Jump to content











Photo

Install Win10XPE_x64 Flat or Compact Mode on VHD

win10xpe_x64 flat install compact install vhd

  • Please log in to reply
115 replies to this topic

#76 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 04 July 2021 - 02:32 PM

Attached pictures of disk manager and uniqueid disk from diskpart, as you can see both have same uniqueid disk values.

 

 

A ramboot may (or may not) actually boot a volume "only".

 

Windows differentiation is (or at lest was) based on disks (not volumes) ID's.

 

Likely in your case of ramboot (cannot say if specific to the SVBus or not) the disk on which the boot volume resides (which is the VHD) is *somehow* not considered a "real" disk.

 

It seems it's in fact the opposite:

 

Having a uniqueid disk value on diskpart seems loaded on Ram as a disk.

 

All the internal HD partitions/drives are not colored (as this identify real drives I assume), but the one on Ram (X:\) is also not colored, so it seems it's "seen" as a real drive too.

 

The drive with a blue mark on top is the attached VHD, same way is shown when attached on the real OS.   I assume this blue mark is then used to identify virtual disks.

 

Any ideas?

 

alacran

Attached Files

  • Attached File  1.png   43.82KB   0 downloads
  • Attached File  2.png   13.45KB   0 downloads


#77 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 05 July 2021 - 07:03 AM

It could be the "at least was" in my previous post.

 

Windows 10 must have changed *something* in the way disks/volumes are considered, a known one is the way multi-volume "removable" USB sticks are assigned drive letters (they weren't in previous Windows versions).

 

Maybe now two "same" disks are "accepted" and they are differentiated by the "bus" to which they are connected or by some other characteristic. :unsure:

 

It is an interesting finding, as - if it is confirmed for "normal" disks - it opens the way for direct cloning (and restoring) of disks (which till now required to change one of the two Disk Signatures or UniqueID as seen in Diskpart).

 

:duff:

Wonko



#78 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 06 July 2021 - 12:37 AM


Maybe now two "same" disks are "accepted" and they are differentiated by the "bus" to which they are connected or by some other characteristic. :unsure:

 

I don't think that is the reason as I have also Rambooted a Mini-8.1.vhd and also attached same VHD to make some changes in it, that's why I got the idea maybe SVBus driver has something to do with this, as that is the only thing in common.

 

It seems for now this behaviour will remain unexplained.

 

alacran



#79 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 11 October 2021 - 09:23 AM

Hi! Good morning everyone, I am a novice user and I have mounted a Win10PE flatboot vhd, which boots beautifully
 
from the windows BCD, instead it does NOT start in G4D.
 
The Command Line I use in menu.lst is:
 
title AUDIOPE VHD TO RAM
 
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /AUDIOPXE.vhd
map /AUDIOPXE.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader / bootmgr
 
Typing commandline line by line after reaching "chainloader / bootmgr" the following message appears:
 
"Will boot NTLDR from drive = 0x80, partition = 0x0 (hidden sectors = 0x80)
 
And typing boot:
 
BSOD "Stop CODE - Inaccessible boot device"
 
What surprises me is that it starts well from the BCD and not from G4D, I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
 
My PC is somewhat old and works in BIOS / MBR mode, the vhd partition is MBR / BIOS.
 
The objective is to be able to boot into G4D and then add the firadisk drivers and load it into RAM, I use WinPE for
 
audio, because it is sonically superior to everything I know, before I used a Windows Server Core 20H1 Insider
 
Preview loaded into RAM from G4D chained to the BCD without problems.
 
I ask for help because I cannot find the problem, my knowledge of G4D is very basic.
 
Thank you for your time


#80 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 11 October 2021 - 12:01 PM

How big is the .vhd?

How much RAM do you have?

If the one fits in the other, then what happens with:

 

find --set-root --ignore-floppies /AUDIOPXE.vhd
map --mem --top /AUDIOPXE.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader / bootmgr

boot

 

The inaccessible boot device means (obviously) inaccessible boot device ;), but this might be caused both:

1) by a missing or wrongly configured driver

2) by an incorrect entry in the \boot\BCD

 

Also, which exact version of grub4dos are you using?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#81 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 11 October 2021 - 07:42 PM

Dear Wonko, thank you for your prompt reply, I will try to provide you with the information you request.
 
Version:
Grub4Dos-0.4.6a - J1900
 
VHD size 6 GB
RAM 32 GB
 
menu.lst tested
 
1: RAMDISK
 
title AUDIOPE VHD TO RAM
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /AUDIOPXE.vhd
map --top-mem /AUDIOPXE.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /bootmgr
 
RESULT: ERROR
 
2: FILEDISK
 
title AUDIOPE VHD TO RAM
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /AUDIOPXE.vhd
map /AUDIOPXE.vhd (hd0)
map --hook
root (hd0,0)
chainloader /bootmgr
 
RESULT: ERROR
 
I'm looking for how to attach screenshots of the WinPE VHD's own BCD and the current BCD,
but i don't see any button for it.
 
Anyway, looking at the images posted by Alacrán, they seem identical to me.

Edited by samotc, 11 October 2021 - 07:53 PM.


#82 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 11 October 2021 - 11:10 PM

Since it is not clear to me how to attach the image captures, I have allowed myself to upload it in text mode.
 
Current BCD:
 
Windows boot manager
----------------------------------
Identifier {bootmgr}
device partition = C:
path \ bootmgr
description Windows Boot Manager
locale es-ES
inherit {globalsettings}
bootshutdowndisabled Yes
default {current}
resumeobject {83f7623c-c8ef-11eb-bc22-84623cc25cbf}
displayorder {current}
                        {cf661396-12db-4775-9eca-1a8db0bc3ba0}
                        {31a5d4b2-1602-405d-a21a-a66924d72426}
                        {deb65c2f-f1cf-11eb-9043-dc521782013e}
                        {47489117-2804-11ec-b681-002618f03fd5}
                        {ab9776f0-2d00-4345-8dd2-b3c9d42c1e3a}
                        {cb5b3ca4-0925-4f40-a09f-f7e00fcdceca}
toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
timeout 30
displaybootmenu Yes
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {current}
device partition = C:
path \ Windows \ system32 \ winload.exe
description Windows Server 2019 DESKTOP
locale es-ES
inherit {bootloadersettings}
allowedinmemorysettings 0x15000075
osdevice partition = C:
systemroot \ Windows
resumeobject {83f7623c-c8ef-11eb-bc22-84623cc25cbf}
nx OptOut
bootmenupolicy Standard
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {cf661396-12db-4775-9eca-1a8db0bc3ba0}
device vhd = [E:] \ WSVR_2022.vhd
path \ Windows \ system32 \ winload.exe
description (VHD) Windows Server 2022 STD Desktop
locale es-ES
recoverysequence {fe6c8031-1625-11ec-b59b-002618f03fd5}
displaymessageoverride Recovery
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice vhd = [E:] \ WSVR_2022.vhd
systemroot \ Windows
resumeobject {e428b9d5-23c3-11ec-a6a5-806e6f6e6963}
bootmenupolicy Standard
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {31a5d4b2-1602-405d-a21a-a66924d72426}
device vhd = [B:] \ COREAUDIO.vhd
path \ Windows \ system32 \ winload.exe
description (VHD) SERVER 20H1 CORE AUDIO
locale es-ES
loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
inherit {bootloadersettings}
                        {globalsettings}
recoverysequence {fe6c802f-1625-11ec-b59b-002618f03fd5}
displaymessageoverride Recovery
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice vhd = [B:] \ COREAUDIO.vhd
systemroot \ Windows
resumeobject {20412418-238e-11ec-8aa1-806e6f6e6963}
bootmenupolicy Standard
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {deb65c2f-f1cf-11eb-9043-dc521782013e}
device vhd = [B:] \ Windows7.vhd
path \ Windows \ system32 \ winload.exe
description (VHD) Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
locale es-ES
recoverysequence {deb65c30-f1cf-11eb-9043-dc521782013e}
recoveryenabled Yes
osdevice vhd = [B:] \ Windows7.vhd
systemroot \ Windows
resumeobject {9164cfd3-f1c7-11eb-adf2-806e6f6e6963}
bootmenupolicy Standard
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
ID {47489117-2804-11ec-b681-002618f03fd5}
device ramdisk = [E:] \ Programs \ WINDOWS_OS \ WindowsPE \ winpese-x64 \ sources \ boot.wim, {47489116-2804-11ec-b681-002618f03fd5}
path \ Windows \ System32 \ Boot \ winload.exe
description NST WinPE Image
locale es-ES
osdevice ramdisk = [E:] \ Programs \ WINDOWS_OS \ WindowsPE \ winpese-x64 \ sources \ boot.wim, {47489116-2804-11ec-b681-002618f03fd5}
systemroot \ Windows
detecthal Yes
winpe Yes
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {ab9776f0-2d00-4345-8dd2-b3c9d42c1e3a}
device vhd = [locate] \ AUDIOPXE.vhd
path \ Windows \ system32 \ boot \ winload.exe
description (VHD) WiN10 PE AUDIO
locale es-ES
loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
volumebandid 1
nointegritychecks Yes
testsigning Yes
osdevice vhd = [locate] \ AUDIOPXE.vhd
systemroot \ Windows
bootmenupolicy Legacy
winpe Yes
 
Real mode boot sector
------------------------------
Identifier {cb5b3ca4-0925-4f40-a09f-f7e00fcdceca}
device partition = B:
path \ grldr.mbr
description GRUB4DOS
 
 
Owner BCD AUDIOPXE.vhd
 
Windows Boot Manager
--------------------
identifier {9dea862c-5cdd-4e70-acc1-f32b344d4795}
device boot
description Boot Manager
displayorder {4f22f003-2945-11ec-ba88-97142a50316b}
 
Windows Boot Loader
-------------------
identifier {4f22f003-2945-11ec-ba88-97142a50316b}
device boot
path \ windows \ system32 \ boot \ winload.exe
description WINPE
testsigning Yes
osdevice boot
systemroot \ windows
winpe Yes


#83 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 October 2021 - 09:41 AM

I am not much familiar with this kind of setup, and at first sight I can see no issues in your BCD's (as said I may well be missing something) but if the .vhd boots "normally" from the "current" BCD, why you cannot:

1) boot it from the "current" BCD

2) add the firadisk driver to the vhd
3) make a grub4dos menu.lst making use of the --mem --top

:unsure:

 

Your issue seems somehow similar to the one quarky42 had here:

http://reboot.pro/in...showtopic=21687

 

maybe you can find on the above thread something that you have different/that you want to try, maybe a different grub4dos version?

 

I don't understand the "Grub4Dos-0.4.6a - J1900", a grub4dos has a version and a date, like 0.4.6 2021-05-16, in case of doubt, when you are in grub4dos at the grub> prompt, issue a:

echo -v

 

:duff:

Wonko



#84 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 October 2021 - 11:47 AM

Dear Wonko I think the problem is that G4D cannot find the partition, I don't know why, hence this error comes up after Typing commandline line by line after reaching "chainloader / bootmgr", or I think it means that.
 
"Will boot NTLDR from drive = 0x80, partition = 0x0 (hidden sectors = 0x800)"
 
Anyway examining the edited "current BCD", the following catches my attention (**)
 
Windows boot loader
-----------------------------
Identifier {ab9776f0-2d00-4345-8dd2-b3c9d42c1e3a}
device vhd = [locate] \ AUDIOPXE.vhd
path \ Windows \ system32 \ boot \ winload.exe
description (VHD) WiN10 PE AUDIO
locale es-ES
loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
volumebandid 1 **
nointegritychecks Yes
testsigning Yes
osdevice vhd = [locate] \ AUDIOPXE.vhd
systemroot \ Windows
bootmenupolicy Legacy
winpe Yes
 
What I do not know exactly is what it means, I have read the Microsoft documentation, but I have not made anything clear, but I think the problem is there, because that entry does not appear in any other boot of the "current BCD".
The funniest thing is that it DOES boot on the Windows BCD and it doesn't on G4D; when from my experience the opposite is usually the case.
Thanks for your prompt replies, I will continue investigating, greetings.


#85 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 12 October 2021 - 12:10 PM

I can only translate this for you:

 

"Will boot NTLDR from drive = 0x80, partition = 0x0 (hidden sectors = 0x800)"
 

 

Will boot the Windows bootloader you specified in the chainloader command before (/bootmgr), which I found on first disk 0x80=128=(hd0) on 1st partition=0x0=(hd0,0)

This partition starts at offset 0x800=2048.

 

The above is perfectly normal, and the bootmgr is loaded alright (but then it ends in a 0x0000007b Stop code, which is actually generated by the bootmgr).

 

So the issue is "past" grub4dos.

 

You also miss (in the BCD inside the vhd) the "no integrity checks" and the "bootmenupolicy Legacy", and according to Wimb (who is very familiar with the matter) this latter one is actually needed (same thread already linked to):

http://reboot.pro/in...=21687&p=209220

 

There are also other BCD settings that are different (cannot say which of them may be relevant) from the post just before the above):

http://reboot.pro/in...=21687&p=209218

 

:duff:

Wonko



#86 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 12 October 2021 - 01:24 PM

Regarding the heading "volumebandid1" I have found a reference in https://www.geoffcha...cd/elements.htm
It seems to be a library that is part of the BCD integrity elements, specifically BcdLibraryInteger_FveBandId (BCDE_LIBRARY_TYPE_FVE_BAND_ID), although I don't really know what it means, since it is beyond my knowledge. I don't know if this will be the cause of my problems.


#87 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 13 October 2021 - 06:53 AM

@ samotc

 

When booting from the Win bootmanager you only need to edit the external BCD(s), for Bios on \boot\BCD and for UEFI on \efi\microsoft\boot\BCD. Using the pictures on first post as a guide.

 

When Rambooting by means of grub4dos, you need to first install SVBus driver as mentioned on this and this posts, and also edit the internal bcd(s) located into the VHD on \boot\bcd and for UEFI on \efi\microsoft\boot\bcd.  Using attached pictures as a guide.

 

EDIT: You can also add to your bcd(s): LoadOptionsString >>> DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS

 

If you want to make a Wimboot installation see this post.

 

And if you want to Ramboot a VHD installed on Wimboot mode see this post.

 

alacran

Attached Files


Edited by alacran, 14 October 2021 - 02:49 AM.


#88 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 13 October 2021 - 07:33 AM

Forgot to give you some examples of the commands in menu.lst

 

 

MBR menu.lst

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd - FILEDISK - 1.5 GB - map as (hd) valid for internal and external HD
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd
map /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd (hd)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd - SVBus RAMDISK- 1.5 GB - map as (hd) valid for internal and external HD
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd
map --top --mem /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd (hd)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd - FILEDISK - 260 MB - map as (hd) for WIMBOOT from internal HD
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd
map /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd (hd)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd - SVBus RAMDISK - 260 MB - map as (hd) for WIMBOOT from internal HD
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd
map --top --mem /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd (hd)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd - FILEDISK - 260 MB - map as (hd-1) for WIMBOOT from external USB device
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd
map /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd (hd-1)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd - SVBus RAMDISK - 260 MB - map as (hd-1) for WIMBOOT from external USB device
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd
map --top --mem /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd (hd-1)
map --hook
root (hd-1,0)
chainloader /bootmgr

UEFI menu.lst

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd - FILEDISK - 1.5 GB for UEFI boot valid for internal and external HD
load \EFI\grub\ntfs_x64.efi
find --set-root /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd
map /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd (hd)
chainloader (hd-1)

title VHD/10_XPE.vhd - SVBus RAMDISK- 1.5 GB for UEFI boot valid for internal and external HD
load \EFI\grub\ntfs_x64.efi
find --set-root /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd
map --top --mem /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-Flat.vhd (hd)
chainloader (hd-1)

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd - FILEDISK - 1.5 GB - map as (hd) for UEFI WIMBOOT valid for internal and external HD
load \EFI\grub\ntfs_x64.efi
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd
map /VHD/10XPE_x64-Flat.vhd (hd)
chainloader (hd-1)

title VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd - SVBus RAMDISK - 260 MB - map as (hd) for UEFI WIMBOOT valid for internal and external HD
load \EFI\grub\ntfs_x64.efi
find --set-root --ignore-floppies /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd
map --top --mem /VHD/10XPE_x64-T-WB.vhd (hd)
chainloader (hd-1)

 

NOTE: The line load \EFI\grub\ntfs_x64.efi can be omited if your UEFI firmware has NTFS drivers.

 

alacran



#89 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 October 2021 - 07:38 AM

@alacran

The base issue is *something* in the internal BCD.

Probably, as Wimb said in the other thread, it is the "Legacy" policy needed.

Can you spot any other one that is "wrong"?

 

:duff:

Wonko



#90 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 13 October 2021 - 07:57 AM

 @ Wonko

 

Making the internal bcd(s) like in my previous pictures a flat install boots and Ramboots very fine using grub4dos, not a single issue.

 

EDIT: Only thing Legacy policy does is boot on text mode, (shows on screen the BCD boot options on text mode), not on graphical mode, (just as Win7 does), so this definitively is not the cause of the issue, the use of Legacy police in internal BCD(s) is to avoid wasting time and Ram resources just to load a pretty and stupid graphical interface, and instead boot directly the preselected option on BCD(s)

Also it is usefull to use Legacy police on the main external MBR BCD to call/load grldr.mbr inmediatelly when selected and press ENTER, and avoid a new stupid forced Reboot just to load it, if using graphicall mode.

 

alacran


Edited by alacran, 15 October 2021 - 05:55 AM.


#91 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 13 October 2021 - 11:30 AM

Dear Alacran and Wonko, problem solved.
 
I have modified some discrepancy with respect to the Alacrán Bootice images, I installed the SVBUS (it had the firadisk drivers, which seem to have not worked) and now it starts perfectly as well as FILEDISK or RAMDISK.
 
Very grateful for your invaluable help.


#92 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 13 October 2021 - 12:27 PM

 

Dear Alacran and Wonko, problem solved.
 
I have modified some discrepancy with respect to the Alacrán Bootice images, I installed the SVBUS (it had the firadisk drivers, which seem to have not worked) and now it starts perfectly as well as FILEDISK or RAMDISK.
 
Very grateful for your invaluable help.

 

Good that has been solved :) , but once again, we have not understood what was the actual issue, firadisk (with a 6 GB image) should work just fine, so the problem was likely in the BCD, but we don't know which entry (or missing entry) was the actual one that prevented the booting.

 

The main thing remains that you have your thingy booting fine :thumbsup: , still I don't personally like this way of troubleshooting issues, as it is not "troubleshooting" but rather "copying verbatim what is known to be working", which works just fine but is the exact way how knowledge is lost, before or later.

 

:duff:

Wonko 



#93 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 3465 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 October 2021 - 01:53 PM

When booting from the Win bootmanager you only need to edit the external BCD(s), for Bios on \boot\BCD and for UEFI on \efi\microsoft\boot\BCD. Using the pictures on first post as a guide.

 

When Rambooting by means of grub4dos, you need to first install SVBus driver as mentioned on this and this posts, and also edit the internal bcd(s) located into the VHD on \boot\bcd and for UEFI on \efi\microsoft\boot\bcd.  Using attached pictures as a guide.

 

If you want to make a Wimboot installation see this post.

 

And if you want ro Ramboot a VHD installed on Wimboot mode see this post.

 

 

I confirm that the procedure of alacran to make Win10XPE Flat in VHD is working OK  :)

 

EVRootCA.reg file into offlinereg folder to Import SVBus registry using offlinereg program in admin command window

- Use R-mouse menu in DismMountService on Mounted Win10XPE boot.wim file to Add the SVBus driver from selected SVBus driver folder and using /ForceUnsigned Option

It is quite a lot of manual work, but the result is OK  :) 

 

  1. Mount your boot.wim file with DismMountService into  C:\temp folder.
  2. Go to offlinereg folder, open on same folder an elevated command promt and paste following line:
  3. offlinereg-win64 "C:\temp\Windows\System32\config\software" " " import EVRootCA.reg
  4.   >>> Enter, waith for it to finish and let you know all was fine, then you can close the command window.
  5. Now you can add/import the driver with DismMountService.
  6. Commit changes and dismount.

 

MBR BIOS Grub4dos and UEFI Grub4efi booting W10XPE_Flat.vhd from RAMDISK using SVBus driver is working OK as shown in the ScreenShots.

Also booting W10XPE_Flat.vhd from Boot Manager Menu using MS vhdmp.sys driver is working OK in MBR BIOS and in UEFI Secure mode.

 

However, I failed to boot W10XPE_Flat.vhd using  SVBus Grub4dos and Grub4efi FILEDISK entries (the orb keeps spinning forever)

 

@Wonko

In case of Firadisk the problem might be errors in the complicated Grub4dos entry which needs phony ramdisk and the problem that the firadisk driver is unsigned,

whereas SVBus driver is signed in registry and the Grub4dos entry is rather easy.

 

Attached File  W10XPE_Flat_VHD_SVBUS_RAMDISK_2021-10-13_151025.jpg   303.74KB   1 downloads == Attached File  W10XPE_Flat_VHD_UEFI_SVBUS_RAMDISK_2021-10-13_152506.jpg   344.28KB   0 downloads



#94 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 3465 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 October 2021 - 02:23 PM

 

The objective is to be able to boot into G4D and then add the firadisk drivers and load it into RAM, I use WinPE for
 
audio, because it is sonically superior to everything I know, before I used a Windows Server Core 20H1 Insider
 

 

According to your objective you want a Windows like OS running in RAMDISK and having superior Sound support.

In that respect a Win10XPE Flat in VHD running from RAMDISK using SVBus driver is Not so easy to be made and may be not the best choice.

Question is for what purpose do you need such Windows OS in RAMDISK with superior sound support ?

 

Did you consider to use Mini-10x64 VHD with UsedSize about 2 GB running in RAMDISK and using SVBus driver ?

Such Mini-10x64 has all drivers installed and is working just as good as Full Windows 10x64

 

More Info:  VHD_WIMBOOT. pdf


  • antonino61 likes this

#95 samotc

samotc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 13 October 2021 - 07:16 PM

Regarding question 1, the purpose is simply to listen to music, which is one of my great passions.
Why Win10XPE?
Because I have verified that the fewer processes run on the PC, the better the music sounds. Initially it was running Windows 10, then Server Desktop, then Server Core, but I found that when it ran in RAM it sounded even better.
It just so happens that the Win10XPE runs with about 29-30 processes running, almost half that of a Server Core, and on top of that it takes up 1/3 of its space.
Regarding question 2, I did not consider the Mini-10x64 VHD, because I did not know of its existence, if it occupies as little space as the Win10 XPE, and so few processes run like this one, I will take it into account and see if I am able to mount it. Well, I am little computer expert, at least compared to you.
I am very grateful for your responses, from what little I know, I have learned a lot in this forum.

  • wimb likes this

#96 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 3465 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 13 October 2021 - 07:50 PM

 

Why Win10XPE?
Because I have verified that the fewer processes run on the PC, the better the music sounds.

 

Interesting that Win10XPE has superior sound.  :)

Mini-10x64 VHD will certainly have more running processes and in that respect is not so interesting for your purpose.



#97 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 13 October 2021 - 09:28 PM


@Wonko

In case of Firadisk the problem might be errors in the complicated Grub4dos entry which needs phony ramdisk and the problem that the firadisk driver is unsigned, whereas SVBus driver is signed in registry and the Grub4dos entry is rather easy.

 

Additionally:

 

Firadisk works fine up to Win 8.x, but only on MBR environments, it does not work on UEFI environments.

 

It is a known fact that Firadisk DOES NOT work fine on recent versions of Win10 when using grub4dos (MBR or UEFI versions), even SVBus driver had to be updated to version 1.2, quote from this post from the author:

 

 

SVBus V1.2 Virtual SCSI Host Adapter for GRUB4DOS

Today we present the new virtual SCSI driver SVBus version 1.2 for use with GRUB4DOS. SVBus V1.1 was not working correctly in combination with Windows 10 x64 Build 1803 and later. This could lead to a system crash with BSOD and the error CRITICAL_PROCESS_DIED. We discovered a Microsoft bug in esent.dll, which lead to these critical errors. Details are listed in the ReadMe.txt topic named "Application and Service Crashes on Windows 10 x64 Build 1909 with SVBus version 1.1".

In addition we added mode page caching for the MODE SENSE (6) command. The virtual HDD needs MODE PAGE CACHING to display the tab Policies in the Properties of the HDD in device manager.

 

In the especific case of grub4dos for UEFI, (if using using SVBus v1.2), G4E is internally coded to translate/relocate/redirect the info loaded to Ram to let it be readen in UEFI environments by SVBus driver v1.2, as there is not int 13h in UEFI environments.

 

alacran


  • wimb likes this

#98 wimb

wimb

    Platinum Member

  • Developer
  • 3465 posts
  • Interests:Boot and Install from USB
  •  
    Netherlands

Posted 14 October 2021 - 07:12 AM

Firadisk works fine up to Win 8.x, but only on MBR environments, it does not work on UEFI environments.

 

It is a known fact that Firadisk DOES NOT work fine on recent versions of Win10 when using grub4dos (MBR or UEFI versions), even SVBus driver had to be updated to version 1.2, quote from this post from the author:

 

 

Very GOOD  :)

 

So definitely we must not use Firadisk, but must make use of SVBUs driver instead.



#99 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

    The Finder

  • Advanced user
  • 15913 posts
  • Location:The Outside of the Asylum (gate is closed)
  •  
    Italy

Posted 14 October 2021 - 07:15 AM

 

 
It just so happens that the Win10XPE runs with about 29-30 processes running, almost half that of a Server Core, and on top of that it takes up 1/3 of its space.
 

 

Less is more :).

 

 

:duff:

Wonko



#100 alacran

alacran

    Gold Member

  • .script developer
  • 2287 posts
  •  
    Mexico

Posted 14 October 2021 - 10:18 AM

JFYI

 

In my previous post forgot to comment I edited posts: No. 87 and No. 90, adding additional info related to DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS and Legacy police respectively, that may be also useful.

 

alacran







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: win10xpe_x64, flat install, compact install, vhd

7 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 7 guests, 0 anonymous users