26 replies to this topic

#1 ispy

ispy

Silver Member

• Tutorial Writer
  • 646 posts

Posted 15 February 2008 - 10:10 PM

Hi all :thumbsup: ,

A friend of mine told me that there is a program (Grub4dos!) that is capable of creating a ramdisk @ boot time (in respect of booting a 98se system that is) & that a custom Bootable floppy disk or maybe a floppy 98se bootable floppy disk image could be loaded into this ramdisk, that has been created just previously using Grub4Dos. I hope that general explanation of what I am trying to achieve is not to confusing, cuz I'm confused reading back over this LOL?

Anyway the Boot disk is a windows 98se custom boot disk with Config.sys; Io.sys - Amended with Barts Jo.sys, & an Autoexec.bat with a front end menu for a series of fixit batch routines just for clarity of explanations sake!

Firstly, I don't have the 1st idea how to use this bootloader as I am very new to it.

My questions are as follows:

1) Is it possible to use Grub4Dos to do this?

2) Can Grub4Dos be loaded onto the front end of a floppy disk that will:

a. Create a ramdisk at the initial stage of booting the floppy disk & create, say Drive R:\ ("R" for Ramdisk)?
b. Then boot the contents of the floppy Disk or Floppy Image into the ramdisk "R:\"?

3) If the above is feasible, could someone please provide me with a laymans easy explanation of how to undertake the procedure ("Like a newbies tutorial please") & any additional tools or procedures that would be req, I would be very grateful.

The reason I want to do this is because the fixit utils run a lot faster from a ramdrive (XMSDSK.EXE)

Mucho Regards,

ispy :D

#2 was_jaclaz

was_jaclaz

Finder

• Advanced user
  • 7101 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 16 February 2008 - 09:02 AM

Sure, it is possible.

Can you list the contents of the floppy you need booting?

A
DIR A: /s>C:\floppydir.txt

will be enough, attach the file to your next post.

Is it a "standard" 1,44 Mb floppy, is it?

It uses "normal" DOS, does it?