Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

nativeEx for test


  • Please log in to reply
135 replies to this topic

#101 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 February 2007 - 12:14 PM

I just redownloaded the old one from the LiveXP project and tested.
At bootup the CPU is 100. Same with the new Qemu.
But with the old one I can get out of qemu to real PC faster. And once on the desktop it uses less CPU.
WIth the New Qemu CPU seems to remain at 100. At this time I preffer the old one.
Maybe when the new qemu is developed more and Vista is supported we can upgrade to it. Or we can have a seperate Download for Others to test. That way we can get which one others prefer.


Thanks for your test :P
I'll change the description of nativeEX-barbone download that this can be done for a test, but the old qEmu should be standard.

Peter

#102 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 17 February 2007 - 12:20 PM

Thanks for your test :P
I'll change the description of nativeEX-barbone download that this can be done for a test, but the old qEmu should be standard.

Peter

Agree!

#103 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 17 February 2007 - 03:13 PM

In startup there is a (working) shortcut to <path>\welcome.htm.
Because ob1 is registered to *.htm it starts with welcome.htm as argument.
The reason why there is an uncomplete shortcut shown, should be answered by Bill G.

Peter

The Shortcut looks like there were no quotes around the Path, so it got cut at the first space.

:P

#104 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 February 2007 - 03:41 PM

The Shortcut looks like there were no quotes around the Path, so it got cut at the first space.

:P


That has been my opinon too.
But
  • It works
  • How put quotes for display around the path when using the win32 APIs
Peter

#105 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 18 February 2007 - 02:13 AM

[*]How put quotes for display around the path when using the win32 APIs


Sorry can't help you, i have no MSDN at home. :P

#106 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 18 February 2007 - 10:48 PM

psc
CreateISO.script in nativeEx is not working if choosing Run Windows from RAM - something wrong with ISO name (too many variables :P If replaced from LiveXP project the script works fine.

And different versions of scripts are also a bit confusing: I can understand that PENetwork.script v010 is in nativeEX - it can be considered a beta-version (LiveXP has v006), but why OffByOne.script in nativeEX is only v2 and there is a new v3 in LiveXP project? :P

#107 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4171 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 08:43 AM

With all the latest updates except qemu. When booted up Qemu does not see a Network Card.

The Winservices is still none English.

The Explorer Script by default has been set to not create any shortcuts for Explorer. Can you make it create shortcut to QuickLaunch by default. windows Picture and Fax Viewer is also disabled.

#108 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 11:18 AM

CreateISO.script in nativeEx is not working if choosing Run Windows from RAM - something wrong with ISO name (too many variables :P If replaced from LiveXP project the script works fine.

Thanks, I updated. Both CreateISO scripts are now identical and got the version number 014.

And different versions of scripts are also a bit confusing: I can understand that PENetwork.script v010 is in nativeEX - it can be considered a beta-version (LiveXP has v006), but why OffByOne.script in nativeEX is only v2 and there is a new v3 in LiveXP project?

nativeEx_barebone is not thought to be a stand alone project.
I built it in order to offer a 'click and run' project for tests of new scripts.
Therefore due to functionality I watch to have always the latest version of scripts.
Apps just have to function. The test project does not need always the latest apps' functionality.

Peter

#109 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 11:57 AM

With all the latest updates except qemu. When booted up Qemu does not see a Network Card.

I did a fresh download of all:
  • Start WinBuilder in an empty folder.
  • Download All from LiveXP server
  • Download nativeEx (no Tools) from nativeEx Server.
  • Changed source path
Run >> qEmu has network.

The Winservices is still none English.

Sorry, my fault. Now you have English!

The Explorer Script by default has been set to not create any shortcuts for Explorer. Can you make it create shortcut to QuickLaunch by default. windows Picture and Fax Viewer is also disabled.

Has QL now.
I do not want to default install Picture and Fax Viewer in 'one click' .

Peter

#110 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 01:07 PM

Since i updated today, the natieEX project isn't working anymore.
RAMDisk.script stops with a 'can not write to taget' error.
When i look inside the system32 folder, i can not find the drivers folder. I also can not create the drivers folder, since there is already a file called drivers present! :P

Does anyone else have this problem?

#111 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 02:00 PM

Since i updated today, the natieEX project isn't working anymore.
RAMDisk.script stops with a 'can not write to taget' error.
When i look inside the system32 folder, i can not find the drivers folder. I also can not create the drivers folder, since there is already a file called drivers present! :P

Does anyone else have this problem?


I know this issue (it is not only nativeEX, I know it from old 'Standard' time).
Sporadically it occurs.
I do not know a reason why it occurs.
But the good news:
Delete %target% manually and everything works fine.

Peter

#112 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 02:17 PM

I know this issue (it is not only nativeEX, I know it from old 'Standard' time).
Sporadically it occurs.
I do not know a reason why it occurs.
But the good news:
Delete %target% manually and everything works fine.

Peter

I deleted Target and Temp and and Prebuild already several times, no change. The only thing i haven't done yet, is delete the project and redownload it.

#113 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 02:22 PM

I deleted Target and Temp and and Prebuild already several times, no change. The only thing i haven't done yet, is delete the project and redownload it.


No, please do not delete the project!

Maybe that is our only chance to catch that issue.
You have a project, where the issue seems to appear regularly. That is very very pretious!

Please put the complete WinBuilder folder into a zip and post or PM me.

Peter

#114 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 04:55 PM

No, please do not delete the project!

Maybe that is our only chance to catch that issue.
You have a project, where the issue seems to appear regularly. That is very very pretious!

Please put the complete WinBuilder folder into a zip and post or PM me.

Peter


A big chance lost!
Using MedEvil's code, I could not reprocuce the issue on my system.

Maybe next time ...


Peter

#115 specter_57

specter_57

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Computers....photography....electronics...astronomy...chemistry...physics....pets...reading

Posted 19 February 2007 - 04:58 PM

re: "Since i updated today, the natieEX project isn't working anymore" (with a new script added/updated)


Ummm...

The ' out of order execution ' thing I mentioned in another post.

The trouble you are experiencing.......Been there...done that.

Spec_57

#116 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 05:09 PM

The 'out of order execution' thing I mentioned in another post.


It is really not the 'out of order' issue.

What happens here:

Propably in MakeDirs the directories
  • %TargetDir%
  • %TargetDir%\I386
  • %TargetDir%\I386\system32
are created correctly, but (I do not know any reason) %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is not created.

Now the first FileCopy or Expand with target %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers copies into the file %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers.
All the next FileCopy/Expand commands overwrite this file.

In the RamDrive script there is an ExtractFile command which wants to extract into the directory %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers. That, of course is not possible.

The question is (see above):

are created correctly, but (I do not know any reason) %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is not created.


The trouble you are experiencing.......Been there...done that.


Please tell us more.

Peter

EDIT: Maybe it is not an issue of DirMake, but an issue of DirDelete:
%TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is deleted, but
%TargetDir%\I386\system32 and above not.

That will bring the same result.

Edited by psc, 19 February 2007 - 05:18 PM.
Additional Info


#117 specter_57

specter_57

    Member

  • Advanced user
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:Computers....photography....electronics...astronomy...chemistry...physics....pets...reading

Posted 19 February 2007 - 05:22 PM

Okay.

I see what you mean.

I posted because the exact same symptoms MedEvil mentioned I came across...and for me...it was the issue I posted about.

I have tried NativeEx builds, and they have gone to completion and then on to sucessful boots...without problems, 'though I generally use the LiveXP packages.

Curious.

Spec_57

#118 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 06:00 PM

It is really not the 'out of order' issue.

What happens here:

Propably in MakeDirs the directories

  • %TargetDir%
  • %TargetDir%\I386
  • %TargetDir%\I386\system32
are created correctly, but (I do not know any reason) %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is not created.

Now the first FileCopy or Expand with target %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers copies into the file %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers.
All the next FileCopy/Expand commands overwrite this file.

In the RamDrive script there is an ExtractFile command which wants to extract into the directory %TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers. That, of course is not possible.

The question is (see above):


Please tell us more.

Peter

EDIT: Maybe it is not an issue of DirMake, but an issue of DirDelete:
%TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is deleted, but
%TargetDir%\I386\system32 and above not.

That will bring the same result.

%TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is deleted :P Why? When?
Extract to non existent folders creates an error, so there should have been nothing created. Only a command which isn't 'seeing' that it is doing something wrong, can create nonsense like that. imo

:P

#119 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 19 February 2007 - 06:42 PM

%TargetDir%\I386\system32\drivers is deleted :P Why? When?
Extract to non existent folders creates an error, so there should have been nothing created. Only a command which isn't 'seeing' that it is doing something wrong, can create nonsense like that. imo

:P

When choosing 'Clear Target before build' in the !Fundamental script.

Peter

#120 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 10:28 PM

When choosing 'Clear Target before build' in the !Fundamental script.

Peter

That deletes the whole contents of the target folder, not just the drivers folder.
And can therefore not be responsible.
We're looking for something that happens to the drivers folder, but not to the rest, as source of the problem.

:P

#121 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 11:25 PM

Can anyone still click on the Welcome shortcut and it opens in OB1?

#122 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 February 2007 - 08:51 AM

That deletes the whole contents of the target folder, not just the drivers folder.
And can therefore not be responsible.
We're looking for something that happens to the drivers folder, but not to the rest, as source of the problem.

:P

Theretically you are right. But there is an unknown mechanism sometimes presenting some dirs but not the drivers dir.

Peter

#123 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 20 February 2007 - 12:02 PM

Theretically you are right. But there is an unknown mechanism sometimes presenting some dirs but not the drivers dir.

Peter

I can't follow you, could you elaborate?

#124 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 20 February 2007 - 04:42 PM

I can't follow you, could you elaborate?

Post #116

Peter

#125 Garfield

Garfield

    Member

  • .script developer
  • 96 posts
  • Interests:pretty much everything
  •  
    South Africa

Posted 21 February 2007 - 10:21 AM

Can anyone still click on the Welcome shortcut and it opens in OB1?



The Welcome shortcut seems to be truncating at the space in "Program Files". Haven't had time to investigate the reason..

Edited:

I tested a modification to the Welcome Script and it worked.

In most programming launguages to display a quote charracter " you have to use double quotes ""

so i changed
//execute in autostart

 Run,%BuildModelScript%,Add-Shortcut,&#34;AU&#34;,&#34;#$q%PEDrive%/%WorkDir%/OffByOne/Welcome.htm#$q&#34;,&#34;~Welcome&#34;
to
//execute in autostart

 Run,%BuildModelScript%,Add-Shortcut,&#34;AU&#34;,&#34;#$q#$q%PEDrive%/%WorkDir%/OffByOne/Welcome.htm#$q#$q&#34;,&#34;~Welcome&#34;





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users