Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

kexec-loader 2.2 released


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Icecube

Icecube

    Gold Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 1062 posts
  •  
    Belgium

Posted 22 February 2010 - 10:05 PM

kexec-loader 2.2 is released (03 Feb 2010).

solemnwarning didn't announce his last version, like he normally does. So i hope he doesn't mind that I do it.

Download:
http://www.solemnwar...er/download.cgi

#2 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 24 February 2010 - 08:00 PM

I don't mind people spreading it around, I forgot to mention it here anyway ^^

I've been reading some of the older threads and the ability to modify a preconfigured menu target on the fly (like GRUB?) has been suggested, a decent implementation of this would require either modifying the menu drawing code to make it more flexible, or including some other way of editing them. Any opinions whether this would be a worthwhile addition?

While I'm here, anyone found any bugs yet? I think more of 2.1.1 was broken than working based on the number I fixed in 2.2!

#3 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 28 February 2010 - 06:27 PM

I've uploaded kexec-loader 2.2.1, updated kexec-tools to 2.0.1 and did lots of code cleanup.

Downloads
Changes

#4 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 09 April 2010 - 07:03 PM

Hi,

I tried to use 'KExec-Loader' from a CD-ROM instead of a
diskette but didn't succeed, a HowTo whould be useful!

:huh:

#5 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 10 April 2010 - 11:53 PM

What are you having problems with? I have attempted to write a howto a few times but I keep hitting a wall creativity wise since everything I think of writing is already in the manual.

#6 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 April 2010 - 08:14 AM

Hummm...

Lets see... At 1st i've begun by creating this
diskette which combines three booting options:

http://rapidshare.co...n-11__.IMG.html (1M474)
MD5: 8F2148D74BB65A5D2B49ADE4B6E5FB21

Posted Image

It's an old version but you'll sure get the idea.

DOS includes tools to edit the configuration
files, 'PLoP' takes care of the easy cases and
'KEL' is the main application on the diskette.

My initial plan was to integrate the diskette
to a 'Slax' (or derivative) Linux LiveCD as an
image-file using 'memdisk' which is distributed
with the 'SysLinux' boot-loader. My 'Slax.CFG'
boot file would contain an entry like this one:

LABEL kexec

MENU LABEL KExec-^Loader

KERNEL /boot/memdisk

APPEND initrd=/boot/diskette.img

This approach failed then i found a mention of
CD-ROM use on your site and then i downloaded
the corresponding archive to try it this way:

LABEL kexec

MENU LABEL KExec-^Loader

KERNEL /kxloader/vmlinuz

APPEND initrd=/kxloader/initrd.img

That method didn't work neither: the physical
A: drive is searched for a real 'KEL' diskette, as i
recall... It seems that one possible explanation
for my 2nd failure may be related to the label.

I thought you had made the CD-ROM version files
different but now i sort of wonder what to think...

Of course, i did check with the manual but i must
admit that something still eludes my attention,
obviously. I found it difficult to browse around in
search for CD-ROM related details, actually...

Posted Image

Was i supposed to modify the label of the LiveCD
by replacing "Slax" with the "kexecloader" string?

If so it would be convenient to have the option to
custom-define that string because the LiveCD is
still about 'Slax', for the most part...

Posted Image

In any case, i'd much prefer if it were possible to
use a diskette-image as i 1st planned. Perhaps
you have something else in mind, i guess it would
help if you could describe what it is exactly (about
using 'KEL' from a CD-ROM, i mean).

:cheers:

#7 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2010 - 09:56 AM

The kexec-loader binary/kernel is the same in both images, if you use a label besides kexec-loader you will need to pass it to kexec-loader on the kernel command line (i.e. root=LABEL=slax). From your description it sounds like using it without a boot disk would be more appropriate. The initrd.img file is an LZMA compressed CPIO archive, you can add files to it or pass multiple archives via syslinux/isolinux. If you put all files normally on the boot disk (kexec-loader.conf, keymap.txt, modules, etc) in the root of the initramfs along with a file named "noboot", kexec-loader will not attempt to find a boot disk and load everything from the initramfs.

#8 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 April 2010 - 10:36 AM

Please correct me if i'm wrong. By writting "boot
disk" you actually mean "boot diskette", right? If
so, a boot disk happens to be what i'd find most
desirable. I simply thought i should mention it.

Posted Image

Nonetheless, if i'm following you correctly this is
what i should insert inside my 'Slax.CFG' boot file:

LABEL kexec

MENU LABEL KExec-^Loader

KERNEL /kxloader/vmlinuz

APPEND initrd=/kxloader/initrd.img root=LABEL=SLAX

Also, possibly, since in this case it would appear
that '/kxloader/' is the "root" then that's where i
should copy the other files including 'linux.cfg',
'KxLoader.CFG' and eventually '/kxloader/noboot'.

Posted Image

I wouldn't be surprized if i'm doing something bad
here so i must point out that i did generate an .ISO
image-file using the Linux script you provide exactly
as instructed in the accompanying 'readme.html'
document and the resulting CD still leads me to the
very same result:

Loading modules from initramfs...
Waiting for disk.... Aborted
There are no target defined, droping to shell
Configure one or more targets to enable the menu

kexec-loader v2.2.1, Copyright © 2007-2010 Daniel Collins
Linux kernel version 2.6.30.5-1
Type 'help' for a list of commands

> _


N.B.:

The "Aborted" message happens when i cancel the
search for a real 1M4 diskette in the A: drive...

#9 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2010 - 10:39 AM

It will attempt to find it's files in the root directory of the CD, I may add the ability to use a directory as the root in the next version. Did you copy modules required for accessing the CD (iso9660, ide, etc) to the iso-modules directory before building? Probably should have mentioned that in the cdrom readme. ^^

EDIT: By "boot disk" I mean a disk containing the kexec-loader files.

#10 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2010 - 12:03 PM

I've added documentation on the noboot file to build.html in the SVN trunk, not sure why I left it undocumented for so long.

#11 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:16 PM

Perhaps if we proceed with the CD .ISO image-file which is
generated by the shell script then it will simplify the matter.

This is the CD's label: "kexecloader"...

This is its contents:

/kexec-loader.conf

/linux.cfg

/isolinux/boot.cat

/isolinux/initrd.img

/isolinux/isolinux.bin

/isolinux/isolinux.cfg

/isolinux/vmlinuz

My question at this time is this:

Am i right to assume that only the
'/KxLoader.CFG' and '/linux.cfg' files
need to be located at the CD's root?

Additionally... Is '/isolinux/' hard-
coded or can it be changed to
something a bit more convenient
like '/kxloader/'?...

Posted Image

To answer one of your questions, no
i didn't add any module since there
was none in the provided .ISO image
file. I suppose that's optional, right?

Posted Image

Also, i note you didn't comment the
syntax of my 'Slax.CFG' file. Does it
mean it's OKay just the way which i've
suggested??? That would be sort of
surprizing because i had some doubts.

Posted Image

Thank you for the time & effort spent
on 'KEL'.

#12 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2010 - 04:28 PM

It only needs the kexec-loader.conf file at the CD root, it might complain about a missing "modules" directory too, can't remember. The linux.cfg file is the kernel config, it isn't used by anything. Everything in isolinux is also ignored by kexec-loader, just set the correct paths in isolinux. You will need at least the iso module, probably IDE and/or SATA as well.

#13 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 11 April 2010 - 06:31 PM

Hummm...

I'm sorry if i must ask this but did you actually test
a 'KEL' CD-ROM? An .ISO image-file would be most
useful if it's known to have been tested/working...

Posted Image

Experimenting with multiple permutations can be
time consuming!

#14 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 11 April 2010 - 06:41 PM

I built one using the ISO and IDE modules, it worked fine on my test machine :cheers:

#15 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 12 April 2010 - 12:35 AM

OKay, lets forget the script. Back to a previous question:

LABEL kexec

MENU LABEL KExec-^Loader

KERNEL /kxloader/vmlinuz

APPEND initrd=/kxloader/initrd.img root=LABEL=SLAX

Does this constitute a suitable syntax to use in 'Slax.CFG'?

(Especially the last three words?...)

Posted Image

#16 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 12 April 2010 - 12:50 AM

Looks ok to me

#17 gabiz_ro

gabiz_ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 16 April 2010 - 01:53 AM

Hello
I'm trying to enable ahci on my Del notebook.ICH7-M chipset.
Using some tricks I've managed to rewrite chipset pci registers and set abar.
But then bios can't boot from internal disk.
Booting some linux distro from usb disk I can see and get access to internal disk and is working in sata ahci mode,so everything seems fine.
Also working booting win7 image from usb disk.
Using software like ahccmdt,mhdd or victoria under dos,disk is detected and identified right.
I have tried few scenarios but without luck.
-boot through grub4dos floppy.img or kexec.iso with all modules inserted.
-boot from usb dvdrom unit (iso built with all modules)
In both cases some error loading some modules "no such device"
But disk is not detected.
In grub4dos case only usb stick is detected and using usb dvdrom only sr0 disk appear in listing disk command.
Someone can guide me? Do I need other sata modules?

#18 gabiz_ro

gabiz_ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 20 April 2010 - 08:05 PM

Nobody?
How can i build some others modules? for kexec-loader?
I've downloaded kernel 2.6.30.5 kernel,compiled with loadable modules but when I try to use them I receive invalid module.
I've also tried old version of kexec-loader-1.1-sata.img but all I get is some timeout and no disk detected.
Since under linux or win booted from external hdd is working how can I make kexec to detect my disk?

#19 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 21 April 2010 - 10:42 AM

I'm not sure why your SATA controller isn't being detected if Linux supports it, try removing all modules except for SATA and any required filesystem modules (i.e ext3). This will reduce the messages at boot and you may get some log messages from the kernel about the SATA controller, check tty2 for these.

#20 gabiz_ro

gabiz_ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 22 April 2010 - 08:06 PM

This is what I get referring to sata using old kexec-loader-1.1-sata.img
PCI: IRQ 0 for device 0000:00:1f.2 doesn't match PIRQ mask - try pci=usepirqmask

PCI: setting IRQ 3 as level-triggered

PCI: Assigned IRQ 3 for device 0000:00:1f.2

ahci (0000:00:1f.2) AHCI 0001.0100 32 slots 4 ports 1.5Gbps 0x5 impl SATA 

ahci (0000:00:1f.2) flags: 64bit ncq ilck stag pm led clo pio slum part

ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xF8CB8100 ctl 0x0 bmdma 0x0 irq 3

ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xF8CB8180 ctl 0x0 bmdma 0x0 irq 3

ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xF8CB8200 ctl 0x0 bmdma 0x0 irq 3

ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 cmd 0xF8CB8280 ctl 0x0 bmdma 0x0 irq 3

ata1 is slow to respond, please be patient

ata1 failed to respond (30 secs)

scsi0 : ahci

ata2: no device found (phy stat 00000000)

scsi1 : ahci

ata3: no device found (phy stat 00000000)

scsi2 : ahci

ata4: no device found (phy stat 00000000)

scsi3 : ahci

And that using latest kexec-loader with next modules inserted into initrd ahci.ko ata_piix.ko ext2.ko ext3.ko ext4.ko isofs.ko jbd2.ko jbd.ko ntfs.ko reiserfs.ko zlib_inflate.ko

ata1.00: qc timeout (cmd 0xec)

ata1.00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x4)

scsi .... some details about sda generic flash disk (usb stick)

............

ata1: SATA link up 1.5Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)

ata1.00 qc timeout (cmd 0xec)

ata1.00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x4)

ata1: limiting SATA link speed to 1.5Gbps

ata1: SATA link up 1.5Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 310)

ata3: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)


#21 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 22 April 2010 - 08:11 PM

Those sorts of errors are normally hardware, i.e dodgey cables. However since it works fine under other systems I'm stumped as to why it doesn't work.

#22 gabiz_ro

gabiz_ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 04 July 2010 - 12:07 AM

I encountered a problem.
I'm trying to boot from one SATA expresscard.
I can boot to linux using
root sda2

kernel (sda2)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.30.9

cmdline root=/dev/sda2

initrd (sda2)/boot/initrd.img-2.6.30.9
in kexec-loader.conf

But when try to load grub4dos laptop is freezing with

Starting cmain ( ) ... No PXE stack

Another problem is that it can't detect ntfs partitions and can't find where I did something wrong or why.
when I press D or manually try disks command
I can see
-device tab looks ok
-size tab looks ok
-format tab see all partition type,(I have made some just for test)reiserfs,ext2,ext3,vfat,swap and cd-rom iso also their labels
but for ntfs partition both tabs for format and label are listing unknown.

I think modules are ok.First time I tried with just few modules for FS and devices then with all modules,also in both format .tlz and .ko I have tried also to load ntfs module from command line but still no result.

What can I do?

Later edit

I can see ntfs module is loaded
Posted Image

but can't access ntfs partitions

Posted Image

sorry for low quality photo,I was using phone.

#23 gabiz_ro

gabiz_ro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  •  
    Romania

Posted 06 July 2010 - 01:22 AM

As you may noted,one screenshot is taked from notebook and other one from desktop,I have selected them because was more clear.

I have tried to put ntfs module in modules directory to load it later.
Tried ntfs.ko (extracted from ntfs.tlz) ntfs.tlz or inserted into initrd both variants ntfs.ko or ntfs.tlz but same result.

I can see in console3 that module is loaded and in console2 some text

NTFS driver 2.1.29 [Flags: R/O MODULE]

but still ntfs partitions are reported as unknown.

Any clue? what's wrong?

#24 solemnwarning

solemnwarning

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 September 2010 - 06:27 PM

kexec-loader 2.2.2 released

Features GRUB path autodetection, root directory override and stack trace on segfault.

Downloads

#25 Bicephale

Bicephale

    Member

  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Qc/Canada
  •  
    Canada

Posted 26 September 2010 - 08:09 PM

Hi,

It's a pleasure to get the news - and to share them:

http://www.slax.org/...&parentID=67325

:thumbup:




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users