Jump to content











Photo
* * * - - 2 votes

NT 6.x fast installer: install win7 directly to usb external drive


  • Please log in to reply
594 replies to this topic

#476 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 08:14 AM

I have used this great method before to successfully install Windows 7 to USB on different supports, and checked that it works perfectly also with Win8 Developer Preview and Consumer Preview.
 
I have now tried with Win8 pro and discovered that its ISO does not contain an install.wim, but only a compressed and crypted version called install.esd.
 
Is it possible to adapt the script to use install.esd instead of install.wim?
Is there a similarly fast method specific for ISOs with install.esd?
 
 
edborg


#477 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 11:00 AM

Hmmm. :dubbio:

There are I believe both encrypted and only compressed install.esd :unsure:

 

http://www.msfn.org/...inntsetup-v361/

http://www.msfn.org/...uding-update-1/

http://gverswijvel.wordpress.com/

 

 

:duff:

Wonko



#478 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 03:44 PM

Well, actually I don't know whether my install.esd is compressed or encrypted or both.

It's the file included in a Win8 pro setup ISO purchased from Microsoft as an upgrade to Windows 7.

 

I didn't even know of install.esd until I couldn't find install.wim in the ISO and found install.esd instead.

 

Googling around i have learned what install.esd is and that an install.wim can be created out of it by installing Win8 into VHD first and then extracting it, but this seemed to me a to complicated way and wondered whether install.esd could be used directly from a modified nt6x fast installer.

Moreover, as far as I understand the conversion must be made from Windows 8, and this further reduces feasibility.

Things are always more complicated than they should be :-(

 

Thanks for the links with detailed instructions, anyway. :-)

 

edborg



#479 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 03:51 PM

I don't also know which specific kind of .esd you have but the mentioned WinNTSetup does support non-encrpted .esd, you may want to try if it works with your .esd or not.

And Winntsetup, as you might know, contains among others, the "evolution" of the Fujianabc approach.

 

:duff:

Wonko



#480 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 04:19 PM

No, I didn't know of WinNTsetup, the "evolution" of the Fujianabc approach. That's interesting, thanks for mentioning. :)

I'll have a look to that long post (38 pages).

 

Also, from your second link I see there's a tool ESDtoWIM that directly converts install.esd to install.wim, thereby allowing to use NT 6.x fast installer without modifications.

However, the link to that tool is not working  :huh:

If you have an alternative working link please let me know.

 

:cheers:

edborg



#481 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 477 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 22 June 2014 - 04:28 PM

@edborg

 

http://www.rmprepusb...orials/win8togo

 

I think this method should also work for Internal HDD.............

 

:cheers:



#482 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 04:38 PM

Also, from your second link I see there's a tool ESDtoWIM that directly converts install.esd to install.wim, thereby allowing to use NT 6.x fast installer without modifications.

However, the link to that tool is not working  :huh:

I don't get it.

Download from the given https://onedrive.liv...7A444836D!15004

the "Work_Folder" or "Work_Folder.zip".

Open it, and from within it, get the ESDtoWIM:

 

WHAT is the problem? :w00t:

 

:duff:

Wonko



#483 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 04:56 PM

Sorry, the problem is MS that does not want me to use Windows XP!!! :frusty:
Now I've managed to download everything with IE8 on Windows 7.

I apologize for being so old fashioned, :)

edborg

#484 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 04:57 PM

@edborg

http://www.rmprepusb...orials/win8togo

I think this method should also work for Internal HDD.............

:cheers:

Thanks, I'll have a look at it
:cheers:
edborg

A naive question:
In short, in what Win8togo differs from what I've already done with Win7 and Win8 (that is Windows on USB)?



#485 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 05:02 PM

Sorry, the problem is MS that does not want me to use Windows XP!!! :frusty:
Now I've managed to download everything with IE8 on Windows 7.

I apologize for being so old fashioned, :)

edborg

Well, Microsoft must hate you :w00t: (and your XP :ph34r:) specifically, as I just tested downloading it from XP (Using Opera) and got it fine.

:duff:
Wonko



#486 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 477 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 22 June 2014 - 05:04 PM

"Work_Folder.zip"

 

https://5iii4q.dm230...download&psid=1



#487 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 June 2014 - 05:56 PM

This link works also from my old XP, thank you  :)



#488 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2014 - 01:05 PM

Well, Microsoft must hate you :w00t: (and your XP :ph34r:) specifically, as I just tested downloading it from XP (Using Opera) and got it fine.

:duff:
Wonko

Apart from hating me and my XP (SP2!), which might be true, what MS really doesn't accept is that someone uses a browser that is not the latest version possible.
From XP, after failing with Google Chrome and obviously with Internet Explorer 6 (but at least I got a message saying that the browser was to old), I also failed with Opera, and only succeeded with Firefox, apparently a more recent version. :angry:
 
On my side, what I hate is being forced to upgrade any single program I have, even if it works fine for me, just to be able to continue to do simple things like surfing the web and downloading files... but this is OT.
 
:)
edborg


#489 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2014 - 01:18 PM

This is to report that ESDtoWIM works just fine in converting an install.esd into an install.wim.
It takes really a long time to do its job and you need extra space, but at least is a viable workaround for using NT6.x fast installer with sources that do not have install.wim (at least until the script is modified to use install.esd directly).
I also encountered authorization problems when trying to replace install.esd with the newly cretaed install.wim and had to extract everything, recreate the ISO from scratch and make it bootable again, but in the end I managed to obtain a Win8 Pro on USB.
 
I haven't tested WinNTSetup3 (yet)
 
edborg


#490 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 477 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 23 June 2014 - 01:56 PM

Hi 'edborg'

 

I think you should had to use 'WinNTSetup 3.3 or above' because it fully support 'install.esd' and 'AIO ISO's.

 

If you had used it then you should not had to waste your precious time in converting  'install.esd' to 'install.wim'

 

'WinNTSetup 3.6.1' is current version.

http://www.msfn.org/...p-v361/page-38#

 

:cheers:



#491 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2014 - 02:30 PM

Hi 'edborg'

 

I think you should had to use 'WinNTSetup 3.3 or above' because it fully support 'install.esd' and 'AIO ISO's.

 

If you had used it then you should not had to waste your precious time in converting  'install.esd' to 'install.wim'

 

'WinNTSetup 3.6.1' is current version.

http://www.msfn.org/...p-v361/page-38#

 

 

Yes, I am just looking into WinNTSetup 3.6.1 and see that, as you say, the modification I was looking for has already been done. ;)

Next time I'll have a try with that method as well.

:cheers:

edborg



#492 Death Teddy

Death Teddy
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 23 June 2014 - 02:32 PM

Hi, 

 

I am encountering some issue at installing the install.wmi into my removable drive.

I was able to install up to the point "Controlset002" but during the creation of "bootmgr menu & bootsec", it failed and gave an error  Status = c000003a. I did a check on my installer from the zip, NT 6.x fast installer, and it was the updated version of 151112 where the known issue of the error is resolved.

 

Some condition of my laptop,

 

First of all, My laptop is an ASUS UX32ln running window 8.1 x64 

 

I was using an SD card instead of a usb flash drive. Would it cause any issue due to the fact I used an SD instead?

 

All my ports are usb 3.0 (I tried installing the usb2.0 way and it still failed + usb3.0 way and it still failed too)

 

I was using my internal card reader from my laptop to install as well as a external card reader (both failed too)

 

Driver mounted to the install.wmi: iusb3hub.inf  +  iusb3hcs  + iusb3xhc

 

 

 

Question: Since I am using a card reader, am i supposed to mount the card reader driver into the install.wmi?



#493 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2014 - 02:42 PM

devdevadev, on 23 Jun 2014 - 3:56 PM, said:
If you had used it then you should not had to waste your precious time in converting 'install.esd' to 'install.wim'.

A man enters a bar:
Customer: A coffee please.
Barman: Why don't you get a nice milkshake instead?
Customer: No thanks, I would like to have a coffee.
Barman: We make an excellent milkshake, you should try it.
Customer: Thanks, maybe next time, right now I feel like having a coffee.
Barman: Ok, it will take some time though, as I need to go and get the coffee.
(ten minutes pass away before the barman comes back and makes the coffee)
Customer: It has been a long wait, but now I have my coffee, good and hot, exactly what I wanted. Next time I'll try the milkshake.
Another Customer: If you had taken the milkshake instead you wouldn't have waited so long.

:whistling:

:duff:
Wonko
  • devdevadev likes this

#494 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 23 June 2014 - 02:58 PM

Death Teddy, on 23 Jun 2014 - 4:32 PM, said:
but during the creation of "bootmgr menu & bootsec", it failed and gave an error Status = c000003a.

You mean this one:
http://rmprepusb.blo...01_archive.html
http://reboot.pro/to...-17#entry162773

That error is definitely connected with UEFI\GPT, you may want to try :
http://social.techne...=w7itproinstall

using a BCD-template as in the above.

As already posted here:
http://reboot.pro/to...drive/?p=162797

:duff:
Wonko

#495 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 477 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 24 June 2014 - 02:13 AM

A man enters a bar:
Customer: A coffee please.
Barman: Why don't you get a nice milkshake instead?
Customer: No thanks, I would like to have a coffee.
Barman: We make an excellent milkshake, you should try it.
Customer: Thanks, maybe next time, right now I feel like having a coffee.
Barman: Ok, it will take some time though, as I need to go and get the coffee.
(ten minutes pass away before the barman comes back and makes the coffee)
Customer: It has been a long wait, but now I have my coffee, good and hot, exactly what I wanted. Next time I'll try the milkshake.
Another Customer: If you had taken the milkshake instead you wouldn't have waited so long.

:whistling:

:duff:
Wonko


Hi 'Wonko'

Who was the 'Barman' ?


Actually I also love 'Coffee'. How testy if 'Barman' could make an excellent 'Coffee' quickly !

Was he 'Wonko the Sane' ?

:loleverybody: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :loleverybody:

Edited by devdevadev, 24 June 2014 - 02:59 AM.


#496 devdevadev

devdevadev

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 477 posts
  •  
    India

Posted 24 June 2014 - 06:01 AM

Hello Everyone........

JFX' , 'Wonko', 'wimb' ......  

 

Can 'WinNTSetup v3.6.1' install 'Win 8.1 Update1' in both 'BIOS/MBR' drive partitions and 'UEFI/GPT' drive partition without changing Partition scheme ?

 

1-

 

IC570854.jpg

 

2-

 

IC514408.png

 

 

I mean Can 'WinNTSetup v3.6.1' install 'Win 8.1 Update1' into 'Windows Partition' of both 'BIOS/MBR'  and 'UEFI/GPT' partition scheme without converting partition scheme ?

 

Note- I will use 'WinNTSetup v3.6.1' within form either 'Win8.1U1_x64_boot.wim' or

           'Win8.1U1_x64.vhd'.

 

Please confirm if it works for both.................

 

 

Thanks...........


Edited by devdevadev, 24 June 2014 - 06:05 AM.


#497 edborg

edborg

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 387 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 June 2014 - 07:06 AM

I am trying to have a milkshake :D

1. What am I supposed to do with BOOTMGR.PBR? Edit: I used Bootice to change it manually
2. Source in ISO is automaticallyu set to install.wim, not install.esd. Edit: changed manually
3. Source in mounted ISO install.esd gives error. Edit: misleading CPU warning, only for 64b
4. Is there a step by step tutorial on how to use WinNTSetup (perhaps at MSFN)?

:huh:
edborg

 

 

Well, the milkshake is excellent!
It has a nice GUI (once you learn how to use it ^_^ ), powerful tweaking options, but not necessarily faster than NT6.x Fast Installer, unless for using install.esd directly.


Edited by edborg, 24 June 2014 - 09:26 AM.
Conclusion


#498 alacran

alacran

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 969 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 24 June 2014 - 09:50 AM


1-

 

IC570854.jpg

 

2-

 

IC514408.png

 

 


Please confirm if it works for both.................

 

 

Thanks...........

 

YES. You need to make the partitions the way you want first, and latter use WinNTSetup to apply your install.wim or install.esd (selecting the image if there are more than one) to the partition for Windows and the boot files to the booting partition (GPT/UEFI or MBR).

 

Regards



#499 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 14792 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 24 June 2014 - 10:26 AM

Well, the milkshake is excellent!
It has a nice GUI (once you learn how to use it ^_^ ), powerful tweaking options, but not necessarily faster than NT6.x Fast Installer, unless for using install.esd directly.

Well, unlike what someone else believes :whistling:, in real life you cannot have a sweet-withoutsugar-hot-cold-coffe-milkless-milkshake-withoutcaffeine and have it FAST!
And you have anyway to learn how to make coffees and milkshakes (and make them good) before attempting to mix them liberally.

Life is tough. :(

:duff:
Wonko


  • devdevadev likes this

#500 Death Teddy

Death Teddy
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    Singapore

Posted 24 June 2014 - 12:19 PM

You mean this one:
http://rmprepusb.blo...01_archive.html
http://reboot.pro/to...-17#entry162773

That error is definitely connected with UEFI\GPT, you may want to try :
http://social.techne...=w7itproinstall

using a BCD-template as in the above.

As already posted here:
http://reboot.pro/to...drive/?p=162797

:duff:
Wonko

 

Sry, i am abit lost here. Aint as IT savy as most of the guys here. 

 

Am i supposed to create and formate my SD following the EUFI instruction listed in this http://www.microsoft.../uefiguide.mspx

 

Then use the bcdedit listed in http://social.techne...=w7itproinstallto attempt to reinstall my os to my SD?

 

A sets of instruction would be prefered. I am now overload with too much new info. Should have touch up before attempting this.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users