Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

Make-PE3 Program to Create Portable Windows 7 PE

7pe tutorial

  • Please log in to reply
867 replies to this topic

#51 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 07 July 2010 - 01:36 PM

Hello,
I use the make_PE3.cmd,,, to build a x64

IE8 Files are copied over correctly to X: \Program Files\Internet folder

BUT

When clicked IE8 Shortcut on desktop has a warning
X:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer\ iexplorer.exe
This patch does not exist

BUT
Properties of shortcut say target is
%programfiles%\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe

So Make_PE3.cmd does work differently

Hope this helps….

Sure this helps, thanks PaPeuser :cheers:
It means that Batch program is doing the copy of \Program Files\Internet Explorer\*.* correctly
whereas DirCopy in Make_PE3.exe fails in x64 OS for folder with Program Files in name (may be I can find a fix)
Probably wordpad and Windows Photo Viewer are also not copied and not working then. (please check)

I saw that IE8 file sqmapi.dll is the only file already present in \Program Files\Internet Explorer folder of winpe.wim
So that explains why you found only that file.

Strange that Shortcut with %programfiles% does not work. Lancelot what do you think about it ?

We might fix this using the in pe3_amd64 environment generated Shortcut (please try to create correct shortcut)

#52 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 July 2010 - 01:54 PM

Sure this helps, thanks PaPeuser :cheers:
It means that Batch program is doing the copy of \Program Files\Internet Explorer\*.* correctly
whereas DirCopy in Make_PE3.exe fails in x64 OS for folder with Program Files in name (may be I can find a fix)
Probably wordpad and Windows Photo Viewer are also not copied and not working then. (please check)

I saw that IE8 file sqmapi.dll is the only file already present in \Program Files\Internet Explorer folder of winpe.wim
So that explains why you found only that file.

Strange that Shortcut with %programfiles% does not work. Lancelot what do you think about it ?

We might fix this using the in pe3_amd64 environment generated Shortcut (please try to create correct shortcut)



Yes there are other differences. With PE3.cmd and PE3.exe

Later today I will try to make a list, and work out shortcut issue

Thanks

#53 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 July 2010 - 03:37 PM

Hi wimb,

my x86 build test with Make_PE3.exe went fine, ie shortcut working (+ all other shortcuts)

my x64 build test with Make_PE3.exe went fine, only this shortcut-folderlocation thingies still exists :hyper:

I 'guess' quotes on icon location of shorcut may causing this, when i right click properties of ie8 .lnk at desktop, click change icon and remove quotes on adress,
"%programfiles%\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe"
-->
%programfiles%\Internet Explorer\iexplorer.exe

than OK-OK
shortcut starts working ;)

I think "billy the window" do not want us use quotes at icon even when space exists in folder name (Internet<space>Explorer)

besides, penetwork shortcut points right place right penetwork (x64 version) hence this is only a shortcut organisation to be solved :cheers:

Other things on pex64 build:
*
as you see from screen shot (after i wait qemu to boot PE3x64 for a loooong while :cheers:)
http://lancelot.winb...00707173142.png

iexplorer at "Program Files (x86)" not exists, in daily life of a x64 user, iex86 most used (where/if ie used) because x86 version of flash shockwave plugins not exists yet (i guess still this valid :rofl: ).
practically existance of both is nice for pe :>.

*
wordpad shortcut points to
"%programfiles%\Windows NT\Accessories\wordpad"
as you see from picture, there is no "Windows NT" folder around under both program files folders.

*
for imdisk shortcut, point to syswow64 (not system32)
(i also installed imdisk and create ramdrive, works fine)

*
empty folders at "Program Files"

*
redundant penetwork x86 at "Program Files (x86)


*
A note about dircopy:

Sure this helps, thanks PaPeuser :afro:
It means that Batch program is doing the copy of \Program Files\Internet Explorer\*.* correctly
whereas DirCopy in Make_PE3.exe fails in x64 OS for folder with Program Files in name (may be I can find a fix)
Probably wordpad and Windows Photo Viewer are also not copied and not working then. (please check)

I guess me having ie x64 (X:\Program Files\iexplorer.exe and other files) on my build does not match with PaPeuser result,
the difference is, I think PaPeuser uses win7 hostos, me using xp hostos,
in the past dircopy caused me trouble hence i changed many scripts due to hostos difference (nt5 - nt6) , this was not related to architecture, (As far as i remember when target have same folder things was hapening)
maybe newer au3 solves this,maybe other things..... just remembered and decide to write here

****
Thanks to guys of qemu, it helps me a lot even with pe3x64 booting but booting pe2/3-x64 takes a looot time.
I am very thankful to qemu, qemu x64 working helps me a lot, but making pex64 tests is a nightmare for me, which i really avoid ;).
To show how much time i wait between tests, here is qemu i use (edit 1_qemu-system-x86_64.cmd if required)
http://lancelot.winb...5_qEmu_wimb.rar
I skip batch test for that reason for now, besides i mostly response a bit late to pe3x64 tests due to this trouble.


I hope above post useful. :hyper:

#54 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 July 2010 - 04:04 PM

this is something noticed playing with IE8 desktop shortcut properties..

start in:
"%programfiles%\Internet Explorer"

If I just back space out the last " and re-add the " and click reapply it works,,,,, so path works it just needs to be reapplied

VooDoo ????

Edited ---------------
I tested this 4 times by rebooting once path is reappied all IE8 shortcuts and icons are correct... so i am not nuts,,,, :cheers: :cheers:

#55 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 July 2010 - 04:13 PM

Hi PaPeuser,

can you make a quick test :cheers:
As far as i understand you already have X:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe in your pex64 build,

Test is:
add this shortcuts to your pex64 build
http://lancelot.winb...01007031431.rar
and check if "Internet Explorer 8 (64 bit)" shortcut working or not ?

If this not work, i have another idea :cheers:

#56 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 July 2010 - 04:40 PM

Hi PaPeuser,

can you make a quick test :cheers:
As far as i understand you already have X:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe in your pex64 build,

Test is:
add this shortcuts to your pex64 build
http://lancelot.winb...01007031431.rar
and check if "Internet Explorer 8 (64 bit)" shortcut working or not ?

If this not work, i have another idea :cheers:



Yes i have that folder in my x64 build. i can launch IE8 from there ,,, so excuse me for not understanding how you want these new icons included,,

In Make_PE3 - PE3_mod - PE#_add - ia64 - Windows - system32 - config - systemProfiles - desktop ?????????
I found the shortcut for IE8 .. i replaced the shortcut with your Internet Explorer 8 (64)


i got a head ache,,,

Be right Back

#57 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 July 2010 - 04:46 PM

i got a head ache,,,

Who doesn't :afro:

yep the method you write is fine :rofl:

an alternate method is, you can add files to your virtualdisk of your emulator, than boot with wimbpex64.iso and see if "ie x64" shortcut working or not.

anymethod that will not give you headache fine :cheers: , only wondering if "ie x64" shortcut i put in the package work or not in the booted wimbpex64.iso :cheers:

#58 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 July 2010 - 08:23 PM

Here is a something I found, looking a time and date stamp for the PE3.ISO it says 8:11am, well after a few trial builds later I realized it was after 2:00pm. And current built ISO should reflect time/date created. But it still said 8:11

So when I added new IE8 shortcuts and rebuilding I do not think ISO’s were over written
I started questioning what I was booting.

I went to C: and deleted both winpe3_amd64 and the X86 folders.. New ISO’s are time/date stamped correctly

Now I am deleting everything and starting over …… :cheers: :cheers:

Later,,,,,,,,,,,,

#59 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 07 July 2010 - 09:11 PM

Hi wimb,

since no vmware/vbox+vtcpu user spend 2 minutes to verify my findings (except honest attempts of PaPeuser) I verify my finding with qemux64 test.

I think "billy the window" do not want us use quotes at icon even when space exists in folder name (Internet<space>Explorer)

ie links on my post 21 (=post55) works nicely on wimbpe3x64 build here.

mystery solved. I guess there will be no more .lnk chat with further packages.

Good night. :cheers:

#60 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1716 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 08 July 2010 - 01:27 AM

@Wimb,

I used the default Normal + UPX Compress .exe stub

#61 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 July 2010 - 06:51 AM

@Lancelot
@PaPeuser

Thanks for testing, info and advice.
It is all really very helpfull.

Strange this effect of removal and adding of double quote in IE8 shortcut in pe3_amd64 environment.
It seems to me that in x64 there are a lot of sneaky things occurring under the skin ....
It makes things rather complicated, but hopefully we shall overcome ....

For testing I use mostly launching the ISO from grub4dos menu on my HDD.
Boot_IMG.exe (in case of ISO made with batch program) or Make_PE3.exe were used to Install PE ISO in grub4dos menu.
It boots very fast and allows quick testing of the build ISO.

I saw somewhere PaPeuser mentioning ia64 folder, but that should be I think amd64 folder,
unless you have an Itanium processor and your build is pe3_ia64.iso

Today I hope to do some testing on x64 Windows 7 of a friend of mine.
May be we can solve most x64 issues in the next version of Make_PE3 .....

#62 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 10 July 2010 - 05:18 PM


*** Update of Make_PE3 package to Create Portable Windows 7 PE ***

This update concerns mostly a lot of improvement for x64 support, especially for making 7pe_amd64.iso

  • Added - Turkish tr-TR as Distribution Language - Thanks to Kullenen_Ask for telling me Turkish was missing.
  • Changed - In Make_PE3.exe xcopy is used instead of DirCopy, needed for copying IE8 and other folders in x64 OS
  • Changed - latest AutoIt3 version 3.3.6.1 was used to compile Make_PE3.exe
  • Added - in Make_PE3.cmd one can Select now AIK Tools folder e.g. on drive not being C:
  • Added - Wireless Internet Support in 7pe_amd64.iso (seen for first time working ?)
  • Added - Wordpad, Paint and Photo Viewer working in 7pe_amd64.iso
  • Changed - x64 Shortcut Links e.g IE8 Icon on Desktop is now working in 7pe_amd64.iso
  • Changed - Program Version - latest version is now 1.1
Known issues in 7pe_amd64.iso and pe3_amd64.iso:
in pe3_amd64.iso only BS Explorer Shell is working selectable via PEShell
No wallpaper support yet in amd64 ISO versions
Audio Fix is not working yet in amd64 ISO versions
Setting Screen Resolution only works via PEShell for amd64 versions

Most interesting x64 build is 314 MB 7pe_amd64.iso made directly from winre.wim on Selected x64 Windows 7 drive
It has Wireless Internet with IE8 and Wordpad, Paint and Photo Viewer working

:cheers:

#63 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 July 2010 - 06:26 PM

Where are those updates to be found these days, they used to be attached to the posts.

:cheers:

#64 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 July 2010 - 06:34 PM

Where are those updates to be found these days, they used to be attached to the posts.

:cheers:



First post has been updated ,,, I am booting now,,, :cheers: :rofl:

#65 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 July 2010 - 07:03 PM

Great Job wimb. :rofl: :rofl: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :unsure:

Tested wimpe3_amd64 build

Quick review ....
shortcuts work, IE8 works
Word Pad and Paint work... i could not find Photo Viewer ?? :rofl: :rofl:

Ghost short cut, is only one i can find that does not work..


GREAT------------Thanks again ;) ;)

#66 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 10 July 2010 - 07:29 PM

shortcuts work, IE8 works
Word Pad and Paint work... i could not find Photo Viewer ?? :cheers: :rofl:

Ghost short cut, is only one i can find that does not work..

Photo Viewer appears when double clicking in Explorer on JPG or BMP file.

Ghost Shortcut works, but you have to add 32-bits Ghost files in folder :cheers:
Make_PE3\PE3_mod\PE3_add\amd64\Program Files (x86)\Ghost

Nice to know it is working for you.

Can you test Wireless Internet in 7pe_amd64.iso ?
Get your x64 WLAN driver folder from
http://driverpacks.n...verpacks/latest

#67 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 July 2010 - 07:55 PM

Sorry i can not test wireless for u :rofl: :rofl:
maybe someone else can help?


Ghost is no problem, i was going to update files anyway, ;) :cheers:
Next time i will read the text files,,,,,,

I will play ,, or do more testing later.. :cheers: :rofl:

#68 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 12 July 2010 - 09:56 AM

*** Update of Make_PE3 package to Create Portable Windows 7 PE ***
  • Added - SetACL.exe is used for amd64 ISO version to Set permission for import of CLSID registry in SOFTWARE hive
  • Added - IE8 custom registry settings added in PE3_CUSTOM.reg for amd64 ISO versions
  • Changed - In all Runwait and ShellExecuteWait of Make_PE3.exe now parameters have absolute path with surrounding double quotes,
    in order to solve path problem encounterd by Kullenen_Ask
  • Changed - Program Version - latest version is now 1.2
Most interesting x64 build is 312 MB 7pe_amd.iso made directly from winre.wim on Selected x64 Windows 7 drive
It has Wireless Internet with IE8 and Wordpad, Paint and Photo Viewer working

#69 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 317 posts

Posted 12 July 2010 - 10:15 AM

any improvement about registry import errors on xp? first time somebody cares permissions. where did you get idea to use setacl? you didnt read or interested about my hive suggestion too. wish setacl helps. i like you are open to every kind of improvements. is setacl effective? it didn't help me much in my tests. can be a supporter but not a solution. did you check before and after build permissions?

#70 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2281 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 12 July 2010 - 11:55 AM

any improvement about registry import errors on xp? first time somebody cares permissions. where did you get idea to use setacl? you didnt read or interested about my hive suggestion too. wish setacl helps. i like you are open to every kind of improvements. is setacl effective? it didn't help me much in my tests. can be a supporter but not a solution. did you check before and after build permissions?

SetACL.exe is effective.
It solves the reg import error, which would occur for import of present PE3-SOFTWARE_CLID.reg in building 7pe_amd64.iso

What do you propose for import of Classes registry in SOFTWARE hive ?
Can you give exact details of the procedure that you are using ?

#71 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 317 posts

Posted 12 July 2010 - 03:52 PM

why it is so difficult to make a x64 winpe? and why the wim size so big 312mb? i don't have chance to work on x64 systems that my pc doesn't support it. only interested in to hear common problems.

#72 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 July 2010 - 08:23 PM

i don't have chance to work on x64 systems that my pc doesn't support it. only interested in to hear common problems.

at this point thanks to qemux64, initial developments of pex64 so far mostly start with pentium3 pc , i wish qemux64 more developed to extend the support but since not it is nightmare to use qemux64 on pe2/3-x64 but works in acceptable limits with pe1x64. Try livexp, You can gain some experiences through qemux64 by using pe1x64 (livexpx64).
There is a qemu package on some previous post, if you wait ~15 to 25 minutes, pe3x64..iso will boot :unsure:
Or by a cpu with vt support (i wish i could :rofl: )

why it is so difficult to make a x64 winpe?

nope it is not, only some small experiences required :cheers:. It is obvious future going to x64, increasing number of utilities start providing true x64 versions and more will come in time.

and why the wim size so big 312mb?

2 reasons
1) x64 files are mostly a bit bigger compared to x86
2) wimb builds set wow64 enabled as default which ~double up space (thanks to JFX at this point :cheers: )
-->maybe it can be set optional maybe not, up to wimb. :cheers:

#73 vvurat

vvurat

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 317 posts

Posted 12 July 2010 - 09:00 PM

* i don't have x64 capable pc,cpu
*nope it is not, only some small experiences required
-doesn't have enough experince gained from so many x86 builds?
*x64 files are mostly a bit bigger compared to x86
-i know that but difference is 100mb??? isnt it much?
*wimb builds set wow64 enabled as default which ~double up space
-doesn't wim optimize storage. "x86 boot.wim 138mb" "x64 boot.wim 161mb" not doubles.

#74 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 July 2010 - 09:12 PM

* i don't have x64 capable pc,cpu

As far as i know Pentium 3 also not x64 cpable pc,cpu
try qemux64, you will be surprised with patience

To show how much time i wait between tests, here is qemu i use (edit 1_qemu-system-x86_64.cmd if required)
http://lancelot.winb...5_qEmu_wimb.rar


*nope it is not, only some small experiences required
-doesn't have enough experince gained from so many x86 builds?

yes, that is the reason making pex64 easier (+bi$$y helped too) but still small experiences required as written before

well last time i tested it was about ~300mb, maybe now 161mb which smells better here.

I deeply understand it is hard for wimb to organise, but to me all goes fine for wimb's build goals. :thumbup:
:cheers:

#75 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 12 July 2010 - 09:16 PM

Ah forgot this,

-i know that but difference is 100mb??? isnt it much?

wimb adds many wow64 components to confort x86 applications as much as possible. Since it is wimb's build goal it is normal (not much but maybe optmized , up to wimb).

After some years this +100 will not be needed, but still many applications are x86 so wimb choosing this path for pex64 builds is to me understandable.

I feel after you experience x64, you will fully understand :thumbup:
:cheers:





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 7pe, tutorial

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users