Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

CreateRawImg v0.1.0.0 [Release]


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 TheK

TheK

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 141 posts
  • Location:Germany (BW)
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 July 2010 - 02:51 PM

Hi Community :cheers:

inspired by jaclaz' MKIMG script, I decided to create my own little GUI based image creator.

Now I like to share it with you and I hope someone finds it useful :cheers:

Posted Image

Download CreateRawImg v0.1.0.0

Have fun!
TheK
:cheers:

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15039 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 July 2010 - 03:33 PM

It looks like nice. :cheers:

Wonko approves of this. :cheers:

:cheers:
Wonko

#3 ktp

ktp

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 758 posts

Posted 01 July 2010 - 03:42 PM

Well, for me Wonko's seal of approval is the guarantee of good quality :-).

#4 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2636 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 01 July 2010 - 03:53 PM

Very nice and small. :cheers:

It will be interesting to add MBR bootcode like done in IMG_XP project
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=23553

#5 TheK

TheK

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 141 posts
  • Location:Germany (BW)
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 July 2010 - 04:14 PM

Thank you guys :cheers:

It will be interesting to add MBR bootcode like done in IMG_XP project


I like your great tool, but I don't know how this is done in IMG_XP. Can you give me some details please?

#6 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2636 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 01 July 2010 - 04:29 PM

I like your great tool, but I don't know how this is done in IMG_XP. Can you give me some details please?


The MBR code is derived from XP file dmadmin.exe obtained by running IMG_XP_Create.exe in XP environment.

The AutoIt3 source code is given in IMG_XP\makebt\au3scr\sources_au3

Search for dmadmin will show up the relevant part.

:cheers:

#7 TheK

TheK

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 141 posts
  • Location:Germany (BW)
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 July 2010 - 05:09 PM

Got it! Thanks for the hint :cheers:

I will add that to the next version.

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15039 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:01 PM

Got it! Thanks for the hint :cheers:

I will add that to the next version.


After all you weren't much inspired by jaclaz :cheers:, a snippet from MBRBATCH.CMD B):

SET gsarstring=gsar -b -s:x33:xC0:x8E:xD0:xBC:x00:x7C:xFB:x50
SET Sysfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\dmadmin.exe
REM SET Sysfile=%SystemRoot%\System32\spcmdcon.sys
REM SET Sysfile=%SystemRoot%\ServicePackFiles\I386\setupdd.sys
FOR /F "tokens=3 delims=:" %%A IN ('%gsarstring% %Sysfile%^|FIND "%Sysfile%"^| FIND /V "match found"') DO SET /A Offset=%%A
SET /A Offset=%Offset%
Set /A Length=512
REM SET Target=%2
ECHO Creating a MBR from %Sysfile% with dsfo.exe:

these are the files where you can normally find the MBR, courtesy of the Starman:
http://thestarman.pc.../mbr/index.html
http://thestarman.pc...asm/mbr/WTC.htm

:cheers:
Wonko

#9 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1134 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:13 PM

ahh , the memories .

as soon as i get familiar with a command line app , a gui appears :cheers:

thank you btw , looks like a nice and cute toy ..

#10 RePete

RePete
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 July 2010 - 04:53 AM

Thank you very much...

#11 rocketero

rocketero

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 155 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 July 2010 - 03:38 PM

Parme my ignorance, but what exactly this tool does?. I downloaded it, opened it and created a file test.img with this tool, it took less than a fraction of a second to do it , size as default was 204 Mb,

what is this exactly if mind me asking.
regards.

#12 nando4

nando4

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 112 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 07 July 2010 - 08:24 AM

Thank you for this utility. While I can create a rawimage file in Windows, I have not been able to create a DOS partition on the raw image and boot it. I get an error 25 after trying Linux instructions. Any advice on how I can make a 6MB HDD image? Floppy image does work, but HDD image would appear as C: rather than A:, which does make some difference with my usage.

#13 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 2636 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 July 2010 - 11:37 AM

Thank you for this utility. While I can create a rawimage file in Windows, I have not been able to create a DOS partition on the raw image and boot it. I get an error 25 after trying Linux instructions. Any advice on how I can make a 6MB HDD image? Floppy image does work, but HDD image would appear as C: rather than A:, which does make some difference with my usage.


You can try Make_IMG.exe of U_XP_SET package
EDIT: May be not what you want, these SuperFloppy Images boot with A:

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21883

7. Make_IMG.exe - Make and Install Boot Image File - Type IMG or ISO

Supported are:

  • Make and Install 15 MB FreeDOS FAT12 Superfloppy IMG file from Source Folder containing kernel.sys
  • Make and Install 25 MB MS-DOS FAT16 Superfloppy IMG file from Source Folder containing IO.SYS



#14 OldskoolOrion

OldskoolOrion
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:IT in the broadest way possible (tech -> project mgmt)
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 30 July 2010 - 12:52 AM

Thanks TheK!

(Also thanks to Wonko/jaclaz & wimb for the original cmdlinescript / useful replies and other pointers in this thread!).

A friend was looking for a GUI of the script made by Wonko/jaclaz. He despises command line tools/scripts for some weird reason (I still don't understand why, but gave up on the endless discussions trying to convince him he's wrong :cheers:), and I promised him to look into creating a GUI for the script, the moment I would have some time to spare and actually felt like creating a small GUI to wrap around the original script (which I didn’t of course - I like to tease him :cheers:).

Now I don't even have to put in some effort anymore, since you made this fine little, useful tool including GUI.

So far there’s only 1 small, not that important issue, which as far as I can see hasn’t been mentioned yet in this thread – It’s purely esthetic, so no biggie at all if you disregard this well meant remark :

Running Win7 Ultimate x64 with dpi setting at 100% (standard) and using a standard Win7 theme the text within the window appears too large, so it’s not as nice looking as your posted screenshot of the window. See the link below:

Screenshot on Mediafire.com

As I said, not an issue at all, but perhaps it’s easy to set a fixed font/size, whenever you feel like updating the tool and are willing to invest your time to address this. If not : no biggie!

Thanks again!

#15 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15039 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 July 2010 - 11:29 AM

(which I didn’t of course - I like to tease him :P).


Well, you can still tell him nothing about CreateRawImg :) :cheers:

:)

:unsure:

:dubbio:
Wonko

#16 OldskoolOrion

OldskoolOrion
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:IT in the broadest way possible (tech -> project mgmt)
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 30 July 2010 - 01:46 PM

Well, you can still tell him nothing about CreateRawImg :) :P


haha :dubbio:

that IS an option indeed :unsure: altho.. he will nag me from time to time.. so.. more difficult deciscion than I imagined :)

#17 TheK

TheK

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 141 posts
  • Location:Germany (BW)
  •  
    Germany

Posted 01 August 2010 - 08:49 AM

Running Win7 Ultimate x64 with dpi setting at 100% (standard) and using a standard Win7 theme the text within the window appears too large, so it’s not as nice looking as your posted screenshot of the window. See the link below:

Screenshot on Mediafire.com

As I said, not an issue at all, but perhaps it’s easy to set a fixed font/size, whenever you feel like updating the tool and are willing to invest your time to address this. If not : no biggie!


Tested with Win 7 Ultimate x64 at 100% DPI and everything looks fine here :D
Even if I change the DPI every control gets resized properly.

The font is set to MS Sans Serif with a size of 8. However it looks much larger on your screen shot.
So far I wasn't able to recreate the problem on my test systems :dubbio:

Has someone else similar problems on Win 7?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users