Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Which should I learn and use? BartPE, LiveXP, Win7PE, WinPE 3.0. Noob trying to learn.


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 08 August 2010 - 02:55 PM

There are too many PE and I don't exactly know which to choose or 'master' on using BartPE, LiveXP, Win7PE, WinPE 3.0.

In the Tutorial section there's this LiveXP for newbies tut. I tried it and after about 1 hour and a half it of compiling the scripts it stopped because of errors.

Then I learned about BartPE on the EASEUS Todo Backup there I tried to learn some stuff about BartPE.

I was able to...
Add Plugins - EASEUS Todo Backup, EASEUS Partition Master 3.5, uMBR-GUI, etc.
Add LAN and Mass Storage Drivers using DriverPacks.net. I believe this will allow to access the network
Run ghost32.exe without even using a plugin
Boot BartPE through USB.

It boots in about 5 minutes.

But reading at this forums there are even this Win7PE that looks pretty good on screenshots and run multimedia and stuff. But I want to know from you experts on what do you think should I learn and use among this PEs.

The newer the better? Like Win7PE? or Win PE 3.0 (Microsoft's Official)

Suggestions?

#2 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 August 2010 - 03:34 PM

In the Tutorial section there's this LiveXP for newbies tut. I tried it and after about 1 hour and a half it of compiling the scripts it stopped because of errors.

Are you referring to this tutorial? :mellow:

Try this test build (takes 5 min to build on my oldish machine), just set your source (untouched retail XP sp2-3) and go. Don't use VM or other distractions, just real hardware, if it works it's easy to add all the programs you need; if it doesn't please zip up a log and post here :)

#3 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:08 PM

Are you referring to this tutorial? :mellow:

Try this test build (takes 5 min to build on my oldish machine), just set your source (untouched retail XP sp2-3) and go. Don't use VM or other distractions, just real hardware, if it works it's easy to add all the programs you need; if it doesn't please zip up a log and post here :)


I read the Lancelot guide. The step by step guide.

I simply downloaded the latest Winbuilder and put a check on livexp and Recommended setting

BTW is this better than BartPE?

is Win7PE better than LiveXP since Win7PE is newer?

Edited by vazurahan, 08 August 2010 - 04:09 PM.


#4 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 August 2010 - 04:24 PM

BTW is this better than BartPE?

Yes. In my opinion there's no comparison but you'll have to determine this for yourself. Try the simple test and if you like, start adding more programs and customize it the way you want. Read the section on adding portables for even more flexibility.

is Win7PE better than LiveXP since Win7PE is newer?

Newer is not always better, I still prefer LiveXP mainly because it's faster and lighter but W7 is nice too, it's easy to dual boot these to keep your options open :)

#5 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 08 August 2010 - 05:33 PM

@amalux

I was able to run ghost32.exe on UFD but I did not set any plugins on BartPE is that OK?
Or you have to install plugins for every program?

I was also able to run mbldr on UFD but it has a lot of files along it so I don't know if it is portable. Do I still need plugin for it Or do you know where can I get plugin for http://mbldr.sourceforge.net/

Read the section on adding portables for even more flexibility.


So portable programs don't need plugins?

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 August 2010 - 05:52 PM

So portable programs don't need plugins?


A BartPE plug-in (or a Winbuilder .script to add an app) basically does these FOUR things:
  • adds to the build the actuall program files
  • adds to the build eventually needed libraries or subsystems
  • adds to the Registry of the build eventually needed entries
  • adds a shortcut to the app in the shell menu or on the desktop

a portable app is basically EITHER:
  • a really portable app, that needs NOT any Registry entry, nor libraries, nor subsystems (typically these kind of apps would run from within a .zip archive)
    OR:
  • an app made portable that acts as if temporarily installed (but many of these apps made portable need nonetheless some libraies/subsyatem that are normally present in a "full" XP but may NOT be included in the build)

So, IF you don't need a shortcut anywhere, AND your app needs not Registry entries (or creates them on-the-fly when run) AND the app needs NOT additional DLL's or subsystems, THEN yes, there is no need for a "plug-in".

:)
Wonko

#7 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 08 August 2010 - 06:07 PM

@Wonko the Sane

Can you help me out with this http://mbldr.sourceforge.net/

I can't say if it has dependencies or not for the full XP.

I can't find a BartPE plugin for it.

The reason I got into BartPE is for deployment.

I'm currently trying several imaging programs. Ghost, EASEUS Todo Backup.
I want to test GImageX too. But can't find a plugin for it.

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 August 2010 - 06:57 PM

@Wonko the Sane

Can you help me out with this http://mbldr.sourceforge.net/

YES. :)
http://homepages.tes...no-answers.html

You have to understand that Forums are organized "per topic" and not "per user".
You had one question, you made a thread for it, you got one or more answers to the original question, scope of this thread is ended.
In other words this is not a "help me for whatever problem I have" kind of thread.

Additionally, you should know that this is not the "home" of BartPE, but that of Winbuilder, it would make much more sense to ask questions about BartPE plugins on 911CD:
http://www.911cd.net...dex.php?act=idx

Finally the general idea is that you cannot find a plugin for a given app, you don't go begging for it, you learn how to write plugins, do your experiments and if you have specific problems, you ask for help on that specific problem (it is unlikely that anyone will do your homework)

However :):

I can't say if it has dependencies or not for the full XP.


Nor can I. But I presume that since it comes NOT with an installer it has no actual dependencies, also since it is MinGW linked it probably needs not any strange (cygwin, vbasic, etc.) thingies (apart the included mingwm10.dll) .

Short how to in two easy steps:
  • copy the files mbldrgui.exe, mbldrcli.exe mingwm10.dll in a folder accessible from your BartPE.
  • double click on mbldrgui.exe or open a command line prompt, navigate to that directory and run from it mbldrcli.exe

Two possible outputs:
  • it works :mellow:
  • it works NOT :)

The reason I got into BartPE is for deployment.

I'm currently trying several imaging programs. Ghost, EASEUS Todo Backup.
I want to test GImageX too. But can't find a plugin for it.

This is yet another question. :unsure:

Have you got a broken google or what? :unsure:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23728
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=20706
http://www.911cd.net...o...=20706&st=3

This is beautiful work...any chance you could put up a Bartpe plugin? For those of us less talented. Thank you for all the hard work!

All you need is the gimagex.exe from the download and wimgapi.dll from the WAIK. Put them in their own folder and there you go!


There is a list of suitable apps here:
http://www.msfn.org/...aging-software/

Whether there are available BartPE plugins or not (if needed) is another thing.

:mellow:
Wonko

#9 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 08 August 2010 - 08:20 PM

is Win7PE better than LiveXP since Win7PE is newer?

This simple question would be (I assume) answered by Wonko with a "Yes" or "No" ( I do not know his decision).

But because the back of the question is more complex, allow me some explanations:

The question should not be "LiveXP <> Win7PE"
It should be
  • first: "XP - Vista - Win7 based" or "PE1 - PE2 -PE3"?
  • second: Which project of my choosen OS?
I cannot give an "universal answer", I can only give some ideas to think about:
  • architecture: Are x64 source CDs accepted and supported?
    IMO FULL support currently only with XP sources.
  • actuality: Currently the author/admin of LiveXP (Galapo, Lancelot -included Amalux as "tutor") belong to the most active users in the forum.
    Let me include myself as author/admin of the nativeEx projects.
  • support: Most (or all?) XP based projects like LiveXP, NativePE are based on the nativeEx_Core. Since some weeks, nativeEx_Core is not longer supported for projects different from nativeEx_barebone.
    Research the Vista / Win7 projects for author's "visability"!

My suggestion: Try nativeEx_Win7.
Because of WinBuilder server internal troubles, I currently cannot upload (and you cannot download) a valid project.
In several days I'll publish on my personal WEB page. Watch the "nativeEx" forum!

Peter

#10 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 09 August 2010 - 02:48 AM

Have you got a broken google or what? w00t.gif
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23728
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=20706
http://www.911cd.net...o...=20706&st=3


I know about this links. I read them even before posting here.
The links on this pages are broken. That's why I'm asking if you can help me out.
There are some links but they lead to the original software not the BartPE plugin.
The one with the plugin is down.

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 August 2010 - 09:38 AM

There are some links but they lead to the original software not the BartPE plugin.
The one with the plugin is down.

There is NO *need* of a plugin, try reading, SLOWLY this time, this sentence:

All you need is the gimagex.exe from the download and wimgapi.dll from the WAIK. Put them in their own folder and there you go!


This is where the plugin by martin
http://martin.boot-l...agex_bartpe.rar
should be.
Due to the problems on boot-land.net and what not it is NOT available until the server will be running again, and it is also NOT cached in the Wayback Machine, just wait a bit, if you really want that plugin, as said not *needed* - at least for testing it.

:mellow:
Wonko

#12 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 09 August 2010 - 12:19 PM

There is NO *need* of a plugin, try reading, SLOWLY this time, this sentence:


Try it for yourself.

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 August 2010 - 12:44 PM

Try it for yourself.

No thanks :mellow:, I wouldn't touch imagex or Gimagex with the same stick I use for NOT touching Vista :unsure:, for several reasons:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19355
http://www.911cd.net...o...9355&st=125
http://support.micro...kb/935467/en-us
http://www.911cd.net...o...9355&st=132

It is well possible you miss some dependencies, it depends on which sub-systems you integrated on your BartPE build, which SP you are running, which version of the app and .dll, etc., etc. loop back to post #6 (if your purpose is to actually (as you declared originally) "trying to learn").

:mellow:
Wonko

#14 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 August 2010 - 03:59 PM

Try it for yourself.

I did, it works fine in that test project I sent you in the second post of this thread :mellow:
mbldr.png

:mellow:

#15 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:23 PM

I did, it works fine in that test project I sent you in the second post of this thread :mellow:
mbldr.png

:mellow:


Really, thanks for the effort amalux.

But what we are talking about is ImageX plugin for BartPE.

I was also able to run it mbldr.

#16 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:35 PM

OK, imagex (and GImageX) already work in LiveXP but now I understand, it's gotta be BartPE.

:mellow:

#17 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 10 August 2010 - 03:38 AM

OK, imagex (and GImageX) already work in LiveXP but now I understand, it's gotta be BartPE.

:mellow:


What's wrong with what I did when I downloaded LiveXP?

I simply downloaded the latest Winbuilder.
Put a check on livexp recommended, then after finishing downloading.
Click the play button at the top. Then it compiles for about 1:30 hour then error.

#18 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 August 2010 - 03:51 AM

There's no way to know... if you follow the instruction in post #2 and upload the log I'll know more and try to help.

#19 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 10 August 2010 - 08:17 AM

But what we are talking about is ImageX plugin for BartPE.


Well, NO.
You asked for the plugin for GImageX:

I want to test GImageX too. But can't find a plugin for it.


A plugin for ImageX can be re-assembled from info on these threads:

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19886
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19355
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=18891

There is a plugin by diddy (right now not available since the Server is DOWN :mellow:):
http://diddy.boot-la...imagex/imagex_1. htm

:mellow:
Wonko

#20 vazurahan

vazurahan

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  •  
    Philippines

Posted 10 August 2010 - 01:35 PM

Well, NO.
You asked for the plugin for GImageX:


A plugin for ImageX can be re-assembled from info on these threads:

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19886
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=19355
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=18891

There is a plugin by diddy (right now not available since the Server is DOWN :)):
http://diddy.boot-la...imagex/imagex_1. htm

:mellow:
Wonko


I already read those post before, it's too difficult for a noob like me to follow those threads though I was already able to get some plugins for software whose easy to follow.

But thanks for the info, I hope the server gets well soon :mellow:

#21 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 10 August 2010 - 06:54 PM

download gimagex.zip from here
unzip gimagex.exe from gimagex.zip (gimagex.zip\install\x86\gimagex.exe)

download Automated Installation Kit (AIK) for Windows Vista SP1 and Windows Server 2008 (6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.iso),
install AIK,
gather the files from the folder 'C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\':
wimfltr.inf
wimfltr.sys
wimgapi.dll
imagex.exe
intlcfg.exe


copy the above-mentioned files to the BartPE plugin's 'files' folder
Attached File  GImageX.7z   1.58KB   282 downloads

#22 fmbOOtfan

fmbOOtfan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 August 2010 - 05:07 PM

Are you referring to this tutorial? ;)

Try this test build (takes 5 min to build on my oldish machine), just set your source (untouched retail XP sp2-3) and go. Don't use VM or other distractions, just real hardware, if it works it's easy to add all the programs you need; if it doesn't please zip up a log and post here :)


Hi amalux + everyone else!

This is my first post so please be gentle :-) I am always enthusiastic about learning about fast and flexible ways to boot in order to do computer maintenance at my job and in my personal life more efficiently so I'm eager to try LiveXP. I've been using UBCD4WIN for a live XP system for a while which is good for some uses, but for some older machines the boot times are really long (even booting via USB), so I'm looking for something that gives me more ability to slim things down and add only the apps I need while booting faster.

I downloaded your test build above (lx78sp6mtw.exe) and ran it successfully using all defaults but have a couple of questions...

First, Avira reports that DrvImpe.exe is a Trojan. I've figured out this is a Driver Importer for PE, but not sure whether this file is truly infected or just a false positive given it's function & signature. I do not want to proceed testing this build on my real hardware until I know for sure.

Secondly, my resulting ISO file, LiveXP_WIM.ISO is only 424KB! Does this sound correct using the default options?

Thanks a lot for any assistance.

#23 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14950 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 August 2010 - 07:22 PM

I don't think that you can use in the same post ;):

ran it successfully .....

.... Avira reports that DrvImpe.exe is a Trojan.

... my resulting ISO file, LiveXP_WIM.ISO is only 424KB! ....



Anyway there is a dedicated thread:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5226
which you shoudl review (maybe the same questions have been already asked and replied to) and anyway post there the problems you are having.

From what you write you ran it UNsuccessfully, because Avira reports that DrvImpe.exe is a Trojan (and probably blocked a number of other things) and then the resulting image is only 424KB! :)

Check your log (sticky in this same "Support" Forum):
http://www.boot-land...p?showtopic=431


:)
Wonko

#24 fmbOOtfan

fmbOOtfan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 August 2010 - 08:30 PM

Thanks for the links. The support link shows a thread which is 40 pages long. It would normally take a while to go through that reading a lot of irrelevant info with regard to my situation in the process, so I'll try to see how good the search options are within threads.

Actually Avira doesn't block anything unless I configure it to (I've disabled this option), it only reports detections and asks me how to act, so I'm fairly certain nothing was blocked, but I could be wrong. I will try to find the log from the build and read amalux's very long but probably excellent tutorial. I skimmed it and just wanted to get a small test build started, but I guess I need to read the whole thing. Will probably be a week or two until I can get through it all though given my current schedule.

#25 amalux

amalux

    Platinum Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 August 2010 - 09:00 PM

Hi amalux + everyone else!

This is my first post so please be gentle :-) I am always enthusiastic about learning about fast and flexible ways to boot in order to do computer maintenance at my job and in my personal life more efficiently so I'm eager to try LiveXP. I've been using UBCD4WIN for a live XP system for a while which is good for some uses, but for some older machines the boot times are really long (even booting via USB), so I'm looking for something that gives me more ability to slim things down and add only the apps I need while booting faster.

I downloaded your test build above (lx78sp6mtw.exe) and ran it successfully using all defaults but have a couple of questions...

First, Avira reports that DrvImpe.exe is a Trojan. I've figured out this is a Driver Importer for PE, but not sure whether this file is truly infected or just a false positive given it's function & signature. I do not want to proceed testing this build on my real hardware until I know for sure.

Secondly, my resulting ISO file, LiveXP_WIM.ISO is only 424KB! Does this sound correct using the default options?

Thanks a lot for any assistance.

Last time I checked it was all clear, still looking pretty good: http://virusscan.jot...77c0830b86e9faf

424KB ISO would be a really lite build ;) , unfortunately, too lite. What Wonko said...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users