26 replies to this topic

#1 jobe

jobe
  • Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 05 October 2010 - 10:55 AM

hi and exellent website a newbie here and very basic in my comp knowledge so i am wondering if any one can help me please.
basically i have a toshiba note book with no cd drive i turned it on the other day and it wont boot up it gives me option on f2 and f8 and f 12 but it wont let me boot in safe mode or back to last known good configaration?it just loads and sticks on xp start screen?
i have tried every thing i down loaded a xp cd but it wont load from external cd drive?i am lost and have no idea how to approach this now any help or any more info you need i will gratefully provided many many thanks in advance guys and girls .

Edited by jobe, 05 October 2010 - 11:30 AM.

#2 amalux

amalux

Platinum Member

• Tutorial Writer
  • 2813 posts
  •  
    United States

Posted 06 October 2010 - 01:28 AM

If you had a USB boot disk you could use it to get in and backup/restore etc. (probably for next time); you can take out the hard drive (easy) and with USB adapter hook it up to another PC. You can try a factory restore, usually F8 or F10 at startup or maybe hold down 0 key at startup (toshiba's are quirky) but this will wipe all data and restore to factory defaults.

#3 jobeagain

jobeagain

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
    United Kingdom

Posted 06 October 2010 - 10:10 AM

hi again sorry i had to register again for some reason it kept saying boot land has no members called jobe and wont let me log in?
many thanks for replyin its much appricicated could you please tell me how i get a usb boot to boot my comp up?any links or walk throughs would be good ?
i am going to by a caddy to transfer my hard drive stuff to another comp so i can do that but im stuck on how to get the usb boot thingy where do i get on e and what is it called many thanks yet again and sorry to bother you all again
jobe