Photo
- - - - -

"hard disk drive failure"

hard disk drive failure hard disk wont boot disk failure disk drive hdd external hard drive internal hard drive dell pendrive

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 daileybread411

daileybread411
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 18 November 2013 - 02:16 PM

i have a computer (DELL inspiron 530s) that recently has been saying hard disk drive failure when i try to start it up. it gives me the option to press F1 to continue or press F2 for setup. when i press F1 to continue a black screen will eventually pop up and say

No boot device available press ENTER key to retry

SATA-0: Installed
SATA-1: Installed
SATA-4: None
SATA-5: None

im not very experienced at working on PCs. thought about taking my DELL latitude D610 laptop hard drive and hooking it to the desktop to find out if the hard drive has gone bad or if something else happened when i replaced the power supply. or maybe its something else i dont know really. like i said im very inexperienced when it comes to PCs. when i replaced that PSU that was the first time i had ever opened a PC up and worked on the inside.

my wife was the first to experience this happen while i was at work. she said she didnt know what to do. but i guess it eventually did boot up completely after she went into setup and pressed (ESC)to exit. she said that she didnt mess with any of the settings. i havent had the same luck. i have tried turning it off and on a few times and hitting enter over and over again but still get the same results