Photo
- - - - -

Boot WTFPlay from VHD

Best Answer samotc , 13 September 2020 - 08:51 PM

Thank you very much for your help.
First of all, I will read carefully the threads that you recommend, as you will see, my grub4dos level is low, and linux even more scarce, but in this life with patience, everything can be learned.
Then I will try to put into practice what I learn in those threads and see if I get the desired results, if not, I will have learned something else.
Thanks to this forum I know how little I know.
Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 samotc

samotc

• Members
  • 12 posts
  •  
    Spain

Posted 13 September 2020 - 11:07 AM

Hello everyone.
I have been using WTFPLAY for several years, I think it is a great player, perhaps the best, although the Bughead with Windows Server Core loaded in RAM in some things I like better.
I have tried F2k, JRMC, and HQPlayer 4 and find them light years away from either of these 2.
As I find it uncomfortable to boot  usb_pen from bios + f12 every time I want to start wtfplay, I have managed to add it to the windows boot menu by giving an entry, from it, to grub4dos and it starts perfectly and also saves the settings and playlist.
The problem arises when I want to do this same with wtfplay in vhd. Here I get it to boot in multiple ways, but it doesn't save the settings or the playlist.
The vhd I have created with winimage; in grub4dos I map it as (hd2)
and I set root to (hd2,1), which is exactly how I do it when booting from usb. Chainloader I put it as (0x82) +1 in both ways (USB and VHD) and I start it with the command
"boot /efi/boot/bootx64.efi" or "boot /uefiboot.img".
Of the 2 ways it boots, both in USB and in VHD, but in "VHD mode" DOES NOT SAVE THE CONFIGURATIONS.
What am I doing wrong?
Is there a way to "trick" WTFPlay into thinking that it is booting from the USB pen?
If anyone has any ideas I will be very grateful
Best regards, enjoy the music.
report.gif