Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

ClearLock - A transparent screen locker


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 March 2010 - 07:53 PM

Greetings fellow boot-landers!

What it is:
ClearLock is a transparent screen locker aimed to make the computer tech/system admin's live easier by providing a way to disable input to a computer while still allowing you to see what is going on. I could go on but I think you all get the idea by now.

What it isn't:
ClearLock is not a security system. its purpose is to keep meddling users from screwing with the computer when you are fixing it. It will not keep your computer/data safe from someone who is determined to get at it.

all configuration can be done through the .ini or by using the /config switch

Bug reports needed, suggestions/praise/criticism welcome.

Have fun!

Homes32


Download Here: ClearLock

Posted Image

====================================
Version 1.4.0 (9-20-2010)
====================================
[+] It is now possible to use environment vars in BackgroundImage path
[+] Added check for read-only config when using the config gui (/config)
[+] Added option to disable sound effects
[!] Lock GUI now has a more 3D appearance
[!] Set password dialog is now always on top
[!] Fixed some incorrect spelling in the config gui
[!] Optimized .ini routines
[!] Fixed bug with killing off taskman

#2 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 19 March 2010 - 09:23 PM

VERY GOOD, thanks a lot homes32

tested both with LiveXPx86 and x64, both nice.

only minor thing,
on both tests (same result with qemu and vmware), after writing password screen shifted back to upward but leaving previous things behind. A refresh screen maybe nice :wodoo:.
Posted Image

see you tomorrow. (with more test results)

<_<

#3 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:37 AM

Hi Homes32,

Here are more results:
2 scripting issue:
1)
during my vistape-capi test I get this

OK
The procedure entry point _except_handler4_common could not be located in the dynamic link library msvcrt.dll.

I find reason is executing on target system32 which as a result clearlock.exe try to use msvcrt.dll of vistape on my xp :wodoo:.

2)
architecture problem:
imagine you make a PEx64 build on Hostosx86. clearlock.exe will give another error during pw generation :).
==>
To fix both here is a modified script, check [GenerateConfigFile] section
http://lancelot.winb...16_ClearLock.7z


1 cosmetic thingy:
adding jpg worked with vistape-capi but not win7pe and not on a mini LiveXP build. I guess there is a required dll missing !

1 thingy:
when password box is empty, and X: is not writeable (ex: no fbwf), on LiveXP adding pw do not work hence could not lock ;). (I copied both files to %temp% for a workaround)



Main function (locking) works nicely all the time <_< , which is most important. Well done homes32 <_<

#4 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1695 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 March 2010 - 11:28 AM

Working fine on win7pe x86 for me. I pre-configured the password.

If no password error can you suppress the 0 password errors popup.

Do you limit the number of password errors before you introduce a delay?

Think you need a way to not leave the script containing the preconfigured password in clear text.

#5 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 March 2010 - 12:36 AM

Thanks for the comments so far.

on both tests (same result with qemu and vmware), after writing password screen shifted back to upward but leaving previous things behind. A refresh screen maybe nice :wodoo:.
Posted Image

I have seen that as well on 1 of my test computers, although it seems to vary. will look into if further.
fixed!

1 cosmetic thingy:
adding jpg worked with vistape-capi but not win7pe and not on a mini LiveXP build. I guess there is a required dll missing !

do jpg in general work on the build in question? sounds like something that should be included in base build.

1 thingy:
when password box is empty, and X: is not writeable (ex: no fbwf), on LiveXP adding pw do not work hence could not lock :wodoo:. (I copied both files to %temp% for a workaround)

that's the drawback of having the password able to be configured on run. users with such configurations will just have to configure everything ahead of time. <_<

If no password error can you suppress the 0 password errors popup.

done.

Do you limit the number of password errors before you introduce a delay?

no but it woulden't be that hard to do. any opinions on number of trys and delay period?

Think you need a way to not leave the script containing the preconfigured password in clear text.

don't thinks that do-able the way wb works. even if you could mask the input box you would still be able to get the password out of the script [interface] value. I originally was going to have a button bring up the set password dialog but then there was the problem of yet another intermediate file somewhere to store the password in until .ini generation on build and the most important question of how do you tell by looking at the script interface if you have a password configured or not?

#6 paraglider

paraglider

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1695 posts
  • Location:NC,USA
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 March 2010 - 02:51 AM

I would say 3 bad passwords then ignore anything for 5 minutes. Although there is nothing to stop a reboot. Which unless it automatically locks on startup would allow you to bypass the lock.

Probably should be configurable.

Instead of writing the password in clear in the script you could launch an external program which writes an encrypted password back into the script.

#7 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 21 March 2010 - 09:37 AM

Hi homes32,
*

sounds like something that should be included in base build.

"scripting core". I guess on my test equalavent was missing on win7pe_se test too. I hate vbs dependencies ;) but for ClearLock it is only cosmetics to have .jpg working on not. <_<
*

that's the drawback of having the password able to be configured on run. users with such configurations will just have to configure everything ahead of time. :)

Than we would need a preloader to check
1) if not writable +1
2) if not pw value exists in clearlock.ini +1
If +1+1=2 copy ClearLock.exe, ClearLock.ini, ClearLockBG.jpg to %temp% and execute from there.
*
I like 3 trials 5 minutes idea :wodoo: (maybe both value can be configurable through .ini in order to keep flexibility.)
*
about pw value on wb screen:
Well I personally like seeing pw value on builder screen (on script) but I understand it may not be desirable on some situations.
For a midway solution, here is an idea (thanks to olegpov). :)
http://lancelot.winb...25_ClearLock.7z

:wodoo:

edit:

Although there is nothing to stop a reboot. Which unless it automatically locks on startup would allow you to bypass the lock.

if one uses pw for both xpelogon and clearlock, I guess reboot can be avoided. ;). Well I am not a pw freak but I guess available options are good enough for basic security. ;)

#8 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 March 2010 - 05:08 PM

Hi homes32,
* "scripting core". I guess on my test equalavent was missing on win7pe_se test too. I hate vbs dependencies :wodoo: but for ClearLock it is only cosmetics to have .jpg working on not. <_<

no VBS in my programs! Autoit uses C runtime.

* Than we would need a preloader to check
1) if not writable +1
2) if not pw value exists in clearlock.ini +1
If +1+1=2 copy ClearLock.exe, ClearLock.ini, ClearLockBG.jpg to %temp% and execute from there.

I don't really thinks that's necessary. Files are RunFromRam and FBWF or Ramdrive is on by default on all projects. if the user opts to turn it off they should expect that programs needing to write to disk will not work and pre-configure the password so this is not necessary.

about pw value on wb screen:
Well I personally like seeing pw value on builder screen (on script) but I understand it may not be desirable on some situations.
For a midway solution, here is an idea (thanks to olegpov). <_<
http://lancelot.winb...25_ClearLock.7z

Well generally speaking the people who have access to your winbuilder scripts/configuration are not the same people you are locking out! and all LiveXP scripts have password visible on interface: shell, winlogin/shell, and screenlock
I have no problems with finding a way for the password not to be visible as long as you can easily tell if it is configured by looking at the script interface, so I'll look into it further.
olegpov's solution has good potential.

#9 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 21 March 2010 - 08:19 PM

no VBS in my programs! Autoit uses C runtime.

than something in "script core" make jpg work :wodoo:, as i wrote before I do not much care about that, only reported for support.
*
well, up to you, I can make an external loader for the task. <_<
*
As I wrote before I prefer visible pw on script interface. It was only an idea to find midway between paraglider's request and your default (and my prefered) option. Final decision is yours. <_<

#10 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 21 March 2010 - 09:25 PM

Files are RunFromRam and FBWF or Ramdrive is on by default on all projects. if the user opts to turn it off they should expect that programs needing to write to disk will not work and pre-configure the password so this is not necessary.

Just for the record, a proper NT program does not save to own directory, nor Windows directory, but always to the %userprofile%.

:wodoo:

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13443 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 March 2010 - 10:12 AM

Just for the record, a proper NT program does not save to own directory, nor Windows directory, but always to the %userprofile%.


Sure <_<, expecially when designed to be used in a multiuser environment, like a PE is :wodoo:, this is absolutely necessary. :wodoo:

;)
Wonko

#12 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 March 2010 - 03:03 PM

Just for the record, a proper NT program does not save to own directory, nor Windows directory, but always to the %userprofile%.

:wodoo:

yes you are quite right, a proper NT program should; but I designed this program to be portable so it could easily be run from a PE environment or USB flash drive on a live system without leaving files all over the host system so the .ini in the program folder makes the best sense in this situation.

#13 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 22 March 2010 - 06:04 PM

@Wonko
Since the %userprofile% of a PE is always writable, contrary to the program files and Windows folder, i would say yes!

@homes32
Anything wrong with using a switch?

:wodoo:

#14 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 March 2010 - 02:48 AM

thanks for all the feedback. version 1.1.0 is now available, see 1st post.

have fun!

Homes32

#15 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 23 March 2010 - 11:43 AM

Hi homes32,

*
[+] Fixed screen shift issues. <_<
*
view of jpg file dependency is asycfilt.dll <_<

If,%RB_Image%,Equal,True,Begin
StrFormat,EXT,%FB_Pic%,%PicExt%
FileCopy,%FB_Pic%,%target_sys%\ClearLockBG%PicExt%
IniWrite,%ConfigFileTemp%,ClearLock,BackgroundImage,ClearLockBG%PicExt%
require_file,asycfilt.dll
End

*
minor cosmetic idea if you like, timer for lockout after invalid attempts maybe nice (5:00 , 4:59 , 4:58 , 4:57 , .........)

thanks a loooooooooooot :wodoo:

#16 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 April 2010 - 03:31 AM

Script updated to version 3/ClearLock 1.2.0
this is primarily a cosmetics release.
as always comments are welcome.

regards.

Homes32

#17 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 23 June 2010 - 04:46 AM

ClearLock updated to 1.3.0 (Script version .4)

lots of changes, most predominate is the new GUI for configuring settings. see the readme for details/changes.

have fun!
homes32

#18 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 July 2010 - 04:01 PM

Script only update!

script v5 fixes config file generation for using background images.

#19 straycat19

straycat19
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 August 2010 - 08:36 AM

Where can I get the latest version? It is not on your scripts site where the link in post 1 points to.

#20 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 August 2010 - 04:31 PM

sorry about that. the link is broken because of an issue with the server discussed here. the server had to be restored from a backup and unfortunately the backup from the winbuilder server was from 2 months ago and I haven't had a chance to upload all the newer files from my own backups yet. :) hopefully this week I can at least get things back to normal. and who knows, ClearLock 1.4 may be ready by then... :)

#21 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 21 September 2010 - 02:32 PM

ClearLock updated to Version 1.4.0

see 1st post.

have fun!

-Homes32

#22 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 November 2010 - 02:58 PM

Script only update to v.7 adds interface option to change shortcut names and start menu location

#23 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 22 November 2010 - 07:18 AM

Hi homes32,

I feel autorun would be a nice option,
check here post 291 to 295* and to .....

:hi:

#24 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1021 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:59 PM

good idea.

script only update to version .8 now available and has option to run ClearLock on startup.

#25 uzziah0

uzziah0
  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 January 2011 - 03:28 PM

I'm new here, but found ClearLock from a Digital Inspiration (http://www.labnol.or...-windows/18570/) review.
I have a dual screen set up for my laptop, and when I run ClearLock the primary screen is the only one to lock. I can still do stuff with the open windows on the secondary screen.
I am using WinXP, and the two screens are external screens for my HP laptop.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users