Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Add support for ? in Sardu


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 kaztenburg

kaztenburg
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 27 May 2010 - 07:18 PM

Hello Sardu people I love your program and thank you very much for it and I was wondering if you could add support for Knoppix, trinity rescue cd, and Linux Mint it would be most excellent if you could well thank you

#2 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 27 May 2010 - 07:33 PM

Hello Sardu people I love your program and thank you very much for it and I was wondering if you could add support for Knoppix, trinity rescue cd, and Linux Mint it would be most excellent if you could well thank you


Trinity....no because why pretend that the label has his name. Knoppix....version? Btw I see what I can do.

#3 kaztenburg

kaztenburg
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 28 May 2010 - 01:06 PM

Trinity....no because why pretend that the label has his name. Knoppix....version? Btw I see what I can do.

Knoppix version 6.2.1 linux mint version 9 thats ok on the trinity the backtrack support is awesome knoppix and mint would be great thanks

#4 hamstercage

hamstercage
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 08 June 2010 - 02:11 PM

Adding manually Trinity Rescue Kit is easy. I copied the contents of the .iso to the map trk3 on my USB stick and edited antivirus.cfg in the menu folder. Add the following to your menu:
[codebox]#boot di Trinity Rescue Kit label Boot from Trinity Rescue Kit menu label Boot from ^Trinity Rescue Kit MENU INDENT 1 kernel /trk3/kernel.trk append initrd=trk3/initrd.trk ramdisk_size=49152 root=/dev/ram0 vga=788 splash=verbose pci=conf1 vollabel=SARDU #[/codebox] TRK needs the 'vollabel=*NAME_USB_STICK*' bit to run. *EDIT* It is not possible to use the extra folder for trinity as it expects its files in the map [ROOT]/trk3/[FILES]. It is possible to copy the kernel.trk and initrd.trk from the root of TRK CD to the trk3 map.
Also note that vollabel= is case sensitive.
@davidcosta And thank you for making SARDU!!!

#5 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 June 2010 - 02:39 PM

TRK needs the 'vollabel=*NAME_USB_STICK*' bit to run.


WOW, I hadn't added because it required its label
Now update
:) THANKS :)

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Updated sardu 1.0.7.3b :D

Edited by davidecosta, 08 June 2010 - 04:23 PM.


#6 jarek.jessa

jarek.jessa
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Poland

Posted 09 June 2010 - 05:23 AM

Hi, what do you think about adding the two images?
PTS Desktop Live 2010.1 http://www.phoronix-...ts_desktop_live (tools for test and banchmark)
ArcaNix http://www.arcabit.com/arcanix (antivir)

#7 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:47 AM

Hi, what do you think about adding the two images?
PTS Desktop Live 2010.1 http://www.phoronix-...ts_desktop_live (tools for test and banchmark)
ArcaNix http://www.arcabit.com/arcanix (antivir)



Arcavir...I couldn't get it to work fine on USB.
PTS Desktop Live 2010.1 ..... 1.4 gb...I've to see in future

#8 Gostep

Gostep

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts
  • Location:TT Hue- Viet Nam
  •  
    Vietnam

Posted 09 June 2010 - 09:33 PM

Hi,

could you support StressLinux?
It is a distribution for testing some computer hardware.

Best Regards

#9 Patience Limited

Patience Limited
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 July 2010 - 07:49 PM

Would it be possible to add support for PING (Partimage Is Not Ghost)? See http://ping.windowsd...bin/download.pl
Many thanks!

#10 gmgfarrand

gmgfarrand

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 08 July 2010 - 04:32 PM

How about adding support for BOTH backtrack 3 and 4?

Also if possible Active@BOOTCD

I'm using multiboot ISO from pendrivelinux to boot most of my stuff, but I like that SARDU has all the AV programs!

Thanx!!!!

#11 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 676 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 08 July 2010 - 09:48 PM

How about adding support for BOTH backtrack 3 and 4?

Also if possible Active@BOOTCD

I'm using multiboot ISO from pendrivelinux to boot most of my stuff, but I like that SARDU has all the AV programs!

Thanx!!!!


For backtrack...using the folder extra (you must add all yourself)
Active@BOOTCD is freeware?

#12 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,873 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 10 July 2010 - 09:16 AM

For backtrack...using the folder extra (you must add all yourself)
Active@BOOTCD is freeware?


Are we talking about Active@Boot disk?

If yes, the answer is yes/no. :cheers:
Yes, DOS.
No, PE:
http://www.ntfs.com/boot-disk.htm
http://www.livecd.com/

:cheers:
Wonko

#13 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 August 2010 - 04:49 AM

Hello David..

Was wondering if it is possible that this would support any of these ISO's :

Ylmf_OS_3.0
ubuntu-rescue-remix-10-04
Paragon_Rescue_Kit
Paragon B&R Bootcd
MacriumReflectRescue
livehackingcd_V1-1_full
linuxmint-9-gnome-dvd-i386
dban-2.2.6_i586

I read your link on another post that links to the "how to add to extra" and was trying to understand it, but not sure if I got it right.. I am testing the Macrium Reflect right now and what I did was extract the ISOLINUX folder that is what I put in the edit line :

#-> EDIT HERE <-

Macrium Reflect Rescue

Menu Label ^ Macrium Reflect Rescue

INDENT 1 MENU

kernel/extra/MacriumReflectRescue/ISOLINUX.bin

append initrd =/extra/MacriumReflectRescue/INITRD.bin vga = 0x314 ramdisk_size = 40,000 quiet 

#-> EDIT HERE <-

I am testing now to see if it works..

1. do you think it will or do you notice if I did something wrong.. i am totally new to doing this so trying to figure it out..
and
2. do you think any of those up there might be added? as far as I know all freeware, or do i (or has any others figured them out) need to do to the extra folder and figure out the edit info?

If any has already figuredd these or some of these, fill free to post how or shoot me a message as would greatly appreciate it..

Zug

Update: just found an older post on adding the grub4dos to the sardu menu.. so, i think this could be an easy fix as well ... im working on trying to get that as I can just copy over my menu.lst and edit it to make the locations to /extra/ISO instead of just the root of the usb.. currently failing, but still working on it.. think this might be easier solution unless some of the ISOs can be easily added to Sardu :mellow:

/cheers
Zug

#14 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 August 2010 - 06:24 AM

ok.. i was able to combine the grub4dos i was running and got it to boot to grub and the programs ran that arent "built-in" to sardu..

the only question i have is, now when i boot over to grub, then i select the program.. i get a message as it starts something like this :

&#34;Warning&#58; File cluster size xxxx, greater than 32k&#34;

The program runs and seems like all is ok.. ran new version of bitdefender this way as well since cant get sardu to load the new one yet.. ran ubuntu and my paragon software as well for tests..

just wanting to make sure that the warning message isnt going to be an issue now or in the long run...

Thanks
Zug

#15 Wile.E.Warrigal

Wile.E.Warrigal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:26 AM

Hi. Adding Grub4Dos to SARDU:

1. Add grub.exe and your menu.lst to the "extra" folder in SARDU.
2. Copy the iso files you want to boot with Grub4Dos, to the root directory of your USB drive.
3. Add the following lines to "syslinux.cfg".

#boot from GRUB
label Boot from GRUB
menu label Boot from ^GRUB
MENU INDENT 1
kernel /extra/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/extra/menu.lst


4. Add the following lines to your menu.lst to get back to the SARDU menu:

title Back to SARDU Menu
chainloader /boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin || chainloader +1

#16 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,873 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 August 2010 - 10:58 AM

&#34;Warning&#58; File cluster size xxxx, greater than 32k&#34;

Which filesystem is it?
Is it a LARGE FAT16? (it is possible to create NOT recommended, NOT FULLY standard FAT16 filesystems with 64 Kb clusters in order to shift the normal FAT16 limit from 2 Gb to 4 Gb)
How big is the cluster size?

I hope it is not a NTFS greater than 128 Tbyte! :mellow:
http://support.micro...kb/140365/en-us

:mellow:
Wonko

#17 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 August 2010 - 11:00 AM

Hi. Adding Grub4Dos to SARDU:

1. Add grub.exe and your menu.lst to the "extra" folder in SARDU.
2. Copy the iso files you want to boot with Grub4Dos, to the root directory of your USB drive.
3. Add the following lines to "syslinux.cfg".

#boot from GRUB
label Boot from GRUB
menu label Boot from ^GRUB
MENU INDENT 1
kernel /extra/grub.exe
APPEND --config-file=/extra/menu.lst


4. Add the following lines to your menu.lst to get back to the SARDU menu:

title Back to SARDU Menu
chainloader /boot/isolinux/isolinux.bin || chainloader +1


Thanks wile..

you don't by chance get that warning message when you did it this way did you?

Just want to make sure wont be an issue..

Thanks,
Zug

#18 Wile.E.Warrigal

Wile.E.Warrigal

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 August 2010 - 12:08 PM

HI, No I haven't had that message yet.

#19 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 August 2010 - 01:22 AM

@Wonko

My thumb drive is formated to Fat32.. I am not sure why I was getting that message. This was happening on my 16gb thumb.. i formated my 32gb and had it fat32 as well (was already like that for MIUSB) and want to move it from 16gb to 32gb. so I formated the 32gb after backing up my MIUSB and then ran the sardu on it and added the grub4dos to it to add all my MIUSB that i was missing to it.. i have not had a chance to test it to see if i get the same warning message..

I think it was saying something about 16k for those xxxx but then it had the > 32k at the end.. but the thumbdrive is formated fat32 and not fat16

am i missing something?

Zug

#20 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,873 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 August 2010 - 07:29 AM

I think it was saying something about 16k for those xxxx but then it had the > 32k at the end.. but the thumbdrive is formated fat32 and not fat16

am i missing something?

You shouldn't have clusters bigger than 16 Kb on a FAT32, unless you used some "peculiar" tool or setting when formatting that filesystem. :mellow:
Why don't you simply check the cluster size on your sticks?

Quick method is to run chkdsk on the volume.

:)
Wonko

#21 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 12 August 2010 - 11:15 PM

@Wonko

I used either win7 or the HP prep tool to format the 16gb thum to make sure it was fat32 .. then i used SARDU to create its thing and then added the grub4dos ability so i could run my ISO's that didnt work in sardu ...

the warning was when i ran the ISOs in the G4D menu.. this is what came back when I ran chkdsk on my 16gb thum..
Microsoft Windows &#91;Version 6.1.7600&#93;

Copyright &#40;c&#41; 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.



C&#58;\Users\Owner>j&#58;



J&#58;\>chkdsk

The type of the file system is FAT32.

The volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk

might report errors when no corruption is present.

Volume SARDU created 8/11/2010 7&#58;51 AM

Volume Serial Number is 266F-EE91

Windows is verifying files and folders...

File and folder verification is complete.

Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.

   15,867,968 KB total disk space.

		  128 KB in 2 hidden files.

	   14,144 KB in 220 folders.

	9,091,456 KB in 4,603 files.

	6,762,176 KB are available.



	   65,536 bytes in each allocation unit.

	  247,937 total allocation units on disk.

	  105,659 allocation units available on disk.



J&#58;\>

Do you see anything here that pops out as to why I would get that message? Says sees no issues with the Thumb.. so just ponders me.. the programs seem to run fine.. so not sure if it is an issue at all... bout to test my 32GB that will be my main that I have added all the stuff to and completing the rest of the ISO DL's.. the 16gb was just a test to make sure could get to work..

Thanks again,
Zug

#22 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 10,873 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 August 2010 - 12:54 PM

Do you see anything here that pops out as to why I would get that message? Says sees no issues with the Thumb.. so just ponders me.. the programs seem to run fine.. so not sure if it is an issue at all... bout to test my 32GB that will be my main that I have added all the stuff to and completing the rest of the ISO DL's.. the 16gb was just a test to make sure could get to work..




Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Owner>j:

J:\>chkdsk
The type of the file system is FAT32.
The volume is in use by another process. Chkdsk
might report errors when no corruption is present.
Volume SARDU created 8/11/2010 7:51 AM
Volume Serial Number is 266F-EE91
Windows is verifying files and folders...
File and folder verification is complete.
Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.
15,867,968 KB total disk space.
128 KB in 2 hidden files.
14,144 KB in 220 folders.
9,091,456 KB in 4,603 files.
6,762,176 KB are available.

65,536 bytes in each allocation unit.
247,937 total allocation units on disk.
105,659 allocation units available on disk.

J:\>


:mellow:

There is nothing really "wrong" in having 64 Kb clusters (please read as "65,536 bytes in each allocation unit" ;) ), it is simply NOT the "standard".
Advantages: None that I know of
Disadvantages: a notepad plain .txt file containing the word "hello" will occupy 64 Kb (65,536 bytes) on disk instead of 4 Kb (NTFS) or 8Kb (FAT32 8Gb<size<16 Gb) or 16 Kb (FAT32 16Gb<size<32Gb); as well any file will be rounded up to multiples of 64 Kb.
In other words, if you plan to put on that thingy a relatively small number of BIG sized files, there is no noticeable differences, if you plan to put on it a myriad of small sized files you may find yourself with the device "full" long before it is actually full.

:mellow:
Wonko

#23 Zug

Zug

    Member

  • Members
  • 56 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 13 August 2010 - 11:17 PM

Thanks Wonko.. for the most part just a bunch of bigger files.. so, think i should be fine..