Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 4 votes

WinBuilder Running on Windows 98


  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#26 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13749 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 February 2010 - 03:46 PM

Is this possible?

Sure :cheers:, everyone knows that a Mass Storage Driver for a Virtual device, BTW not fully integrated into NT, is EXACTLY the same as HID hardware device drivers. :cheers:

;)

Wonko

#27 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 11 February 2010 - 04:26 PM

The VDK is no longer availing the project, today I'll be uploading the new package
VDK was replaced by this: http://www.nu2.nu/bfi/

Very nice choice :cheers: :cheers: Thanks for pointing (& reminding) :cheers: ;)

#28 NFX

NFX

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts
  •  
    Moldova

Posted 11 February 2010 - 05:02 PM

My experience with this OS is very short, in my life i worked with this OS maximum 1 year
maybe no in this theme but i found excelent software site for win98

http://www.oldversion.com/

#29 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13749 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 February 2010 - 05:08 PM

Very nice choice ;) :cheers: Thanks for pointing (& reminding) :cheers: :cheers:

JFYI:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...40391&st=71
http://www.msfn.org/...o...40391&st=79
:cheers:

;)

Wonko

#30 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:00 PM

Update 11/02/2010

*New version with correction of some errors and without the VDK: download

*Added a short introduction at the beginning of this topic

BeatZero

#31 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:17 PM

So would it be possible to use XP WHQL drivers also in Win7, with the above mentioned fixes?

If they are 64bit drivers. If 32bit, they will not ever work under 64bit OS.

And where can i turn off the enforced driver signing?

Read here for a start: http://www.mydigital...ment-overrider/

Also, would i need to keep enforced driver signing disabled also after the install or is during the install good enough?

You will need to have it constantly disable, as far as I'm aware. You can manually press F8 at boot every time you want it disabled. Or use one of the utils in the above thread.

Regards,
Galapo.

#32 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:38 PM

Thanks a lot BeatZero,

now I successfully made my first build that boots fine with vmware emulator using with the script you provided :cheers: :cheers:
yippiiee, back to win98 days. ;)

#33 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:48 PM

Thanks a lot BeatZero,

now I successfully made my first build that boots fine with vmware emulator using with the script you provided :cheers: ;)
yippiiee, back to win98 days. :cheers:


This is great news ;)

Pls. Burn this image on CDRW and test directly on your computer(s)
if you have network drivers and SCSI drivers (win9x) for your computer, put them in the TEMP\WIN98 dir (all uncompressed) and run the script "CD\DVD\USB" to create a new ISO.

and then tell me how it worked :cheers:

BeatZero

#34 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 11 February 2010 - 10:59 PM

Sorry for late respond, trying things took time.

Pls. Burn this image on CDRW and test directly on your computer(s)

as I wrote on other topic, I do not have dvdrw or cdrw for a while. I tried ufd-chip-isoadding trick (which took time) but did not work (well no surprise, it is not a perfect trick :cheers:).

Well I tried :cheers:

can we have a second image create option to fit all in a .img file and boot this .img file directly (with grub4dos). I hope extrac can handle this. (nothing urgent, only an idea) :cheers:

#35 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 12 February 2010 - 01:21 PM

Win98LiveCD + Win98 Shell
ps: script still in development .... :cheers:

Posted Image

Tihiy's network monitor
Nice app, but work only with Win98 Shell :cheers:

Posted Image


BeatZero

#36 suren

suren
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    Sri Lanka

Posted 13 February 2010 - 06:22 AM

Hello guys,
i'm still getting errors, please see the log file attached

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.html   240.91KB   679 downloads


#37 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 13 February 2010 - 06:30 AM

Hello guys,
i'm still getting errors, please see the log file attached

fixes for this problem are available in the new package -> http://win98livecd.winbuilder.net 14/02/2010

#38 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 20 February 2010 - 05:39 PM

fixes for this problem are available in the new package -> http://win98livecd.winbuilder.net 14/02/2010


Thanks a lot BeatZero for the new package.
I like the Project because its small and NTFS-reading.
But I had some problems:

I built an ISO with -BASIC, -DRIVERS, -FINISH Elements, using German WIN98-CD.
Zwischenablage01.jpg
When booting in VirtualBox 1.5.6 (Last Innotek-Version),
I get a message while "Setting up Hardware"-Section telling me to insert win98-CD.
Snapshots:
Zwischenablage05.jpg
Zwischenablage06.jpg
Zwischenablage07.jpg
I insert the WIN98-CD into VM and the boot-process is running well...

To avoid inserting Extra WIN98-CD I include the missing "BASE5.CAB" into the Win98LiveCD-Folder WIN98 and rebuild the ISO.
By testing I checked that "BASE5.CAB" is the only extra-file responsable for successful booting.
But although the "BASE5.CAB" is present, the boot-process fails, leaving an errrormessage.
Zwischenablage02.jpg

Maybe anyone has the same experience and found a way to solve the issue.
- will english CD fix it ?
- I´ll try and get one anyway.

Solong T.

#39 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 20 February 2010 - 06:38 PM

Thanks a lot BeatZero for the new package.
I like the Project because its small and NTFS-reading.
But I had some problems:

I built an ISO with -BASIC, -DRIVERS, -FINISH Elements, using German WIN98-CD.

When booting in VirtualBox 1.5.6 (Last Innotek-Version),
I get a message while "Setting up Hardware"-Section telling me to insert win98-CD.

I insert the WIN98-CD into VM and the boot-process is running well...

To avoid inserting Extra WIN98-CD I include the missing "BASE5.CAB" into the Win98LiveCD-Folder WIN98 and rebuild the ISO.
By testing I checked that "BASE5.CAB" is the only extra-file responsable for successful booting.
But although the "BASE5.CAB" is present, the boot-process fails, leaving an errrormessage.

Maybe anyone has the same experience and found a way to solve the issue.
- will english CD fix it ?
- I´ll try and get one anyway.

Solong T.

Hello Tokener

I see that you did everything right

on the win98 german, I believe that there is no problem, just have the shell in English (only cosmetic)

on emulation, this is the detail that I took much time ... to start the project, but so far, the only emulators that work well is the VMWare and VirtualPC.

With qemu getting good results, but there were problems with the cdrom drive.
With VirtualBox a lot of problems, including this one that you report.

Try to write to CDRW and run directly on your computer(s)

BeatZero

#40 ReTokener

ReTokener

    Frequent Member

  • Developer
  • 117 posts

Posted 21 February 2010 - 12:46 PM

Hello Tokener

Try to write to CDRW and run directly on your computer(s)

BeatZero


Thank you BeatZero for fast reply

I took Your Advice, (burning to CDRW)
and found that Your Build is working well - on older PC :smiling9: .
If I try to boot on SATA-equipped System even from IDE-CDROM it hangs (Prompting: No archive found. A:\> ).
No SATA-CDROM Driver I guess.
I will do some testing later.

So, Thanks a lot for Your Project and good Luck

T.

#41 TheHive

TheHive

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 4138 posts

Posted 21 February 2010 - 09:31 PM

Great Project. Will it work with Winbuilder 080?

#42 BeatZero

BeatZero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  •  
    Brazil

Posted 22 February 2010 - 03:06 AM

Great Project. Will it work with Winbuilder 080?

I finished the test now and it worked, just as the version 078_SP#.
But impossible to edit the script's (win98's inability to process text files too large)

Script's session with "RegHiveLoad" even in dreams :(

I'm adapting a small API to this project, with basic functions (Add_Shortcut, Unpack, Require_file, Etc..). but still requires some changes in app scripts by other authors, due to some differences mainly in the registry, but some simple work having to touch anything :smiling9:

Well, when left some free time I work on it, I have some new app script's edited and working with this project ... 'll soon be uploading to the server...

this attachment is the log file of the process running under Windows 98, note that in "HOSTOS" it shows as "NT", that because of KernelEX :(
Attached File  log.html   624.38KB   748 downloads

WinBuilder 080 Running on WinME/9X
Posted Image


BeatZero

#43 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 10452 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 22 February 2010 - 04:53 AM

Really cool! :smiling9:

Those screenshots warp wb a decade ago.. :(

#44 ireneuszp

ireneuszp

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 191 posts
  •  
    Poland

Posted 20 March 2010 - 08:29 PM

How can I start whole file Win98LiveCD.iso from grub4dos?
Is this possible or not? :wodoo:

#45 Jake

Jake
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 07 May 2010 - 09:12 PM

Hi All,
I have tried building W98 LiveCd using WB075Beta5 on windows 98SE with no sucess.
I get errors when WB is processing 01-WIN98_BASE.script.
The errors is in the [English] block when it tries to process any of the following line:
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","system","shell95.bat","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","system","COMDLG32.base","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","system","explorer.base","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","system","SHELL32.base","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","comdlg32.res","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","explorer.res","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","shell32.res","%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","user.exe","%TargetDir%\Windows\SYSTEM\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","SYSTEM","user32.dll","%TargetDir%\Windows\SYSTEM\"
ShellExecute,Hide,"#$q%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\shell95.bat#$q"
//
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","notepad.exe","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","SYSDM.CPL","%TargetDir%\Windows\SYSTEM\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","CONFIG.SYS","%TargetDir%\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","AUTOEXEC.BAT","%TargetDir%\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","WIN.INI","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","SYSTEM.INI","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","KEYBOARD.REG","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","system.cb","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","netcli.INF","%TargetDir%\WINDOWS\INF\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","netservr.INF","%TargetDir%\WINDOWS\INF\"
ExtractFile,"%ScriptFile%","EN","nettrans.INF","%TargetDir%\WINDOWS\INF\"
FileCopy,"%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\explorer.exe","%TargetDir%\Windows\"
FileCopy,"%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\shell32.dll","%TargetDir%\Windows\System\"
FileCopy,"%APP_TMP%\Win95Shell\comdlg32.dll","%TargetDir%\Windows\System\"

WB than Halts and the processing is stoped.
Can anyone help? is something missing?
The erors are Failed to copy ... or Failed to Extractfile respectively.
Thanks All.
Jake

#46 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13749 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 May 2010 - 11:09 PM

I have tried building W98 LiveCd using WB075Beta5 on windows 98SE with no sucess.

Two posts above yours there is an actual report that it works BOTH with 078_SP# AND 080.

Usually using an older version of the Winbuilder engine is NOT advised.

Try again with latest 080.

Even if it fails, post the WHOLE log, possibly compressed into a .zip or 7-zip archive.
http://www.boot-land...p?showtopic=431

:lol:
Wonko

#47 Alex-K

Alex-K
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 20 May 2010 - 06:06 PM

It’s a really cool project. Almost incredible!
I was looking for it for a long time!!

Now about my question.
OS started without any problems.

But can author or anybody tell me how can I make it to play audio and video?? And is it possible at all?

Details please look here:

http://www.msfn.org/...mp;#entry924533

#48 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 232 posts

Posted 06 June 2010 - 08:59 PM

Using grub4dos, it would be interesting to boot Win98LiveCD.iso located in the hard disc. Is there a way to do it?

#49 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 13749 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 07 June 2010 - 06:11 PM

Using grub4dos, it would be interesting to boot Win98LiveCD.iso located in the hard disc. Is there a way to do it?


NO, idon't think you can "as is". :D

The .iso as it is set now looks for certain files on the "physical" CD drive.

menu.lst of the .iso:

color white/blue green/blue
timeout 0
default 0

title Mini Windows 98
find --set-root /Win98/WIN98.IMG
map --mem /Win98/WIN98.IMG (fd0)
map --hook
chainloader (fd0)+1
rootnoverify (fd0)
map --floppies=2

AUTOEXEC.BAT INSIDE WIN98.IMG:

A:\DOS\xmsdsk 48000 X: /t /y /c2
A:\DOS\DOSlfn
A:\DOS\shsucdx /d:oemCD001 /L:Y
copy start.bat X:\
A:\dos\7za.exe x A:\WIN98\Windows.7z -oX:
set comspec=X:\WINDOWS\command.com

CONFIG.SYS INSIDE WIN98.IMG:

device=A:\DOS\XCDROM.SYS /D:oemCD001
DEVICE=A:\DOS\HIMEMX.EXE /testmem:off
DEVICE=A:\DOS\ifshlp.sys
DEVICE=A:\DOS\dblbuff.sys


AUTOEXEC.BAT INSIDE WIN98.IMG/Windows.7z:

mode con codepage prepare=((850) X:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
mode con codepage select=850
keyb br,,X:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\keybrd.sys



CONFIG.SYS INSIDE WIN98.IMG/Windows.7z:

DEVICE=x:\WINDOWS\setver.exe
device=x:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\display.sys con=(ega,,1)
Country=055,850,x:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\country.sys
DEVICE=x:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=x:\WINDOWS\emm386.exe noems
DEVICE=x:\WINDOWS\ifshlp.sys
DEVICE=x:\WINDOWS\dblbuff.sys


So. all in all when you boot from the .iso you have:
WIN98.IMG accessed as A:
Actual WHOLE CD accessed as Y:
Windows.7z (in RAMDISK) accessed as X:

I presume that you need to substitute SHSUCDX with SHSUCDRD
http://www.geocities.com/jadoxa/shsucdx/index.html
http://www.reocities...ucdx/index.html
and use it to map the .iso into it's RAMDISK.

Cannot say if there will be conflicts with xmsdsk, though, nor what may happen at the windows re-boot. :)

:)
Wonko

#50 Vortex

Vortex

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 232 posts

Posted 08 June 2010 - 05:53 PM

Hi Wonko the Sane,

Thanks for the technical information. Much appreciated.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users