloader (0xff) needs 30 sec more time to find sqfs but it boots in 1 min (using grub4dos on HDD)

Your kernel command skips the Parted Magic boot menu, but finds sqfs very fast and boots in 30 sec

#15 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 16 September 2010 - 08:09 PM

got ya :hyper: tanx!

#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,959 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 17 September 2010 - 07:31 AM

@Wonk
It does actually work but loading any menu options fails to find the sqfs file, not sure if the 512 zero would help, even though I dont know what you mean ;)


The "hybrid" CD is a "strange beast".

Basically it is a specially forged file that can be read BOTH as ".iso" AND as ".img" (or as ".ima").

A "normal" .iso has first 16 sectors (2048 bytes each) EMPTY (all 00's).

The ISO bootsector is at sector 17.

This allows to write on sector 0 whatever you want.

A hard disk image ".img" has on sector 0 a MBR.
A floppy or superfloppy ".ima" has on sector 0 a PBR.

It is possible that grub4dos (or any other bootloader) will anyway access sector 0 and "mount" the image incorrectly, assuming a geometry it doesn't really has and actually has no sense on a CD image.
By giving the "--heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0" you are telling grub4dos to ignore whatever he thinks should be the geometry of the image and use a 0 heads/0 sectors one (i.e. the same that would happen if first sector is filled with 00's).

In other words, you could try on an untouched .iso:

title PARTED MAGIC 5.5\n
find --set-root /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso
map /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso (hd31)
map --hook
root (hd31,0)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 xvesa sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us edd=off iso_location=/ISO/APP/
initrd /pmagic/initramfs

the latter two lines may also be replaced by:
chainloader &#40;hd31&#41;+1
or
chainloader &#40;hd31,0&#41;+1

OR:

title PARTED MAGIC 5.5\n
find --set-root /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso
map /ISO/APP/pmagic-5.5.iso (fd1)
map --hook
root (fd1)
kernel /pmagic/bzImage noapic load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw vga=788 xvesa sleep=10 loglevel=0 keymap=us edd=off iso_location=/ISO/APP/
initrd /pmagic/initramfs

etc.
(depending if the hybrid is HD/ISO or FD/ISO)

It won't most probably work (in the sense of actually booting completely), but it should start booting, showing that the "hybrid" is working.

:hyper:
Wonko

#17 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 17 September 2010 - 07:29 PM

That is a strange beast indeed and the first I have heard of it. Just when I thought I had iso's in the bag, that pops up! lol
I guess the aim of it is for people like us who diversify (or attempt to) the application in different, or maybe, more unconventional ways.
Thanks. I'll try those and see what happens. :hyper:

#18 TheZeDD

TheZeDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:Peace?
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 September 2010 - 05:47 AM

Hey guys, sorry I'm late... THANX Big time! for all the good info in here....

I have my ISO's on the Root of the device for now, just have not moved them to make some things simplified for now.

5.3 gace me no issues with this:

# Copy the raw .iso to root of boot device, Pmagic 4.9 to 5.4 simply edit the menu entries here
title Parted Magic 5.3 (Disk Tools)
find --set-root /pmagic-5.3.iso
map /pmagic-5.3.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

I've not tried this yet but will later or tomorrow, thank you greatfully for this info:

title Parted Magic 5.5 (Disk Tools)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /pmagic-5.5.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)

One other item I am working is how to get Grub into the command syntax screen and Edit the Menu.lst so I don't have to keep rebooting.

There is one keey you need to press Z, X, C, V one of those that drops you to a commandline. I found this page...: https://help.ubuntu....unity/GrubHowto

...which tells you to just hit ESC (ahem).

I am familiar with DOS basics but this grub don't quite work the same.

I just want to be able to get to the USB device and edit menu.lst....

bbiab.....

#19 Technotika

Technotika

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 419 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 18 September 2010 - 07:34 AM

Hi,
Don't be getting grub and grub4dos mixed up. They use different syntax on many commands.

Using grub4dos (as you are for those iso's) a simple press of the "c" button will drop you to the command line.

Happy tinkering!

#20 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,959 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 18 September 2010 - 07:44 AM

There is one keey you need to press Z, X, C, V one of those that drops you to a commandline. I found this page...: https://help.ubuntu....unity/GrubHowto

...which tells you to just hit ESC (ahem).

I am familiar with DOS basics but this grub don't quite work the same.

I just want to be able to get to the USB device and edit menu.lst....

bbiab.....


Please note how right now the guide is NOT available (probably Nuno setting up the Board :w00t: - AGAIN).

You can temporarily use the google cache, search for :
http://diddy.boot-land.net/

or download the attached (.htm version).

That is a strange beast indeed and the first I have heard of it. Just when I thought I had iso's in the bag, that pops up! lol
I guess the aim of it is for people like us who diversify (or attempt to) the application in different, or maybe, more unconventional ways.
Thanks. I'll try those and see what happens. ;)

If you are interested, check this thread (COD11 has done a very good experimental work :hyper: with this kind of thingies):
http://www.boot-land...?...ic=9916&hl=


:)
Wonko

Attached Files



#21 TheZeDD

TheZeDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:Peace?
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 September 2010 - 11:06 PM

Sorry for the delay... There is a lot of "intel" out there.

Trying to post code and make it understandable are two different items when the screen size is half the width. ugh...

Ok, this is what I did and what does work... feel free to delete or redistribute anything with a "#" on the line as it is not needed or parsed by the program. These settings are rather common and needing only the path and/or names in the menu.lst to be edited.

# Should work for all PM v4.9-5.3 and maybe 4.x-54? If you copy your version.ISO to the root of your device.
# Then simply edit these lines/file names as needed. Post on the board for questions if it does not.
# There can be other issues such as the "squash" file needing to be renamed or "sector heads zero" added.
# Anytime you see this "/pmagic-5.3.iso" this must be "pathed" to the location of your version.iso.
# e.g. If thats "/apps/tools/your.iso" then "find --set-root /apps/tools/your.iso"
# Thats -2- "FOLDERS/DIRECTORIES" from "ROOT" and then your.iso/file :cheers: k -TheZeDD
title Parted Magic 5.3 Special Edition (Disk Tools)
find --set-root /pmagic-5.3.iso
map /pmagic-5.3.iso (hd32)
map --hook
root (hd32)
chainloader (hd32)

# DON'T DELETE THIS. Thanx to Boot-Land members Filip Hasa, Technotica, and Wanko.
# This new Pmagic iso does not work using the previous settings. IE: 4.9-5.3
title Parted Magic 5.5 Special Edition (Disk Tools)
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /pmagic-5.5.iso
map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /pmagic-5.5.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader (0xff)

Done........

If you have plans to add Pmodules without --recompiling-- the squash file (sQfs), these won't work.

A couple of other items I found rather useful:

# Works great for what I tried. Type "C:" at the balder prompt to get to the USB device you booted from.
# Note that it reads in 8.3 format (8 plus 3). Bummer.
# This version will not access your system Hard drive if you boot it from a USB device.
# Balder is a 1.44mb image. Works great if you know some DOS commands and its quick.
title Balder DOS (FreeDOS) Does not find System drives -Will read/edit boot device files
find --set-root /balder10.img
map --unsafe-boot /balder10.img (fd0)
map --hook
chainloader --force (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)

---Few other items here:

title Boot Floppy (Untested)
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
savedefault --wait=2

title Windows XP SP3 Installation (Untested)
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /ntldr

title Reboot (Untested)
savedefault --wait=2
reboot

Now on a similar note....

I really need some advice. I am trying/wanting to partition and image my XP Pro sp3 OS. It currently runs on one 80 Gigabyte partition. I want to make it two partitions for now.

This is what I am trying to find:

I am looking for an imaging utility that can do two different items, Clone and Universal Restoring:

It can be two different softwares if need be:

1.) One that can do an exact sector by sector dump... if its a 20gb partition it dumps 20gb of sector info and is capable of restoring this image. universal? Meaning it can do this to any other drive "universaly" if not, a good tool to allow it to.

2.) One that only copies used sectors and can universaly restore this image to any computer if original comp/drive putters out. Something like Acronis True --Universal-- imaging/restoring. I've thought about using compression but for this one, I don't care right now at least at first until I can test it, so skip compression if need be. I don't want to chance the compression errors or something *shrug*.

Re-iterating... By --universal-- I mean this: If computer one craps, computer 2 will work the same on computer ones image after whatever drivers are updated if need be. :cheers:

3.) The software has the ability to image and restore, using O-N-L-Y one drive with two (or more) partitions. I've been looking to do this by loading an ISO on a thumbdrive/flashdrive/pendrive.

Varying in useage but I've read good things that stuck out along this trek when looking to Partition or Image. Items notably mentioned were about Parted Magic, DD (DiskDump), TestDisk, PING, and Partition Wizard Home Edition.

Others I have found little info on but sounded interesting were SwissKnife from Compuapps which looked interesting but I don't think it allows you imaging/partitioning outside of the OS. CloneDisk and PCI Clonemaxx were a couple others I think allow you to do your imaging outside of the system but required an install first, not interested.

There were several others too but they did not support NTFS or large hard drives Ranish was one :cheers:

?

Thank You!

- Z

edits:

PCI Clonemaxx: works from a "dos" type enviroment from a boot disk. But it only allows a FULL drive clone but will bypass bad sectors. No, installation, It comes in a exe file which can be opened with 7zip and the .ima file extracted and used I would imagine :cheers:

Swissknife is more of a format and backup tool for external components in fact they add something like "this tool will not allow you to format your system drive for safety".

I'm looking for open source anyways... just some other stuff I came across is all.

#22 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,959 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 September 2010 - 09:08 AM

Now on a similar note....



I don't want to seem grumpier than I normally seem :cheers:, but the whole idea of a topic is that the contents of a thread are RELATED to the topic. :cheers:

Since the title is NOT "Help with ANY problem or doubt TheZeDD may have or any doubt that cresses his mind", but rather "Parted Magic 5.5 pmagic5.5 Menu.lst settings" and being it in "Boot from USB / Boot anywhere > Grub4dos", it is advised that you:
with the removed parts and any other info you may have gathered in the meantime about imaging/cloning/restoring.

BEFORE that, you may find useful this thread:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=100299
where a "catalog" of apps has been made.

:cheers:
Wonko