Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

install win 98 whitout CD


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 19 March 2010 - 03:19 PM

hi all,
i have an acer aspire one and i want to install a win 98, i know i can install it from hard disk or flash disk, the problem is how could i boot ???
is there a way to make a flash disk like an old floppy boot disk (win 98) ?
thanks

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 19 March 2010 - 06:32 PM

is there a way to make a flash disk like an old floppy boot disk (win 98) ?


Yes and No, but actually you don't need to.

You can make a USB stick booting DOS allright, and from it install the Windows 98, though you will probably need some work of preparation of the Windowss source, if I am not mistaken.

The questions are:
Have you already a bootable USB stick?
If yes, which OS does it boot?
Like:
  • DOS <- IO.SYS
  • Windows NT/2K/XP/2003 or PE 1.x <-NTLDR
  • Windows Vista :wodoo:/2008/7 or PE 2.x/2.x <- BOOTMGR
  • Linux <-GRUB, Syslinux or Grub2
  • Other <- like grub4dos, GAG, PLoP, Gujin, etc., etc.

If NO, which OS are you currently running?


There is a thread here:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=122401
about running Win98 on an eeePC, though the hardware is different, the general principles should be the same.

<_<
Wonko

#3 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 19 March 2010 - 08:35 PM

thanks for replying,
i have no bootable Usb Stick yet and i'm running a win XP SP3.

#4 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:58 AM

thanks for replying,
i have no bootable Usb Stick yet and i'm running a win XP SP3.


Well, you need at least a non-bootable USB stick :wodoo: in order to make it bootable.

The best would probably be to make it an "XP bootable, i.e. invoking NTLDR" stick, and then add to it the DOS files or a DOS image through grub4dos.

You can use any of the programs listed here:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9460

But most probably all you need is just to make it boot DOS, then you can use among those, RMPREPUSB or BOOTICE (leave alone FBINST for the moment).

<_<
Wonko

#5 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 20 March 2010 - 04:50 PM

Well, you need at least a non-bootable USB stick :wodoo: in order to make it bootable.

Actually i made a bootable usb stick with hp usb disk storage format tool and a source for win 98 boot, but that doesn't give me what i want:
i boot from the usb and i have an invite command like (C:\ .. ) and i can't access the my hard disk !!
so i spent all the day trying to do all kind of stuffs with grub4dos, but i just don't know how to make it.
Here is what i want in other words, i have an image CD for win 98 and i want to boot from the usb to re-partition all the hard disk then format it, and install the win 98 os !!
i'm sure there is a way to do it.

ps: i have tried to make a usb disk bootable using winimage and a bootdisk image but it doesn't work !! don't know even why !!

i appreciate your help.

#6 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2010 - 05:17 PM

What do you mean "cannot access"?.
How is the internal disk partitioned/formatted right now?

What happens if from the USB bootable stick you run FDISK?
Can you see two drives (option 5) or not?


If I am not mistaken the Aspire one uses a SATA internal drive, it should have a setting in BIOS to set it in "compatibility mode" or "IDE mode" or something like it, but DOS should see the disk (not necessarily the "drive"(s) or partition(s) in it) normally anyway. :wodoo:


Wonko

#7 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:23 PM

What do you mean "cannot access"?.


in the begining i couldn't execute any command, so i copied the "executables" from a image boot disk, then when i run fdisk, i have only one partition : the USB stick it becomes the first partition "C:\".

How is the internal disk partitioned/formatted right now?


Normally i have 3 partitions, c:, d: and one partition for mandriva linux, but my linux is damaged right now.

When i turn on my laptop, i have grub on the first screen, then i must choose windows for XP boot.

i hope now you understand the situation a little x) !!

#8 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:49 PM

when i run fdisk, i have only one partition : the USB stick it becomes the first partition "C:\".


I wasn't talking about partitions.

I was talking about disk drives.

When you run FDISK there are TWO possibilities
  • if you have one disk you have a menu with 4 items
  • if you have more than one disk you have a menu with 5 of them
Now when you run FDISK are you having 4 or 5 menu items (5th is the one to change disk "in focus")

I.e. are you seeing this:
http://en.wikipedia..../File:Fdisk.gif
or this:
http://www.buildeasy...pics/fdisk2.gif

:wodoo:
Wonko

#9 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 20 March 2010 - 09:27 PM

Ah yeah, i forgot about this, you're right i have 5 options i can activate one of two disk drives, but it's still not good enough, here is what i have when i put 5:
Disk	Drv	 Mbytes	Free	Usage

1				973		   

		C&#58;	   943	   

2			   21553			  100%

				34462

				12300

				 2338

				17987
in disk 2 the second partition must have more space (97.6 GB)

#10 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:34 AM

I guess that's not so important now, like you said i have (SATA MODE) in my BIOS, i can set it to AHCI ou IDE, but it doesn't make any changes for the fdisk, informations about my disk using BOOTPART:
Posted Image

Supposed that i can see the rest of the disk, how can i re-format it from the usb stick ? for then install win 98 ..

Thanks

#11 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 March 2010 - 01:44 PM

I guess that's not so important now, like you said i have (SATA MODE) in my BIOS, i can set it to AHCI ou IDE, but it doesn't make any changes for the fdisk, informations about my disk using BOOTPART:
...

You do see the internal disk. :wodoo:

Only it contains a number of partitions and partition types that FDISK cannot simply know about.

You will need to set the Disk Controller in IDE mode anyway to install and run Windows98 (unless some drivers for the SATA controller can be found, but this is another and later problem)

Supposed that i can see the rest of the disk, how can i re-format it from the usb stick ? for then install win 98 ..


We need some disambiguation.

You DO NOT "format a disk", you format a partition on it (and you need to create the partition beforehand).

DOS 7.x (please read as Win98 system files) normally needs to be installed on a FAT16 or FAT32 Primary (Active and First) partition.

You haven't any such a partition right now, you have a Primary NTFS one (first, active primary) and an Extended one containing:
  • one NTFS (first, active primary)
  • one Linux Swap
  • two Linux Native


What is your final goal (choose one):
  • boot Windows 98 ONLY
  • boot Windows 98 and XP in dual booting
  • boot Windows 98 and XP in dual booting WITHOUT re-installng XP
  • something else (please describe it)

:wodoo:
Wonko

#12 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 21 March 2010 - 02:29 PM

Hi,

Thanks a lot for this reply, i was waiting for it !!

Then if i must chose, my goal will be number 2, but i'm interesting in number 1 too, what is the difference ?

#13 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13748 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 March 2010 - 03:20 PM

Hi,

Thanks a lot for this reply, i was waiting for it !!

Then if i must chose, my goal will be number 2, but i'm interesting in number 1 too, what is the difference ?


It depends on how you want to setup your system.
#2 is simply #1 + additional steps (re-installing XP).

What I usually recommend is to have anyway one (FAT16 or FAT32) Primary Active Partition to which to install DOS/Windows 98 and the NTLDR, and all the rest of the drive in a big Extended partition with several volumes in it.
If you follow this scheme, which BTW is the same you are having right now (only you have the primary active partition as NTFS) you can do both #1 and #2 with not much fuss.

If I were you I would add to the stick RPM (Ranish Partition Manager) and use it instead of FDISK (but you can use FDISK allright) to delete the first "non-DOS" partition on your internal hard disk, and recreate it formatting it as FAT32. Mind you your current XP install will be lost.

Then, SYS that partition and try booting from it.
Then copy the contents of 98 CD on the hard disk (DO use SMARTDRV or it will take forever).
Then install the 98 from internal hard disk.

I.e. follow this (but using your stick instead of the floppy AND the CD):
http://www.bucks.edu...98SEinstall.htm

:wodoo:
Wonko

#14 Elaich

Elaich
  • Members
  • 8 posts
  •  
    Morocco

Posted 21 March 2010 - 05:32 PM

Many many thanks for you Wonko ..

now i will try all this, then i must look for drivers ( this is another and late
problem ) !!

If I were you I would add t the stick RPM (Ranish Partition Manager) and use it instead of FDISK (but you can use FDISK allright) to delete the first "non-DOS" partition on your internal hard disk, and recreate it formatting it as FAT32. Mind you your current XP install will be lost.


I think i will use RPM, it's the first time i know it, i try it and it looks good i have informations about all the disk.

i will tell you if that works for me, thank youuuu !!! :wodoo:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users