Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

Make-PE3 Program to Create Portable Windows 7 PE

7pe tutorial

  • Please log in to reply
867 replies to this topic

#1 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 01 July 2010 - 08:48 AM

*
POPULAR

=

*** Make_PE3 Program to Create Portable Windows 7 PE ***

 

 

Make_PE3 can be used in Windows 8/7/XP Multi-Boot environment
Source can be fresh installed Win7 SP0 without Updates or Win7 DVD SP0 or SP1 - x86 or x64 versions
 

AIK_Tools folder in Make_PE3 is the place where used tools as Dism.exe and imagex.exe are auto collected.

Without AIK you can use Make_PE3 to make in about 4 minutes 7pe_x86.iso
from Winre.wim in Recovery folder and by using Dism.exe of Windows 7 Source Drive
Thanks to tsetya for publishing this easy way to create Windows 7 PE
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=11801

7pe_x86.iso = Win7 Recovery ISO with Windows 7 GUI , and made from Winre.wim or boot.wim and without AIK
pe3_x86.iso = AIK Windows PE 3.0 with Windows 7 GUI , and made from winpe.wim by using AIK

Portable Windows 7 PE is a bootable ISO with size of about 300 MB
The Boot ISO files are made by adding to boot.wim about 700 files and some registry settings of Windows 7
Thanks to JFX for pioneering work on Win7PE_SE which is an important source of info for me
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=10693

BOOT_IMG.exe can be used to install the ISO files as boot option in grub4dos Menu on HDD or USB
BOOT_USB.exe can be used to create bootable USB-stick with Portable Windows 7 PE
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=24424

Required for making pe3_x86.iso - AIK for Windows 7 - KB3AIK_EN.iso - Microsoft - Windows PE 3.0
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Dism.exe of AIK must be version 6.1.7600.16385 (earlier version 7000 gives Errors)
WLAN HotFix is not needed anymore, Make_PE3 takes care of everything.


Known issue:
Previous use of WimFltr v.1 by e.g. imagex version 6.0.6001 (e.g. for making BB-7PE or W7PEX)
would result in reg load error when using Make_PE3 programs, but the program will detect and STOP before building 7 PE
It means that when Make_PE3 has mounted boot.wim with Dism, that reg load of PE registry would fail.
Solution: simply Reboot before using Make_PE3 programs to STOP WimFltr v.1

Portable 7 PE x86 has 4 Versions differing in size and functionality:
- MIN and BS Explorer version are booting fast and meant for PC repair purpose (Device and Disk Management available)
- Explorer version has Internet Explorer 8 and Themes and is meant for general purpose
- Media version has Windows Media Player and DirectX and is meant for MultiMedia purpose

 

=
Download - Make_PE3

It is required to extract Make_PE3.exe to the root of your drive

- Download VLC Media Player for PStart menu from
http://portableapps....eo/vlc_portable
Run VLCPortable_1.1.4.paf.exe
Browse to your Make_PE3MULTIPStartProgs folder
Install in your Make_PE3MULTIPStartProgsVLCPortable folder

Copy PStart folder and wallpaper.jpg and drv folder with drivers as normal from Make_PE3MULTI to root of HDD or USB boot drive.



208167b5ee079fb2d9722cf89e64e7fe2g.jpg


Make_PE3_plugins
Adding Programs before building the 7 PE ISO - The easiest way is to make use of plugins for Make_PE3 package.
Make_PE3_Flash_V11.exe - Adobe Flash Player Version 11 - x86 and x64 support for Google Maps and YouTube

The plugin has the same folder structure as Make_PE3 and to insert the plugin you can
Extract Make_PE3_Flash_V11.exe to the same drive as where Make_PE3 folder is located.

The Make_PE3_plugins.exe are selfextracting packages with addons, and containing files, registry and drivers for apps,
and which contain Start Menu and Desktop icons and have similar folder structure as in Make_PE3 and as in 7 PE and Windows 7.
Registry exported from Windows 7 or 7 PE can be used as reg files in the plugins, so that they can be made easily.
The Export registry must be made suitable for import in the from PE3 loaded SYSTEM SOFTWARE and DEFAULT hive and have keys like

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINEPE3-SYSTEM..........
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINEPE3-SOFTWARE..........
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINEPE3-USER..........

In this way we can share and exchange easily plugins packages with addons. :cheers:

As exemple you may download Make_PE3_plugins.exe for adding imaging software to Make_PE3 folder to build Portable 7 PE
Run and Extract Make_PE3_plugins.exe in the same way as you did for Make_PE3.exe

he file Readme_plugins_files.txt gives more Info on how to use this (empty) Make_PE3_plugins.exe

Download empty Example for plugins - Make_PE3_plugins

Guide with More Info:
http://www.911cd.net...o...21883&st=35
http://www.msfn.org/...e-windows-7-pe/


Development and historical thread here:
http://www.boot-land...showtopic=10250

=
User Interface of Make_PE3.cmd Batch Program to Create 7pe_x86.iso Boot Image
=
Attached File  PE3_MAKE.png   28.42KB   82 downloads
=

=
User Interface of Make_PE3.exe Program to Create 7pe_x86.iso Boot Image
=
Attached File  PE3_EXE.png   26.55KB   128 downloads
=

Portable Windows 7 PE - Wireless Internet with IE8 and working Audio
=
Attached File  PE3_AUDIO2.png   692.96KB   118 downloads
=


  • Rigamortis, Uvais, anuraag and 4 others like this

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,081 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 01 July 2010 - 11:01 AM

:cheers:

:cheers:
Wonko
  • wimb likes this

#3 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:10 PM

I get this error when the build source is win7 x86 copied to hard drive, I chose the AIK option, and my build OS is win 7 x64.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  pe3.PNG   55.68KB   159 downloads


#4 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:14 PM

Here are the options I used:

Attached Files



#5 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:21 PM

I get this error when the build source is win7 x86 copied to hard drive, I chose the AIK option, and my build OS is win 7 x64.

The Error is in fact a WARNING, but you may proceed with No (= don't STOP)
I am Not sure if it is allowed to make pe3_x86.iso in Win7 x64 environment.
I saw somewhere in the WAIK a warning about it, so I decided to create a user decision.
So it is up to you and I think just have a try.

The reverse can be done e.g. making pe3_amd64.iso was made by me in 32-bits XP or Windows 7 environment.

#6 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:23 PM

If I answer no to the question the build continues but I get a error code 1 reported to various imagex calls. I see a 100mb f:\winpe3_x86\winpe.wim. However f:\winpe3_x86\pe3_x86.iso is only 28MB in size and does not contain a wim file - directory f:\winpe3_x86\ISO\sources\ is empty.

Imagex is version 6.1.7600.16385

#7 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 01 July 2010 - 12:29 PM

If I answer no to the question the build continues but I get a error code 1 reported to various imagex calls. I see a 100mb f:\winpe3_x86\winpe.wim. However f:\winpe3_x86\pe3_x86.iso is only 28MB in size and does not contain a wim file - directory f:\winpe3_x86\ISO\sources\ is empty.

Thanks for the test.
I think now we know the WARNING was needed.
I don't have x64 Windows 7 so I could not do the test.

Have a try in building pe3_amd64.iso or better use XP or 32-bits Win7 environment to make 7pe_x86.iso or pe3_x86.iso

:cheers:

#8 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2010 - 11:45 PM

I have no problem building the win7pe x86 winbuilder projects on win7 x64 So there is no reason for your project to fail.

#9 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 July 2010 - 12:02 AM

The make_pe3.cmd works ok after I tweaked it for the aik being on the d: drive instead of c:. Its only the program that fails.

#10 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:53 AM

Hi wimb,

there is no limitation to build pex86 in any platform, only one should be a bit carelfull on some minor facts :cheers: , opposite (creating PEamd64 on hostosx86) is as you practice also working....

anyway, I decide to create PEamd64 on hostosx64 using Make_PE3.cmd, I installed KB3AIK_EN.iso + added hotfix to ..WinPE_OCs folder following instructions
select 1 --> H:\Win7Ultimate_x64_7600_16385_090713_1255
select 4 --> .......

during build i get this

*** OK - Windows 7 Files were Collected ***
=============================================================================
ERROR - File "C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-
wmi.cab" is Missing
=============================================================================

hence i replaced all WinPE_FPs to WinPE_OCs in batch (modbatch) and restart building from begining, 304 MB pe3_amd64.iso created.
(I have no WinPE_FPs folder inside C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\)

than i try to make PE3x86 build, using Make_PE3.exe failed at WinPE_FPs stages, than i use modbatch and select x86 source, pe3_x86.iso created (but not booted in vmware "Bsod: Session5_Initialization_Failed" ->failure maybe about me not updating dism.exe!)

I hope these info gives some clue for further enhancements.

sorry wimb, I could not spend much time on tests of your project since more focused on pe1 and possible integrations etc., but so far I've adviced your project to all i know :) .

#11 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 July 2010 - 04:53 AM

The make_pe3.cmd works ok after I tweaked it for the aik being on the d: drive instead of c:. Its only the program that fails.

That is good news. So the batch program is OK :)

I will make changes to the AutoIt3 code for making the .exe
It means in fact that for x64 absolute path with double quotes must be used for the imagex.exe parameters.

Thanks for testing

:cheers:

#12 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 July 2010 - 05:14 AM

Hi wimb,
during build i get this

*** OK - Windows 7 Files were Collected ***
=============================================================================
ERROR - File "C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\amd64\WinPE_FPs\winpe-
wmi.cab" is Missing
=============================================================================

hence i replaced all WinPE_FPs to WinPE_OCs in batch (modbatch) and restart building from begining, 304 MB pe3_amd64.iso created.
(I have no WinPE_FPs folder inside C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\)

than i try to make PE3x86 build, using Make_PE3.exe failed at WinPE_FPs stages, than i use modbatch and select x86 source, pe3_x86.iso created (but not booted in vmware "Bsod: Session5_Initialization_Failed" ->failure maybe about me not updating dism.exe!)

Hi Lancelot,

Thanks for testing and giving detailed info on how to solve encountered problems :cheers:

I will try to improve the programs.
The more tests I survive, the better.

EDIT:
May be all problems are related to version of WAIK that you are using.
I have in AIK for Windows 7 only WinPE_FPs folders

Required for making pe3_x86.iso - AIK for Windows 7 - KB3AIK_EN.iso - Microsoft - Windows PE 3.0
http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en
Dism.exe of AIK must be version 6.1.7600.16385 (earlier version 7000 gives Errors)

#13 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 July 2010 - 06:46 AM

May be all problems are related to version of WAIK that you are using.

I feel you are right, KB3AIK_EN.iso i have is 1.34GB, MS not renaming file name :cheers: , I will download (with my slow dl speed) and inform you , thanks..........

#14 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 July 2010 - 07:42 AM

I feel you are right, KB3AIK_EN.iso i have is 1.34GB, MS not renaming file name :cheers: , I will download (with my slow dl speed) and inform you , thanks..........

You can also decide to make 7pe_x86.iso using option 2 of Make_PE3.cmd program.
In that case you don't need the AIK and use only files from drive where 32-bits Windows 7 is installed.
In that case folder Dism and Dism.exe of Windows 7 drive are copied to AIK_Tools\x86
But of course you need then also to run the program in 32-bits OS

BTW the WLAN Hotfix is not used anymore, everything is taken care of in Make_PE3

#15 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 July 2010 - 08:52 AM

Hello..

I build using Win7x64 host with Win7 WAIK installed. Using a Win7 64bit source
When booted I run PNP and start IE8

Shortcut to IE8 from (Start-Administrative Tools) points to Program Files (x86).
IE8 can be found and launched from (Program Files) not (Program Files x86)

Driver Fix shortcut on desktop gives a missing short cut,, (X:\Windows\System32\driver_fix.cmd)???

Also I am having a hard time sharing with PENwork, give me more time to figure that one out.

Builds fine on an x64bit Win7 machine using WAIK for Windows 7 and a 64bit source,

#16 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 July 2010 - 09:47 AM

Hello..

I build using Win7x64 host with Win7 WAIK installed. Using a Win7 64bit source
When booted I run PNP and start IE8

Shortcut to IE8 from (Start-Administrative Tools) points to Program Files (x86).
IE8 can be found and launched from (Program Files) not (Program Files x86)

Driver Fix shortcut on desktop gives a missing short cut,, (X:\Windows\System32\driver_fix.cmd)???

Also I am having a hard time sharing with PENwork, give me more time to figure that one out.

Builds fine on an x64bit Win7 machine using WAIK for Windows 7 and a 64bit source,

Thanks PaPeuser for testing on x64 Win7 machine, and showing nice results. :cheers:

I have never used Make_PE3 with x64 Win7 OS.
Actually I am surprised that it worked so well for you.

The wrong links in pe3_amd64.iso can be fixed.

Can you test also if you can make 7pe_amd64.iso made without using WAIK ?

#17 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:20 AM

Warning I am new to Make_PE3, :cheers:

I will try a build using --

Get windows 7 Files - and Without AIK
Source was C:
error imagex - Imagex /export boot.wim return with error code: 2

Get Windows 7 Source Files and use AIK
I Set Windows 7 Source to Win 7 Pro x64 DVD
Booted fine..............

When i went back and tried
Get Windows 7 Files - and without AIK and tried to set source to Win7 Pro x64 DVD
Message
File D:\sources\install.wim Found
Will use \mnt7_inst folder to mount install.wim
At very end of build imagex - Export - wait, i got an error
Imagex /export boot.wim return with error code : 2

Hope this helps B) :)

#18 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 02 July 2010 - 10:36 AM

I will try a build using --

Get windows 7 Files - and Without AIK
Source was C:
error imagex - Imagex /export boot.wim return with error code: 2


In this case imagex is only used to reduce size of boot.wim
This error was may be not fatal and the iso was created. :cheers:

Can you try Batch program Make_PE3.cmd using option 2 - Without AIK to Make 7pe_amd64.iso - to see if the same error occurs.
The code is better and the error might be absent. (see result of paraglider in post #9 - Batch Make_PE3.cmd is OK)

Thanks for testing :)

#19 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 02 July 2010 - 08:08 PM

I just realized I am using a Make_PE3 that I downloaded almost a month ago,, could Make_PE3.exe have a version number in title bar? Like .. V 1.1 and you could note latest download version in first post?

or at give a date of last update..

#20 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 03 July 2010 - 05:29 AM

....could Make_PE3.exe have a version number in title bar?

Yes, I will make such Info visible in the program user interface.

BTW the latest batch program Make_PE3.cmd is best for testing in x64 environment.
The AutoIt3 code of Make_PE3.exe needs some update for x64 OS.

#21 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 July 2010 - 12:19 PM

Hi wimb,

more nice results from xpx64 here :unsure:

both batch and au3 exe works verrrrrrry nicely (fast, easy, good result...) for me on building "WimbPE3x86" :rofl: . (I use aik)
http://lancelot.winb...00703101841.png

Thanks a looooooot (again) for this verrrrry good project. As I always tell to my friends, "If wimb does something, it is good" :unsure:

It was all my fault when my friends building and me failiing :cheers: .

about ie (x86) link:
for some reason hostosx64 tends to change link target etc. to ...(x86) .. ;) . this is same for all (not only ie) but when pe booted, I guess there is no problem for others since they find files on one of target, but ie is on both target (x86) preferred :cheers: .
a workaround using %programfiles% and %programfiles(x86)% ( NOT %ProgramFiles% and %ProgramFiles(x86)% ; keeping short, long while ago we found using small letters is easier and solves some situations ;) )
check following
http://lancelot.winb...01007031431.rar
I hope this helps

See you ;)

#22 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 03 July 2010 - 12:46 PM

I download Make_PE3 today and tried a build again

This time I had to use Collected Windows files to build and manually change Architecture to amd64.

Not sure what’s going on I just wanted you to know an x64 build does work,

Built, booted and I had the same shortcut problems. Also IE8 folder in program files only contained one file and I could not launch IE

Post 17 was Make_PE3 I downloaded on 6/30 (from what I can tell)
and for your information.

I will try to find sometime later today. To be more helpfully ;) ;)

Great project keep up the good work,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ;) :unsure: :cheers:

#23 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 03 July 2010 - 12:55 PM

Hi Lancelot,

Thanks for testing Make_PE3 in x64 environment for making pe3_x86.iso :cheers:

Good to know that it is working so well for you.

Thanks also for sending IE8 program links.

I think the (x86) addition is needed for 32-bits program launched in 64-bits environment.
Your solution for the IE8 links is very good and I will use this in Make_PE3

:unsure:

#24 wimb

wimb

    Gold Member

  • Developer
  • 2,142 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 03 July 2010 - 01:13 PM

This time I had to use Collected Windows files to build and manually change Architecture to amd64.

Not sure what's going on I just wanted you to know an x64 build does work,

Built, booted and I had the same shortcut problems. Also IE8 folder in program files only contained one file and I could not launch IE

Use Collected Windows 7 files allows indeed to Select which Architecture you want to Rebuild.
But in that case it is needed that the files for that Architecture were collected in a previous Run with option Get Windows 7 files.

The missing IE8 Program Files and the IE8 links is something to be improved for building 64-bit versions.
May be you find already solutions following the approach of Lancelot in previous post.

Happy it works already so good for you.

:unsure:

#25 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 03 July 2010 - 03:56 PM

Hi wimb,

here is an organisation idea to demonstrate http://lancelot.winb...01009031844.rar
just an idea for your future organisations. :cheers:

@PaPeuser
similar thingy with penetwork lnk, above file contains same fix ;). You are our PEx64 tester, have fun :unsure:





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 7pe, tutorial

15 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 14 guests, 0 anonymous users


    owlbowel