grrrd

Frequent Member

• Advanced user
  • 135 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 13 January 2016 - 11:18 AM

Hi All!

So i have the lovely task of migrating about 800 Windows XP machines to Windows 7 without any user interaction.

So far i have decided to tackle this by Using GRUB4DOS to boot a WinPE iso to reimage the XP partition with a generic Windows7 image and configure via a mass of different scripts - this i am fairly confident with (thanks to Reboot.pro!)

The issue I have come to now though is M$ Office and Outlook. The issue is that across about 500 machines I have a varying degree of different Office installation (from 2003 to 2013) and on the same amount of machines i have Outlook installed with different Email accounts/settings/credentials.

Throughout my googling I have come across 2 products that offer a solution to this issue (Zinstall and PCMover) - both applications promise to be able to move the application in its entirety to a new build without the need of media or user input. The way i see it is that they take a 'backup' of the whole installation and then just apply said backup to the new machine.

Does anybody know how they do this? Is there a 'Freeware/opensource' method to do this? Can they actually do what they are promising(1 big thing i can think of is i am moving form 32bit Xp to win764bit)? Does anyone have any experience in these products?

http://www.zinstall.com/

http://www.laplink.com/index.php

Thank you!

• Brito likes this

#2 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

The Finder

• Advanced user
  • 16066 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 January 2016 - 12:10 PM

Yep, they are more or less the two alternatives:

http://alternativeto...-easy-transfer/

The user state migration tool is capable of transferring "user states" ;) :

https://en.wikipedia..._Migration_Tool

but the specific application needs to be re-installed:

https://msdn.microso...2(v=ws.10).aspx