Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

Wishlist - WinBuilder ini


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 04:53 PM

Wishlist Wish
I wish Winbuilder Would\Could create different .ini files based on source used.

:cheers:

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:11 PM

A reasonable request!

I'll try.

But it is not so easy.

Currently WB reaads WinBuilder.ini on start. That has to be moved to a 'logical place after project selection'.

Maybe that brings some troubles.

I'll see what can be done.

Peter

#3 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:12 PM

you can use different winbuilder names :cheers:

winbuilder077RC2_projectA.exe
winbuilder078SP6_projectB.exe

check the .ini file they produce :cheers:

#4 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:49 PM

@Lancelot
I have 7 different build folders now. :cheers: :cheers:
More if I count Bart and XPE builds
Since Vista and Win7 can be built in Multi Win7 it would be nice to put them in same folder.
But I do not remember what works with what, what needs unchecked or checked,,
New users most likely only use 1 maybe 2 build folders.

This helps with testing scripts :P

#5 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 05:58 PM

@Lancelot
I have 7 different build folders now. :cheers: :P

hehe, only 7, I have 10 folders only for nativeex :cheers:

Since Vista and Win7 can be built in Multi Win7 it would be nice to put them in same folder.

This should be working.
Theorically, you can use some of active projects with single winbuilder (use wb078sp6)
As far as I know (remember), List is:

LiveXP
nativeex_barabone
nativeex_Win7Rescue
VistaPE-CAPI
Win7Rescue
Win7PE

All with single winbuilder :P

please test :cheers:

#6 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 06:11 PM

Since i limit my testing right now to Multi Win7

Projects can be ok,, but i have a problem going from 32 to 64

#7 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 06:16 PM

Projects can be ok,, but i have a problem going from 32 to 64

what is the problem !!!
when you change your source, if project support new source than okey !!!!

what is the releation of the problem with winbuilder (or and winbuilder.ini) !?!?!

#8 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 February 2010 - 06:57 PM

@PaPeuser
Are you sure about your wish?
Your wish and the goal you're trying to acomplish seem to be not related. :cheers:

:cheers:


edit:
Maybe you were thinking about a script.project which switches with source?

#9 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 07:08 PM

I think your right ,, its not the Winbuiler.ini file, I am nuts ,, Never mind ....................................................................

#10 Nuno Brito

Nuno Brito

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 10547 posts
  • Location:boot.wim
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 01 February 2010 - 07:46 PM

You'll need to be a bit more explicit.

Otherwise I'd suggest script.project as the ideal place for customizations tailored for a single project.

It wouldn't be a good idea to keep the base folder cluttered.

:cheers:

#11 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 07:54 PM

Yes I was wrong,, script.project saves settings

When you change source in same project script.project gets over written

So to save setting with a 32 build and switch to a 64 build, you must reselect some scripts,

I will live the way it is,,, sorry for any confusion

Or is it project.ini?????????????????????/

#12 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:02 PM

So to save setting with a 32 build and switch to a 64 build, you must reselect some scripts,

This is about project design, we preferred another way thinking the annoying "reselect" thingy, check here (post45 post46 and post47 4) )
:cheers:

#13 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:17 PM

So this is not fixed yet??? :cheers: :cheers: :P

I am not sold on it being a project fix

Sources are selected for project in Winbuilder and Winbuilder saved script selections for each project. Since Winbuilder saves all source selections (drop down source dir)

Why could it not generate a new saved selection based on each source?

#14 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:26 PM

So this is not fixed yet??? :cheers: :cheers: :P

!!!! From my point of view there is no issue here to fix !!!???

Why could it not generate a new saved selection based on each source?

I do not understand, can you please explain giving example in details ????

#15 PaPeuser

PaPeuser

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 787 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:41 PM

When the source directory is changed project tree selections should be refreshed to reflect selections that were made and saved with that source

#16 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 01 February 2010 - 08:45 PM

When the source directory is changed project tree selections should be refreshed to reflect selections that were made and saved with that source

why ? as written on the relevant topic I pointed, When I change source I do not need to change any selection which does not cause trouble.
and as far as I remember, win7pe designed that way too (If not, it should be design problem)

But maybe, you are asking for an easy way to save your selections and restore them when you need ?

#17 MedEvil

MedEvil

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 7771 posts

Posted 01 February 2010 - 11:26 PM

When the source directory is changed project tree selections should be refreshed to reflect selections that were made and saved with that source

If i understand you right, you want a certain set of scripts selected with 32bit source and a different set with 64bit source. Maybe even different setting within the scripts.

This is unfortunately not possible and a nuisance to me from the beginning. The settings of each script and if a script is selected or not, are stored inside the script and not an ini file, where they would belong imo.

btw. Peter. Would like to push an own wish too. Would it be possible to change the handling of WB, so that i can (un)selcet a folder, without the (un)selected state of the scripts in the folder being affected?
Would save a lot of time during testruns.


:cheers:

#18 Galapo

Galapo

    Platinum Member

  • .script developer
  • 3841 posts
  •  
    Australia

Posted 02 February 2010 - 05:05 AM

This is unfortunately not possible and a nuisance to me from the beginning. The settings of each script and if a script is selected or not, are stored inside the script and not an ini file, where they would belong imo.

Using !WBManager.Script you can occomplish such a task. It stores all script delections and interface selections etc.

Regards,
Galapo.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users