#1 psewar

psewar

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    Switzerland

Posted 10 August 2011 - 03:15 PM

Hello Olof,

first I want to thank you very much for your great tool/driver.

As the topic title already states I want to propose a feature which is stated often here in this forum as a problem, but it seems there is no real solution to this so far.
Sadly I have no knowledge about driver development so I can't really say if it will work like this but from Windows application programming I know that an Application will normally get a message from Windows if it has to be closed. So I'd guess that a driver also gets a notification to do some work before getting closed / shutdown.

What would be the benefit of such a feature you may ask?
I recent bought a SSD disc because the old hard disk was getting slower and provoked freezes during my work.
One of the biggest problems with SSD disks is still that many writes will cause the lifetime of the disk to decrease, so I thought it would be a good idea to use a ramdisk to store the temp folders like Windows temp, temporary Internet files etc in it, as those folders are used very often and would cause many writes to the SSD.
For real temporary files it is no problem if they are getting deleted during a shutdown, but there are many cases in my opinion where files are some sort of "half-temporary". Let's take the temporary internet files as an example:
They are stored on the disk because it will boost the performance during browsing the web.
If they are deleted during a reboot it is not a real problem, because they are only temporary as the name already states. But normally you will visit the same pages over and over again. So that means that after every reboot all the files which a browser wrote on the disk for performance reasons are gone and have to be loaded again from the internet vanishing the reason why those files where created.