Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

nativeEx for test


  • Please log in to reply
135 replies to this topic

#51 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 01:11 PM

On my w2000 PC I performed the build exactly as described.
Here the result:
up.gif

Peter

#52 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 01:12 PM

Are you sure you didn't forget include INI file in the first download?

#53 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 01:15 PM

Are you sure you didn't forget include INI file in the first download?


This is intentionally, because the two currently possible URLs are hardcoded in beta6.

Look to the first post. I changed it to the current situation.

Peter

#54 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 02:11 PM

MedEvil :P
But other people can run it on qEmu? Well, I'm testing NEW things in a VM but then I test it on real computers (it is very easy with RAM Boot and Grub4DOS :P

By the way if you don't like that CMD window - just uncheck Welcome.script :P

I just ment that, you may don't have a problem with your build, but with your VM.

#55 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 02:15 PM

@psc
I tryed the actual nativeEx_barebone and while it worked fine in qEmu, it did not work in VPC.
I tracked the problem down to the ramdisk.script.
Once i replaced it with the old version, things worked fine again.
old ramdisk.script Attached File  ramdisk.Script   36.58KB   308 downloads

:P

#56 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 02:35 PM

Report:

Working flowlessly in qEmu on Windows XP SP2 host using XP SP2 source with or without MINLOGON.EXE and W2k3 SP1 files (Boot in RAM)! :P :P

Shall try in Oleg_II's Special in an hour :P :P

#57 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 03:01 PM

@psc
I tryed the actual nativeEx_barebone and while it worked fine in qEmu, it did not work in VPC.
I tracked the problem down to the ramdisk.script.
Once i replaced it with the old version, things worked fine again.
old ramdisk.script Attached File  ramdisk.Script   36.58KB   308 downloads

:P

I also have had some troubles with the new ramdisk script.

But I think that in nativeEx_barebone there is the old one :P

Peter

#58 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 03:49 PM

I also have had some troubles with the new ramdisk script.

But I think that in nativeEx_barebone there is the old one :P

Peter

Well i uploaded my old randisk.script so you could check for yourself.

:P

#59 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 04:18 PM

Well i uploaded my old randisk.script so you could check for yourself.

:P


Let's process step by step and logically:

Oleg II writes:
Report:

Working flowlessly in qEmu on Windows XP SP2 host using XP SP2 source with or without MINLOGON.EXE and W2k3 SP1 files (Boot in RAM)! :P :P

Shall try in Oleg_II's Special in an hour :P :P


Therefore currently the ramdisk script is not suspicious.

Because the 'nativeEx_barebone' project runs also inside my w2000 environment, again there is no reason to assume anything wrong with the published ramdisk script.

Let's wait for Oleg#s w2000 results.

Peter

#60 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 04:37 PM

Let's process step by step and logically:

The ramdisk thing had nothing to do with Olegs problem.
Its all mine! :P

#61 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 05:12 PM

The ramdisk thing had nothing to do with Olegs problem.
Its all mine! :P


Congratulations! You have been able to confuse me!

Please answer one question: Why did you post this while I was trying to solve Oleg's issue (And your posts logically do not have any correspondence to that issue)?

Peter

#62 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:16 PM

Well, something strange happenning :P I shouldn't do it on 13th day :P

I tried working set (taken from a computer with XP) in full and in reduced w2k environment - no go... It shows the desktop and reboots endlessly...

I take this set without any changes to the computer with XP again - works :P
The build from XP machine even works on both! real computers (placed it in SDI/IMA image and booted with grub4dos). The build from W2k machine reboots...

I think I should reinstall a clean W2k and check it on fresh system :P

psc
I'd still like to get your working only Build folder set from inside nativeEx_barebone project (there is no Windows files in there if I'm not mistaken and it can't be estimated as warez :P
It's probably the only thing that has changed heavily since the old model.

Could it be because I have 3 completely different languages on my host machine (Chinese, English, Russian)? Shouldn't be - I installed XP with these languages also...
I tried on XP SP2 Chinese Simplified - it just freezes at the beginning...

Something's wrong... I have to rest...


PS I'm maybe wrong (maybe angry with it :P but the build is bigger than old builds :P There are some files that probably not needed like cdplayer.exe.manifest.

#63 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:19 PM

Congratulations! You have been able to confuse me!

Please answer one question: Why did you post this while I was trying to solve Oleg's issue (And your posts logically do not have any correspondence to that issue)?

Peter

To tell you that the ramdrive.script in nativeEX_barebone sems not to like some VMs. Maybe even Olegs, who still has not clearly said which VM he is using, just that he is using one.

Besides i thought the topic was: "Damn, nativeEX isn't working for me!" :P

:P

#64 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:30 PM

No, I said that I had successful builds running on qEmu :P
But only when they are made on English XP host...

And I've just stated that I tried builds on two reall computers too :P
But only those made on English XP host work...

Maybe something wrong with Chinese XP version that I have (it was tuned by a Chinese IT specialist)? But first I'd like to solve the problem with my English W2k - it should work on my computer! :P

Besides i thought the topic was: "Damn, nativeEX isn't working for me!"

I'd really like it work for me cause I even can make successfull builds and they seems to be pretty good.
If I didn't want to get it working on my computer I'd just give up :P But why do you think I spent my and others time here :P

No, it's a good piece of software and I'd like it works for me :P

:P

#65 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:46 PM

As a conclusion of all previous posts, mainly @Oleg II:
Please post as a table:
  • Results with '100% Bill G's sources'; Post source OS and SP, host OS and language
  • Results with 'Specialist's tweaks'; Post source OS and SP, host OS and language and specialist URL, too
If Bill's sources have success, I'm glad. (I hope you give me that feeling)

Peter

#66 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:54 PM

As I said: Windows XP SP2 English clean (just source, no programs, no drivers) install is working :P 100% Bill G source - hope you are glad :P

I have to check and maybe re-install Windows 2000 SP4 English and Windows XP SP2 Chinese Simplified that shouldn't be modified at all (but now I'm not sure).

And I can say for sure that Windows 2000 SP4 English modified and stripped with HFSLIP (HFSLlP.ORG) is not working right now (it doesn't mean it won't work if I find what's the problem though :P

#67 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 13 February 2007 - 07:09 PM

As I said: Windows XP SP2 English clean (just source, no programs, no drivers) install is working :P 100% Bill G source - hope you are glad :P

I have to check and maybe re-install Windows 2000 SP4 English and Windows XP SP2 Chinese Simplified that shouldn't be modified at all (but now I'm not sure).

And I can say for sure that Windows 2000 SP4 English modified and stripped with HFSLIP (HFSLlP.ORG) is not working right now (it doesn't mean it won't work if I find what's the problem though :P


@Oleg II: Thank you very much :P
I think we did enough last days and hours and are allowed now to rest.
I currently have a date with a lonesome bottle of a nice Italian white wine ...

Maybe tomorrow we continue, the issue is not really out of interest (Inspite I think 'If Bill's code is ok, my nativeEx core is ok')

Peter :P

#68 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 07:42 PM

@Oleg
I'm a bit confused. Could you clearify a thing for me?
Is your problem that your builds do not work on all your test environments, or that builds done on certain host OS don't work? (On any machine!)
I thought i knew where we are, but got lost during your last posts. :P

@psc
Simplified chinese? Doesn't that spell trouble, like in... unicode? :P

#69 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:11 PM

Successful builds work on all machines (I have two in my house and five in the office).

But for me only builds in XP enviroment are successful with new scripts. Maybe it is connected with that I modified W2000 evironment (I made it very slim and fast by removing files, services and components) and it lacks some needed component.

And this is only for new model because I can successfully run old 052 scripts in this evironment even now and these builds run on all computers I have access to at home or at work.

Of course I can stay with the old scripts and no problems will be with programs (I know how to write and edit scripts for them). And I won't have problems with shortcuts and such things because I can do it manually or through aready existed means (for example I can run customized INF file with autorun.cmd during startup). These things don't bother me.

But I can miss something important that I won't be able to fix myself (for example, some core system component that is not discussed right now but will be some day). In this case it's better to stick with the masses :P
And I'm not going to move on XP because why should I fix something that works fine for me?

That is not psc's problem, that is my problem. He said that he can run it on W2k, so that is my task to find out how I can run it :P

#70 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4154 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:41 PM

By the way if you don't like that CMD window - just uncheck Welcome.script :P

Oh! ok.

It needs updated name. Something like "Welcome Message on Desktop"
I like the concept. And it will probably evolve into an introduction to the build. It should not just be focused on barebones. Maybe include the Project history. Others might have others ideas for the Welcome message. Still like the concept but not the cmd showing up.

#71 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 09:20 PM

Successful builds work on all machines (I have two in my house and five in the office).

But for me only builds in XP enviroment are successful with new scripts. Maybe it is connected with that I modified W2000 evironment (I made it very slim and fast by removing files, services and components) and it lacks some needed component.

And this is only for new model because I can successfully run old 052 scripts in this evironment even now and these builds run on all computers I have access to at home or at work.

Of course I can stay with the old scripts and no problems will be with programs (I know how to write and edit scripts for them). And I won't have problems with shortcuts and such things because I can do it manually or through aready existed means (for example I can run customized INF file with autorun.cmd during startup). These things don't bother me.

But I can miss something important that I won't be able to fix myself (for example, some core system component that is not discussed right now but will be some day). In this case it's better to stick with the masses :P
And I'm not going to move on XP because why should I fix something that works fine for me?

That is not psc's problem, that is my problem. He said that he can run it on W2k, so that is my task to find out how I can run it :P


Hey that's it.
052 works on your W2k machine and 06x does not.
Create two identical builds with WB06x, one on you W2k and one on XP. Then compare the two.
I bet the only files not matching, will be the hives.
If you send those to psc, i bet he knows in a sec what part of his buildModel does not work right on your W2k and should be able to tell you the dependencies of that file, so that you can 'expand' your W2k a bit. :P

#72 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 09:51 PM

@Oleg
On a little further checking, the problem can only be associated to HoJoPe.exe or WBManager.exe, as those two are the only files that should have any dependencies.
Maybe you can check on your own. ?

@psc
Didn't you say you excluded all voodoo from nativeEX? :P
Why is my computer now having a drive X: called SYSTEM? :P

#73 pedrole15

pedrole15

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 731 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 14 February 2007 - 12:11 AM

I've got today the Trial CD 180 day of Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition Sp1 (32 bits x86)
French Version
When i build iso for LiveXP with Winbuilder 067 and last 068
I've got one error : can't find WDMA_CTL.IN_ in I386
The iso run well but i'can't start any program
Notepad, regedit, WordPad, Calc, 7-Zip, CD-Opera, PeNetwork don't work
But OffByOne and DriveImage XML work

When i build iso for nativeEx_barebone all program work

I want note that i must rewrite allways the createIso.script in each project because it don't work for me
[CreateRAMIso]

...

echo,"Copying ISO to new location.."

IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\ProjectInfo.ini","Project","RamISORootName","%RamISORootName%"

IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\ProjectInfo.ini","Project","ISORootName","%ISORootName%"
must be :
IniRead,"%ProjectInfo%","Project","RamISORootName","%RamISORootName%"

IniRead,"%ProjectInfo%","Project","ISORootName","%ISORootName%"


#74 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 February 2007 - 08:16 AM

I want note that i must rewrite allways the createIso.script in each project because it don't work for me

[CreateRAMIso]

 ...

 echo,"Copying ISO to new location.."

 IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\ProjectInfo.ini","Project","RamISORootName","%RamISORootName%"

 IniRead,"%ProjectDir%\ProjectInfo.ini","Project","ISORootName","%ISORootName%"
must be :
IniRead,"%ProjectInfo%","Project","RamISORootName","%RamISORootName%"

 IniRead,"%ProjectInfo%","Project","ISORootName","%ISORootName%"

Fixed in LiveXP and nativeEx_barebone


Peter

#75 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12701 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 14 February 2007 - 09:19 AM

I've got today the Trial CD 180 day of Windows Server 2003 R2 Enterprise Edition Sp1 (32 bits x86)
French Version
When i build iso for LiveXP with Winbuilder 067 and last 068
I've got one error : can't find WDMA_CTL.IN_ in I386


Correct. This file is contained in XP only.
Therefore the qemu audio driver cannot be used in w2003.

Peter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users