Jump to content











Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

ShutdownPE


  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

#1 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 December 2009 - 08:27 PM

ShutdownPE provides basic and advanced options for shutdown/restart in PE and is designed to work with all current projects.

Features:
  • Provides a nice looking simple GUI similar to XP's and BS Explorer's shutdown dialogs
  • No more accidentally clicking on the current start menu icons and immediately having the computer turn off
  • 1 icon instead of 2 = less clutter in start menu
  • provides an option to eject CD's
  • filebuffers are flushed before shutdown/restart (safe shutdown)
  • run your custom commands before shutdown/restart
  • Integrates with ClearLock or your favorite screen lock program.
  • translate into your native language
  • script option to integrate ShutdownPE and ClearLock with Windows Explorer Start Menu Button - new!

if you would like to help translate ShutdownPE into your native language please send me a PM and I will contact you with further instructions.

Thanks those who took the time to translate
  • Danish - manfredletz
  • French - ChrisR
  • German - MaineCoon
  • Italian - acus
  • Portuguese - Rui Paz
  • Spanish - carloscape
  • Turkish - siranusta

feedback appreciated!

Posted Image

Download Here: ShutdownPE.script

Changes in this version

====================================
Version 1.4.2 (12-09-2010)
====================================
[!] Fixed subscript out of range error when no CDROM drives are detected.
[!] Added debug option to troubleshoot missing CDROM drives.

see the readme for full changelog
  • allallall6127 likes this

#2 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 18 December 2009 - 10:13 PM

Good Idea :merc:

"Run before shutdown"
option would be great :cheers: , I would like to point it to a .cmd file where I can write things to do before shutdown :cheers:.

ex: sync (btw: If you can find a distributable utility instead of sync, maybe you can add this as the default behaviour of your utility :merc: )
Check this topic for such a request http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=9614 (and post 3 of JFX)

Also, I hope you find a way to support LiveXP too :merc:

and a minor request: when the dialog comes, let us press "Enter" (or Space) and continue shutdown process, I hope you understand what I man.:merc:

Good luck
:cheers:

#3 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 19 December 2009 - 03:22 AM

That's pretty neat ... :cheers: ...

I tried it in a plain cmd-shell Windows PE 2.1 - simply copied the ShutdownPE.exe to system32.

Shutdown and Restart work! Didn't try the Eject CD yet.

What's the Log Off button for? I didn't know PEs were multi-user. For me, it only closes the Shutdown GUI.

Well done.

#4 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 December 2009 - 10:42 PM

thanks for the feedback!

"Run before shutdown"
option would be great :merc: , I would like to point it to a .cmd file where I can write things to do before shutdown :merc:.

good idea. should be able to get that in the next release

Also, I hope you find a way to support LiveXP too ;)

I hope to. there are a couple of possibilities. I would prefer to use a native implementation rather than a external utility and I can't always count on Microsoft's shutdown.exe or paragliders shutdown.exe being present on the system. If anybody knows any windows API commands that would work feel free to suggest them.

and a minor request: when the dialog comes, let us press "Enter" (or Space) and continue shutdown process, I hope you understand what I man.:cheers:

done.

What's the Log Off button for? I didn't know PEs were multi-user. For me, it only closes the Shutdown GUI.

ha. not PE isn't muti-user. the dialog looked funny with only 2 buttons so I added the 3rd. right now it just trys to kill off all explorer.exe processes. I was thinking of either having it be a Lock computer button or a shell restart button. what do you think?

#5 allanf

allanf

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1,256 posts

Posted 19 December 2009 - 11:58 PM

ha. not PE isn't muti-user. the dialog looked funny with only 2 buttons so I added the 3rd. right now it just trys to kill off all explorer.exe processes. I was thinking of either having it be a Lock computer button or a shell restart button. what do you think?


;) ... I can picture it with only two buttons - might look a bit too "square"!

hmm ... the third button?! Lock might be OK.

Keep in mind that MS explorer.exe may not always be present, if you are planning a universal WinPE 2/3 solution.

Regards :cheers:

#6 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 20 December 2009 - 12:03 AM

Lock might be OK.

:merc:
or
A custom (customizable) button so user can put a name and a task to it (.ini file method) :cheers: (default none or lock or... :merc:)
;)

#7 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 11 January 2010 - 05:05 PM

updated to version 1.1.0 see 1st post

#8 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 15 January 2010 - 03:39 PM

script updated to fix miscompiled x64 exe. re-download if you want to use 64 bit version.

#9 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 15 January 2010 - 10:30 PM

I miss the desktop icon :confused1:
a simple Add_Shortcut,Desktop does not work for me ...

#10 Lancelot

Lancelot

    Frequent Member

  • .script developer
  • 5,013 posts
  • Location:Turkiye/Izmir
  • Interests:*Mechanical stuff and Physics,
    *LiveXP, BartPE, SherpyaXPE,
    *Basketball and Looong Walking,
    *Buying outwear for my girlf (Reason: Girls are stupid about buying bad stuff to make themselves uglier :))
    *Girls (Lyric: Girl,...., You will be a womann, Soon)
    *Answering questions for "Meaning of life",
    *Helping people,

    Kung with LiveXP, Fu with Peter :)
  •  
    Turkey

Posted 15 January 2010 - 10:44 PM

I miss the desktop icon :cheers:
a simple Add_Shortcut,Desktop does not work for me ...


Hi patsch,
temporarly try this:
Add_Shortcut,Desktop,,"%SystemRoot%\System32\ShutdownPE.exe",,"%SystemDir%\System32",,,,"Provides options for turning off or restarting your computer."



@homes32,

wonnnderful, x64 version also works nicely on LiveXP :rolleyes::)

I have a verrry minor request:
Can we have animation (I guess called fade out - fade in) optional (and disabled as default if possible)
Reason:
on my qemu tests (I can use only qemu on x64 tests) I wait a loooong while before ShutDownPE does something (opening shutdownpe takes a long time, and when i click shutdown it takes again a lot time all because of fade, after fade ends things works quickly and nicely :) )

:confused1:

#11 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1,218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 06 February 2010 - 10:02 AM

Hi patsch,
temporarly try this:

Add_Shortcut,Desktop,,"%SystemRoot%\System32\ShutdownPE.exe",,"%SystemDir%\System32",,,,"Provides options for turning off or restarting your computer."
:P )

:cheers:


@Lancelot or home32:
Where to put the above code in the script?
Would be very nice to have a shortcut to desktop :-)
Thanks for a very nice script :P

#12 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 06 February 2010 - 10:22 AM

in the [process]-section, after the existing shortcut command for the start menu ... there I placed it and it works fine

#13 al_jo

al_jo

    Gold Member

  • Members
  • 1,218 posts
  • Location:Tellus

Posted 06 February 2010 - 05:50 PM

in the [process]-section, after the existing shortcut command for the start menu ... there I placed it and it works fine


@patsch
Thanks.
It's working! :cheers:

#14 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 February 2010 - 06:14 PM

new version (hopefully out this next week) will have options for desktop shortcuts. window animations are also removed in next version.

#15 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 26 February 2010 - 12:04 AM

new version up!

lots of exciting new things in this release so be sure to read the change log and submit any bugs you might find

regards,
Homes32

#16 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 07 March 2010 - 08:03 AM

is the a application that can be used to lock....

can someone recommend something that is free and works with shutdownpe?

Thanks!

#17 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 March 2010 - 02:56 PM

is the a application that can be used to lock....

can someone recommend something that is free and works with shutdownpe?

Thanks!

any program *should* work as all shutdowpe.exe will do is execute the command you give it. eventually when I get my transparent screenlock program perfected I was going to include it. CWorks' has a screen lock program included in LiveXP that works well for the time being though.

#18 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 07 March 2010 - 03:00 PM

any hope that your screen lock will be done in a week or so? Then i will definitely wait for this.-))

#19 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 March 2010 - 05:53 PM

any hope that your screen lock will be done in a week or so? Then i will definitely wait for this.-))

probably not, its still a bit unstable at the moment...anything could happen though depending on how much time I have to work on it this next week or 2.

#20 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 07 March 2010 - 06:23 PM

is there a way to disable the lock button while there is no good app to use it with?

#21 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 07 March 2010 - 06:49 PM

is there a way to disable the lock button while there is no good app to use it with?

well, at the moment if you click it will just display a message saying its not configured, but I could possibly make it so that the button will grey out if there is no program configured. I'll play around with it.

#22 pecd.net

pecd.net

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 947 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 08 March 2010 - 10:40 AM

may i point you here

http://www.autoitscr...howtopic=101756 (look for DarkLock below)

and here

http://www.autoitscr...h...=91964&st=0

both look promising and might help you to get finished faster with yours...would be great if it would be fully integrated in ShutdownPE with an option to preset password in script and if none is set it should ask for password when lock is started...

Hope it helps...

#23 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 March 2010 - 03:02 PM

may i point you here

http://www.autoitscr...howtopic=101756 (look for DarkLock below)

and here

http://www.autoitscr...h...=91964&st=0

both look promising and might help you to get finished faster with yours...would be great if it would be fully integrated in ShutdownPE with an option to preset password in script and if none is set it should ask for password when lock is started...

Hope it helps...

thanks, I'll have a look.

#24 homes32

homes32

    Silver Member

  • .script developer
  • 987 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 09 March 2010 - 04:24 PM

Script Version 6 released. this is a script only update.

Changes
  • Fixed bug with quicklaunch shortcut creation
  • added RunFromRam to fix shortcut creation problems when booting from PIX/UFD see dara's post
  • Added warning message output to Log if winbuilder is not version 080 or newer. (build will still continue without interruption)


#25 Corum

Corum
  • Members
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Kiev
  •  
    Ukraine

Posted 29 March 2010 - 02:32 PM

Can I shutdown or reboot LiveXP using ShutdownPE.exe from batch file?
I did not find information about it in the Readme file and using help keywords from the command line.
Please, write command line parameters for shutdown and reboot, if they are :)