Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Real DOS-mode Patch for MS-DOS 8.0


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 0ffer

0ffer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 June 2010 - 09:40 AM

Patch from Microsoft to restore the "Real-mode functionality" ( Microsoft not recommended the use of third-party methods to restore some aspects of the Real-mode functionality) in IO.SYS extracted from Windows XP SP3 diskcopy.dll by replacing
First 2048 bytes from original unmodified Windows Me OEM CD IO.SYS.
This IO.SYS directly support real MS-DOS mode.(Comparison of x86 DOS operating systems - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia). Windows Me OEM CD IO.SYS can load automatically DBLBUFF.SYS and IFSHLP.SYS etc... for launch Windows 9x and display boot logo and startup text: Now preparing to start your new computer... Startup Menu has no differences with the Startup Menu Windows 98 SE.
Inside IO.SYS extracted from Windows XP, Vista & Seven diskcopy.dll and decompressed with The Decompressor for IO.SYS Version 8 by Rudolph R. Loew you can find not displayed string: Now preparing to start your new computer...Also Windows Me splash screen does not appear, DBLBUFF.SYS and IFSHLP.SYS don't load, Startup Menu disabled etc... first 2k check booting from floppy. But it is some file modified by Microsoft.
I tried booting to ms-dos prompt without dos configuration files (msdos.sys=winboot.ini, config.sys. autoexec.bat) & entered set command:
PATH=

PROMPT=$P$G

COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
I need Patch to DisableLog straight from decompressed IO.SYS without using msdos.sys=winboot.ini

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 12522 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 04 June 2010 - 09:37 AM

.... in IO.SYS extracted from Windows XP SP3 diskcopy.dll ....


Just for the record, since not everyone may know HOW to do this:
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=16745

:)
Wonko

#3 0ffer

0ffer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 07 September 2010 - 01:51 PM

Create8.bat - batch file with Freeware Tools extract msdos 8 core: io.sys and command.com from diskcopy.dll in you Windows XP, Vista or 7, restore io.sys and command.com the "Real-mode functionality" in same folder, create new boot floppy image CORE8.IMA.
http://www.multiboot.ru/DOS8_Patch.htm
You can add Oformat.com to floppy image from http://download.micr...loyTools_en.cab
Decompressed & Reduced IO.SYS version 8.0 Size 130 832

#4 0ffer

0ffer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 06 December 2014 - 12:54 PM

Script 1Create8.bat & 4getfsyscom.bat updated

 

Disable create C:\BOOTLOG.TXT C:\BOOTLOG.PRV files on drive C: by replacinng with string "NUL:        in the uncompressed IO.SYS
Change IO.SYS the Default environment variables settings without msdos.sys(winboot.ini):
:\windows ==>> c:\  in hex 00 3A 5C 57 49 4E 44 4F 57 53 ==>> 43 3A 5C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 

Old:
 
PATH=
PROMPT=$P$G
COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
 
New:
 
TMP=C:\TEMP
TEMP=C:\TEMP
PROMPT=$p$g
winbootdir=C:
PATH=C:\
COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
 

Disable creating msdos.sys file on drive c: in sys.com  by replace msdos.sys with nul:
 00 3A 5C 4D 53 44 4F 53 2E 53 59 53 ==>>4E 55 4C 3A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

 

This patch can also be applied to the MS-DOS 7.10 IO.SYS


Edited by 0ffer, 06 December 2014 - 12:57 PM.


#5 Odias

Odias
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 23 November 2015 - 06:00 PM

Script 1Create8.bat & 4getfsyscom.bat updated

 

Disable create C:\BOOTLOG.TXT C:\BOOTLOG.PRV files on drive C: by replacinng with string "NUL:        in the uncompressed IO.SYS
Change IO.SYS the Default environment variables settings without msdos.sys(winboot.ini):
:\windows ==>> c:\  in hex 00 3A 5C 57 49 4E 44 4F 57 53 ==>> 43 3A 5C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
 

Old:
 
PATH=
PROMPT=$P$G
COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
 
New:
 
TMP=C:\TEMP
TEMP=C:\TEMP
PROMPT=$p$g
winbootdir=C:
PATH=C:\
COMSPEC=C:\COMMAND.COM
 

Disable creating msdos.sys file on drive c: in sys.com  by replace msdos.sys with nul:
 00 3A 5C 4D 53 44 4F 53 2E 53 59 53 ==>>4E 55 4C 3A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

 

This patch can also be applied to the MS-DOS 7.10 IO.SYS

 

 

Dear Friend,

Are you still available to answer questions about this topic?



#6 Odias

Odias
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 23 November 2015 - 06:15 PM

I´m Trying to load Windows Me in Ramdisk (as I did with Win 98) but I need a patched IO.SYS who don't load Himem.sys. I need to load XMS driver in config.sys.

Can anybody help me please?

Is it possible to do this miracle?



#7 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 253 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 14 January 2016 - 12:14 PM

I've been playing around with some files in Windows 98, to see what could be seen,

 

1.  setmdir.exe (it's available in the network cabs in the diskettes), can change the lower case variables, so you can have different copies of Win9x on the same boot.  You do setmdir as this in Autoexec c:\msdos7\command\setmdir /m /R:c:\fenster

 

2.  I use a modified version of dencorso's vers710.sys to change the DOS version.  This allows MS-DOS 7.10 to boot Win95a properly.  When you boot from different versions of DOS, (by modifying ver710.sys), setup looks for different validation sources.  MS-DOS 6.3 uses Windows 3.1 files, MS-DOS 7.0 uses Windows 95 files, and it did not appreciate running setup from Windows 7.1,  This is noticable even with dencoro's ver710, modified to ver630, ver700.  I have a ver800.sys as well for trying WinME under 7.1 :)

 

'winbootdir' is used by io.sys to set the directory where msdos7 resides.  The path created here is %winbootdir%;%winbootdir%\command.

 

'windir' is used only by win.com to locate the user registry.  If you replace win.com by any other program with that name, it just runs win.com from the command line, and leaves it like that.

 

These are intended for the next release of 7.10.



#8 wendy

wendy

    Frequent Member

  • Lady
  • 253 posts
  • Location:one mile from the QR main line
  • Interests:Operating systems, Weights and Measures, Geometry
  •  
    Australia

Posted 29 January 2016 - 12:31 PM

Try patching your HIMEM.SYS to read version 4.00.  The 3.99 version in ME is to prevent earlier Himem.sys to load, but it should not prevent a later version from loading, is my guess.



#9 timofonic

timofonic
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 30 January 2016 - 12:25 PM

Sorry for my stupid question...

 

Does it mean you can run a full MS-DOS inside even Windows 7? Anyone tried the compatibility?

 

How does that black magic work? Do they use a VM?

 

How does it compare with DOSBOX or MS-DOS under a VM like VirtualBox/VMWare






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users