#1 john3voltas

john3voltas

• Members
  • 97 posts
  •  
    Portugal

Posted 21 December 2014 - 02:53 PM

Greetings folks.

Long post so feel free to skip the intro if you don't have much time to read.

## intro ##

Let me make a small introduction on why/what I am posting here.

My boss just bought me a new laptop that comes with Windows 8.1. It's an Asus X552 which means that unfortunately it's not a business laptop as it was supposed to be. Blame the damned crisis...

Problem is, most of the software that I will be running on it still doesn't run on Windows 8.1 which means that I need to reinstall windows 7 64bits on it.

Since the hdd has little space for my needs, the laptop doesn't come with a dvd reader. Instead it comes with another hdd with a dvd-to-hdd adapter.

This means I need to reinstall using windows 7 USB boot disk because I'm not very familiar with PXE ;).

## end of intro ##

Problem is, this is my first time with UEFI. I was able to create a windows 7 boot disk using Rufus but then, when Windows is supposed to start copying files to disk, it seems it doesn't recognize my hdd. I know that this may sound a bit vague. If you need the specific error message let me know and I'll try to reinstall and grab a screenshot with a camera.

BTW, since it was making some strange/funny noise, I have removed the hdd and the dvd-to-hdd adapter and I returned it as a DoA.

Someone told me that I could turn the system into a non-UEFI+MBR but I would rather do it properly using UEFI+GPT.

All help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

#2 erwan.l

erwan.l

Platinum Member

• Developer
  • 3041 posts
  •  
    France

Posted 21 December 2014 - 03:02 PM

It is not clear to me : do you want to reinstall windows from a usb device (hdd or key) or do you want to re install windows 7 on a usb boot device?

Regards,

Erwan

#3 Wonko the Sane

Wonko the Sane

The Finder

• Advanced user
  • 16066 posts
  •  
    Italy

Posted 21 December 2014 - 04:26 PM