Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Kaspersky Rescue Disk Updater


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 22 December 2009 - 11:13 AM

Kaspersky Rescue Disk can scan and remove viruses without booting into windows.

I have made a simple Batch File which can update virus definitions of Kaspersky Rescue Disk(kav_rescue_10.iso)

This batch file uses KLUpdater to update the virus definitions.

Download Kaspersky Rescue Disk Updater.

#2 megaborg

megaborg

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 22 December 2009 - 05:38 PM

It works perfectly and it's very useful for me since updating definitions of kaspersky live cd was nearly impossible......
thank you very much :cheers:

#3 maanu

maanu

    Gold Member

  • Advanced user
  • 1133 posts
  •  
    Pakistan

Posted 24 December 2009 - 05:50 PM

hi ,

very nice tool .

but it gave me the following error ,


Posted Image

any idea ?

i am behind proxy by the way .

#4 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 25 December 2009 - 12:09 PM

Inside the KLUpdater folder,there is a file called ss_storage.ini

You have to specify your proxy details there.

#5 kDn

kDn

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 31 December 2009 - 07:19 PM

I think more correct add this lines in file diskupdt.cmd

...
Echo Copying the Updated Virus Definition Files to your Rescue Disk
title Copying the Updated Virus Definition Files to your Rescue Disk
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\*.* .\kavrescue\bases\ > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\kdb-i386-0607g.xml .\kavrescue\bases\kdb-0607g.xml > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\kdb.stt .\kavrescue\bases\stat\kdb.stt > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\index\u0607g.xml .\kavrescue\bases\stat\u0607g.xml > nul

echo Successfully Copied Updated Definition Files to your Rescue Disk
...




And Happy new year  :) !!!

#6 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 02 January 2010 - 01:19 PM

Thanks kDn
Updated diskupdt.cmd

I think more correct add this lines in file diskupdt.cmd





And Happy new year  :) !!!



#7 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 26 January 2010 - 02:22 AM

Updated v1.2
Downloads only i386 bases.
Earlier versions wasted a lot of time downloading x64 bases.

#8 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 21 March 2010 - 11:08 AM

Updated Program.
Fixed the “Databases are obsolete” error.

http://agnipulse.com...e-disk-updater/

#9 davidecosta

davidecosta

    Silver Member

  • Developer
  • 678 posts
  • Location:Sardinia
  •  
    Italy

Posted 30 March 2010 - 08:30 AM

Hi agni.
Last version (Beta?) of Kaspersly Rescue Disk are "Rescue Disk 10"

#10 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 02 April 2010 - 05:53 PM

Updated program to work with RescueDisk 10.
kav_rescue_10.iso


Hi agni.
Last version (Beta?) of Kaspersly Rescue Disk are "Rescue Disk 10"



#11 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 18 January 2011 - 11:22 AM

I have updated Kaspersky Rescue Disk Updater.It now supports updates from Local Kaspersky Folder if you have installed any Kaspersky Product.It is currently working in Windows XP.

I need to know the location of the updates folder in Windows vista/7.

Download Kaspersky Rescue Disk Updater.

#12 kDn

kDn

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 22 January 2011 - 12:32 AM

Try to use modified script: http://dump.ru/file/5030752
It's work on Win7 too :)

#13 Zorka

Zorka

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
    Canada

Posted 28 April 2011 - 02:49 AM

Hi, i tryed ur script and i cant figured out whats the probleme. I think this tool is really nice and i want it to be fully fonctionnal but ...

I downloaded the iso and the script. Runned the script and everything was working fine. Then a few days after ... the updated CD was unable to update itself (when booted), KAV says "not all component were updated".

I can rerun the script and burn the new updated iso but after a few days he will be outdated again (plz dont tell me to use rewritable CD). I use the same kind of script to update the kav2008 rescue disk (i think u made that one too) and everything is working fine but on kav_rescue_10 ... "not all component were updated".

I tryed to inject only the bases files and not the XML. That way the CD doesnt tell me that he is updated but it update himself a lot faster then the original ISO cuz most file are already downloaded. But a few days after it is still working. But i realy want it to work like u made it.

copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\*.* .\kavrescue\bases\ > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\kdb-i386-0607g.xml .\kavrescue\bases\kdb-0607g.xml > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\kdb.stt .\kavrescue\bases\stat\kdb.stt > nul
copy .\KLUpdater\Updates\index\u0607g.xml .\kavrescue\bases\stat\u0607g.xml > nul


Any idea? Thx and continue the good work ;)

Edited by Zorka, 28 April 2011 - 02:52 AM.


#14 Tom Van Dam

Tom Van Dam
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 May 2011 - 07:01 PM

I think more correct add this lines in file diskupdt.cmd


And Happy new year  :) !!!


I ran the update utility that you created and it downloaded all of the files. I had some problems. I extracted kasresupd10 to a folder same as the name with kav_rescue_10.iso in the folder along with the diskupt.cmd. When the process was done downloading, it couldn't find the grub file for booting. The utility couldn't find the grub_eltorito file or directory under the boot/grub folder. Due to this, the boot sector couldn't be copied or created so it errored out. Your utility couldn't find the .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\ directory as the utility created directories as KLUpdater/Temp/TemporaryFolder/bases. All of this was created when the utility started running. I can copy the files to the correct directory but not sure what to do about the grub_eltorito problem.

#15 steve6375

steve6375

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 6598 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:computers, programming (masm,vb6,C,vbs), photography,TV,films,guitars
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 02 July 2011 - 11:15 PM


I ran the update utility that you created and it downloaded all of the files. I had some problems. I extracted kasresupd10 to a folder same as the name with kav_rescue_10.iso in the folder along with the diskupt.cmd. When the process was done downloading, it couldn't find the grub file for booting. The utility couldn't find the grub_eltorito file or directory under the boot/grub folder. Due to this, the boot sector couldn't be copied or created so it errored out. Your utility couldn't find the .\KLUpdater\Updates\bases\av\kdb\i386\ directory as the utility created directories as KLUpdater/Temp/TemporaryFolder/bases. All of this was created when the utility started running. I can copy the files to the correct directory but not sure what to do about the grub_eltorito problem.

There is a bug in the script as the location of the boot file has changed in KAV 2012. I have changed the updater so it should work with either old or new kAV iso's. A tutorial can be found here which includes the new updater script. It also deletes the temporary files afterwards which Agni's version did not.



#16 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 09 July 2011 - 09:05 AM

Updated the tool.
I have fixed the build iso errors and included the latest version of KLUpdater.Now the tool saves bandwidth by downloading diffs.

http://agnipulse.com...e-disk-updater/

#17 Motasem

Motasem

    Frequent Member

  • Advanced user
  • 169 posts
  • Interests:War Make's Men And Problems Make's You Expert
    MooT®
  •  
    Jordan

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:09 PM

is this updater still working because i used to use it every day but  last time i updated the rescue.iso and booted it says database corrupt any idea guys ? maby the updater script needs some modification ?



#18 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 23 December 2013 - 04:27 PM

I just used the updater today and it is working fine.

 

Can you post a screenshot of the error you got ? When did you get the error? After booting the Rescue Disk or after starting the Scan ?

 

Was the rescue disk used atleast once on the computer before you got the error ?

 

BTW you can download the latest version from https://github.com/b...e-Disk-Updater/



#19 flyfisher

flyfisher
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 25 December 2013 - 03:26 PM

I've also had the same problem with the updater. The updater successfully created the rescue.iso without any errors. The boot disk started kaspersky but when i ran the scan for the first time the scan failed with a "databases are corrupt error" , error number 9ABE0003. The "update now" downloaded the updates and subsequently scanned OK.

Deleting the Karpesky directory created on the c: drive during recue disk scan and running the another scan with newly created rescue.iso had exactly the same results. Attached are screen shots.

https://www.dropbox....ieWdw0PlXAdPctR

https://www.dropbox....CsC06i29uGhZevs

 

 



#20 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 25 December 2013 - 04:04 PM

When did you update the rescue disk ?

 

When I tried on 23rd Dec it seemed to work fine.

 

I am just trying to reproduce the problem so that I can investigate it.



#21 flyfisher

flyfisher
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 December 2013 - 09:43 AM

I tried updating and reburning the rescue.iso four separate times yesterday with two different "kav_rescue_10.iso" files.



#22 agni

agni

    Frequent Member

  • Tutorial Writer
  • 256 posts
  • Location:Bengaluru (Bangalore)
  •  
    India

Posted 26 December 2013 - 01:56 PM

Can you try this?

 

  1. Download the latest disk from http://rescuedisk.ka...disk/updatable/
  2. Delete the Kaspersky Rescue Disk 10.0 folder from your Hard Disk
  3. Delete the temp folders inside your extracted folder i.e, \kavrescue\rescue\bases nand KLUpdater\Temp\temporaryFolder . My script does not clear the temp folders. Alternatively extract the downloaded zip to a new directory and try again.


#23 flyfisher

flyfisher
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 26 December 2013 - 05:16 PM

We have a winner !!!

Did as requested. The updated rescue.iso now works. I created two separate rescue iso's using both method. The two iso's are different sizes ie 384,554KB and 384,528KB which seems strange, but they both work OK.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users