#1 zammibro

zammibro

• Members
  • 59 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 August 2020 - 03:30 AM

Hi evevryone,

Kali Linux pen testing is a popular topic on the web, but how would you do it from an old Windows PC with way too limited hardware to run VB or VMWare Kali image inside running Win 10? The obvious answer is - run Kali from VHD(x). But... there is a catch - no boot method is obvious enough to gather attention of the zillion testers pool.

I'm not a boot expert by any means, but carry some hope to find the one here, who would suggest How to Boot Kali Linux 64-bit from VHD(x) on Win 10 64-bit PC? I've already used Grub4Dos for the last 10 years mostly for service tasks. That experience yet missing major peaces required to create a working Grub4DOS menu listing for Kali, or whatever the bootloader is. Anyone to help?  :P

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

The Finder

• Advanced user
  • 16066 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 August 2020 - 08:04 AM

Well, forget about VHDX.

Now, if you call a (static, not dynamic/extendable) VHD "a Raw image with an added sector that can be ignored appended" (which is what it actually is) your question becomes "How can I boot Kali Linux from a RAW (dd-like) image?".

And the answer is "You need to use losetup/kloop." (and grub4dos)

http://reboot.pro/to...rom-vhd-how-to/

(and also dynamic vhd's are seemingly possible via vdfuse and GRUB2, though they are trickyer)

Of course, given the "various versions" of Linux, you may need to experiment to adapt to Kali Linux.

:duff:

Wonko

#3 zammibro

zammibro

• Members
  • 59 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 14 August 2020 - 11:18 AM

Unfortunately, the above link goes to a lengthy thread with multi-arguments and very little yet complex to understand code.

May be I'd have a better luck asking for a Grub4DOS menu entry booting Kali Linux install from a local 2nd HDD, with Win 10 on 1st HDD being default to boot by standard Windows means?