Photo
- - - - -

W7 USB install not working. Can WinBuilder help?

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 fortyporty

fortyporty

• Members
  • 16 posts
  •  
    New Zealand

Posted 29 December 2015 - 11:53 PM

Hi guys. I'm a semi-retired PC builder and serviceman who's trying to install W7 from a USB 2.0 flash drive.

I used NTLite to assemble the installer from a 2012 W7 Ultimate DVD plus 200 or so Windows Updates.

The motherboard is a new Asus Z170M-Plus, so it has a UEFI Bios, with which I'm not very familiar.

After several hours of headscratching I've finally got to the point where the new hardware actually recognises my Rufus-created USB (Lexar 8GB) flash drive, but the major problem now is that the W7 install process keeps asking for 'CD\DVD drivers'.

Hundreds of hits on the internet show me that this problem is nothing new, but what I can't find is a solution.

(Oh, BTW - the swapping-USB-port solution apparently works for many, but it did NOT work for me. And I've only used the flash drive from USB 2.0 ports)

Can WinBuilder help me with this frustrating issue?

#2 Rootman

Rootman

Frequent Member

• Advanced user
  • 382 posts

Posted 30 December 2015 - 01:11 AM

This is pretty common when booting a ISO derived install to a USB drive.

I am sure there is a way around it with your current setup but I would recommend using Easy2Boot and MPIToolPack to create a image partition file and having Easy2Boot boot to it.  I've created many image partitions to install Windows from and they all work just fine.

Quick Primer: 

1) Install Easy2Boot to a USB drive, it comes with an instruction file and and install batch file.

2) Install MPI Tool Pack to your computer and use the CreateDesktopShortcuts.cmd to create desktop shortcuts. 

3) Drop the ISO file for your installation onto the the MPI_FAT32 desktop shortcut.  Answer to prompts and it will create an image partition.  Copy it to the USB drives _ISO\MAINMENU folder.