Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Graphic card drivers in Vista/Win7PE


  • Please log in to reply
193 replies to this topic

#1 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 06:53 PM

vvurat, has droped a little bomb in one of the topics. Stating that Win7PE can't use graphic cards drivers, besides the framebuffer one. Though he's not sure if this goes for the Vista projects too.

So my question is:
Does any project support the use of graphic card drivers or has someone got it to work privately?


:unsure:

#2 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 06:56 PM

vvurat, has droped a little bomb in one of the topics. Stating that Win7PE can't use graphic cards drivers, besides the framebuffer one. Though he's not sure if this goes for the Vista projects too.

So my question is:
Does any project support the use of graphic card drivers or has someone got it to work?


:cheers:


better like this :unsure: i wait for an answer too. also i want to learn why it need in a winpe environment if standart vga supports 2048x1536 resolution. i think somebody wants to play GTA4 or Crysis. it says it found the driver but couldn't find the mui file error. maybe it could work but also i need to to find a driver for old geforce fx 5500 agp 256mb windows 7 driver for it :rofl:

Error:
dispci.dll: OnInstallDevice: Not allowing install of video device

#3 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 06 July 2010 - 07:28 PM

i think somebody wants to play GTA4 or Crysis.

You've got me! :cheers:
The actual problem is, that some software demands a directx video device and will not even start with just software directx.

:unsure:

#4 gogetax64

gogetax64

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
    Puerto Rico

Posted 18 February 2011 - 05:29 PM

Hi, to make your win7pe(based on make_pe3 ver. 4.0) you need to include d3d8.dll and d2d.dll in windows\system32 folder. I use the new nvidia driver ver. 266.58, and it work!!! (older drivers dont work)

#5 gogetax64

gogetax64

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
    Puerto Rico

Posted 18 February 2011 - 05:34 PM

Sorry, it's not d2d.dll is d2d1.dll...

#6 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 18 February 2011 - 06:47 PM

you are little late man. it is 18/02/2011. i can play games GTA, NFS

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2011 - 07:37 PM

i can play games GTA, NFS

also i want to learn why it need in a winpe environment if standart vga supports 2048x1536 resolution.

Seems like you've found your answer. :dubbio:

:ph34r:

#8 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 18 February 2011 - 08:12 PM

ludovici has winbuilder scripts compiled from my file lists. he has screensaver support. it means probably games will play too. also he does not know what gives exactly this support. i had have this functionality with winsxs extra files but ludovici winpe can work without extra winsxs need.

#9 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2011 - 08:23 PM

ludovici? What project is he working on and where can i find it?

:confused1:

#10 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 18 February 2011 - 08:26 PM

i think he works personal. i do not know too. probably he will comment when he read this lines. i do not know if he ever try to run a game or works.

#11 gogetax64

gogetax64

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
    Puerto Rico

Posted 19 February 2011 - 02:42 AM

Hi, I want to play console's emulators (ZSNES,GENS,NINTENDO64,etc.) So I need Full Directx support and finaly it works!
I use the new make_pe3 ver. 4 and select the media version + the files i mentioned above.

I only want to say that it work for my current setup:
CPU: Pentium DC 2.5Ghz ver.R0
VGA: nVIDIA GForce G210 and GTS250
Audio: nVIDIA HD-Audio and Realtek HD-Audio
RAM: 2GB

If you want Full DX try it... bye...

#12 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 February 2011 - 09:52 PM

Yes make_pe3 is the only win7pe that supports nvidia graphic drivers for recent nvidia cards. It will successfully load the built in win7 nvidia graphic drivers. All other versions of win7 pe I have tried fail to load these drivers ( Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nv_lh.inf_x86_neutral_bbe628dbdd6fce25 ).

#13 dera

dera

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1335 posts
  •  
    Hungary

Posted 20 February 2011 - 08:51 AM

see http://www.911cd.net...ndpost&p=164570

#14 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 February 2011 - 01:14 PM

Yes I have seen that post before.

Win7pe se has all those files and has the service configured. It fails to load the nv_lh drivers when booted on my real machine. Its does however manage to load the vm ware video drivers when running in a virtual machine. Multi PE Leopard has exactly the same problem.

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 02:39 PM

2 negatives and one positive. Should make it fairly easy to pinpoint the problem, by comparing them.

Have you tryed?

:thumbsup:

#16 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 02:43 PM

where the main idea comes from that if graphic card installed everything will be possible? it will not enough to have directx experience play games only with installation of graphic card.

Posted Image

#17 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 February 2011 - 05:45 PM

I have no desire to play games on PE. Just that the standard vga drivers are very slow drawing the screen. Do anything full screen and the redraw speed is an issue.

#18 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:25 PM

Hello everybody, hi Vvurat :smiling9:

I think than the error on Winbuilder Project can be in Display.script :confused1:
Maybe compare PE3-Software, PE3-System, PE3_User with registry hive from Display.script ?

#19 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:31 PM

which error? can you play games in your winpe? need check and find which script gives that functionality and share here :confused1: you need more testers for your scripts or compile your build :smiling9:

#20 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:36 PM

[quote name='vvurat' timestamp='1298226665' post='122862']
which error?
Nvidia drivers installer on Win7PE_SE
can you play games in your winpe?
I have no test (Can you give the name of my WinPE...)

need check and find which script gives that functionality and share here :confused1: you need more testers for your scripts or compile your build :smiling9:
Yes, i am agree. If maybe somebody is interested; contact me...

#21 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 319 posts

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:42 PM

i know the reason why not it doesn't load in your winpe. it is same like the other drivers. you need to patch nvdia drivers "copy file" sections. like infcachebuilder do. it can not find driver files to copy. Also i think directx stuff "screensavers,games" can work without graphic drivers.

InfCacheBuild 2.0

#22 gogetax64

gogetax64

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
    Puerto Rico

Posted 21 February 2011 - 12:11 PM

2/21/2011.

Hi, I have the same PROBLEM that paraglider have until I decided to investigate and conclude taht the problem is that the Program (Make_PE3) Do not include some files that are needed for Direct3D to WORK.

I figured out that there are missings files: D2D1.DLL and D3D8.DLL; and when I include those files the Direct3D Function get Enabled and The VGA Driver Work Too!.
Follow this Instructions:

1: Use/Download The nVIDIA 266.58 x86 Driver (I don't have test the x64 build yet)
2: INCLUDE in Windows\System32\:
d2d1.dll
d3d8.dll

And If you want it the hard way:
(you need 2 Hard Disk on the PC)
Format the Hard Disk with nt6 boot record using your old W7PE
1: Build your W7PE(Make_PE3 based) normaly
2: Unzip your boot.wim to the root of a Hard Disk
3: You need the BDC file from the winbuilder-normal build (it's on \BOOT\BCD)
for make the windows boot from HD(or edit The BCD file if it more easy for you)

4: When the system boot and the command.com windows popup press "Z" to cancel the driver load operations
5: Install the driver (using the setup it's more easy) and reboot
6: Pack the content's of the HD back to boot.wim using ImageX
7: Remember to Include d2d1.dll and d3d8.dll on Windows\System32\

I do this long process until i download the new driver (The Driver Install Automaticaly- but the message "the computer need to rebbot always apear" Dont worry about that) If you Run The DirectX11 Diagnostic Tool you wiil see that "Direct3D Function Is Enabled"...

Good Luck...
bye...

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 21 February 2011 - 12:20 PM

I have no desire to play games on PE.

:dubbio:

Peter :cheers:

#24 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1729 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 February 2011 - 12:30 PM

The problem I was describing was the opposite problem - the nvidia drivers included with win 7 work fine on make_pe3 but fail on all other versions of win7pe. I have those files on my win7pe se built and the included drivers do not work.

#25 ludovici

ludovici

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 610 posts
  • Location:France
  •  
    France

Posted 21 February 2011 - 10:41 PM

Thanks Vvurat :happy_dance:
Yes screensaver can work without directx
But, i don't kown for games...( maybe microsoft games) And your previous openGL error ?
Can you give me an exemple for infcachebuild ?
I test my win7pe with Luna theme xp, and it's good ( work without penetwork, just with wpeinit)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users