#1 ignant

ignant

• Members
  • 17 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 25 February 2010 - 10:59 PM

This is my 1st attempt so I am a newb.

I'm unable to install MSI files even though I am able to START Windows Installer in SERVICES. It does automatically stop when i press start but I do not receive any errors.

HELP!!!

Computer info:
Windows 7 ULT 32bit
4GB ram
Dual core 2.8GHz
100GB free space
UAC disabled

Ultra ISO to burn ISO directly to a USB flash drive (16GB), no other files stored so there's plenty of free space

Extracted Vista SP1 installation files to the root of "D"
Installed WAIK also 6001.18000.080118-1840-kb3aikl_en.ISO Default installation path.

WinBuilder 080
MSI(4-Msiexec.script)from http://ludovici.winbuilder.net/

I placed the script file in D:\WinBuilder\Projects\VistaPE-CAPI\Addons [Is this the correct location?] I did not receive an error when creating the ISO file so I'm guessing its OK.

I havent done anything with the MSI DLL files either. I'm hoping the script will pull that from the Vista install files automatically.

The error I receive when I attempt to install an MSI package is identical to this

http://www.technize....tallererror.jpg

Not sure what to do at this point. Please advice

Thanks in advance

#2 pscEx

pscEx

Platinum Member

• Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 25 February 2010 - 11:30 PM

First a Welcome in our community!

Second (may depend on my low knowledge of English language): I'm not sure what your real issue is:
If you cannot install MSI files on your host, I cannot help you. Maybe somebody of our "low level and boot experts"
If you cannot install msi files inside the PE, pease check whether you installed a functioning MSI on the PE.

If you have installed, unfortunatelly I cannot help, too. Then the MSI script author should response.

Sorry for such a "No Idea" answer to your first post!

Peter :lol:

#3 ignant

ignant

• Members