Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

nativeEx for test


  • Please log in to reply
135 replies to this topic

#1 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 09 February 2007 - 03:53 PM

Like TheHive suggested, I created the possibility to build a project containing just the LiveXP core.
The core is mainly the nativeEx functionality.

The way to build such a project:
  • Create your WinBuilder test directory
  • Go to the Download Area and download nativeEx_barebone (shortcut)
  • Unzip it into your WinBuilder test directory
  • Run WinBuilder and click the 'Download' tab (if it does not appear automatically)
  • Choose 'updates.boot-land.net/067' as download address
  • (Optionally) Uncheck all projects besides 'Tools'
  • Click 'Download selected' and wait for download to complete
  • Choose 'psc.boot-land.net/Projects' as download address
  • Click 'Download selected' and wait for download to complete
  • Click the 'Paths' tab and define your source
The project should boot into qEmu with most languages.

Whenever I do a fix in the nativeEx fundamentals, I'll update this project.
So in case of a new release it can be used as latest version.

Peter

#2 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 09 February 2007 - 10:18 PM

Thanks!

#3 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 February 2007 - 02:56 PM

I changed the way how to install.
It is now like a standard WinBuilder installation. :P

The first post is updated.

Peter

#4 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 12:13 PM

I've got XP SP2 now. Ready for some more building :P

But I can't download nativeEx_barebone.zip - it just errors at some point (at about 351KB) :P

I've also heard a complain from one Russian guy that WB052 download has the same problem. I have to go out for a while and check it in a few ours too.

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 February 2007 - 12:21 PM

wb052's webget was not working - only noticed it when working on the reactOS project wich required to download files from the web.

Then there were MedEvil's issues with the standard download method, so now it's adviced to use the latest beta wich should be working as supposed.

Peter: I've modified the update center to work with more web servers as discussed, over the next beta, trusted web servers are already hardcoded inside the exe and user only needs to select them from a listbox to view the available file from this server - I think you'll like it.. :P

#6 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 03:34 PM

Thanks for the reply!

One more thing: if I use the latest beta and choose to download only LiveXP project will it be the same as nativeEx_barebone or not? Or nativeEx_barebone doesn't include some components of LiveXP? Or it is something different at all?

#7 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 February 2007 - 03:48 PM

Thanks for the reply!

One more thing: if I use the latest beta and choose to download only LiveXP project will it be the same as nativeEx_barebone or not? Or nativeEx_barebone doesn't include some components of LiveXP? Or it is something different at all?


LiveXP is based on NativeEX, so you'll be able to move your scripts from one project to the other. :P

#8 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 03:55 PM

LiveXP is based on NativeEX, so you'll be able to move your scripts from one project to the other. :P

I've just asked about this in the other topic :P But I'm interested in really barebone system just to add features in it. So I'd like to take only one project and it's a bit confusing when a novice have a few and don't know which is which and what are the differences :P

#9 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:01 PM

Yes, you're right - if you have the time I would appreciate if you could write a wiki page to explain these sort of details that may help others getting started.. :P

#10 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:03 PM

I've tried to download again and got interesting result: it downloads a bit less then 50% and restarts downloading again! And it was 5 times like that before it stops...

#11 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:06 PM

Yes, you're right - if you have the time I would appreciate if you could write a wiki page to explain these sort of details that may help others getting started.. :P

If I knew it myself... What about Bart's Hives? Is this some kind of copyright or what? What are the benefits of this new builds?

Oh! I just though of writing some Wiki in Russian for creating scripts :P

#12 phox

phox

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 764 posts

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:10 PM

Like TheHive suggested, I created the possibility to build a project containing just the LiveXP core.
The core is mainly the nativeEx functionality.

The way to build such a project:

  • Create your WinBuilder test directory
  • Go to the Download Area and download nativeEx_barebone (shortcut)
  • Unzip it into your WinBuilder test directory
  • Run WinBuilder and click the 'Update Center' tab (if it does not appear automatically)
  • Click 'Download selected' and wait for download to complete
  • Click the 'Paths' tab and define your source
The project should boot into qEmu with most languages.

Whenever I do a fix in the nativeEx fundamentals, I'll update this project.
So in case of a new release it can be used as latest version.

Peter


There is something wrong with RAMDisk.Script:
If you check 64 MB size, result is 1MB!? :P

#13 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:20 PM

Ok, I've got it at last :P Let's see what we have here...

#14 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:20 PM

@Oleg_II
NativeEX_barebone is, as the name suggest a barebone system.
If you want a minimal system to add things to. Use this.
LiveXP is nativeEX_barebone with already alot of scripts thrown in.

The advantage of NativeEX over Barts is that you get a fully localized build with nativeEX, while with Barts, you always have some english names throw in.

:P

PS: @all
I also thought, that it might be better, if the projectnames would somehow reflect more that they are just different versions of the same system and not something completely different. ?

#15 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:30 PM

MedEvil
Thanks for explaining :P But I'd still like to know what are the differences with BartPE Hives?
psc told me once it should be a few handreds KB smaller. But what about functionality? Do you think it will be better or I can still use the old model and won't lose any functionality in future?

PS I'm asking because I have some problems running new scripts on W2k and don't really like working in XP looking for the way to go back to W2k :P

#16 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 04:32 PM

PPS And some English in interface is not scaring me - I can add my native language support and can add programs in Russian too if I want. So if it is all just about language may I stay with Bart's Hives?

#17 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:07 PM

Just a thought: may I pre-make needed files in XP, create a script including them as it was with BartPE Hives before and then run WB on W2k with these injected hives to create my builds?

But still a question: will my pre-made hives be better then old ones? Is it worth spending time on this procedure?

#18 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:31 PM

The whole discussion of, what is better, or you like better, is pretty pointless, sorry.
Everyone has moved on to the new build model.
If you wanna stick to the old one, you can only use old scripts or you would have to convert all scripts, since they will not work for you!
Do you really wanna do that?

#19 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 11 February 2007 - 05:40 PM

Just a thought: may I pre-make needed files in XP, create a script including them as it was with BartPE Hives before and then run WB on W2k with these injected hives to create my builds?

But still a question: will my pre-made hives be better then old ones? Is it worth spending time on this procedure?

:P Why do you wanna prebuild the hives? BuildModel builds them from your XP source CD anyway?

No idea what your problems with W2k are, but i'm pretty sure they have nothing to do with what the scripts do differently now.
In fact, you should have less trouble then before, as no script takes anything from the running system anymore. :P

Maybe you should post an error log. ?

edit:
Sorry, just saw you ment W2k as Source not as system your running WB on!

#20 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 12 February 2007 - 03:04 AM

whats the nativeEx 'Barbones' webserver address again?

Ok! never mind. I found it in the download file.
http://psc.boot-land.net/Projects

Now I can put it in the list of webservers in 68 beta5. It keeps and lists both webservers.
5.jpg

Why is OffbyOne in the tools folder.


Update list sees that I dont have some files from your tools folder.
6.jpg

#21 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4165 posts

Posted 12 February 2007 - 07:22 AM

There is an update of Off By One Web browser. Version 3. Its included in the LiveXP project.

#22 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 12 February 2007 - 11:29 AM

Maybe you should post an error log. ?

edit:
Sorry, just saw you ment W2k as Source not as system your running WB on!

A week ago I posted a few logs and psc was kind enough to even provide me with one file he belived was corrupted in my source (I compared in binary view - the files are identical).

You thought right: I'm using WB with XP SP2 source on Windows 2000. But my problem is most likely with that this is highly customized and slimmed down W2k. It worked for WB052 probably because there is no building HIVES process before (just extracting ready ones).

I don't want to disturb people any more and I want to use new model. But I have to think over how to do it right.

I've got a Simplified Chinese XP SP2 installed and wasn't be able to run new builds as well even with W2k3 SP1 source (just investigating).

PS Interesting - just tried the new beta and found that there is one new hard disk C: (X) 1.03Gb appeared in my computer and there are some folders that are the same as in Target directory. Weird...

#23 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 February 2007 - 12:43 PM

A week ago I posted a few logs and psc was kind enough to even provide me with one file he belived was corrupted in my source (I compared in binary view - the files are identical).

You thought right: I'm using WB with XP SP2 source on Windows 2000. But my problem is most likely with that this is highly customized and slimmed down W2k. It worked for WB052 probably because there is no building HIVES process before (just extracting ready ones).

I don't want to disturb people any more and I want to use new model. But I have to think over how to do it right.

I've got a Simplified Chinese XP SP2 installed and wasn't be able to run new builds as well even with W2k3 SP1 source (just investigating).

PS Interesting - just tried the new beta and found that there is one new hard disk C: (X) 1.03Gb appeared in my computer and there are some folders that are the same as in Target directory. Weird...


On the first view it look like you are our 'Bad Boy'. You report troubles and issues and problems and ...

But on the second view that is good :P . We need the response of menbers reporting issues. This is the only way to make the project better (and hopefully perfect).

Continue to report your experiences!

To make it better: Please do not only post results. Give us some possibility to reproduce your issues. Add at least the log to your post. Optimum is to include the complete %ProjectDir%\Temp folder.

(If I have enough data, I can try XP or W2003 source on 2000 host)

Peter

#24 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10545 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 February 2007 - 12:50 PM

It really might be also caused by your host windows since it's a true unicode windows unlike most of our sources, this is really good since it is the only way to understand what needs to be fixed in order to make it work again.

Is there any windows 2003 trial in simplified chinese available to download from the microsoft site?

I know you usually only post issues regarding non-boot, but they are very appreciated to debug these issues out of the projects..

keep it up! :P

#25 Oleg_II

Oleg_II

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in the East

Posted 12 February 2007 - 01:16 PM

Thank you gentelmen :P
I really don't want to cause any trouble to you and my builds with WB052 are working great from CD, USB flash drive and directly from hard disk :P

I just also want to have a better, less bug system and I like psc's approach to the component Windows (like Linux :P

I think it is something with my odd W2k. I don't want to change it either (this is a best OS ever :P but if I have I'll install XP or W2k3 host somewhere just to create the basics for my future builds.

I'm describing my efforts not to disturb you but just for myself maybe... :P Thoughts aloud (how it should be said in English? :P




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users