Jump to content











Photo
- - - - -

WinBuilder Error


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 BenPE

BenPE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 17 July 2012 - 01:02 PM

I used google to find the error but I haven't found it

ExtractFile - Failed to expand file: [Archive] to: [VC8.7z\%BaseDir%\Target\VistaPE-Core\windows\WinSxS]

anyone a solution?

I tried to add MS VC++ Runtimes :(

Greetings
BenPE

#2 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 17 July 2012 - 01:56 PM

[VC8.7z%BaseDir% gives a hint to a syntax error.
Should be [%Basedir% ...

Post the script, or when you find, the command which causes this error.
It should be something similar to

Unpack,,Archive,x86,VC8.7z,%target_win%WinSxS


Peter

#3 BenPE

BenPE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 July 2012 - 05:37 AM

I found the code:


[Process]

// Visual C++ 2005

If,%CB_VC8%,Equal,True,Begin

Echo,"Installing Visual C++ 2005..."

Unpack,,Archive,x86,VC8.7z,%target_win%WinSxS

If,%SourceArch%,Equal,x64,Unpack,,Archive,x64,VC8.7z,%target_win%WinSxS

End

what shall I change?

As Sourcedirectory I must write "c:ProgrammeWindows AIK"?

Edited by BenPE, 18 July 2012 - 05:43 AM.


#4 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 July 2012 - 05:52 AM

go to the wiki and check the syntax...

http://code.google.c...der/wiki/unpack

Looks like the syntax is a bit messed up...Without seeing the entire log and error and what happens, it is hard to know intent...I looks like syntax 2
Unpack,,Archive,x64,VC8.7z,%target_win%WinSxS

Unpack,[Filename],Action,[Param3],[Param4],[Param5]

Where the filename is the default (i.e. the script itself). Param3 is the "folder" in the script (i.e. x86 or x64), since the action is Archive. param 4 is the archive name (i.e. vc8.7z), and the location where to unpack is %target_win%WinSxS

Why it "failed" is maybe because the path to the %target_win% or ??? Again, a FULL, DEBUG log is what you need to see what is really going on, and if you can MANUALLY use commands to do the same task.

:cheers:
Scott

#5 BenPE

BenPE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 July 2012 - 06:11 AM

since I don't know how to upload attachments here

The log is here:
http://www57.zippysh...54669/file.html

greetings BenPE

#6 BenPE

BenPE

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:05 AM

Unable to create directory: [DirMake,%GlobalTemplates%%ProgramFolder%]

function of script:
If,Not,ExistDir,%Target_Prog%%ProgramFolder%,DirMake,%Target_Prog%%ProgramFolder%

Script downloaded at:
http://reboot.pro/15212/page__st__25

why aren't the scripts I downloaded at your page working?

#7 patsch

patsch

    Silver Member

  • Advanced user
  • 785 posts
  •  
    Germany

Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:33 AM

a.) you post in the wrong section. It is not a problem with winbuilder, it is a problem with the project vistape
b.) you added a script that is designed for win7pe_se, it should work with vistape but it is not stated yet (afair). Have a look at the description of the author

Confirmed working with:

  • Win7PE_SE
Should work with:
  • VistaPE



#8 sbaeder

sbaeder

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1338 posts
  • Location:usa - massachusettes
  •  
    United States

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:29 AM

This is why a full log can help, since it help target things like this - i.e. what script and what the script authour has said, and even what the values are of the variables, etc.

Other things I see are that this uses a pretty OLD version of winbuilder, and if you poke around here, you can see that there were many changes (not all 100% compatible for good reasons, and broke mostly scripts that did things that were unclear) so that could be one reason. The other is that things like the API are written in winbuilder script, and also could be an issue with an older API file.

There are also some "debug" settings in Winbuilder (poke around on the wiki for more help) that could provide more clues, but I think you have a pretty good start at the issues...

:cheers:
Scott

#9 homes32

homes32

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 1035 posts
  • Location:Minnesota
  •  
    United States

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:40 AM

First of all you are using a VERY old version of winbuilder (075 beta 5) that is not supported any longer.
HOWEVER
The issue is here:

Run - Processing section: [depack] From file: [%BaseDir%ProjectsVistaPE-CoreBase00-api-main.script]

VistaPE Core uses its own internal API and is not compatible with this script as it uses the CommonAPI

if you must use a Vista based PE consider VistaPE-CAPI as it is newer, uses the CommonAPI and the script is tested and working in this project.

use Winbuilder v80 or newer and: vistape.winbuilder.net in the Winbuilder download center.

regards,
Homes32


Topic moved to VistaPE forum as this is not a Winbuilder issue.

#10 ronp76

ronp76
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 August 2012 - 03:23 PM

Hello, I have been reading up about this great project and having been downloading the necessary files to use WinBuilder to build a VistaPE DVD via WAIK which was created as a directory in my Vista Program Files group. After unraring WinBuilder and using its download function for the scripts and projects, I get the following error:


WebGet - Failed to download file: [http://download.micr...240/devcon.exe] to directory: [%BaseDir%Tempdevcon.exe]


I googled devcon.exe on microsoft.com's website and found the download link as indicated in that script (http://download.micr...0240/devcon.exe) but like the script get the same file not found error.

I've googled that error here and on the web and can find no similar mention. Has anyone else encountered this and if so, what is the best way to proceed?

#11 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 August 2012 - 06:30 PM

Hi ronp76, welcome in our forum.

Just to make clear: That is not a WinBuilder error, but an error during build of the Vista project.

Facts: The (ICE-Age) link seems to be not longer valid.

Try to download devcon using the information on this page: http://blogs.technet...devcon-exe.aspx

Peter

#12 ronp76

ronp76
  • Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 10 August 2012 - 06:44 PM

Thanks for the link but the download file is 476 megs. Is there a way to just get the one file? In addition, how would I add the file to the project?

Edited by ronp76, 10 August 2012 - 06:45 PM.


#13 pscEx

pscEx

    Platinum Member

  • Team Reboot
  • 12707 posts
  • Location:Korschenbroich, Germany
  • Interests:What somebody else cannot do.
  •  
    European Union

Posted 10 August 2012 - 06:54 PM

#1: I do not see any other legal way to get the file. But maybe there are torrents offering devcon.exe illegally ...
#2: download devcon.exe and copy it to <where_you_want>
The statement which currently fails, looks like
WebGet,<FileToDownload>,<FileOnDisk>,<maybe_some_parameters>
Replace it by
FileCopy,<where_you_want>devcon.exe,<FileOnDisk>

This is a quick and dirty way (usually not recommended) to use a locally stored file instead of downloading it.
When you are more experienced with WinBuilder scripts, you'll see that there are better ways.

Peter




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users