3 replies to this topic

#1 hurricane51

hurricane51
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Thailand

Posted 02 January 2009 - 06:22 PM

I'm new to VistaPE, and I've created a boot CD that works, but when the OS comes up my mouse and keyboard don't work. I'm using a Microsoft wireless KB and mouse, but they don't need anything special in the way of drviers -- you just plug them into the USB port and go. In Vista Device Manager they just show up as HD-compliant Mouse and KB.

Unfortunately, without the input devices I'm dead in the water before I ever start.

Thanks for any help.

#2 Brito

Brito

Platinum Member

• .script developer
  • 10616 posts
  • Interests:I'm just a quiet simple person with a very quiet simple life living one day at a time..
  •  
    European Union

Posted 02 January 2009 - 11:18 PM

For testing purposes you can use the VirtualBox emulator to see how your boot disk will work - http://www.virtualbox.org/

I guess that the easier solution for the cases when you do need to repair your machine would be getting some wired equipment (from a friend, etc) since I don't think it will be very easy to get them working with VistaPE at this point.

Some USB mouses/keyboards come with PS/2 port adapters maybe this would make them recognizable?

My experience on this matter is quite short, just hope someone else knows a better solution and helps.

:cheers:

#3 hurricane51

hurricane51
  • Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
    Thailand

Posted 03 January 2009 - 12:24 AM

Unfortunately, neither of those options is going to work in this case. I just don't understand what's happening, since neither XP not Vista needed special drivers -- it works the same as a wired mouse.

#4 Arvy

Arvy

Frequent Member

• Developer
  • 430 posts
  • Interests:IT, Outdoors, Horses
  •  
    Canada

Posted 03 January 2009 - 09:25 AM