Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Server maintenance


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 April 2010 - 08:28 PM

Hello,

We have a new server available for Boot Land.

It's still a bumpy road to complete the transition to better hosting conditions but we are moving to get them done.

If you see the site offline for some time, don't worry.

:mellow:

#2 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 29 April 2010 - 09:49 PM

Hi Nuno,

Any idea when attachments will be enabled again?

Thanks,
Galapo.

#3 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 29 April 2010 - 11:17 PM

Attachments should be available to download without troubles but new attachments will be disabled to avoid cluttering the database.

To avoid using temporary hosts, I will likely add our own hosting service for members as an external service.

#4 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 29 April 2010 - 11:32 PM

Excellent! Currently attached files are back working again. This was causing a few headaches in the WinVBlock topic.

Thanks,
Galapo.

#5 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 April 2010 - 10:30 PM

I'm going to try moving the server right now.

This will require to take the database offline to ensure that we don't lose posts during the process.

The subdomains should remain on the old server exactly as before.

My only worry at this moment is that the new server is no longer based on Apache, I'm moving to lighttpd and still need to see if the .htaccess file needs to be rewritten.

With some luck our site should be capable of working without .htaccess in either case.

This transfer has already been tested successfully with ninjapendisk.com and virusremoval.pro that were also based on mySQL / PHP.

#6 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 30 April 2010 - 11:03 PM

Ok, we are now working exclusively from the new server.

You might probably notice a serious speed improvement because:

- the new server has 24Gb of RAM and 8 CPU cores compared to the previous 2Gb of RAM with a single core
- we are using Lighttpd instead of Apache that is 6 times faster serving static files
- the server is located in Germany, optimized for European members.

Still some issues left to handle, the main URL as http://boot-land.net needs to be modified to automatically redirect onto the forums.

- Sudomains are still hosted on the old server without any changes but they should be faster as there is far less load.
- Email is not yet configured nor tested, will need to check if it is working or not.

If you find any further issues, please let me know.

Thank you.

#7 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 May 2010 - 12:06 AM

Just a slight correction, a i7 has not really 8 cores, just 4 hyperthreading ones. :P

:mellow:

#8 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 May 2010 - 12:23 AM

For all effects, even if being virtual cores they are treated as real cores and the tasks are well distributed between them.
Posted Image

Far better than having a single core like before.. :P

-------------

Email support will take a bit more to solve, I'm getting a bit tired today and this doesn't seem such an urgent task to solve for today.

Hope you enjoy the new conditions.

:mellow:

#9 Max_Real Qnx

Max_Real Qnx

    Gold Member

  • Patrician
  • 1382 posts
  • Location:Istanbul
  • Interests:To be or not to be that is the question.
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 02 May 2010 - 12:48 PM

This is super news.
I hope soon, we can add attachments to the any post :mellow:

Best regards :P

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 May 2010 - 02:16 PM

I've added back attachment support for .script developers (120Mb), tutorial writers (120Mb) and advanced users (60Mb).

Medevil also called my attention that the old attachments were not working, there was a path mismatch in the forum configuration and I've corrected this detail.

All seems to be working now, only missing the email.

If there's anything else, please let me know.

:mellow:

#11 i

i

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 526 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 02 May 2010 - 03:51 PM

Which specific processor you used here? :lol:

#12 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 May 2010 - 09:51 PM

Hi,

The new server is powered by an i7-920.

:lol:

#13 flyhigh427

flyhigh427

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 May 2010 - 05:37 PM

any idea how long before we can download
thanks

#14 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2010 - 08:40 PM

This problem is related to the old server, luckily our sites are not hosted at the same server.

:lol:

#15 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 10:40 PM

Nope, but all projects are!

:lol:

#16 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 May 2010 - 11:18 PM

I'm still with little time to properly move them. Glad I didn't.

Having two servers did come handy today.

-------------

Coincidentally I'm working on a redundancy protocol to use at a new tool that I'm developing.

Here's a sample diagram
Posted Image
Legend
1 : servers
2: clients
A: asynchronous mirror communication between servers
B: clients get files from an assigned served

Having a dedicated server is a costly operation. In our case, we have two servers and at least one human is required in permanency to keep things running smoothly.

I won't be here forever so I'm trying to automate and scale our work conditions to become robust and stable with our (scarce) resources to ensure that wb and other related projects can survive.

This protocol was not specifically designed for use with winbuilder projects but it could be used for the purpose of ensuring that our wb projects don't depend exclusively on a single server to become available.

:lol:

#17 p4guru

p4guru
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Location:AUSTRALIA
  •  
    Australia

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:45 AM

congrats glad to hear about the upgrades - i can hang out here more if speed is up to par :cheers:

i7 920 = quad core processor

be sure to tune the database server end too - hardware upgrades won't do much if you don't tune db end to take advantage of all that sweet memory 24GB!

#18 MB maneken

MB maneken
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Yugoslavia

Posted 12 May 2010 - 07:43 AM

Posted Image



I like this picture where all the detail shown.

Is this a special program, or a classic Windows tools?

#19 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 12 May 2010 - 10:20 AM

It is the System Monitor of Ubuntu :cheers: .
It isn't a Windows application.

#20 MB maneken

MB maneken
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Yugoslavia

Posted 12 May 2010 - 10:24 AM

thanks :cheers:

#21 fuxxi

fuxxi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 12 May 2010 - 05:06 PM

Thanks for the upgrade!

Never seen the site that fast! Finally its a pleasure to visit and I'm gonna do it more then 1 time a week now!

#22 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10544 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 12 May 2010 - 06:55 PM

I like this picture where all the detail shown.

Yes, it's very good to see the details in a good manner.

Ubuntu and Gnome make server administration quite painless.

Never seen the site that fast! Finally its a pleasure to visit and I'm gonna do it more then 1 time a week now!

Hopefully we now have more than enough conditions. Hope to see you more often around here.

:cheers:

#23 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 09 June 2010 - 06:41 PM

I just implemented eAccelerator .... Zend Optimizer made php just a hair faster, but eAccelerator is FAST AS HELL here.
Pages come up like 30% more faster and produce less load on system ...

Lighttpd + Zend + eAccelerator + New Server = The Win :)

#24 damian666

damian666

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 187 posts
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 09 June 2010 - 09:45 PM

hmm... i get error "device has no space" whenever i try to edit a php file on my site.

is this due to the server change etc?

Damian666

#25 Mikorist

Mikorist

    ▂ ▃ █ ▅ ▆

  • Advanced user
  • 771 posts
  •  
    United Nations

Posted 09 June 2010 - 10:09 PM

hmm... i get error "device has no space" whenever i try to edit a php file on my site.

is this due to the server change etc?

Damian666



http://www.boot-land...showtopic=11652




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users